Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How best to deal with the Taxi Driver??*

• 18-11-2009 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

Everyone who cycles to work has to deal with good and bad drivers on the road. But I was just reminded of how ignorant some drivers can be this morning.

As I cycled into work (wearing an illuminus Yellow cycling jacket, a bag with an illuminus orange bag cover and a light flashing on my bike) a Taxi drifted out of the main lane of traffic (without indicating) and began to sandwich me between the pavement and his car. My only option was to speed up and get in front of him and when I did I waved with my hand to show him I was there and pointed at his indicator to say “you never indicated”!

Obviously this is a huge crime because the Taxi driver proceeded to slam down his horn and keep beeping at me and telling me to get into the cycle lane (I was cycling in the bus lane at the kerb side so this made no sense?).

At the next set of lights I found myself next to the taxi and without shouting or getting upset I told him he needed to be aware of cyclists and start using his indicator or there’d be an accident.

His reaction? “I’ve got a witness you were in the wrong!! You weren’t even in the bleedin cycling lane and I have a witness”

I tried again to explain that whatever happens he should “use your indicator” because cyclists can’t guess what drivers are planning on doing. But to no avail, instead all I got was a bunch of expletives and wall of total ignorance.

Generally speaking I try to avoid confrontation with all drivers, as anyone can make a mistake. Instead I go out of my way to make sure I’m visible as I just want to get to my destination in one piece.

My question:

As a cyclist should you leave it or say something to the driver if he almost causes an accident. Personally I’d rather have him pissed off at me and more careful in future than just letting it go??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Everyone who cycles to work has to deal with good and bad drivers on the road. But I was just reminded of how ignorant some drivers can be this morning.

As I cycled into work (wearing an illuminus Yellow cycling jacket, a bag with an illuminus orange bag cover and a light flashing on my bike) a Taxi drifted out of the main lane of traffic (without indicating) and began to sandwich me between the pavement and his car. My only option was to speed up and get in front of him and when I did I waved with my hand to show him I was there and pointed at his indicator to say “you never indicated”!

Obviously this is a huge crime because the Taxi driver proceeded to slam down his horn and keep beeping at me and telling me to get into the cycle lane (I was cycling in the bus lane at the kerb side so this made no sense?).

Happened to me last Friday, did a track stand in the middle of the bus lane until he stopped beeping and then politely told him to have some manners and continued on my way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

They are so frustrating, I have at least one incident every week with them....angry stupid knackers driving cars that arent even taxi standard - 99% of them are fine its just are the thick ones that dont realise that the traffic is gonna be backed up another 100 mtrs down the road and try and get past ya , or ya slow as a set of lights turn red and they decide to speed up and go around ya and then just stop

Similar issue to you , I have road bike and , between end of malahide road and fire station at annsley bridge I cycle in the bus lane, I dont like the bike lane , its always busy and the leaves and curbs are enemys of my road bike tyres , I avg about 35km's so not doddling but...the traffic is always backed up after that point , so no one should be in a hurry , yesterday had a taxi drive up my hole beeping and shoulting out the window even though there was a customer in the back and the traffic was clearlry not moving ahead - I find the following works

1) Issue the finger then move in slow and let them pass

2) Wait until you catch up with them in traffic and issue the w@nker sign on passing

3) If they have really fooked you off stop in front of them and have a cycle slow for a bit

There is no point trying to educate them as they arent driving taxis for their brain power and they own the road, its their bleedin bread and butter after all

One of them actually told me hs is coming after me to slit my throat...so ill look forward to that another with a taxi full of lads told me I was a queer cyclist...how professional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

I would prob just post my rant into the Cycling forum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Nope, you can hear them moaning everyday about the Motor forum :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=410

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭bourne99

Well, as a driver, for me there is nothing more annoying than a cyclist who cycles beside the cycle lane. It's especially annoying along say the N11 where some cyclists will cycle in the middle of the bus lane causing motorists to have to slow and change lane, which has a knock-on effect. If there is a cycle lane there - then why not use it?

Now, I was in a cycling club for ten years as a youngster and I've gone all over Ireland. I gave up after my umpteenth mishap, the final straw being when I was run off the road in Wicklow by a BMW. The simple fact is that Ireland is not catered to cyclists despite the Micky-Mouse cycle paths etc. I love cycling, but I just won't do it here. It's too dangerous and unfortunately I know too many people who have been knocked down.

I think you're all very brave. But can I just pleed with you on one thing: Don't just go on indicators. Watch the wheels of a car. This isn't a game or anything like it, and if you end up having an accident someday and are left injured, it'll be no use to you saying 'But he didn't have his indicator on...' It's your life, and you're putting it in the trust of the driver - who is in a car weighing 1.5 tonnes, and is often driving with the radio on, whilst texting in one hand, with a cigarette in the other. Of course they shouldn't be doing those things, but the truth is that they are - so until they stop all of that - I'll take my chances in a Volvo before a bike!

But getting back to your original comment, yeah I agree people who don't indicate are annoying for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

bourne99 wrote: »
    Well, as a driver, for me there is nothing more annoying than a cyclist who cycles beside the cycle lane. It's especially annoying along say the N11 where some cyclists will cycle in the middle of the bus lane causing motorists to have to slow and change lane, which has a knock-on effect. If there is a cycle lane there - then why not use it?

It this specific case because it is not a usable bike lane.
    Its unsafe and dangerous.
    See your below point on "Micky-Mouse cycle paths".
    Now, I was in a cycling club for ten years as a youngster and I've gone all over Ireland. I gave up after my umpteenth mishap, the final straw being when I was run off the road in Wicklow by a BMW. The simple fact is that Ireland is not catered to cyclists despite the Micky-Mouse cycle paths etc. I love cycling, but I just won't do it here. It's too dangerous and unfortunately I know too many people who have been knocked down.

I think you're all very brave. But can I just pleed with you on one thing: Don't just go on indicators. Watch the wheels of a car. This isn't a game or anything like it, and if you end up having an accident someday and are left injured, it'll be no use to you saying 'But he didn't have his indicator on...' It's your life, and you're putting it in the trust of the driver - who is in a car weighing 1.5 tonnes, and is often driving with the radio on, whilst texting in one hand, with a cigarette in the other. Of course they shouldn't be doing those things, but the truth is that they are - so until they stop all of that - I'll take my chances in a Volvo before a bike!

But getting back to your original comment, yeah I agree people who don't indicate are annoying for everyone.

MODS PLEASE MOVE THIS.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Well, as a driver, for me there is nothing more annoying than a cyclist who cycles beside the cycle lane. It's especially annoying along say the N11 where some cyclists will cycle in the middle of the bus lane causing motorists to have to slow and change lane, which has a knock-on effect.

Which motorists, surely the only ones that will be effected are buses and taxis? Buses will be stopping every few hundred meters so may well not be going the same speed as the bike anyway and the taxi can either overtake or will just get stuck behind the next bus anyway if the regular lanes are going slow with the rest of the traffic.

. The simple fact is that Ireland is not catered to cyclists despite the Micky-Mouse cycle paths etc.

Ya just contradicted yourself there - The whole reason I'd avoid certain stretches of cycle lanes is because of mickey mouse cycle paths and who cares if ya have to change lane hardly that much of an inconvinence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Iron Enthusiast

Just to clarify, there was no cycle lane where I was cyclling. There was only the bus lane which as a cyclist i'm entitled to use! (hence my confusion over the Taxi drivers comments?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

The cycle lanes in Dublin are a joke. Sometimes it's safer avoid them altogether.

I encountered an idiot taxi driver a few weeks ago. A calmly delivered finger usually works for me. Not big or clever but it's not like anything I'll say is going to change their minds.

Bourne99: You outlined precisely the reasons why some cyclists don't use cycle lanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭bourne99

ah well, makes no odds to me. Whatever about latching on to the cycle lane bit, I was trying to relay some advice which was given to me some years back and that is you're trusting the drivers. I don't trust drivers. Sure just the other day 4 'lads' in a Hyundai Coupe jumped the gun at the lights and careered into another car right on front of me. Maybe I'm still annoyed by the cyclist who called me a 'f***ing sp*' some weeks back. And I was on foot. I'll be on my way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Completely agree that you should never trust drivers, pedestrians or cyclists

Basically there are many idiots on the roads using various modes of transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

tunney wrote: »
    MODS PLEASE MOVE THIS.

Reporting the post normally works better than a CAPS LOCK demand ;)

Moved from A/R/T...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

If there is a cycle lane there - then why not use it?

Because they're mostly unusable.
    It's too dangerous.

No, it isn't.
    I think you're all very brave.

No, we're not. Well, I certainly am not.
    But can I just plead with you on one thing: Don't just go on indicators. Watch the wheels of a car.

That's excellent advice. I do that myself, but it bears repeating. Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Haven recently graduated from 4 to 2 wheels, I can say that taxi drivers are by far the most ignorant and inconsiderate road users. Well, I figured this while driving so I always give them a wide berth and try and expect the worse.

Had one pull out right in front of me on a roundabout yesterday morning, cats-eyes lights and high vis on. Ignoramus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

You should have realise that while you were still on 4 wheels Surveyor ! I think some of them think the yellow plate on their roof is a flashing blue light that gives them carte blanche to do whatever they want on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

I normally beckon them out of the car so I can kick **** out of them but none has jumped out yet unfortunately. I punch their windows on driver side if its a really close call and they are wrong.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

This didn't happen on Thomas Street this morning did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Iron Enthusiast

Nope it happened between the Burlington and lesson street bridge on the way into town!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I find ignoring them annoys them a lot more than a flick of the finger. They start driving alongside me then looking at me and beeping their horn waiting for acknowledgment. There's one bus lane on my way home where taxis aren't allowed it's strictly buses and bikes only so I like to cycle SLOWLY right up the middle of the lane if there is a car/taxi behind me. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I find ignoring them annoys them a lot more than a flick of the finger. They start driving alongside me then looking at me and beeping their horn waiting for acknowledgment. There's one bus lane on my way home where taxis aren't allowed it's strictly buses and bikes only so I like to cycle SLOWLY right up the middle of the lane if there is a car/taxi behind me. :pac:

Stephen's Green East? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

tunney wrote: »
    It this specific case because it is not a usable bike lane.
    Its unsafe and dangerous.
    See your below point on "Micky-Mouse cycle paths".

I have to say the cyclepaths in Dublin are not great and badly thought out.
    I always said a Dutchman/Cyclist with years of experience should be doing the designing.
    IMHO it was better not to have cyclepaths in many cases, those ones where you just go up and down the footpath plus you have to stop everytime you cross a minor road.

A good cyclepath should be well maintained/cleaned.
    Give you lots of priority.
    Pedestrian free.
    And as you zoom along, the motorist stuck in heavy thinks to themselves "thats a better way to travel".

Everyday as I cycle to work I feel blessed that I live here http://www.360cities.net/image/albertkanaal-brug-zandstraat-kwaadmechelen-ham-limburg-belgie :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

There is one reason that cycle lanes are insane, and badly thought out. :

To get funding for "cycling":rolleyes: from the EU the government needed X amount of cycle lanes.

Where the money went , I have no Idea but it didnt go where it was ment to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Irrespective of who is right and who is wrong, heed the saying "there's no point in being dead right if you end up just as dead as if you were wrong"

and btw...imho... hackney drivers have, in general, the worst attitude to other road users inc cyclists, pedestrians and other motorists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

See http://www.taxiregulator.ie/consumer/complaints-and-lost-property/making-a-complaint.html

All well and good but I can see this resolution coming back

The complaint may be concluded in one of four ways. These are:
    • No further action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

glove.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

There's one bus lane on my way home where taxis aren't allowed it's strictly buses and bikes only so I like to cycle SLOWLY right up the middle of the lane if there is a car/taxi behind me. :pac:
    Hi RQ,
    Just curious - where is this bus lane?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Garlic Suplmnt

I'm back cycling since June having not been on a bike in over 10 years. The first couple of months I used to lock horns with anything that put me in danger when cycling. I found this used to just put me in bad humour for a short while, so I just try glide above it nowadays and not react. It's normally an 'after the event' phenomonon which in the face of the prevailing attitude of motorists who have created a dangerous situation, has limited overall use I think.

Hermy wrote: »
    Hi RQ,
    Just curious - where is this bus lane?

In Inchicore, coming off Tyrconell road onto the Sarsfield road by the 'model school'

*hopes Hermy isn't a taxi driver that I've gotten in the way of in the past*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

In Inchicore, coming off Tyrconell road onto the Sarsfield road by the 'model school'

*hopes Hermy isn't a taxi driver that I've gotten in the way of in the past*
    I think in that case it's not that taxis aren't permitted to use the bus lane on the sarsfield road, but the left turn from Tyrconnell road is strictly busses and cyclists only. So even though a taxi could use the bus lane, they've no way of legally getting there.

Hermy was a cyclist before he ever drove a taxi so he does his best to watch out for cyclists.
    see here

Genealogy Forum Mod

seamus wrote: »
    I think in that case it's not that taxis aren't permitted to use the bus lane on the sarsfield road, but the left turn from Tyrconnell road is strictly busses and cyclists only. So even though a taxi could use the bus lane, they've no way of legally getting there.

Not sure what way it works myself but I've been in taxis home a couple of times and they've gone that way and are always terrified that they'll get caught. One taxi driver pulled in to one of the side roads, stopped the meter for me and turned back out to go in the other direction when he saw the Guards at the end of the road. Plus side for me I saved a few euro. :D

Edit: on the subject of taxis and cyclists, was in my dads taxi this morning as we got to the roundabout I saw a cyclist coming round, well lit up - high vis, lights etc and he starts driving onto the roundabout, claims he didn't 'see' the cyclist. :rolleyes:

claims he didn't 'see' the cyclist. :rolleyes:
    Your Dad isn't Swedish by any chance?:rolleyes:

Genealogy Forum Mod

Not only do I see taxis going down there, I see regular cars going that way all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

dario28 wrote: »
    All well and good but I can see this resolution coming back

The complaint may be concluded in one of four ways. These are:
    • No further action

Maybe it will, or maybe it won't. You'll never find out if you don't lodge a formal complaint. And regardless of the outcome, having an investigator land on his door asking questions about how he treats cyclists will certainly have an impact on his future driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

For what it's worth, in my experience, taxi drivers do not constitute a significantly greater threat to cyclists than other car drivers. Indeed, on the whole, I find them better than most. This is hardly surprising since they are, to all intents and purposes, professional drivers. (This should not be interpreted as denying that there are taxi drivers who are not safe - of course there are and I've had run-ins with several.) I suspect the impression that they constitute a particular threat to cyclists comes down to the fact that - unlike most motorists - they are permitted to use bus lanes which brings them into closer proximity with cyclists. Again "in my experience" when in a bike lane I'm more likely to to cut up by a bus than a taxi.

However, both of these are simply subjective impressions: I think I'd like to see some objective research before I accepted any assertions about either taxi drivers or bus drivers as a class of motorists.

Furthermore, although I've been tempt to do it myself, giving someone the finger is hardly likely to de-escalate a situation where as a cyclist, one is particularly vulnerable. If you're beeped by a motorist, and you're confident that you are riding within the rules of the road, I'd simply keep on keeping on, pausing only to issue a cheery wave, suggesting that you have interpreted the beep as a friendly greeting. If the beeping continues, turn your head, look at the driver long enough to memorise their features, then pointedly look at their licence plate and reach for your phone. I've done this on two occasions now and whether coincidentally or not, the beeping stopped in both cases. (I suspect it did help that, on both occasions, there was little ambiguity as to whether I was contravening any traffic laws.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

rflynnr wrote: »
    ... they are, to all intents and purposes, professional drivers.

I would say the extent of their professionalism, on the most part, extends solely to the fact that they accept a fare for a service. The standard of taxi driving leaves a lot to be desired IMHO, either when witnessing as a fellow driver or cyclist. They seem to be somehow (of the opinion) that they are exempt from the rules of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've only hand a handful of times that I've had taxi drivers aggressively try to push past in bus lane or otherwise put me in danger, but as pointed out if everyone was using the bus lanes, we'd have way more such incidents.

My primary problem with taxi drivers (as a driver and a cyclist) is that they'll do anything in pursuit of a fare - emergency stop to pull over, U-turns across solid white lines (or even traffic islands), wrong turns, the list is endless.

I had a taxi driver sound the horn at me aggressively for pulling over to the side of the road on my bike with trailer the other day. I had signalled I was going to do it, but I suppose the fact that I wasn't picking up a fare scandalised him.

I think the advice about on not giving the finger is a good one. It really can escalate the situation in most alarming ways. I speak from experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Surveyor11 wrote: »
    I would say the extent of their professionalism, on the most part, extends solely to the fact that they accept a fare for a service. The standard of taxi driving leaves a lot to be desired IMHO, either when witnessing as a fellow driver or cyclist. They seem to be somehow (of the opinion) that they are exempt from the rules of the road.

Though I tend to somewhat agree with you that SOME drivers are the pits at least the majority of them do have some kind of license. Cyclists have no need for a license and unless they also drive have ( in all probability ) very little road sense or regard for basic road laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Though I tend to somewhat agree with you that SOME drivers are the pits at least the majority of them do have some kind of license. Cyclists have no need for a license and unless they also drive have ( in all probability ) very little road sense or regard for basic road laws

You're responding to one worthless generalisation with another.

I know lots of cyclists with excellent road sense and knowledge of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Its for this very reason many motorcyclists wear motor cross boots(they are great for removing mirrors :D)..Id recommend cyclists pick up a pair of armored gloves(would also be very handy for the disciplining of taxi drivers via vehicle modifications ;) ) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Part of my commute home takes me through santry and down towards drumcondra nearly all the way in bus lanes. I get passed by taxi after taxi coming from the airport. The main problem with these taxis is not that they are all brutal drivers (some are) but that the bus lanes are not wide enough to safely pass a cyclist. This leads to conflict if they insist on passing too close but can also lead to conflict if a cyclist stays well out in the lane for safety reasons. I dont think there is any easy solution except common sense and basic road manners..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

tomasrojo wrote:
    I wasn't picking up a fare
    G'wan I dare ya...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

This is based on a false dichotomy, i.e. the assumption that most cyclists are not also drivers and vice versa. The only evidence I'm aware of (a poll right here on boards) suggests that the vast majority of cyclists are also drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I dont want to get involved in throwing random ideas of the percentages of good versus bad drivers, but imho I dont think that by having a license we can assume most are good drivers or know road laws.

A simple guess would tell me that a high percentage of drivers who earned their license over 20 years ago and the testing has changed quite a bit since then so we have no way of knowing what they do or dont know about road laws

The current Irish system of once only testing does not produce good or law abiding drivers it produces people who drop their bad habits for one day and then resume them should they pass a test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Seaswimmer wrote: »
    Part of my commute home takes me through santry and down towards drumcondra nearly all the way in bus lanes. I get passed by taxi after taxi coming from the airport. The main problem with these taxis is not that they are all brutal drivers (some are) but that the bus lanes are not wide enough to safely pass a cyclist. This leads to conflict if they insist on passing too close but can also lead to conflict if a cyclist stays well out in the lane for safety reasons. I dont think there is any easy solution except common sense and basic road manners..
    The correct thing for a driver to do in that circumstance is to leave the lane to overtake the cyclist (there is actually an exception that you can cross a solid white line to overtake a cyclist.)

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Not only do I see taxis going down there, I see regular cars going that way all the time.

I know, I ESPECIALLY love getting in their way, especially boy racers and I get beeped at like mad. End of the day, I'm entitled to use that lane and as long as I'm not causing any danger to other vehicles who are entitled to use that lane(buses) I'm going to continue cycling right down the middle of the lane. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Lumen wrote: »
    You're responding to one worthless generalisation with another.

I know lots of cyclists with excellent road sense and knowledge of the law.

I didn't start the generalisations, but as a motorist ( as well as a taxi driver ) the attitudes and road sense of an awful lot of cyclists leaves me wondering just how many are going to end up in a box by the end of the year.

Many seem to have scant ( if any ) regard for traffic lights, no right turns, no left turns, one way streets, footpaths, pedestrian crossings etc. Maybe it's time cyclists were made to take a test and get 3rd party/public liability insurence.

Now I don't for one minute believe that all cyclists behave this way, but just as bad drivers ( Taxi or not ) get noticed the most so do bad cyclists