Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mexican Waves- love them or hate them?

• 17-11-2009 3:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭

I was reminded about how much I hate the Mexican wave when I thought one was being started in the first half of the England vs Argentina game last weekend. It was in fact people making paper aeroplanes from some Nike Mercahndise and throwing it on the field. English Rugby really does have issues.

I know a lot of England football fans were outraged when one started at Wembley recently, really does de-value the whole spectacle, couldnt see one starting at Upton Park or Anfield for instance.

I just cannot understand why people would pay money to go to a sporting event and then spend the whole time looking at crowd and not the game.

If a Mexican Wave ever starts at a Ireland Rugby International during play I shall get up and walk out I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

They used to happen every week in Lansdowne (late 90s). Thankfully we now an entertaining standard of rugby to watch (usually)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

little173 wrote: »
    I just cannot understand why people would pay money to go to a sporting event and then spend the whole time looking at crowd and not the game
    If a Mexican Wave ever starts at a Ireland Rugby International during play I shall get up and walk out I think.
    You're overreacting slight there, methinks.
    At least if someone gets this going (during a dull game such as that game you mention), they're participating in something to lift the day.

I don't know which bugs me more but this lot deserve a special mention . . .

Early-leavers - I know its "your money" that you paid for your ticket with but you're blocking my view of the bloody game as you make your way to the nearest pub 10 minutes early. On behalf of the game, sorry to have troubled you. Maybe we can suggest a 60 minute instead with 10 minutes off to cover your late arrival too?

The Journeyman - This bugger just walks to and from his seat buying beers and/or going for a leak. Its as if the match he is allegedly there to watch is a mere distraction or even obstacle.

The 'Expert' - I'm going to whallop the next wally with a copy of the laws of rugby who constantly yells 'REFFFF!' or 'OFFSIDE' with arms outstretched for a penalty even though the official out there is playing ADVANTAGE! The other bleeder that gets my goat is the 'expert' who knows it all about a particular player or team. Bilge such as "He's not actually a New Zealander but Tongan" (I kid you not that I heard an idiot 'inform' about Jonah Lomu this way) or talking 'pods' even though I'm seeing man-marking around the fringes.

The rest of you? You're okay . . . ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I just cannot understand why people would pay money to go to a sporting event and then spend the whole time looking at crowd and not the game.

Normally, it's a sign of how good/bad/boring the actual game is. People just find a way to entertain themselves.

If there is plenty of action and the game is good - no wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Justind wrote: »
    The 'Expert' - I'm going to whallop the next wally with a copy of the laws of rugby who constantly yells 'REFFFF!' or 'OFFSIDE' with arms outstretched for a penalty even though the official out there is playing ADVANTAGE! The other bleeder that gets my goat is the 'expert' who knows it all about a particular player or team. Bilge such as "He's not actually a New Zealander but Tongan" (I kid you not that I heard an idiot 'inform' about Jonah Lomu this way) or talking 'pods' even though I'm seeing man-marking around the fringes.

Best experts I heard recently were two idiots behind me in the pub on Sunday who were having a fit because "REF, THEY CAN'T RUSH THE BLOODY CONVERSION!!"

I decided it was better to not correct them than to do so, and potentially have them in my ear for the rest of the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

Paulw wrote: »
    Normally, it's a sign of how good/bad/boring the actual game is. People just find a way to entertain themselves.

If there is plenty of action and the game is good - no wave.

I have heard that argument but just dont buy it at all, it has kind of gone further than that now as people turn up to do a "wave" regardless which is just bizarre. I dont want them anywhere near any of my sporting teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

You're overreacting slight there, methinks.
    At least if someone gets this going (during a dull game such as that game you mention), they're participating in something to lift the day.

I don't know which bugs me more but this lot deserve a special mention . . .

Early-leavers - I know its "your money" that you paid for your ticket with but you're blocking my view of the bloody game as you make your way to the nearest pub 10 minutes early. On behalf of the game, sorry to have troubled you. Maybe we can suggest a 60 minute instead with 10 minutes off to cover your late arrival too?

The Journeyman - This bugger just walks to and from his seat buying beers and/or going for a leak. Its as if the match he is allegedly there to watch is a mere distraction or even obstacle.

Good point . Add to that people who chat all the way through a game, worse still a long conversation on the phone, " How is the weather down your way" I heard once, if the stare could kill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The 'Expert' - I'm going to whallop the next wally with a copy of the laws of rugby who constantly yells 'REFFFF!' or 'OFFSIDE' with arms outstretched for a penalty even though the official out there is playing ADVANTAGE!

Jaysus, people can get excitable during a game, that's all. No point being a snob about it because you know the laws better than someone else there who is getting into the game.

Someone was recently giving out about people standing when someone's nearly about to score - I mean, go to the opera if you don't want people standing. I remember Lansdowne when people in the stands would remain sitting no matter what was happening, and my God, it was a boring place to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

People do it when it's a boring game. Play proper rugby and your supporters won't have to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭gar_29

Bilge such as "He's not actually a New Zealander but Tongan" (I kid you not that I heard an idiot 'inform' about Jonah Lomu this way) or talking 'pods' even though I'm seeing man-marking around the fringes.

he was a bit wrong, but not totally! by an amazing co-incidence, in today's paper (talking about mtawarira), they mention this... his folks are tongan, are they were still illegal immigrants at the time of RWC 1995.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/international/southafrica/6583024/South-Africa-are-mad-to-try-and-evict-Tendai-Mtawarira-from-national-side.html

totally agree with the rest of your points!!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

gar_29 wrote: »
    he was a bit wrong, but not totally! by an amazing co-incidence, in today's paper (talking about mtawarira), they mention this... his folks are tongan, are they were still illegal immigrants at the time of RWC 1995.
    Lomu is a born and raised 'Huttie' ie. comes from Lower Mt Hutt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭gar_29

Lomu is a born and raised 'Huttie' ie. comes from Lower Mt Hutt.

i was just mentioning that maybe that guy was referring to his background.

nobody's suggesting he's not a kiwi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Good point . Add to that people who chat all the way through a game, worse still a long conversation on the phone, " How is the weather down your way" I heard once, if the stare could kill...

I stood beside one such "expert" who spent the whole eighty minute, I mean the whole eighty minutes, remonstrating loudly with his mate "but they've forwards in the backline! Forwards!" The mate was embarrassed for both of them. I can still hear him... at night... "Forwards!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Crash wrote: »
    Best experts I heard recently were two idiots behind me in the pub on Sunday who were having a fit because "REF, THEY CAN'T RUSH THE BLOODY CONVERSION!!"

I decided it was better to not correct them than to do so, and potentially have them in my ear for the rest of the match.

I can top that! Same expert, two different games. First was Ireland Vs England in last years 6 nations. ELV's were still in and him screaming at the telly "REFFFF, there collapsing the maul" along with other twaddle according to him Ireland should have had about 50penalty's in the match.

Then in the Munster Leinster match this year, he was with two mates explaining to them what the penalty's were for, Incorrectly 99% of the time, but the line that got me because he repeated it about 5 times was "Jasus Quinlan is having a great game". Considering Quinlan was in the stands I don't think he was.

I Left at halftime and moved else where couldn't bear to listen to him anymore.

Mexican Waves dont bother me, its a sign that the crowd is board and usually that means that game is rubbish. Good entertaining game, no Mexican Wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

What really gets my goat is the clowns who constantly scream "they're slowing it down ref!!!!" when the ball is in a ruck. Granted, the people are 70m away from the ruck and can't actually see it's sitting at the back of the ruck and the scrummie is waiting to pass it out. :rolleyes:

There's a goon who sits behind me in the RDS and constantly hurls foul abuse at the ref. I got fed up the last time and turned and asked him if he could do any better, and if he could, then he should grab a whistle and step out onto the pitch himself.
    He said "errrrr, I'm a crap ref" (the irony)
    I replied "well give it a rest then!"

Anyway, back to the original topic. I'm not a big fan of the Mexican Waves. I don't buy into the argument that the spectators must be entertained. It's rugby, it's a battle. The players are concentrating on winning, not putting on a show for the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭theparish

they are great crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Munster Blogger

All for it.