Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you work at, if you are fortunate to have a job?

• 17-11-2009 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

..worked for 10 years in a Builders providers in sales / marketing, then took voluntery redundantcy.. moved into sales of renewable energy.. that lasted a year .. hated the people i worked for .. then i was unemployed for most of 2009, so spent the time building a house for my little sister..

Now i work in a hire shop..pay is about 200 quid less per week than i was ever on, but its a job,and a job puts food on the table and porn on the screen I dont have any pride, so none needed to be swallowed when taking the job.

What do you lot do? You dont need to be specific, just interested as to what industry you are in..

Student, construction, banking, elected political representative (lol like you'd admit it) or like a lot of unfortunate people perhaps unemployed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm an IT Whore. I just do it for the money and free internetz :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I'm a Media Distribution Officer...................
    Paper Boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Repo Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

Im a 3rd Year Marketing Student thats on full time paid placement......

I guess im one of the lucky ones.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Im a foreman (Construction)

needless to say im unemployed for the last 5 months.

I'd work anywhere now, fcuk pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Repo Man.

You just said you are a journalist.

Thats why i started the thread.

*smack*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Software Developer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

snyper wrote: »
    You just said you are a journalist.

Thats why i started the thread.

*smack*

Oh right yeah eh..... I'm a journalist who's undercover as a Repo Man for an investigative piece on Repo Men entitled 'Repo Mania'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

i work in Architecture........an architectural technician to be exact....soon to be unemployed as I'm on a fixed term contract and it will run out in a while :( (i work for a semi-state body and the ban is in place on renewing contracts)
    i will be looking for any job at all then.............tbh i'd like a complete change in career, as working for a semi-state body has completly numbed my brain and made me hate the profession i once loved.
    once i get a job, ideally outdoors of some sort i think i'll be very happy indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

operations manager for a cable contractor .. if i tell you anymore i'd have to kill you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'm a junior office worker.

Basically the little bitch.

'Print this' 'Fix that' 'File these'

I wish I never left college, but the job isn't so bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i'm a scientist, genetics/engineering. it's wonderful sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

Currently I'm a highly qualified government artist.....

(Drawing the dole)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

What do I do at work?.... Pretty much this.

What am I supposed to be doing at work? Another IT hoebag i'm afraid. Seems to be a lot of us here. Say's a lot for how much we actually do....

*Tumbleweed rolls by*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Work in I.T!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I work in accounts but in a hotel so that tends to make it more interesting (I think anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

Project manager for a web development company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

third level technical support engineer tech support :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭neil_purdy

Currently I'm a highly qualified government artist.....

(Drawing the dole)

Thank god you put in the last bit, i would have been stumped..

Network Engineer.. til xmas anyway!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

NothingMan wrote: »
    What do I do at work?.... Pretty much this.

What am I supposed to be doing at work? Another IT hoebag i'm afraid. Seems to be a lot of us here. Say's a lot for how much we actually do....

*Tumbleweed rolls by*

They pay us for our knowledge as well as what we do. Its when things go wrong they see that we are worth our salt and how all those fancy qualifications come into play.

snyper wrote: »
    ..worked for 10 years in a Builders providers in sales / marketing, then took voluntery redundantcy.. moved into sales of renewable energy.. that lasted a year .. hated the people i worked for .. then i was unemployed for most of 2009, so spent the time building a house for my little sister..

Now i work in a hire shop..pay is about 200 quid less per week than i was ever on, but its a job,and a job puts food on the table and porn on the screen I dont have any pride, so none needed to be swallowed when taking the job.

i've always admired your attitude in this respect snyper, fair play to you. if only everyone would just cop on... there're plenty of jobs out there for those who want them, there's just a large majority of people who would prefer to draw the dole than do a menial job. personally if i were let go tomorrow i'd go to mcdonalds rather than sit on my hole all day staring at the walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

secondary ion mass spectrometry.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Soldier.

bubonicus wrote: »
    secondary ion mass spectrometry.:confused:

fcuk i pity you so much, i can't stand MS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭pandamoanium

Ich bin student.

Aaaaand, I should be working on a research project now but instead I'm procrastinating wasting time on teh Boards.

Yup, super productive, I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭lucky-colm

driving a machine contracted into the county council
    contract finishes dec 31st
    not sure yet whether or not i will be back next year, they refuse to tell you if your tender has been succsesfull until the 1/1/2010 (what a shower)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

genericguy wrote: »
    fcuk i pity you so much, i can't stand MS.

Cheers, Boring work but it pays the bills..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

DBA. Still I'm hoping to marry a doctor or someone rich some day so they can boost my standard of living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

Paulyh wrote: »
    tbh i'd like a complete change in career, as working for a semi-state body has completly numbed my brain and made me hate the profession i once loved.

I work in the public service, brain numbing job also.

I'm not grateful to have a job. I was better off working a couple of days part time and getting dole for the days i wasn't working + rent allowance than i am now - working full time with mortgage, work travel costs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Breast inspector.

Only problem is I work with a bunch of tit's.
    It has its perks though:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

I was in accounts up till last friday. Now unemployed. :(

Looking hard for work. Somebody said there were plenty of jobs out there? Erm...no. Can't even get a shop job or working in a burger bar because they want somebody with retail or catering experience.

I'm qualified in massage/aromatherapy so I'm retraining and going out on my own in the new year. Only way to do it. If there's no jobs, then make one of your own.

Jen ;->

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Qualified as a hotel manager but now I sell furniture. As you can tell the shop is really busy :rolleyes: Was unemployed for six months of this year.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Supposed to be a student...:rolleyes:

Mostly as a poker dealer/poker tournament director, although the numbers of people playing poker has slackened off a great deal, so this may also go belly up.

Also put in a few hours in a Post Office during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Technical Engineer. Great job but crap location.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

care assistant, studied computer apps in college, feck all jobs out there though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm an editor for a advertising paper, boring as hell tbh but I get to work from home so meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Network Integration engineer, tis daacent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

EVERYBODY GET BACK TO WORK NOW

....yea i work in IT too, and i am bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Student...currently working on a Philosophy with the help hindrance of After Hours!

Also work in Software Zone of a Smyths Toys at weekends, still working out which is more frustrating! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

I drive a plane but haven't driven it in over a month now so am broke but the hours are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

I work in publishing... editing, to be specific. I like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I drive a plane but haven't driven it in over a month now so am broke but the hours are great.
    You...'drive' a plane ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

IT seems to be pulling ahead.

Me? I work in IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

genericguy wrote: »
    i've always admired your attitude in this respect snyper, fair play to you. if only everyone would just cop on... there're plenty of jobs out there for those who want them, there's just a large majority of people who would prefer to draw the dole than do a menial job. personally if i were let go tomorrow i'd go to mcdonalds rather than sit on my hole all day staring at the walls.

This is such a self-righteous attitude that so many people (who have jobs) have at the moment. I must admit I did have the same attitude up until early this year when my bf lost his job and spent 6 months still getting up at the same time as if he was going to work, just so he could be on the job sites at 9 o'clock so he could be one of the first to send in a CV once a vacancy went live. He would spend hours driving around building sites looking for labour positions. He applied to McDonald's, UCI cinemas, Lidl, even cleaning positions advertised locally and nothing came of it. Luckily he got a good job after those months but he certainly didn't sit back thinking ANY job was below him and there are an awful lot of people in the same position as that right now.

Anyway sorry to go OT....I work in accounts...dull dull dull!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I work in Dunnes Stephen's Green.

Pop in and say Howdy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I work for a private equity firm and I have my own tutoring business. I'm going into education full time at the beginning of next year.

I work in Dunnes Stephen's Green.

Pop in and say Howdy!

Boards.ie discount? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Pharmaceutical services, don't want to narrow it down any more than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Online Fraud.

That's cool. PM your bank account details and we can have a chat :D