Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do dissident republicans keep getting caught?

• 22-11-2009 10:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Why do dissident republicans keep getting caught? They fuc k up everything they try to do. The police got 3 of them that planted that bomb today already! If that was the good aul PIRA, they'd have to actually ring the police and tell them "Er, lads, there's a big bomb there in whatever street, in the back of a red sierra. I think you should evacuate the place". I dunno. Paramilitary splinter groups these days:rolleyes:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They probably were in the PIRA at one stage, hence the word splinter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

cos when these people are actually stupid enough to do something like this they deserve to be caught and banged up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

The police up there are probably more effective in detecting security threats these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I know I'll get persecuted for this, but I don't care.

What I don't understand is that these splinter groups, though they're small and primarily made up of knuckle-dragging morons, they still have members (apparently) with the wherewithall and expertise to kill; be it through bombs or shootings.

I just find it strange that none of the recent attempts have worked. None of the recent bombs (of which there seem to have been many) have fully/at all exploded.

I don't really know what I'm saying actually, I just think it's strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Cause they're idiots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Why do dissident republicans keep getting caught? They fuc k up everything they try to do. The police got 3 of them that planted that bomb today already! If that was the good aul PIRA, they'd have to actually ring the police and tell them "Er, lads, there's a big bomb there in whatever street, in the back of a red sierra. I think you should evacuate the place". I dunno. Paramilitary splinter groups these days:rolleyes:;)

I'd beg to differ.....we're told by sympathisers that the PIRA never targeted civilians, any yet that's very hard to believe given the number that they murdered.

So I think they're just ****ing up in a different way; thankfully one that results in no murders and the scum involved getting caught and jailed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

because they're riddled with informers? :)

Another thing how come it seems that every dissident up on charges in the republic is for being caught with garda uniforms? Are the special branch getting so lazy that they can't even put some effort into fitting people up? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭kwyjibot

Back in the day there were constant efforts by the British intelligence services to get moles in to the IRA. I wonder if any of these various splinter groups are being created by the intelligence services, with the express aim of catching & wiping out the whole group before it does anything stupid.
    [SCENE 1, CIRA Meeting - Meeting being addressed by head of the council. Seated at the back of the room are three slightly dim wannabe-terrorists and a British spy]

British Spy (wearing a fake comedy bushy ginger moustache): Begorrah lads, these guys don't know what they're doing. Sure we should be up away the road and start our own IRA. With blackjack, and hookers.

3 Wannabe-terrorists: Sounds good, let's do it. I know where we can get a bomb.

[SCENE 2 - Splinter group meeting]

Wannabe-terrorist 1: Right lads, I've gotten us a bomb, and 4 new recruits. We'll set it off tomorrow.

British spy (still with fake moustache): Where and when? And are we all gathering in a pub somewhere to celebrate?

W-T 1: 3pm, main street. We'll all be in Billy O'Loughlins pub.

[SCENE 3 - Billy O'Loughlin's Pub]

W-T 1: Any minute now, *boom*, and we'll be heroes.

Security services rush in and arrest the whole gang. In walks the British spy.

W-T 1 (to British Spy): What happened? Did the bomb go off?

British spy removes his bushy ginger moustache, and replaces it with a pencil-thin one much favoured by gentlemen of the Victorian period

W-T 1,2 & 3: But you!! You're.. You're..

British Spy: I'm a spy. And you're all nicked.

British Spy's boss walks in, dressed casually with a shock of ginger hair.

W-T 2: But all of our plans, we were going to..

Spy Boss: I heard about your plans. They've been foiled. They were pretty poor. You could say that I...

[puts on sunglasses]
    .. wasn't blown away by them.

YYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Or something along those lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

What do you call 2 PIRA men having a meeting?

A dissident cell.

What do you call 3 PIRA men having a meeting?

A dissident cell with a traitor in their midst.

Either way, the more that are arrested, the better for peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

It's those damn pesky kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

My opinion,
    they keep getting caught because they dont have the same amount of "support" as groups such as this had a number of years ago.
    They dont have the same number of sympathisers or the same power base and as such, almost everyone is a potential informer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Failed PIRA attempts aren't going to be written in the history books. Seeing as successful attacks were a daily/weekly event the failed ones weren't paid much attention. Doesn't mean they didn't happen regularly.

Also, the splinter groups don't have fresh semtex. Much harder to make a viable bomb with fertiliser than industrial semtex explosive. So as they now have to use IEDs theres a much bigger chance they won't explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Did someone mention informers yet? :pac:

Terrorists aren't renowned for their loyalty towards each other.

Dartz wrote: »
    What do you call 2 PIRA men having a meeting?

A dissident cell.

What do you call 3 PIRA men having a meeting?

A dissident cell with a traitor in their midst.

Either way, the more that are arrested, the better for peace.

What do you call 2 PIRA men who murder a cop in Adare ?

"Unauthorised"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Mr. A

The reasoning behind the recent actions of RIRA, CIRA and Oglaigh na hEireann remind me of a quote from a Simpsons episode where Homer sets up a vigilante group:

Homer: OK, men, it's time to clean up this town!
    Skinner: Meaning what, exactly?
    Homer: You know, push people around, make ourselves feel big. [emphasis mine]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BlueLepreachaun

Mr. A wrote: »
    The reasoning behind the recent actions of RIRA, CIRA and Oglaigh na hEireann remind me of a quote from a Simpsons episode where Homer sets up a vigilante group:

Homer: OK, men, it's time to clean up this town!
    Skinner: Meaning what, exactly?
    Homer: You know, push people around, make ourselves feel big. [emphasis mine]

Unfortunatly their reasoning is far far faaaaaaaaare more insane and off the wall than that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

kwyjibot wrote: »
    Back in the day there were constant efforts by the British intelligence services to get moles in to the IRA. I wonder if any of these various splinter groups are being created by the intelligence services, with the express aim of catching & wiping out the whole group before it does anything stupid.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Mr. A

kwyjibot wrote: »

Adams recently claimed just that.

Link: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/gerry-adams-unrepentant-irishman-1783739.html

Quote: '[Adams] proceeds to claim that several figures in the Real IRA – again, he names them, but for legal reasons I can't – are in the pay of the British. But why? What's in it for Britain? He says that in the British state machine – MI6, or the Army – there are people "who just have never bought into the fact that there's a new dispensation. In fairness to them, they fought in a war. And they lost. They lost. Who's the deputy first minister? [Martin McGuinness]. Who's in the executive? From their point of view, the people who they depicted as terrorists, the people who they tried to torture and gas, water cannon, shoot, all that, they won."'

So Adams is still touting his deluded bull****, then ?

Interesting that he has no comment about the people that his crowd tried to maim, rob, murder, blow up, de-house, disrupt, etc.....

Did they win, I wonder ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Stones85

kippy wrote: »
    My opinion,
    they keep getting caught because they dont have the same amount of "support" as groups such as this had a number of years ago.
    They dont have the same number of sympathisers or the same power base and as such, almost everyone is a potential informer.

I'd agree there, and if you consider that the British intelligence agencies spend I think upwards of 50% of their work tracking these guys, think about that..... MI5, MI6, GCHQ, SOCA, CAB, Special Branch North/South and in Britain, gardai, PSNI.

I'm surprised they are able to take a dump never mind MAKE bombs or plant them, and yet they still are able to carry out "operations" and buy and import modern weaponry. For every attack we hear about there are 30/40 that are planned/carried out and or aborted due to their own security measures. That's par for the coarse.

I'm more worried that they're getting more ballsy and are openly and directly confronting PSNI and Army, sure they make **** ups and people are getting arrested..... but thats expected, IMC report said that most of them are now young men in their early 20's, so they will make mistakes and hopefully get caught. It's the older men that are dangerous.

To call them knuckle dragging morons is wrong.

They are obviously not, and the british and security services also regularly make the point that the dissidents are a dedicated, very intelligent group..... only lacking in experiance, which by the way they are getting more and more of with the number of attacks carried out.]

Thats my 2 cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

well its just a matter of time before they're successful and explode a massive bomb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

b12mearse wrote: »
    well its just a matter of time before they're successful and explode a massive bomb.
    Hope not and that they are never successful.

Lack of support would be one of the reasons I think why they keep getting caught and I hope it stays like that.

Saibh wrote: »
    Hope not and that they are never successful.

Lack of support would be one of the reasons I think why they keep getting caught and I hope it stays like that.

well history has thought us that that has never been the case.

• Eh, as someone whose family lives in N.I, I am f*cking glad they keep getting caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

b12mearse wrote: »
    well history has thought us that that has never been the case.
    Let's hope this time history doesn't repeat itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Why do dissident republicans keep getting caught?

Because they are complete morons. However, like the IRA said after they nearly killed Thatcher while she sat on the ****ter in the Grand in Brighton, "We only have to be lucky once, the Brits have to be lucky all the time".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

My guess is the big boys are constantly being watched (as was already mentioned here) so recruits with no training and little kop on are carry out the dirty deeds, and being caught. Lets hope it stays that way.

personally i dont think the ira can mount a succesful campaign against the brits at this time. but im sure in the future they will.

look at the ira of the 1950s and the ira of the 1970s.

the only thing the british can do at this moment is run an intelligence war against the ira.
    its just a matter of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Every society has its share of psychos who just want to kill people. They have the handle of Dissident Republican and the pretence of a "cause" but really they are just psychos that have a wee psycho club going with their psycho mates where they get to build bombs and listen to the Continuity Wolfe Tones. Because they are psychos they are going to go nuts at some stage and do something daft and thats how they keep getting caught

It's dangerous to think of these guys as stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I'd beg to differ.....we're told by sympathisers that the PIRA never targeted civilians, any yet that's very hard to believe given the number that they murdered.

So I think they're just ****ing up in a different way; thankfully one that results in no murders and the scum involved getting caught and jailed!

we're told by sympathisers that the British Army never targeted civilians, any yet that's very hard to believe given the number that they murdered.

So I think they're just ****ing up in a different way; sadly mass murder of innocent civilians continues to this day in Iraq and Afganistan. :(

Zebra3 wrote: »
    we're told by sympathisers that the British Army never targeted civilians, any yet that's very hard to believe given the number that they murdered.

So I think they're just ****ing up in a different way; sadly mass murder of innocent civilians continues to this day in Iraq and Afganistan. :(

And this is relevant to the thread how, exactly ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Stones85 wrote: »
    It's dangerous to think of these guys as stupid.

That would be giving them far too much credence.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »

Well British themselves don't call them stupid, in fact they do the opposite. To call them stupid is dangerous imo because to do so you are understating the seriousness of their intent, and if you adopt that philosophy then you'll be caught off guard, it also paints a picture of a kuckle dragging dummy, which they aren't, obviously.

They are young lads like any other from around the world. They just happen to have been born in the Ireland.

But hears praying and hoping they keep getting caught and given lengthly jail terms!! :)

K-9 wrote: »

No it wouldn't. A lot of people with no understanding of the situation like to make out that militant republicans have no support.

The PIRA/Sinn Fein were deeply unpopular amongst the majority of nationalists until the hunger strikes, they wanted a united Ireland, but they didn't want people killed to get it. SDLP were the popular party amongst nationalists back then.

I don't know how Gerry Adams can claim they won because McGuinness is a deputy minister in a state in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The GFA will not lead to a UI which is why these groups continue to exist.

For these reasons like this its insane to write these groups off as stupid.

No it wouldn't. A lot of people with no understanding of the situation like to make out that militant republicans have no support.

It doesn't take understanding of the situation to decipher what the vast majority of people voted for in the GFA; while unfortunately "no support" is overstating it, "very little support" is undoubtedly accurate.
    The PIRA/Sinn Fein were deeply unpopular amongst the majority of nationalists until the hunger strikes, they wanted a united Ireland, but they didn't want people killed to get it. SDLP were the popular party amongst nationalists back then.

The nationalists back then had no say, so while I wouldn't agree with the road they took, I can understand them feeling that there was no legal route. They've now had their say (they were free to vote against the GFA if they wanted to) but they didn't. So the situation is completely different.
    I don't know how Gerry Adams can claim they won because McGuinness is a deputy minister in a state in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The GFA will not lead to a UI which is why these groups continue to exist.

The GFA is the will of the people, though, so those groups have no mandate or reason to exist. And while some people might like to have a United Ireland (in theory, myself included) no-one wants violence and terrorism; the sooner these extremists get that into their heads, the better off everyone will be.
    For these reasons like this its insane to write these groups off as stupid.

I know what you're saying, but they're "stupid" enough to discount and ignore the will of something like 99% of the island.

It doesn't take understanding of the situation to decipher what the vast majority of people voted for in the GFA; while unfortunately "no support" is overstating it, "very little support" is undoubtedly accurate.

The thing is in Northern Ireland 275,000 people voted no to it. About 180,000 didn't vote. Now of course a certain amount of these people would be unionist and aren't at risk of supporting militant republican groups but those are large numbers. A majority of unionist voters did vote yes all the same. What does "very little support" mean exactly? To me it would suggest less than 100 people which really isn't the case
    The nationalists back then had no say, so while I wouldn't agree with the road they took, I can understand them feeling that there was no legal route. They've now had their say (they were free to vote against the GFA if they wanted to) but they didn't. So the situation is completely different.

My point wasn't really that. What I meant was that a huge political event (hunger strikes)was able to change public opinion from being against violence to being pro Sinn-Fein/IRA.

The GFA is the will of the people, though, so those groups have no mandate or reason to exist. And while some people might like to have a United Ireland (in theory, myself included) no-one wants violence and terrorism; the sooner these extremists get that into their heads, the better off everyone will be.

I'd imagine they wouldn't see themselves as terrorists. They probably see their mandate as 1919.
    I know what you're saying, but they're "stupid" enough to discount and ignore the will of something like 99% of the island.

I wouldn't say 99%. Especially in the north. Anyway even if that were the case I doubt it would matter to them. And when people call them stupid that isn't what they mean. They literally think they're stupid generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The thing is in Northern Ireland 275,000 people voted no to it. About 180,000 didn't vote. Now of course a certain amount of these people would be unionist
    I would actually say the vast majority of the 275,000 were DUP voters and while they had / have reservation, you are correct in saying they don't give militant republicans a mandate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

My point wasn't really that. What I meant was that a huge political event (hunger strikes)was able to change public opinion from being against violence to being pro Sinn-Fein/IRA.

I'd say it was more Bloody Sunday than anything else. It was all peaceful protest marches before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The police up there are probably more effective in detecting security threats these days

Exactly, with phone dead, cell site analysis, email & text message search robots, ANPR and urban CCTV, one would want to be a bird brain to carry on this type of stuff in this day and age particularly with the UK authorities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Zebra3 wrote: »

Bombing innocent people is OK because the British army are in Afghanistan? is it OK to bomb the Germans then, or the French, or the Irish:eek:

This is the same old lame **** that republicans come out with all the time, like Mountbatten deserved to die for what he did to India. it is just excuses for murdering innocent people.

He has to keep saying this, because the party grunts need to keep being told in case they start asking questions about Gerry and Co having their nests nicely feathered by the british Tax payer.

Gerry Adams won **** all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

at what percentage do these "Dissidents stop being "Dissidents"?

If, say, 51% of Republicans supported this new campaign, are they no longer "Dissidents"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BlueLepreachaun

If, say, 51% of Republicans supported this new campaign, are they no longer "Dissidents"?

They're dissidents from the peace process which means they are dissenting from the clear will of the people, so the percentages of them tho beleive what doens't matter.

That's why I dislike the term "dissident". I feel "militant republican" is more appropriate. Why should someone who doesn't support the GFA but isn't taking part in an armed objection get lumped in with terrorists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

It proves the are not drug dealers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

God forbid, but just suppose for one moment that one of these real IRA bombs got through to its destination & actually exploded! > killing many people in the process, including the bomber (ala Shankill 1993).

Qusetion: Who would carry the bombers coffin this time?

That's why I dislike the term "dissident". I feel "militant republican" is more appropriate. Why should someone who doesn't support the GFA but isn't taking part in an armed objection get lumped in with terrorists?

Lots of people had to put up with the equivalent hijacking of the term "republican" by the terrorists for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

And this is relevant to the thread how, exactly ? :rolleyes:
    Amazing, a thread about the IRA and it's been forgotten to mention " And what about Jerry McCabe :pac:".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm going to go for the most simple reason: their supplies. They order X amount of fertiliser, and I'm sure at this stage the police have some program in place to track bomb making stuff. Follow this up with someone popping over to check if the fertilizer is being used, and BING, you'll know.

McArmalite wrote: »
    Amazing, a thread about the IRA and it's been forgotten to mention " And what about Jerry McCabe :pac:".

Hey - has anyone ever seen those manuals that say "This page intentionally left blank" and wonder if the writers know what irony is ? :rolleyes: :D:D