Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish women: beauties or beasts?

• 18-11-2009 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭

Ladies,

Was just over in AH looking through the thread "why do Irish men find Irish women so unattractive" and i must say, i was surprised at the amount of guys that said they thought Irish women were attractive as i would assume Irish lads would typically want a more Spanish/Italian look in a women...

So, as an Irish women how would you rate us?

Personally, i find that Irish girls wear too much make up (with really bad application skills also!) and try to conform to a stereotype of what they think men want us to look like(blonde, tan, boobs out), but on average, i think we're a fairly good looking nation.

Anyone agree/disagree?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I think it depends if your in a cattle market or a decent place where people who can dress are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 AmazingMan

Most of them are beasts unfortunately, pale skin, overweight, poorly dressed and with little interest in world affairs beyond the latest x-factor vote or debenhams sale, oh and most prefer sexual congress with the lights off for obvious reasons

Having said that they are well able for a bit of drink and craic and we wouldn't change them for the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I agree on the make up part, too much. Irish girls most often have good colours and strong facial lines so why they feel the need to cake it on is beyond me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

I dont think we're great looking as a nation, the men are smaller than other countries and great looking ones are few and far between compared to somewhere like Spain/Italy.
    Irish men have better personalities though

I dont think we're great looking as a nation, the men are smaller than other countries and great looking ones are few and far between compared to somewhere like Spain/Italy.
    Irish men have better personalities though

Ya, most of the men are no great shakes either, let's not delude ourselves here, we are not a great-looking nation, in fact we are per capita one of the ugliest. Of course that is not to say that we don't have somme attractive people and of course we have had to compensate for our poor posture and pasty skin by being able to tell long funny stories about falling out or into things (= cracking personality). Sure we can't have it all.

We are brilliant at talking ****e and not taking stuff to seriously, I genuinely think that's a great trait in a group of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

AmazingMan wrote: »
    Most of them are beasts unfortunately, pale skin, overweight, poorly dressed and with little interest in world affairs beyond the latest x-factor vote or debenhams sale, oh and most prefer sexual congress with the lights off for obvious reasons

Harsh... i'm inclinded to disagree with that and put any of my friends or me forward as an example... you must be hanging out in the wrong places...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭theT

I think they should make make-up classes compulsory for Irish girls in school and someone needs to put it out there that orange fake tan is not the way to cover up bad skin-its just making it worse, and then there is the whole issue with clothes... why is it that when a girl hits a size 16 she thinks its the right time to wear her little sisters belly tops and short skirts?
    The biggest problem with how irish girls, and men, look is that we are all too similar, we all have similar skin tone, similar eye color but I think thats something which will change, and for the better, with imigration and integration of other communities. Big fan of mediteranean and dark skinned women by the way....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Ah sure all the overly made up and tanned women just make us natural beauties stand out :D *

*the above may not be true

Elba101 wrote: »
    Harsh... i'm inclinded to disagree with that and put any of my friends or me forward as an example... you must be hanging out in the wrong places...
    please feel welcome to post pictures

Ah sure all the overly made up and tanned women just make us natural beauties stand out :D *

*the above may not be true
    thats only if you can be seen standing behind the beasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Were a nation of pixie heads ha ha,
    But in all honesty there are some gorgues irish women, fair enoguh there not as tanned as in some other contries but there always a great laugh,
    As an Irish lad i think there are plenty of good looking girls around, on a night out in town you see dozen's of gorgues ladies aorund,
    Lets not kid ourselfs other countries have horrible ladies aswell, and most of them wouldnt have the crack like Irish girls,

it was harsh, I apologize, it's hard to know what is our ratio of lookers to munters, I don't know how it could be calculated, every day i see plenty of each and in any case what i regard as attractive/unattractive may not precisely match what someone else thinks. These discussions are always unscientific, fruitless and hard on women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭nialo

to say in general would be wrong but its closer to true than a select few!

ladys dont know how to present themselves. make up and dress sense is lacking and this in turn hinders a possible attractive lady looking good. bad choices really.

as a country we aint the prettiest though got to agree with that. not bad just not that pretty either. on both sides of the coin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

This thread is horrible....just horrible...... I mean the word 'beasts' what a horrible word.

We have enough of these on AH do we really need a thread here in the one place for ladies on boards telling us how pale/unnatractive/fat/unfit/orange/ugly etc etc we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Some of that AH thread offends me.
    You can't generalise in the way some people are and call an entire nation of Irish women ugly or less good looking than their Polish/English/French etc... counterparts.
    Strikes me as a very bitter, unfair comment to make.

Nothing wrong with Irish women, in my opinion. There's a lot of beautiful ladies in this thread alone, not to mind the entire country.

As far as statistics go, we might be considered very curvy - curvier than we were fourty, fifty years ago, but according to other statistics men like that! So, it's seemingly impossible to win!

I reckon people who feel the need to call Irish women ugly are just those who are either too egotistical or have been rejected too many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

lads i have to disagree, i think were as good as anywere for good looking ladies, on any giving night that in out in town there is always a good number of seriously good looking ladies around, and i actully find if you have the courage to speak to them the majority are nice and down to earth,
    i just think anywere you go no matter the country there will always be more avereage looking girls than real beauties but thats true for both male and female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

panda100 wrote: »
    This thread is horrible....just horrible...... I mean the word 'beasts' what a horrible word.

We have enough of these on AH do we really need a thread here in the one place for ladies on boards telling us how pale/unnatractive/fat/unfit/orange/ugly etc etc we are.

+ 1 million. This is the opposite of what the forum is about.

Yes,yes you do, you all need to be educated on how to present yourself so as not to look like a nation of semi femine beasts and monstors

Yeah i do see plenty of both while walking through town... and maybe this topic is a bit harsh on us ladies (no offence intended!)

Just wanted to know people's thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Irelands only a small country with small population but if you take the whole of Ireland including NI you will find the prettiest girls anywere .

Pale skin with overuse of mascara might be a minus but that can be overlooked if they have nice clear eyes and good teeth .

Looking in the know your (ladies) loungers thread and you will see some very attractive women some might say beauties ,some average and some ordinary / plain .

I cant say I ever saw a beast on there but what's attractive to one isin't to another and obiously somebody who considers herself one isin't going to post a pic up there ,unless of course it's for her sense of humor ie,I am not to self concious about my picture and dont care what anybody thinks I look like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Irish woman like women from anywhere else are a mixed bag, unfortunately It find it is the attitudes of some Irish women that make them less attractive IMO.

Even though there are a higher number then average of Irish women who are lookers.

I think it was the streets who sung 'Fit, but don't you know it' I think he was talking about some Irish women there.

Yeah i'm actually sorry i started this. Didn't mean it in a bad way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭irishultra

ye but you have great personality(hahha i always find this a little like the irish national team-little skill but great heart its meant to be a positive but in truth its abit of a put down) btw i never get the personality thing, i mean some are sound some not.

nah in fairness i think as ireland becomes more multi racial irish girls will look hotter. what i mean is that because we have a shallow gene pool(only 20 per cent of us have 'foreign' genes if you want to say that-so thats english, french, viking and whatever other smaller trickles there would be) so what does this mean in a lot of ways we all look the same(its not obvious in many cases but in a lot of ways it is) so people want something different. now if we see more asian, african(black) faces and whatever else irish(traditional irish) look will seem more individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

Generalizing like - all Irish women are overweight, pasty, hostile etc. etc. makes me so angry. grrrrr.

Latchy wrote: »
    Looking in the know your (ladies) loungers thread and you will see some very attractive women some might say beauties ,some average and some ordinary / plain.

:eek: Excuse you! We're a bunch of complete rides!

I hate these perceptions that Irish women wear too much make-up / wear too much fake tan / don't make an effort to look nice on a night out / don't bother with their appearance etc...

Not every woman can be boxed into those categories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Have any of the guys saying Irish people are unattractive checked the Know your loungers thread..... A lot of foxes over there, and from a straight perspective some very handsome lads too, including this one hunk of man called NothingMan.... mmm hmm.

it's fair to say that a lot of the criticism aimed their way is often born out of frustration from not being able to snare a beauty (it's quite easy to do so the anger should be redirected towards oneself if unable to complete this fairly easy task)

People are lashing out coz they don't have a beauty on their arm and making all sorts of excuses for it instead of looking at themselves, if they bothered to even try they might get over their prejudices and realise the Irish beauty is easily pulled

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

TheT - banned for 1 month contravening the charter.

Yeah i'm actually sorry i started this. Didn't mean it in a bad way.

Ah, don't be sorry - it's an interesting topic, I think.
    I'm interested to know where all the sterotypes and generalisations came from.

Of course, there will be people who'll call Irish women beasts, but that's just insane. You can't label an entire nation of women!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I can't see this going anyway but down and the temptation for keyboard adonis muppet types is too high. Closed

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.