Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help! - Cheaters ruining it for everyone.

• 13-11-2009 12:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

On friday nights, in a local bar, I run a kind of "oldies" night. I also ask 10 music questions throughout the night in a free to enter quiz. I find that it gets people interested and also gives couples something to talk about (Ever see these couples in bars who just sit there in silence) as well as keeping everyone in the pub til the winner is announced at the end of the night.

Anyway,

The quiz is being ruined at the moment by people googling the answers. It's gotten to the point where I thought I was beating it by playing audio questions but of course they're just putting their phones up to the speakers and letting shazam and those things do all the work.

Now, personally, I don't understand this behaviour...it's a free quiz with a prize of dinner for two for the winner, why bother cheating week in and week out. It's preventing people's enjoyment of the quiz and I know people are not bothering with it anymore cause the usual cheats are winning.

First off, what do you think of this kind of behaviour? Is the pub quiz as we know it dead? And can you help me come up with a google proof quiz?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Old people know what Google is! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ask a question that would somehow make them type google into google and watch as all their phones explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Ahem..

Problem solved..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yup ban them for entering the quiz again.

Edit:- pub I used to go to once used to have a quiz, questions were about the staff and the drinkers. Helped people to get to know each other and pretty much forced people into socialising if they wanted any chance of getting something right. Great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

They're an absolute curse alright, abouttobebanned. Pighead has lost many a table quiz to these rotten cheaters over the past few years. These people are as bad as Ben Johnson, Waterford Crystal and that cougher in Who Wants to be a Millionaire put together. Actually they're worse as none of the above three has directly affected Pighead's chances of winning a tin of roses.

Honestly think that we should consider bandaging peoples hands or blindfolding them before the quiz proceeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I used to love the ould table quiz but it's been feckin ruined by these cheatin cretins.

It does undermine the whole point of a competition designed to test peoples general knowledge.
    Could you not just make a rule banning the use of mobile phones and disqualify any transgressors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

People don't think anymore, they Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Insurgent wrote: »
    People don't think anymore, they Google.
    I google therefore I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

That is annoying. Maybe just keep adding gentle reminders that it is not in the spirit of the game to use your phone to get the answers. If that doesn't work, offer to buy a drink or two for a person to walk around the tables checking the phonies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I once won a table quiz. That was a good night.

A solution to your problem is everyones phone into a bag to be kept beside the quizmaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Ask 'What political party is satirised on the website lemonparty.org?' and kick out anyone who screams/faints/cringes/vomits/etc.

Other than that there isn't much you can do, just have someone walking around looking for cheaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Mossy Monk wrote: »

A solution to your problem is everyones phone into a bag to be kept beside the quizmaster

Not a chance of me putting a phone in to a bag. It stays with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I have to say, I hate those type quizes, 1 question ever 20 minutes to keep you in the pub till the end of the night. Boring as fcuk.
    Do a proper table quiz if you are doing one.
    Cheating is common in all pub quizes now, but then again so is cheating from the question setters point of view, most questions are taken straight from the net.

If you want to make the music questions harder play a backward or speeded up version of the song.

kippy wrote: »
    If you want to make the music questions harder play a backward or speeded up version of the song.

Or sing it 'Shooting Stars' style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

It's simple enough.

Tell them up-front at the start that this will be checked for around the hall by 2 members of the committee, and if anyone does it they will be disqualified and their entry fee will not be refunded.

Whether or not the "2 members" exist is up to you.

But if you can get someone to stroll around looking from table to table - at least a few times during the night - then it will emphasise that it's not a bluff.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Tell them up-front at the start that this will be checked for around the hall by 2 members of the committee, and if anyone does it they will be disqualified and their entry fee will not be refunded.

Or take them out the back and give them a good hiding.This would send out a stronger message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Insurgent wrote: »
    Not a chance of me putting a phone in to a bag. It stays with me.
    You are now banned from all table quizzes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hire bouncers to stand over people and watch for phone usage.

Get the punters to sign a terms and conditions sheet to enter with a hidden clause (in tiny writing down at the bottom) that allows you to forfeit their prize and hospitalize them if they are caught using the phone during the quiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Throw in a few of questions that it would be virtually impossible for people to know off hand (what is the gdp of mauritania to the nearest million or something) and disqualify whoever gets them. If they claim to know its gdp off hand test them on another couple of countries. Who'd know just the gdp of mauritania and nowhere else?
    Failing that i'd second wudangclans suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Hold all pub quizzes in an underground lead-lined bunker with high security and iPhone sniffer dogs at every table.

Of course this will create a need for underground bunker pubs which will in turn create jobs in the bunker industry and will go a long way towards helping us out of this recession and giving people more money to buy iPhones which we can stop them using at quizzes by building even more underground bunker pubs.

Pretty soon I'm sure we'll all be living in bunkers, not just drinking and having quizzes in them.

I for one look forward to this tremendous day. No need for suncream, shades or rain gear. Windy days will be a thing of the past. No more will we need to religiously watch the weather every evening to see how many rain jackets and pullovers we need to bring with us for the annual family pilgrimage to see the Virgin Mary appear at Knock.

Good times lie ahead for the whole country I tells ya.

What was the question again? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Create an imaginary novel / author / musician , create the only possible reference to this imaginary figure on the internet (not sure if you can just create a bs wikipedia page any longer) and ask a question about this unheard of person where there is only one possible answer , like date of birth , first single, etc. during the quiz and then disqualify anyone who got the answer right.

that'll teach em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

growler wrote: »
    Create an imaginary novel / author / musician , create the only possible reference to this imaginary figure on the internet (not sure if you can just create a bs wikipedia page any longer) and ask a question about this unheard of person where there is only one possible answer , like date of birth , first single, etc. during the quiz and then disqualify anyone who got the answer right.

that'll teach em.

Along those lines, but slightly less subversive.....check RTE.ie or some other site for something that only JUST happened halfway through the quiz, and ask a question about that just before the end....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Ive never won a table quiz. Even ones ive cheated in. Long live cheating I say!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

growler wrote: »

that'll teach em.
    Along those lines, but slightly less subversive.....check RTE.ie or some other site for something that only JUST happened halfway through the quiz, and ask a question about that just before the end....

Both excellent suggestions.

wikipedia entry for "Sum Yung Guy" DOB: 6/9/69 Birthplace: Muff Co. Donegal.

Make him an artist of something along those lines and see if people find out about his first exhibit!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

In mother Russian google searches you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I'm actually pretty good at table quizzes, but have stopped doing them due to this very problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Seachmall wrote: »
    Ask 'What political party is satirised on the website lemonparty.org?' and kick out anyone who screams/faints/cringes/vomits/etc.

Other than that there isn't much you can do, just have someone walking around looking for cheaters.

So how many people looked this up after they read the post?

kowloon wrote: »

Not Safe for Anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

kowloon wrote: »

Not me. But I did look it up on wikipedia. I gather that its NSFW.

Back to the OP. Offer bonus points to contestants who turn in the cheaters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Create a blog in a false name of interesting musical facts that ae wrong. Things like "Did you know Rick Astley had a pet cat called toby?". Get the blog into the Top ten of google results. Anyone who googles for it will find your site, and answer toby. And then every answer sheet that contains Toby, gets shredded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Sometimes this is why table quizes in rural pubs are great, my local has basic gprs service (no edge or 3G) alright but its sketchy at best and I am the only one that knows the key for the wireless. People can still try google in certain parts of the pubs but by the time that get the answer its moved on by about 3 or 4 questions and it starts to be a pointless effort. I have also seen teams been docked points as a few people tend to walk around the pub with spare pens and stuff and catch people.

Pop in some questions with obscure answers that cannot be easily answered by a web search and make it worth double points. One such question asked recently was ' What was the furthest thing visable from the top of Ben Nevis on a clear sunny day?' There were tons of answers with the correct one being 'The Sun' (Questionable as there are other stars visable during day time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭samson09

Simple solution.

No mobiles allowed during the quiz for any purpose. One guy walks around "on the prowl". Anyone caught with a phone for whatever reason is disqualified immediately.

I actually saw this happen recently in a pub in Kerry. Nobody except the cheat had a problem with it. " Oh, I had to text the wife". Feck off and do it outside so, ya cheating git.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I was at a quiz when the a politician resigned. They cancelled the question , and I knew the answer :(

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Mittens for all!

Use 'Hawk-eye'.
    Then none of this would have ever happened.

I was at a table quiz last night and it was ruined by cheaters.

The team I'm on, well we're not normally that good. We're decent but we always seem to finish somewhere in the middle. Damn it though we have great craic at the quizzes and I think most of the other regular teams in our local pub enjoy the banter with us and like having us around.

But last night we were doing really well. We could hardly believe it. All the questions were going our way and I was pulling trivia facts out of the air that I didn't even know I knew! It was amazing.

We were right down to the final round and we were dead level with this other team who we hate. Now this other team win a good bit but there a bunch of sour grumpy b*stards. They're always complaining about answers and arguing about every little thing so nobody cares for them. And on the final tie-breaker question I swear to god one of the other team pulls out their iPhone and googles the answer right in front of everyone. We were straight up to the judge complaining but he said he didn't see anything. The whole pub was in uproar but they still were allowed the point and won the quiz.

Cheating pr*cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Everyone's missing the point, this was obviously just a very clever way of getting another Thierry Henry thread going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

Cianos wrote: »
    Everyone's missing the point, this was obviously just a very clever way of getting another Thierry Henry thread going.

ssssssssssssssssssssssssh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

AnonoBoy wrote: »

We were right down to the final round and we were dead level with this other team who we hate. Now this other team win a good bit but there a bunch of sour grumpy b*stards. They're always complaining about answers and arguing about every little thing so nobody cares for them. And on the final tie-breaker question I swear to god one of the other team pulls out their iPhone and googles the answer right in front of everyone. We were straight up to the judge complaining but he said he didn't see anything. The whole pub was in uproar but they still were allowed the point and won the quiz.

Cheating pr*cks.

That's where you need a video replay.

Install some kind of signal booster so if anyone uses a phone during the quiz their hand/ear/brain gets melted.

MOH wrote: »
    That's where you need a video replay.

Yeah the Quiz officials wouldn't allow it. Just because the other team spend more money at the bar than we do. It's all about cash in the end with these table quizzes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

There should be some sort of Fair Play rule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

in all fairness the fact that they had their phones in place before the question was asked was ridiculous too. disgraceful stuff really however if it came down to it in my local.......

......i'd do the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Just make the prizes really shit, and noone will want to win them

• .... Thierry Henrys ruining it for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭jimoc

or ask the quizmaster to ask the question

'what is the website goatse.fr famous for?'

anyone who pukes gets kicked out.

Warning DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Google yourself for answers and adjust questions so that people have to scroll through 20 pages of results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

For your next quiz

"Question One: How many people were on the cover art of the LemonParty album"