Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merc Drivers for next year

• 19-11-2009 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭

This is an extract from an article on www.jamesallenonf1.com

"Brawn and Mercedes’ strongest alternative now is to field a line up of Rosberg and Heidfeld, which has never won a race and is no match for Alonso/Massa, Hamilton/Button or Vettel/Webber."

Do people agree ?

Not sure I do

I different times in the last few years, both Rosberg and Heidfield kept Mark Webber at Williams very honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

thegoth wrote: »
    This is an extract from an article on www.jamesallenonf1.com

"Brawn and Mercedes’ strongest alternative now is to field a line up of Rosberg and Heidfeld, which has never won a race and is no match for Alonso/Massa, Hamilton/Button or Vettel/Webber."

Do people agree ?

Not sure I do

I different times in the last few years, both Rosberg and Heidfield kept Mark Webber at Williams very honest.

Yeah but in fairness it's more that likely going to be Vettel, not Webber, who is going to fill the opposition with dread. In Rosberg and especially Heidfeld, Mercedes won't have anyone who is comparable to him in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Rosberg is good but still has to improve to be at the top i think,Heidfeld is solid but not a race winner,they need that extra something that an Alonso etc has to offer,maybe Raikkonen will sign,who knows? Haug is a big fan of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I sincerely hope Kimi signs for them.

It would make for an interesting season

Kimi - Merc

Lewis - Macca

Alonso - Ferrari

Vettel - RBR

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

I would defiantly say its the weakest pair out of the drivers mentioned, that's not to say they wouldn't do well It all depends on the car. How many races had Button won before 09, 1? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭thegoth

EvilMonkey wrote: »
    I would defiantly say its the weakest pair out of the drivers mentioned, that's not to say they wouldn't do well It all depends on the car. How many races had Button won before 09, 1? :eek:

Agree, but I wouldn't say that a Rosberg, Heidfeld team would be much weaker than a Webber Vettel team

Gintonious wrote: »

No.No.No..!!

We want
    Kimi.Kimi.Kimi..!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭enzo7

:D:D:D now this would be the real dream team.
    They hav a lot of history:)

I think if you just taking drivers here, then ferrari hav the strongest line up, i think hamilton is def on par with alonso but massa is in a diff league to button, id put rbr nxt doe only slightly ahead of a merc line up of rosberg/ heidfeld i think rosberg potential is as gud as vettel but i think webber edges over heidfeld. of cource if they got schumacher dats a diff storey, cant really see it happening doe. It all depends on what the cars are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

+1 million

I don't particularly like him but it would be deadly.

Moving a bit towards Nationalism. Brit team plus drivers and German team plus drivers.

Ficus wrote: »
    No, You Want Kimi.

Why put another pensioner on the grid
    F1 Needs fresh talent.
    Not ones that make excuses that their neck is too sore :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

vectra wrote: »
    F1 Needs fresh talent.

Because it will be great to watch the pensioner beat the hot shots.
    Looking back, do you not think he was very wise not to drive the ferrari last year without testing time in the car. Look a fisi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

F1 Needs fresh talent.

Come on Vectra, make an effort to make some sense! :) "Fresh Talent" isnt worth a w@nk if it cant beat the "pensioners" now is it? That and Schumacher wasnt "making excuses" about not coming back. He was told, quite rightly, that if he didnt give his neck more time to heal then he could risk serious long term damage. Since then he's been in karts regularly (racing in Vegas this weekend). Lateral G isnt that far off (3.5ish), but the races are shorter so I'm guessing he doing this with a view to staying sharp for something. What that is, is another story.

That said, as long as he does the Supernats in Vegas again next year I'll be happy. But it would be interesting to see him enter F1 if his neck is up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

I thought schumi was under contract to ferrari for a couple more years as an adviser and car tester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

F1 Needs fresh talent.

Same old stupid comments from you. What about the fresh talent that came in this year? Add much excitment? Skill? - No- not really.
    Schumacher back in F1 will be great for the sport, and rest ashured- he wont be driving like a "pensioner"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Hopefully he wont drive like a villenueve...

F1 Needs fresh talent.

Talking out of your hoop mate,you cant even compare Kimi to the best F1 driver of all time.

This popped into my head when i heard button was defiantly gone and Merc wanted a German driver but i didn't think it would happen. Its still unlikely but never say never.

Looks like McLaren and Brawn/Merc are out to top each other.

Brawn steals Merc from McLaren, McLaren steel Button from Brawn, Brawn block Button from starting early and Merc start Schumacher rumours.
    I cant wait to see these fighting on track :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

F1 Needs fresh talent.

What, like a 30-year-old who has won three races (compared with his injured team mate's six) since lifting the Championship? And I say that as a fan of Raikkonen.

Eddie Jordan is certain that Schumacher is going to be driving for Mercedes next year. Which leads me to believe that there's not a hope in hell of it happening. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 FerrariRed

Schumacher coming back would be great for the sport. I haven't been as excited about a race for years when I heard Schumacher would return in Valencia. I'd even become (gulp) a Mercedes supporter if he was racing for them...

RayM wrote: »
    What, like a 30-year-old who has won three races (compared with his injured team mate's six) since lifting the Championship? And I say that as a fan of Raikkonen.

Eddie Jordan is certain that Schumacher is going to be driving for Mercedes next year. Which leads me to believe that there's not a hope in hell of it happening. :)

feck jordan anyway him and his big mouth:D, it would hav bn great

FerrariRed wrote: »
    I'd even become (gulp) a Mercedes supporter if he was racing for them...

me too and i think hell might frezze over aswell:)

mickdw wrote: »
    Because it will be great to watch the pensioner beat the hot shots.
    Looking back, do you not think he was very wise not to drive the ferrari last year without testing time in the car. Look a fisi.
    Come on Vectra, make an effort to make some sense! :) "Fresh Talent" isnt worth a w@nk if it cant beat the "pensioners" now is it? That and Schumacher wasnt "making excuses" about not coming back. He was told, quite rightly, that if he didnt give his neck more time to heal then he could risk serious long term damage. Since then he's been in karts regularly (racing in Vegas this weekend). Lateral G isnt that far off (3.5ish), but the races are shorter so I'm guessing he doing this with a view to staying sharp for something. What that is, is another story.

That said, as long as he does the Supernats in Vegas again next year I'll be happy. But it would be interesting to see him enter F1 if his neck is up to it.

Love him or hate him.
    Thee is no denying he was a good driver.
    Shrewd would you say?
    Certainly.
    Shrewd enough not to look a fool??... Of course
    He know the F60 was a bucket to drive and would not be able to do aby good with it.
    Thats why he renaiged.
    Thaink about it
    Cant drive because of injuries not too long ago and would be capable now :rolleyes:

RayM wrote: »

Well that answers it all for you then
    EJ almost always gets it Ar$e about ways :D

I would wager a bet with anyone here that If one of them were going to sign with mers ( Schu vs Kimi) It would be Kimi
    Stp dreaming guys.. Schumacher is well past it now.
    His glory days are done and dusted
    Put it down to history and move on;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,829 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Love him or hate him.
    Shrewd would you say?
    Certainly.
    He know the F60 was a bucket to drive and would not be able to do aby good with it.
    Thats why he renaiged.
    Thaink about it
    Cant drive because of injuries not too long ago and would be capable now :rolleyes:
    time heal all wounds.

Well that answers it all for you then
    EJ almost always gets it Ar$e about ways :D

I would wager a bet with anyone here that If one of them were going to sign with mers ( Schu vs Kimi) It would be Kimi
    Stp dreaming guys.. Schumacher is well past it now.
    His glory days are done and dusted
    Put it down to history and move on;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cr4dN80TzGM
    Seemed to be going well in his final race?

Love him or hate him.
    Shrewd would you say?
    Certainly.
    Thats why he renaiged.
    Thaink about it

Good driver the guy didnt stumble upon 1 world title he won 7!!!! kimi WAS a good driver ,schumacher was the greatest the sport has ever seen!!, The f60 was no more a bucket than the 96 car that he dragged to 3 wins that year. Schumacher draged that team back to the top, kimi would never hav won the world title if it werent for the legacy schumacher left behind. As for his injurys time heals them, unlike kimi schumacher has never been afraid of a challenge in his life.
    You are seriously deluded if you think merc would choose kimi over schumacher, merc 2nd choice is heidfeld anyway kimis isnt even in the running, no team manager in the pit lane is insane enough to take on a 30yr old has been, who was paid £17mil by his former team to take a running jump. I hope to god merc can come to some agreement with him because it would be fantastic for the sport to see him back and just to remind a few people how great he was.

:D:D:D:D luv it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 FerrariRed

Ah...good memories:) Bring on 2010

enzo7 wrote: »
    ,schumacher was the greatest the sport has ever seen!.

There you go,
    You said it ;)

smiley-yawn.gif Boring 3 year old News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭Oblomov

Schuie drive again... no way..good PR especially for Mercedes and Brawn... gets everyone talking..look at te latest potos of Michael.. he's put on a lot of weight and would need a very strenuous fitness program just to get to near race fitness level let alone for a full season.

Kimi, wave goodbye .. Citroen and WRC beckons.

Dr Z as he is known in the states does not have a good business record .. the Financial Times states an extra £150 mill for Mercedes to upgrade Brawn and get drivers etc into place... whereas.. to stay at McLarten.. possible £50mill even with the buy back from McLaren..... now that's a lot of money from a company supposedly having problems with car sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

If there's one thing we should have learned from this year, it's "make no predictions"!
    I'd say it won't happen, but then I said that about Jense and Mac.

Oblomov wrote: »
    Schuie drive again... no way..good PR especially for Mercedes and Brawn... gets everyone talking..look at te latest potos of Michael.. he's put on a lot of weight and would need a very strenuous fitness program just to get to near race fitness level let alone for a full season.

Kimi, wave goodbye .. Citroen and WRC beckons.

Dr Z as he is known in the states does not have a good business record .. the Financial Times states an extra £150 mill for Mercedes to upgrade Brawn and get drivers etc into place... whereas.. to stay at McLarten.. possible £50mill even with the buy back from McLaren..... now that's a lot of money from a company supposedly having problems with car sales.

150 to sign Heidfeld? lol even for Schumacher its a stretch What needs upgrading at brawn? Honda had very good facilities just take a look at the newly refurbished wind tunnel on Brawns website. And the Merc engine plant is already up and running.
    Now assuming your 150 figure is correct it would easily be covered in the winning constructor money for Brawn + McLaren 40% buyback which must be worth more than £150mil

I agree that Schumacher story is probably to ger pr bak on Merc and not on McLaren/Button

I disagree that he wouldn't be fit enough, If Schumacher committed to Merc, I have no doubt he would be one of the fittest on the grid come March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Honda's last set of accounts shows it cost 170 million to develop last year's car.
    Obviously they've cut the staff since then.
    Say 130 million + running costs for next year.

And thanks to the fact that Nick Fry wasn't one of the people that got the chop, they've no sponsors.

Honda's last set of accounts shows it cost 170 million to develop last year's car.
    Obviously they've cut the staff since then.
    Say 130 million + running costs for next year.

And thanks to the fact that Nick Fry wasn't one of the people that got the chop, they've no sponsors.

According to Oblomov this is an extra 150 i assume on top of Car development + yearly running costs. :)

smiley-yawn.gif Boring 3 year old News

Well you just said he was passed it,seems to me then that Kimi is no better than a driver who i passed it so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Oblomov wrote: »
    he's put on a lot of weight and would need a very strenuous fitness program just to get to near race fitness level let alone for a full season.

I think you might be going on old information. Hes been on a fitness programme for while now and from the look of both him and the lead on his kart at Vegas he's 150lbs at most.

Hes plenty fit, endurance for his neck might be an issue. IMO he has something up he sleeve. Hes been doing too many top-level kart races and testing for it to be just for the craic. Time will tell I guess.....

Well you just said he was passed it,seems to me then that Kimi is no better than a driver who i passed it so?

LOL
    I am sure Schumacher passed more than Kimi in his day
    Why dont you got check it out
    Honestly ...he did :D

I think you might be going on old information. Hes been on a fitness programme for while now and from the look of both him and the lead on his kart at Vegas he's 150lbs at most.

Hes plenty fit, endurance for his neck might be an issue. IMO he has something up he sleeve. Hes been doing too many top-level kart races and testing for it to be just for the craic. Time will tell I guess.....

ya 4sure, i reckon his plenty fit now, and give him 4mths and id gurantee he'd be the fitest guy on the d grid!

Sorry to burst yer bubble lads :D
    Mercedes: No Schumacher drive with us
    Mercedes has played down speculation in the international media that Michael Schumacher will be driving for the newly-branded outfit next year. The 7-time World Champion, who drove for the German marque in sports cars before making his Formula 1 debut in 1991, had been linked with a full-time seat ahead of the 2010 season.

http://f1.gpupdate.net/en/news/2009/11/21/mercedes-no-schumacher-drive-with-us/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

Thats why he renaiged.
    Thaink about it

Wrong.......

.....as usual.

smooch71 wrote: »
    Wrong.......

.....as usual.

Prove me wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Not only that, but Autosport hasn't mentioned anything about this story. If they don't deem a story even worthy of a mention, you can be pretty sure that it's nothing more than silly-season silliness. I'm just surprised at some of the UK papers (even the Telegraph) reporting this as though a deal had been done.

Prove me wrong.

Well surely if his reason for not filling in for Massa was because the car was such a sh1tbox, he wouldn't have agreed to it in the first place.

Publicity stunt..
    Get a bit of Media hype
    after all..
    It wouldnt be the first story he made up would it :rolleyes:

Publicity stunt..
    Get a bit of Media hype
    after all..

Just like kimi saying he was going to end his career at Ferrari...oh wait he did!

Yup,
    and he told the truth ;)

Publicity stunt..
    Get a bit of Media hype
    after all..

Yeah

I'm sure the most successful driver in the history of the sport needed some media hype. Just in case the world forgot about him.

I'm sure that's what it was.

Yeah

I'm sure the most successful driver in the history of the sport needed some media hype. Just in case the world forgot about him.

I'm sure that's what it was.

Theres the word
    HISTORY

Move on,
    keep him as a memory