Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Leap Year", the "Darby O'Gill and The Little People" of our time?

• 18-11-2009 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭

"I need someone to drive me from Cardiff to Dublin"
    She should've just gotten the ferry from Hollyhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Looks painfully bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

i rewatched Darby O'Gill and The Little People a few months ago

actually the greatest film of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Trailer is just so cringey! And the lead man is actually wearing a woolly Aran jumper for the whole lot of it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

I agree :) Brillant, used to watch it all the time and then stopped for years. Watched the other week and it was better than i remember. I love the song they sing and all of the dancing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Can you guys see a trailer there?
    I'm just getting a white square.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Fantastic film to this day. Very little issue with the 'effects' too! All time great, but has made an image of Ireland that Americans believe to be true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Do they actually make it to Dublin itself or do they end up in some little town in the country like f*cking ballinasloe !??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Darby is such a gay name in all fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

wudangclan wrote: »
    Can you guys see a trailer there?
    I'm just getting a white square.

Are you in work maybe? Youtube is blocked here so I see a white square too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Moved to Films.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I agree :) Brillant, used to watch it all the time and then stopped for years. Watched the other week and it was better than i remember. I love the song they sing and all of the dancing!
    antodeco wrote: »
    Fantastic film to this day. Very little issue with the 'effects' too! All time great, but has made an image of Ireland that Americans believe to be true!

+1 on all that, aws actually watching it the other night myself...

PIf... all that hoo haa about doing the hobits in LOTR...

there's loadsa scenes with Derby and Leprchauns only shin high...

ow... and the little horses too...

... Dam the effects of the Banshees and that coach in the end always looked slick to me when i was a kid.

- Drav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Zohan to the rescue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

All I can think of is the Kerrymaid ad - "Did ye miss the boat?"

P.S. given that there is fanfic for everything, does this mean there is someone who writes Kerrymaid ad fanfic, where Miss Kennedy and the mysterious French teacher use real butter in very naughty ways?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭ToTheSea:

Im an extra for this film:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'm guessing it's an American picture card view of Ireland?....lol, let them come to Limerick and see some of the scumbags and aniti social behaviour....then tell me how wonderful Ireland is!

ToTheSea: wrote: »

Culchie #2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭ToTheSea:

Culchie #2?

Haha i have no idea. i had to wait for a bus in a big winter jacket and hat. It was probably the hottest day of the year that day. I'll be sweating buckets in my scene when I should be freezing cos it'll be febuary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Met some of the crew and the main 'talent' in a boozer in Dublin city centre a few months ago. Yer man got a bit thick when asked to do his Irish accent. I can see why, tis shocking. :eek:

Does Amy Adams drink Guinness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Christ that looks awful, no wonder all Americans think we live in thatched roof houses in little villages, eat spuds by the barrell and use begorrah begosh lingo, ****wits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

I'm guessing it's an American picture card view of Ireland?....lol, let them come to Limerick and see some of the scumbags and aniti social behaviour....then tell me how wonderful Ireland is!
    krudler wrote: »
    Christ that looks awful, no wonder all Americans think we live in thatched roof houses in little villages, eat spuds by the barrell and use begorrah begosh lingo, ****wits

but...no....just no....it cant be! The driving journey from Cardiff to Dublin is 99% in wales...then 1% on the ferry then hoo ha you are in dublin. Takes about 8 hours! So wouldnt this movie be an "american picture card of Wales" and wouldnt it be no wonder "all americans think the welsh live in thatched roof houses" (incidentally I think they do!)

Still though...Amy Adams! :)
    Addendum...Darby O Gill is an EPIC movie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

ToTheSea: wrote: »
    So is a friend of mine, I hope he knows what he's let himself in for.

"Oh, she is my dear, my darlin' one
    Her eyes so sparklin', full of fun
    "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

She land in Wales so presumable she's traveling through Wales for the bulk of the film. So why does everyone have Irish accents?