Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jealous people p*ss you off?

• 15-11-2009 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Today I was talking to one of my friends. She sees someone she knows with a 08 Ford Mondeo and goes "oh look at that, no recession in his household". (Not as if it was an S class Merc either)

Have came across this plenty of times, particularly the "no recession there" phrase, does this annoy any other boardsies? If someone manages to get something nice with their money big deal, they probably worked hard for it imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

segaBOY wrote: »
    Today I was talking to one of my friends. She sees someone she knows with a 08 Ford Mondea and goes "oh look at that, no recession in his household". (Not as if it was an S class Merc either)

Have came across this plenty of times, particularly the "no recession there" phrase, does this annoy any other boardsies? If someone manages to get something nice with their money big deal, they probably worked hard for it imo.

Begrudgery in Ireland? Since when?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

God forbid someone be patted on the back and praised for working hard and living a comfortable life as a result in this country.

So many people in Ireland blame everything but themselves for their misfortunes, and begrudge anyone not in a similar position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Typical Irish Mentality.

Facekicker would kick her in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

snyper wrote: »
    Typical Irish Mentality.

Facekicker would kick her in the face

Tbh I just bought a new pair of shoes so I didn't want to give her the satisfaction. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Sometimes I think its just a talking piece and half the people who mention it don't know what a recession is anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Caco wrote: »
    Begrudgery in Ireland? Since when?!

Begrudgery on earth? Since when?!

Sometimes I think its just a talking piece and half the people who mention it don't know what a recession is anyways.

Good point, can't say there wasn't a large level of begrudgery before the recession either.

Just annyos me the way some people criticise someone who works hard and manages to buy nice stuff because they can manage their money.

I know a Bus driver who doesn't drink or smoke. He worked hard and saved up and bought himself a nice Merc before retirement. He said all of his kids were out of the house and he had always wanted one and now had a chance to get one. Funny how I met a guy who frequents the pub on a nightly basis who passed a remark on it, how we're all "finding it hard to make ends meet and yourman buys a merc". Well maybe if you didn't piss your cash against the wall every night buddy...

Good point, can't say there wasn't a large level of begrudgery before the recession either.

Just annyos me the way some people criticise someone who works hard and manages to buy nice stuff because they can manage their money.

I know a Bus driver who doesn't drink or smoke. He worked hard and saved up and bought himself a nice Merc before retirement. He said all of his kids were out of the house and he had always wanted one and now had a chance to get one. Funny how I met a guy who frequents the pub on a nightly basis who passed a remark on it, how we're all "finding it hard to make ends meet and yourman buys a merc". Well maybe if you didn't piss your cash against the wall every night buddy...

A woman that came into our work place in a 08 BMW X5 and bounced a cheque for 150 quid.

Times are getting hard

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I only say "no recession there" in a positive way, like fair play to them. Dont have to say it much tho lol

A woman that came into our work place in a 08 BMW X5 and bounced a cheque for 150 quid.

Times are getting hard

Image =/= wealth

A farmer I know drives a 92 Toyota Corolla....received €1.8m in a CPO for a bypass 4 years ago and is still known not to pay his bills for months on end I believe.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    I only say "no recession there" in a positive way, like fair play to them. Dont have to say it much tho lol

+1 I'd see that as a compliment tbh.. What I can't stand is the bitchery that goes on between women.. over the stupidest things.. eg if a girl is a size 8 or under.. "she's anorexic" if she has a bf who's doing well for himself "she's only after his money" if she looks after her looks "if she was a chocolate bar she'd eat herself"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

mikom wrote: »
    Begrudgery on earth? Since when?!

Too true, we excel at it though :pac:

As said above, I'd probably use it as a jestful compliment as well as a satirical mocking of the nature of Irish begrudgery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Who the hell gets jealous of a year old Mondeo? :pac:

This is just indicative of the reg plate snobbery that's been going on here for years, usually by people who haven't a ball's notion about cars...

Wertz wrote: »
    Who the hell gets jealous of a year old Mondeo? :pac:

This is just indicative of the reg plate snobbery that's been going on here for years, usually by people who haven't a ball's notion about cars...

It was all shiny and looked nice. My reply was : "It's only a mondeo, what's the big deal?" though :pac:

Then again the same girl really wanted a Renault before...explains a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Perhaps the owner is a drug dealer. Or has multiple dole scams on the go.

Still, you can work hard at them, can't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

Image =/= wealth

A farmer I know drives a 92 Toyota Corolla....received €1.8m in a CPO for a bypass 4 years ago and is still known not to pay his bills for months on end I believe.

We had been dealing with farmers of years so this is no surprise to me.:pac:

Firefox10 wrote: »
    We had been dealing with farmers of years so this is no surprise to me.:pac:

Shir they have nathin! *looks under matress*

i dont think it anything to do with him being a farmer

Its more to do with him being a cunt

True

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭hayser

Annoys the heck out of me. Between me and my family we have fur cars in the drive and a friend always comments on them. First of all 2 of them are company cars and the other two we worked hard to pay for them. It really gets on my nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Some people just like to throw "recession" into conversation to try to make themselves look intelligent and up to date on current affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Magenta wrote: »
    Some people just like to throw "recession" into conversation to try to make themselves look intelligent and up to date on current affairs.

Yes, he's a bit of a lad, that Brian Lenihan, isn't he?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Tbh I just bought a new pair of shoes so I didn't want to give her the satisfaction. :p

No recession in your house!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Even hearing the word recession annoys me..I know its affecting people but its not the end of the world..maybe im just too positive..

In fairness I would class myself as a jealous person, but by no means am I a begrudger (although the gene does run in my family) if they've worked hard for it why not?

Well maybe if you didn't piss your cash against the wall every night buddy

Double standards like that really gets to me. One mans booze is another mans Merc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

hayser wrote: »
    Between me and my family we have fur cars in the drive
    Ah now, fur cars are excessive, in fairness :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Had to laugh, assuming four was meant. I think in Ireland it's almost second nature to begrudge people. You model people think you're up yourself. You marry well, you're after his money. You get a good job, you're just lucky despite working your tush off for years. I love seeing people getting ahead, it's the only way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

er, can no one here see that maybe it was just a light hearted joke. can't see how someone saying that = jealously tbh. i would see that as someone saying fair play*

*all dependant on tone of voice of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

Today I was talking to one of my friends. She sees someone she knows with a 08 Ford Mondeo and goes "oh look at that, no recession in his household". (Not as if it was an S class Merc either)

Annoys the absolute shyte outa me! Not like he wants her to pay for it the spitful bi&ch!! Jesus christ people cant bear to see others getting on. Fair f*kn play to him!

Begrudgery thats all it is, I tend to distance myself from spiteful little cnuts like your frend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

i went to school with these guys all my life through primary and secondry. we were great friends. when i went away to college they wouldnt speek to me. they thought i got 'ahead of myself. it really hurt
    jealous bastartds :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Nead21

b12mearse wrote: »
    i went to school with these guys all my life through primary and secondry. we were great friends. when i went away to college they wouldnt speek to me. they thought i got 'ahead of myself. it really hurt

yeah i had a similar experience with some people when i was in college in UCD, they always gave me that "oh you think you're so great" look.

small town attitude tbh, afraid you might show them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A farmer I know drives a 92 Toyota Corolla....received for a bypass 4 years ago and is still known not to pay his bills for months on end I believe.

A CPO is nothing lucrative
    If you own land you get the argicultural value and nothing more. Certainly not the land values you might get from developers in the last few years.

If this guy got €1.8m in a CPO it's a lot of land gone from his family forever. And there is a fair chance his farm got spit in two

A cunt eh? :mad:
    Do you own land that was CPO'ed by the council? Do you even know what you are taking about over there near Athlone?
    The second post on this thread was about begrudery and yet that's how I see your post
    True

Disappointing, do you mind if the council demolishes your house, buys your land for a minimal value and builds a motorway?
    I know it's in the greater good but then do you mind people on boards calling you a cunt?
    Image =/= wealth

No excuse for not paying your bills! In farming you rely a lot on credit so if you get a reputation for bouncing cheques you're in trouble with your neighbours

mikemac wrote: »
    A CPO is nothing lucrative
    If you own land you get the argicultural value and nothing more. Certainly not the land values you might get from developers in the last few years.

If this guy got €1.8m in a CPO it's a lot of land gone from his family forever. And there is a fair chance his farm got spit in two

A cunt eh? :mad:
    Do you own land that was CPO'ed by the council? Do you even know what you are taking about over there near Athlone?
    The second post on this thread was about begrudery and yet that's how I see your post

Disappointing, do you mind if the council demolishes your house, buys your land for a minimal value and builds a motorway?
    I know it's in the greater good but then do you mind people on boards calling you a cunt?

My uncle lost a lot of land in a CPO. I'm sorry if it happened to you, wasn't trying to take a pot shot at it.

Nead21 wrote: »
    yeah i had a similar experience with some people when i was in college in UCD, they always gave me that "oh you think you're so great" look.

Have to say got that myself, particularly after my friends dropped out-they seemed to hold a bit of a chip on their shoulder. C'est la vie I guess.

No issue with you Segaboy.
    Someone who does not pay their bills on time is a lowlife.

This thread was about begrudgers and then some posters chip in that many farmers are millionaires. Certainly not the case and CPO isn't a goldmine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

You mean ESB/gas? If so, guess I'm a lowlife... :o

Dudess wrote: »
    You mean ESB/gas? If so, guess I'm a lowlife... :o

I was aiming more at people who employ contractors and fail to pay on time. If you're self-employed that can ruin your business. And end it!

I dont think ESB or Bord Gais will lay off staff if you pay a bit late ;)

No issue with you Segaboy.

This thread was about begrudgers and then some posters chip in that many farmers are millionaires. Certainly not the case and CPO isn't a goldmine!

Thanks I understand it is a balls. Agri value is very low and they always try and skank a lower value than what Agri's actually worth if they can. Pretty annoying when people know the level of fiddling that can go on with these budgets for new roads :rolleyes:

*look at me begrudging the council* :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Clown college?

Bajingo wrote: »
    Even hearing the word recession annoys me..I know its affecting people but its not the end of the world..maybe im just too positive..
    Or in a full-time job?

And if you oppose the CPO and lose (and you WILL lose :() you pay legal costs to the council

Just can't fight the system I suppose

And if you oppose the CPO and lose (and you WILL lose :() you pay legal costs to the council

Just can't fight the system I suppose

Def not, my house was marked on a new route, they intentionally kept everyone in the dark and really acted the b*llox, suppose in their eyes it's only a few people can railroad them.

Got lucky in the end the route was changed.

Anyway back on topic :)

I'm shocked by this thread - all these people begrudging begrudgers. Typical Irish. :mad:

You obviously don't live in the same area as me, lucky you :)

I agree, back on topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Nead21 wrote: »

:confused: sounds like big town begrudgers of the country life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Proto

Is it wrong that I'm afraid to buy expensive shoes because of begrudgers?

You always get the one that HAS to make a comment

• The Irish are the biggest begrudgers on earth. I thought the English were moany holes but they've nothing on the Irish. When I first moved here I assumed it was just the kids (I got loads of 'oh it's nice to be you, isn't it? comments because my family went to New York one Easter) but no, the fecking adults are worse. Nobody can just be happy for anyone else.

Proto wrote: »

You always get the one that HAS to make a comment

Jesus christ Grow a pair. Buy whatever you want and if anyone says anything tell them to go fcuking **** the dog! Its your money an leave them talk! Even if you went to shoe zone or whatever its called now an bought the cheapest mankiest shoes known to man, some fukcer would still make some comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

Jesus, you'd be afraid to drink a glass of wine in the pubs in this country.

Proto wrote: »
    Yes. You shouldn't give a sh1t. I find not paying any attention/letting it go over your head/not reading into things works. I also have to say I'm not seeing much evidence of this mass begrudgery we're apparently so prone to in this country - just the usual amount, that you'd get anywhere.

Jesus, you'd be afraid to drink a glass of wine in the pubs in this country.

"they think their something special with their wine":D True though I could hear someone saying it!