Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Earls Vs Fitzgerald

• 21-11-2009 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭

I think we have a winner. Although Luke looks good he seems to me to not be a finisher in the shape of Keith Earls. Keith's two tries we well taken. I think Lukes misfortune is Earls gain. I think we have a better scoring opportunity now. Would anyone agree?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Well, Earls is obviously going to be in primary position now with Fita out. If they were both available in the morning though I'd still pick Fitz every time (for now). Not a bad situation to be in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

I still think Fitzgerald is a much more talented player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

karmabass wrote: »
    I still think Fitzgerald is a much more talented player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

lol at basing this on a match againt Fiji. My granny would of taken the chances Earls got, not taking away from his talent but he's still a good bit away from Fitz. Still not a huge fan of Fitz at 11 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Fitz is currently haunted with a low try score count in international games, Earls doesn't seem to have that burden.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Fitz is currently haunted with a low try score count in international games, Earls doesn't seem to have that burden.

Well yeah, but his tries are against Canada and Fiji. He's clearly a good player, and I don't necessarily expect Fitz to get back into the Irish side as soon as he's back, but Earls still struggles somewhat from not settling into any one position at Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Another Munster versus Leinster thread for God's sake!!!

Odd, I read the title as Earls Vs Fitzgerald.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Well yeah, but his tries are against Canada and Fiji. He's clearly a good player, and I don't necessarily expect Fitz to get back into the Irish side as soon as he's back, but Earls still struggles somewhat from not settling into any one position at Munster.

Earls is the Matthew Tait of Ireland, he has the ability to be the best player on the pitch but is being shafted because coaches want to plug wholes in their team where they are short in numbers and are not trying to develop him in one solid position.

Still though Podge as much as i like Fitz his try count isn't exactly breath taking most of the time you know? It's the same reason that saw him play second fiddle to Monye in the Lions, the guy needs to score more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

The thing that Fitz. has to his advantage is that Leinster are probably better at utilising their wings than Munster. Hence Fitz. would get a lot more time on the ball. Earls is a great finisher though as is Fitz.

I think they're different types of players tbh. Fitz. is a great stepper, his footwork is amazing wheras Earls can probably accelerate faster and can attack more directly.

The one thing I'm not sure about is Fitzgerald on the wing, I think he would benefit from an extended run at 13 or 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

The one thing I'm not sure about is Fitzgerald on the wing, I think he would benefit from an extended run at 13 or 15

If Fitzgerald could get his catching as good as Kearney's (I'm not sure if it is or not, I've never seen him play there), I think he could be better than him there.

He's a 15, his whole game revolves around picking lines from deep, 15 is where he is best suited though it's doubtful we will see him much there unless Kearney injures himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I reckon Earls will cement his place in the Ireland team. He is a class act and has shown glimpses of brilliance. He's a really stylish player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Both good players.

Earls is probably quicker but Fitzgerald is a better passer, kicker and defender. Also, he's very good at the breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Not exactly on the Ftiz vs Earls thing but just watching rugby extra and George hook just came out with quote of the year. When asked would he start Horgan ahead of earls for the game against South Africa because of Horgan's power, hook said: "Power is good if you’re a concrete mixer, paces is good if you’re a winger"

I genuinely LOL'd at that, whether you agree with it or not is irrelevant just thought it was a great quote.

As for Earls Vs Fitz, it a little mute atm, Earls right now is ahead of Fitz because he is fit and Lukey's not, 6weeks after Fitz is back fit then we can have a debate about whether or not he is better than Earls.

Right now the only debate should be Earls Vs Horgan Vs Trimble for the number 11 shirt. My choice is Earls with Horgan on the bench.

Earls is probably quicker

I think Earls has more flat out pace, while Fitzgerald has the greater acceleration. Fitzgerald has a frightening ability to to turn on the jet engines

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

All I can say is, it's the best kind of problem to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

lol at basing this on a match againt Fiji. My granny would of taken the chances Earls got, not taking away from his talent but he's still a good bit away from Fitz. Still not a huge fan of Fitz at 11 though.

+1 except for 'Still not a huge fan of Fitz at 11 though'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Is it just me or is earls massively disproportioned in his upper body? Looks like he has a big hunchback or lump on his back. Doesn't look natural to me.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

I think we have a winner. Although Luke looks good he seems to me to not be a finisher in the shape of Keith Earls. Keith's two tries we well taken. I think Lukes misfortune is Earls gain. I think we have a better scoring opportunity now. Would anyone agree?

Have you seen the rest of the season? One game against fiji in the RDS where Earls was handed one and took one easy try is enough to make him better than the injured Fitz? Fitzgerald has shown he is the better passer, kicker and stronger at the breakdown, Earls has been poor in a lot of games for Munster this season. Overreaction much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Earls took his tries very well but he's nowhere near as good a defender as Fitz, he doesn't get involved as much as Fitz, and if we were playing the RWC final next weekend I would pick Fitz over Earls without hesitation. In fact saying "I think we have a winner" based on one game against Fiji considering all Fitz achieved last season (I'll remind you: put his place for Leinster and Ireland beyond doubt, Slam winner, HEC winner, Lions test player) is ludicrous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

In the coming years both players will be permanent fixtures in the starting XV. It wont be a case of it being on or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

danthefan wrote: »
    Earls took his tries very well but he's nowhere near as good a defender as Fitz, he doesn't get involved as much as Fitz, and if we were playing the RWC final next weekend I would pick Fitz over Earls without hesitation. In fact saying "I think we have a winner" based on one game against Fiji considering all Fitz achieved last season (I'll remind you: put his place for Leinster and Ireland beyond doubt, Slam winner, HEC winner, Lions test player) is ludicrous.

Where did Earls seem wanting today in regards to defence?

Re your comment about Fitz's pedigree - ROG has the same but yet guys are looking for him to be dropped in favour of Sexton, strange really considering Sexton has opnly played one full international game against who oh it was Fiji.

phog wrote: »

Re your comment about Fitz's pedigree - ROG has the same but yet guys are looking for him to be dropped in favour of Sexton, strange really considering Sexton has opnly played one full international game against who oh it was Fiji.

He didn't today.

Has Fitz been in poor form? I hadn't noticed anyway.

By the way, in your opinion has this match put Earls ahead of Fitz?

You're living with your head up your arse if you think the level of performances Fitz have given in a Irish, Leinster nad Lions jersey have to the same awful standard as the ones ROG has put in over the last 2 years or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭bonnieprince

first off my learned friends, this is a discussion about players abilities, i like both and think they are hugely talented individuals, as an avid rugby fan i have just seen more of Earls scoring as wings should do imo than Fitzgerald. I am a Munster fan but that would never cloud my judgement on picking the best person for the job on the national team.
    Earls seems to be getting the breaks since his visits to a sports psychologist. I sometimes think Luke is trying too hard to get involved and misses out on some chances. BTW this is just my reading of things and i was looking for some other opinions so quit the munster v leinster bullsh*t, genuine opinions are very welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

siochain wrote: »
    +1 except for 'Still not a huge fan of Fitz at 11 though'

I think he's wasted there to be honest. Some of the line's he runs are Cullenesque if you could get the 10/12/13 on his wave length I think he would be devasting at 15.

BTW Earls first try was nowhere near a run in. The line he took and the pace he was at were excellent. Horgan and Kearney each butchered a couple of try's that Earls would probably have scored.

Sorry just saw the above post, a lot of the time Fitz's missed chances look like he's over run the ball but frequently its because the pass comes to him too late.

first off my learned friends, this is a discussion about players abilities, i like both and think they are hugely talented individuals, as an avid rugby fan i have just seen more of Earls scoring as wings should do imo than Fitzgerald. I am a Munster fan but that would never cloud my judgement on picking the best person for the job on the national team. Earls seems to be getting the breaks since his visits to a sports psychologist. I sometimes think Luke is trying too hard to get involved and misses out on some chances. BTW this is just my reading of things and i was looking for some other opinions so quit the munster v leinster bullsh*t, genuine opinions are very welcome.

OK then, if this wasnt a Leinster v Munster thread fair enough. But it is just wrong.

"We have a winner" :pac: ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Right now the only debate should be Earls Vs Horgan Vs Trimble for the number 11 shirt. My choice is Earls with Horgan on the bench.

Horgan shouldn't be involved in a debate like this. He's an out and out 14.
    As a result, it's Earls v Trimble. I'd go for Earls. He has far more flair than Trimble and would appear to have a bit more pace.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Still though Podge as much as i like Fitz his try count isn't exactly breath taking most of the time you know? It's the same reason that saw him play second fiddle to Monye in the Lions, the guy needs to score more often.

No its not, which I find slightly odd as he seems to be quite a good finisher when presented with the opportunity. He does a lot of work all over the pitch though. He's not exactly a classic winger, which I think is fine as long as Bowe is getting the scores in. It does require a certain balance though. Of the Irish backline, none of them except Bowe and BOD are really prolific scorers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Still fitz in my opinion for the moment - and prob forseeable future.

I wish him well during his injury though - he will be missed.

as an aside god forbid we lose BOD to injury, our try scoring will drop by 50%.
    I would like to see Luke get a few tries and i think it would fall into place for him after that.

My 6 nations back would be:
    15 Kearney
    14 Earls
    13 BOD
    12 Bowe
    11 Earls
    10 Sexton (Better runner than O'Gara)
    9 O'Leary (Although Reddan brings the best out of Sexton)

I would like to see Luke get a few tries and i think it would fall into place for him after that.

15 Kearney
    14 Earls
    13 BOD
    12 Bowe
    11 Earls

Earls will do well to cover both wings.

Has Bowe ever played 12?

15 Kearney
    14 Earls
    13 BOD
    12 Bowe
    11 Earls

Ah here, have you ever watched a game before today like?

What will fall into place exactly?

Slightly off topic but as you were at the game was there any word on the Leamy/Flannery injuries?

Leamy looked in a bad way, his knee twisted very badly in a ruck so could be a long one sadly. Dunno about Flannery, to be honest I thought it was a bit of a joke Cronin wasn't brought on anyway.

what will fall in the place is that Luke will become a free scoring winger, there has never been any famous defensive wingers. I think he needs a few matches where he scores to settle himself.

Leamy looked in a bad way, his knee twisted very badly in a ruck so could be a long one sadly. Dunno about Flannery, to be honest I thought it was a bit of a joke Cronin wasn't brought on anyway.

Yeah I see no reason why he couldn't have come on with Buckley, hope we dont regret it.

Leamy looked in agony when he came off. Would be interested to see if SOB is good enough to front up to the Boks. If he gets game time that is.

what will fall in the place is that Luke will become a free scoring winger, there has never been any famous defensive wingers. I think he needs a few matches where he scores to settle himself.

Ah jaysus. Not even bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Fitzgerald's fast, strong, good in the air and scores tries.

Earls is fast and scores rake loads of tries.

Both have toured with the Lions.

Both are very good. That's not mutually fcuking exclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

He didn't today.

Has Fitz been in poor form? I hadn't noticed anyway.

By the way, in your opinion has this match put Earls ahead of Fitz?

To be honest I'd pick Fitz but it was your argument that I found strange, you want Sexton picked overright ROG who has bags of experience.
    You're living with your head up your arse if you think the level of performances Fitz have given in a Irish, Leinster nad Lions jersey have to the same awful standard as the ones ROG has put in over the last 2 years or so.

I was never comparing their games or form, I was comparing experience, how often have you heard you cant put an old head on young shoulders, ROG's poor form is temporary.

Are you suggesting that we drop Sexton if he has a poor run of form?

To be honest I'd pick Fitz but it was your argument that I found strange, you want Sexton picked overright ROG who has bags of experience.

I was never comparing their games or form, I was comparing experience, how often have you heard you cant put an old head on young shoulders, ROG's poor form is temporary.

Are you suggesting that we drop Sexton if he has a poor run of form?[/QUOTE]

Em yes :confused::confused: Are you for real? The reason most objective people want to drop ROG is his poor form and Sextons good form. Why would you play a player that is not in form (unless he is Ronan O Gara!) it doesnt make sense, see Darcy and Wallace for example. Would this happen in any other big rugby country?

Steve Borthwick? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

04072511 wrote: »
    In the coming years both players will be permanent fixtures in the starting XV. It wont be a case of it being on or the other.

Fitz injury is such a tragedy for him but it really pushes Declan into giving Earl a chance and I think he will hold on to the wing position. Earls looks a more natural finisher but has more flaws in his overall game.

Fitz is a better more rounded footballer and when he comes back I think it will be in the centres which is where he will establish a career for Ireland.

It makes sense to have Ireland's two most gifted players in BOD and Fitz on the ball the most. If JS keeps running like he did tonight it will create all manor of nightmares for defenses to defend against those three.

subfreq wrote: »

Fitz injury is such a tragedy for him but it really pushes Declan into giving Earl a chance and I think he will hold on to the wing position. Earls looks a more natural finisher but has more flaws in his overall game.

Fitz is a better more rounded footballer and when he comes back I think it will be in the centres which is where he will establish a career for Ireland.

It makes sense to have Ireland's two most gifted players in BOD and Fitz on the ball the most. If JS keeps running like he did tonight it will create all manor of nightmares for defenses to defend against those three.

Not forgetting one Bowe, Tommy. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Difficult to compare the two really as they're actually quite different players. But you kind of have to compare them don't you? I'd agree with above posters in that Fitz is a better all round footballer and on balance i'd probably pick Fitz. Earls is an amazing try scorer though. A lot of his tries look easy. They're not. I was looking at him off the ball today and his positional awareness is amazing (that foot on the touchline was very uncharacteristic). He seems to have an unbelievable hunger for the try line. Have a look at his face when he scored that first try - it's just lit up. I often put money on Earls scoring tries. I had a fiver on him today to score two. I often make money off him. Illustrative of his ability to score tries really. Fitz v. Earls? As someone else said, good problem to have.

Are you suggesting that we drop Sexton if he has a poor run of form?

lol, no of course not. Dropping a player who's out of form?! Are you crazy? We cant have that kind of thing going on in Irish rugby. :rolleyes:

2040 wrote: »
    Difficult to compare the two really as they're actually quite different players. But you kind of have to compare them don't you? I'd agree with above posters in that Fitz is a better all round footballer and on balance i'd probably pick Fitz. Earls is an amazing try scorer though. A lot of his tries look easy. They're not. I was looking at him off the ball today and his positional awareness is amazing (that foot on the touchline was very uncharacteristic). He seems to have an unbelievable hunger for the try line. Have a look at his face when he scored that first try - it's just lit up. I often put money on Earls scoring tries. I had a fiver on him today to score two. I often make money off him. Illustrative of his ability to score tries really. Fitz v. Earls? As someone else said, good problem to have.

Hmmm. In defence I think it's good, not amazing.

In attack, I think it's actually better than that. Other than O'Driscoll, he has the best positional sense in attack of any Irish player I've seen.