Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.17 HMR Ammo

• 16-11-2009 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

Hi ppl im new to this sorta thing, I recentaly bought my first rifle a CZ 452 american 17 Hmr with floating barrel a nice piece of kit. I have used the Federal V-Shok 17g on rabbits found it very effective to say the least after that myself and the buddy saw a couple of foxes and didnt fire at them. Heard there is a 20g bullet available for the red fellas and does a better job but looking for a bit more advice on it. Are these hollow point or ballistic tip?, where to get them and what price or are they a waste of time will the 17 grain do the trick just aswell?.. What is the best 17g ammo out there.. All help is appricated.. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

mark.17hmr wrote: »
    Hi ppl im new to this sorta thing, I recentaly bought my first rifle a CZ 452 american 17 Hmr with floating barrel a nice piece of kit. I have used the Federal V-Shok 17g on rabbits found it very effective to say the least after that myself and the buddy saw a couple of foxes and didnt fire at them. Heard there is a 20g bullet available for the red fellas and does a better job but looking for a bit more advice on it. Are these hollow point or ballistic tip?, where to get them and what price or are they a waste of time will the 17 grain do the trick just aswell?.. What is the best 17g ammo out there.. All help is appricated.. Cheers

The 20 gr bullets are usually a hollow point. I've not heard of a 20gr ballistic tip .17 hmr round. The hollow points mightn't group as well as the ballistic tips.

I think all the 17gr ammo is loaded by CCI, so its all the same. (open to correction on this one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

17hmr 20gr are hollow point big difference in point of impact than 17gr ballistic tip, stick with the ballistic tip 17gr i have flattened foxes no problem with them i find the hornady 17gr the finest, most inportant is to stick to same brand and grain wt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

I've used 17g federal and hornady for 4 years now in a marlin heavy barrell and I havn't noticed any difference in them .
    I don't use it for fox's but that's just my opinion I don't think it's heavy enough for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 mark.17hmr

Hi lads thanks for all the info... I know the HMR isnt a proper foxing rifle but i wanted a good all round rifle for rabbits, Mags, crows etc.. couldnt get close enough to them with the shotgun:(... I was recommended the HMR.. they are a good cheap and chearful round and when i first used it on poor bugs bunny i was suprised at how effective it was:D..

Deerhunter.. Wat sort of range would you be dropping the foxes at or would you say its more down to shot placement..

The Red fellas are starting to get cute to the lamp.... wat sort of filter and caller would ye recommend... I trying to get my hands on one of those widgon mouth callers... they wudnt be used of dat here as its only about 4 people shoot the land i have permission on...

Keep the info coming please its all taken on board....

Many Thanks again... Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭buckshotbrolan

Hi lads thanks for all the info... I know the HMR isnt a proper foxing rifle but i wanted a good all round rifle for rabbits, Mags, crows etc.. couldnt get close enough to them with the shotgun:(... I was recommended the HMR.. they are a good cheap and chearful round and when i first used it on poor bugs bunny i was suprised at how effective it was:D..

Deerhunter.. Wat sort of range would you be dropping the foxes at or would you say its more down to shot placement..

The Red fellas are starting to get cute to the lamp.... wat sort of filter and caller would ye recommend... I trying to get my hands on one of those widgon mouth callers... they wudnt be used of dat here as its only about 4 people shoot the land i have permission on...

Hi Mark your 17.hmr is more than enough for charlie! I don't shoot them past 100 meters but thats me, brought this caller on ebay.co.uk item number 200386451178 and it works a treat so good i got another for spare.
    Try a red or orange filter just see what works for ya. good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭lucy333springer

Mark, I use v max 17's for the charlie, and it put's them down dead, 100yrd's, I only shoot charlie's with this round, because they are too expensive (£15 per box 50) to kill magpie's crow's bunnies etc, you see my springer eat's the bunnie's, and this round is overkill for them. As with the light, yes some get light shy, but keep light off, and call him in with a piece of polysterin, wet it and rub on your window or glass on your torch. I don't think you will need a filter, on and off with the light, ok, good luck.

I've taken cubs at 120yds with chest shots. the 17hmr is fairly effective on them, but I wouldn't take a big dog or vixen at that range. (17gr ballistic tips BTW)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

Jonty wrote: »
    I've taken cubs at 120yds with chest shots. the 17hmr is fairly effective on them, but I wouldn't take a big dog or vixen at that range. (17gr ballistic tips BTW)

Doesn't seem very sporting to shoot cubs!

Really?? And what if they are sniffing around chicken pens?

Goodness me Jonty!!

You've "taken cubs at 120yds with chest shots. the 17hmr is fairly effective on them, but I wouldn't take a big dog or vixen.." And these cubs were "sniffing around chicken pens"?

How big are your chicken pens, more than 120yds it seems or perhaps you fire from 120 yds away into your chicken pens? Or could there possibly be another explanation?

I didn't say they were my pens. I didn't say there were cubs in the pen. I said they were hanging around them, and if you really want me to justify my actions, my neighbour, who owns the pens, asked me to take care of the problem before it escalated.

This guy brings me shooting a few times a year, doesn't have a rifle, and isn't into lamping, so I had to oblige him.

I really don't think I have to justify my actions to anybody, I didn't break any laws or make the quarry suffer unnecessary. I'm a very competent marksman and would not take a shot I wasn't sure of, simple as.

Relax Jonty.... wooooooah there friend!

I didn't ask if they were your pens as it's obvious pen ownership isn't the issue here, agreed?

Neither did I ask where the cubs were located as you previously informed us they were sniffing around the pens.

Any justification such as you volunteered wasn't expected really Jonty, but thanks for sharing.

So, where's the chickens etc. when you are lamping cubs near the pens?

no hassle. I know some lads here think cubs are easy prey, and they're right. It was back in early september. The chickens were in the pen obviously during the whole debacle. they are big enough pens about 25m X 15m, but they are located at the back of my mates house and his wife isn't too keen on us shooting the cubs, so we'd just turn on the light and shoot. and if she heard the shot we'd just say its a rabbit. Its ok to shoot rabbits, because they dig up her flower bulbs, but foxes are pretty according to her ;)

We shot about 5 of them. They dropped on the spot with the HMR.

So, in a nutshell, you fired at least 5 shots from a rifle - at fox cubs - in the dark - after a flash of the lamp - with live chickens in the pens - at the rear of a house - against the wishes of a householder.

Sound!

:D:D

5 shots under illumination, the householder didn't have a problem with the shots - it was the quarry, yes at the rear of a house, at the end of a lane with only the one house on it, with permission of the owners!

If you feel that strongly about it I'll draw you a map. You are very quick to make assumptions. FFS you sound like an anti.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

5 shots under illumination, the householder didn't have a problem with the shots - it was the quarry, yes at the rear of a house, at the end of a lane with only the one house on it, with permission of the owners!

If you feel that strongly about it I'll draw you a map. You are very quick to make assumptions. FFS you sound like an anti.

Ahm, Jonty? I'd safely say at this point WW is severly pulling the piss out of you :)

Good shooting BTW, little cubs grow into big foxes, sport doesn't always come into it ;)

shhhhhhhhh please JohnGalway, you'll give the game away on me here!!

So Jonty, what was your proximity to the house when you repeatedly discharged your weapon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

What was your proximity to the house when you repeatedly discharged your weapon?

i think you would be better off just requesting the map;):D

over 30 yds, I don't know if its "as the crow flies" though. but I was close to the chicken's dwelling house:eek:

I wasn't shooting from a vehicle either before you ask, and as I have stated already I wasn't near the private lane.

Grid Ref's can be supplied :-)

Why all the questions??

johngalway wrote: »

Good shooting BTW, little cubs grow into big foxes, sport doesn't always come into it ;)

Dead right.

Why all the questions??

He's printing a form out for you to fill in, you'll be getting the OS maps to red pen the locations any time now :D

I think he wants to know where all the foxes are:D

Ok Jonty, maps appreciated but I hope they are certified by OS, perhaps include the folio numbers, any written permission you had and clarification of the wind strength and direction, mention of the moon phase/weather conditions and clarification of the number of inhabitants and pets in the nearby house and perhaps, confirmation of notification to the local members of the Gardai that you were culling in the area PLEASE?

You forgot something.

maps in post. i'm off to bed:D

You are correct johnner1, didn't JohnGalway go and distract me!!

You forgot something.

OH OH....
    Now what? Is the game up?

OH OH....
    Now what? Is the game up?

You never asked Jonty if he had his Weetabix on the morning in question :D

You should have let me know sooner JohnGalway, attention to detail is vital.

I'm off!