Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Officially Dublin has the highest rate of gun murder in Europe in 2009

• 11-11-2009 8:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Palmerstown_guy

Jasus, what is bleedin' happening to this feckin' country?!

Sad times for Ireland indeed.

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Dublin-has-become-the-gun-murder-capital-of-Europe-69575922.html

Dublin has the highest rate of gun murder in Europe -- as of 2009.

The rate is almost as high as some cities in the U.S. like Washington D.C.

So far this year, 19 gun murders, all of which were gang related, have occurred in Ireland’s capital city, which has a population of 1.2 million.

The study, published by Ireland’s Sunday Tribune, reveals that the murder rate is ridiculously high compared to rates in Britain. In Glasgow, Scotland, population 2.3 million, there have been zero gun killings in 2009. Meanwhile, just one murder has occurred in Edinburgh, where one million people reside.
    Shockingly, Dublin has almost twice the amount of gun murders as London, even though the English capital’s population is almost six times higher at 7.7 million. 11 people have been shot dead in London so far this year.
    The Sunday Tribune points out that Britain has more effectively tackled gun and gang issues, with police groups launching a Tackling Gangs Action Program.
    A spokeswoman told the paper: “It has been a huge success. Essentially, it has targeted gang-related firearm offenses. Here at Merseyside police, we've had a separate initiative targeting guns and gangs since 2005. We've seen a 37 percent decrease in gun crime since.”
    Other European cities do not have nearly the amount of gun murders as Dublin has. In Amsterdam, where there are serious gang problems, there have been nine fatal shootings among its similar sized population of 1.3 million.
    In Zurich, Switzerland there have been five murders within its population of the same number. Dublin’s gun murder rate is 100 percent higher than Zurich’s.
    Gardai (Irish police) told the Tribune they are surprised at these figures, but say they expect the gang murder rate to drop now that new legislation allows suspected gang members to be arrested and tried before Ireland’s Special Criminal Court.
    Fine Gael and the Labor Party spokespeople say the figures are “frightening,” and shows that Irish authorities are not dealing effectively with organized crime in the capital.
    "The number of gun murders this year in Dublin is frightening,” said Fine Gael justice spokesperson Charlie Flanagan. “There is no sign that the authorities are getting to grips with Dublin's criminal underworld.”

The Labor party's justice spokesperson Pat Rabbitte told the Tribune: "Dublin used not to be out of kilter in terms of gun murder rates compared to other European cities. The gangland feuding and the lucrative drugs business has led to this situation.
    “These criminals are ruthless; they would shoot one of their rivals or a member of their own gang at the drop of a hat if they crossed them. Human life counts for nothing with these guys.
    “It's an extremely difficult and demanding job for An Garda Síochána and they need to be properly equipped with resources to deal with these gang members."

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Well that's depressing

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

yes ,we seem to have a very high psychopath to normal person ratio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Go on ya good thing! Try and beat that "Peoples Republic of Cork"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭john-joe

I'd blame it on the that COD game!

Devil at work :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Limerick??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Scumbag Capital of Europe FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

criminals shooting other criminals, long may it last, and i wish them all the best in improving their accuracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Palmerstown_guy

I like to see the Gardai do a lot more so these scumbags are put away and don't get away with all these murders.

19 murders in our city is taking the biscuit and is not funny anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

At least we're the best at something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭AcePuppetMaster

Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse. I'm seriously depressed. :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well see, when ye spend all your time flogging America for its problems, you grossly overlook your own.

Oh: So Bookmarked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭To The North

I like to see the Gardai do a lot more so these scumbags are put away and don't get away with all these murders.

but they're killing each other off, that's better than them being put away right?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse. I'm seriously depressed. :(:(

Why? Its not affecting normal people. Nearly all of those murders(maybe all?) were gang related. Stay out of gangs, its unlikely you'll be shot dead.

Oh but it is. How many innocent people got shot last year? I'll not mention names but everyone knows them. How many families are broken up by crime?

We as society are all affected by it and what's normal these days anyhow?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sitec wrote: »
    it's just scum killing scum. im happy about it. in a few years they will all be dead without the Gardai having to get out of their Avensis.

I wish that this were true but there have been countless innocent victims of the criminal culture in Ireland as a whole. We really need to get some help for the guards on the beat. Might be an argument for allowing them to carry some sort of preventative weaponry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭neil_

At what point was it funny? I think about 12 murders would be worth a giggle

perhaps legalise the industry in which most of these gangsters are employed in order to remove both the financial incentive for gang membership and funds for supplies of weapons?

Some or most of the business those gangs are providing is cocaine, it's supply and demand for these leeches...

But 19 dead bodies is 19 dead bodies...

Maybe if some of our "normal folk" would stop feckin' buying and sniffing cocaine in clubs and bars which is rampant in the city these days...and oh so trendy....these DISGUSTING SCUMBAGS won't have a market for profit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

We win all of these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Thread title needs adjusting. It's gun murders that the statistics refer to.

I do believe Londoners prefer stabbing each other to death these days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Wonder whether the Sindo will have a 2-page tabloidesque spread on "The Murder Capital of Europe" this Sunday ?

All I can say is.....well, actually, no I won't, because that'd be lowering myself to the level of the idiots who've been spouting all sorts of rubbish about another Irish city for the past while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I wish that this were true but there have been countless innocent victims of the criminal culture in Ireland as a whole. We really need to get some help for the guards on the beat. Might be an argument for allowing them to carry some sort of preventative weaponry.

What would the argument be? Did the any member of the gardai intervene in a shootings and was unable to stop it due to being un-armed? I barely trust giving the guards batons when we've seen how they can mis-use in incidents like that may day rights giving those lads guns would be a disaster.

By the way OP, you're article just mentions the highest gun murders, maybe change the title unless we actually do have the highest rate of murders.

Some or most of the business those gangs are providing is cocaine, it's supply and demand for these leeches...

Maybe if some of our "normal folk" would stop feckin' buying and sniffing cocaine in clubs and bars which is rampant in the city these days...and oh so trendy....these DISGUSTING SCUMBAGS won't have a market for profit!

Right on! Anyone who supplies the scumbag drug dealers with the money is guilty of feeding the problem.:mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Overheal wrote: »
    Well see, when ye spend all your time flogging America for its problems, you grossly overlook your own.

The gun murder rate is almost as high in one of our cities as it is in some of yours. First off, this doesn't even compare country to country so one country could still be much worse. Secondly pointing and laughing at someone (in this case a country) because they are almost as bad as you at something isn't really the brightest idea now is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

humanji wrote: »
    Go on ya good thing! Try and beat that "Peoples Republic of Cork"!

what a clown. apparently, Dublin also has the highest number of dikkheads per capita ;)

another way of looking at it is that we have one of the worst police forces.
    presumably, scumbags everywhere are always trying to take each other out. It's just in Ireland that they find it easier to follow through. Although their hasn't been many killings recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Overheal wrote: »

Gang related = gang members getting shot.. so it's not all bad

when we start to see massacres and school shootings we'll be comparable

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

What would the argument be? Did the any member of the gardai intervene in a shootings and was unable to stop it due to being un-armed? I barely trust giving the guards batons when we've seen how they can mis-use in incidents like that may day rights giving those lads guns would be a disaster.

By the way OP, you're article just mentions the highest gun murders, maybe change the title unless we actually do have the highest rate of murders.
    I never said guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

The murder rate by gun in Dublin is 19. It's 91 in Washington DC. Does dyslexia apply to numbers too? Cause your man's got it backwards. 19 ain't no where near 91.

per head of population

You also have to ask, how the bleedin' hell the drugs get into the country in the first place?

Ireland must be the easiest country to smuggle drugs into.

How are they doing it? ....back to the incompetency of our Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You also have to ask, how the bleedin' hell the drugs get into the country in the first place?

Is it not the job of Customs to stop drugs from being smuggled into the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's not really that hard to get drugs into Ireland, we have a fairly limited Naval Service, if it wasn't for other country's intelligence and monitoring they wouldn't find almost as much as they do

Look at that haul of coke a few years ago, I doubt that's an isolated occurrence tbh, few are caught though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I agree with this. I have friends who take drugs sometimes,but only as a "social" thing. It doesn't usually bother me at all,but when they start acting angry and disgusted that heroin is now on the rise in the area,it really pisses me off as I feel that they are the ones who supplied the dealers with their money, on what they class as "only harmless" drugs.
    I tell them so,but nobody likes hearing it and convince themselves that the existence of these gangs and society's drug crime and addiction problems have nothing to do with them.

Although if what I'm led to believe is true,we may all be in some small part responsible for funding criminals because of piracy.
    I have watched some films online,but they are usually uploaded by what I assume are just regular individuals posting things on the internet and not making any profit on. Not sure about the big sites like surf etc?

I don't buy counterfit dvds,alcohol,or cigs mainly cos
    they are **** quality and the drink could make me go blind in one eye or die!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

wudangclan wrote: »
    per head of population

That still ain't right. DC has almost half the population of Dublin but yet almost 5 times our murder rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

So we get the top 2 then. Dublin and Limerick, ruling europes gun crime.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Ah sure we'll be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Shocking stuff - but at least it's not America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

what a clown. apparently, Dublin also has the highest number of dikkheads per capita ;)

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

genericguy wrote: »
    criminals shooting other criminals, long may it last, and i wish them all the best in improving their accuracy.

You took the words out of my mouth.

As long as it's scum killing scum, I hope our gun crime grows exponentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Corkfeen wrote: »
    So we get the top 2 then. Dublin and Limerick, ruling europes gun crime.:D
    hoy, leave Limerick us heads out of it! We did nothing this time.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Jasus, what is bleedin' happening to this feckin' country?!

Sad times for Ireland indeed.

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Dublin-has-become-the-gun-murder-capital-of-Europe-69575922.html

Dublin has the highest rate of gun murder in Europe -- as of 2009.

So far this year, 19 gun murders, all of which were gang related, have occurred in Ireland’s capital city, which has a population of 1.2 million.

The study, published by Ireland’s Sunday Tribune, reveals that the murder rate is ridiculously high compared to rates in Britain. In Glasgow, Scotland, population 2.3 million, there have been zero gun killings in 2009. Meanwhile, just one murder has occurred in Edinburgh, where one million people reside.
    Shockingly, Dublin has almost twice the amount of gun murders as London, even though the English capital’s population is almost six times higher at 7.7 million. 11 people have been shot dead in London so far this year.
    The Sunday Tribune points out that Britain has more effectively tackled gun and gang issues, with police groups launching a Tackling Gangs Action Program.
    A spokeswoman told the paper: “It has been a huge success. Essentially, it has targeted gang-related firearm offenses. Here at Merseyside police, we've had a separate initiative targeting guns and gangs since 2005. We've seen a 37 percent decrease in gun crime since.”
    Other European cities do not have nearly the amount of gun murders as Dublin has. In Amsterdam, where there are serious gang problems, there have been nine fatal shootings among its similar sized population of 1.3 million.
    In Zurich, Switzerland there have been five murders within its population of the same number. Dublin’s gun murder rate is 100 percent higher than Zurich’s.
    Gardai (Irish police) told the Tribune they are surprised at these figures, but say they expect the gang murder rate to drop now that new legislation allows suspected gang members to be arrested and tried before Ireland’s Special Criminal Court.
    Fine Gael and the Labor Party spokespeople say the figures are “frightening,” and shows that Irish authorities are not dealing effectively with organized crime in the capital.
    "The number of gun murders this year in Dublin is frightening,” said Fine Gael justice spokesperson Charlie Flanagan. “There is no sign that the authorities are getting to grips with Dublin's criminal underworld.”

The Labor party's justice spokesperson Pat Rabbitte told the Tribune: "Dublin used not to be out of kilter in terms of gun murder rates compared to other European cities. The gangland feuding and the lucrative drugs business has led to this situation.
    “These criminals are ruthless; they would shoot one of their rivals or a member of their own gang at the drop of a hat if they crossed them. Human life counts for nothing with these guys.
    “It's an extremely difficult and demanding job for An Garda Síochána and they need to be properly equipped with resources to deal with these gang members."

Well it wasn't a mathematician who wrote that article anyway, for Zurich 100% more murders would have meant there were 10 gun related killings in Dublin.

Articles with stupid mistakes I tend not to believe.

They can keep killing each other, but even more lethal scumbags will fill their places ....joe public needs to stop feeding them money for starters, directly or indirectly.

I think this should be a wake up call for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

At the end of the day, its just a statistic that has no bearing on a citys personality or crime rate.
    All it takes is 3 or 4 gangs to be at war over drugs to completely influence the gun murder rate of the whole city. Its a load of bull.
    Show me the table for European crime rate and we'll judge it properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

west coast of Ireland, plenty of places to bring a boat in without being noticed, u can anchor off coast with lights off and use a small dingy/rowboat to bring it in.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

That still ain't right. DC has almost half the population of Dublin but yet almost 5 times our murder rate.

Dublin citys population is about half a million. Washington DC is about 600,000 so if your figures for gun murders for washington are correct then they are miles off saying we are close to washington. Where did you get the 91 figure from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

west coast of Ireland, plenty of places to bring a boat in without being noticed, u can anchor off coast with lights off and use a small dingy/rowboat to bring it in.
    Shhhhhhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭john-joe

http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_mur_percap-crime-murders-per-capita

Don't know if the info above is accurate, but if it is Ireland needs to get it's act together, we ain't got **** on columbia.......

Dublin citys population is about half a million. Washington DC is about 600,000 so if your figures for gun murders for washington are correct then they are miles off saying we are close to washington. Where did you get the 91 figure from?

Dublin has 1.2 million and the Washington Metropolitan Area has 5.3 million.
    works out at 1.58 and 1.71 shootings/100,000 respectively.

I don't see this as a competition with other countries - but for our own city, we HAVE a problem with drug murders and gangland violence as indicated by 19 murders. Let's get real about this, they don't publish this for fun.

At the end of the day, it's a huge problem for Dublin and Ireland in general for such a small island but agree every city has drug related problems and high murder rates but I didn't expect ours to be the highest in Europe.

It's good to debate it ....and not just brush it off.

john-joe wrote: »
    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_mur_percap-crime-murders-per-capita

Don't know if the info above is accurate, but if it is Ireland needs to get it's act together, we ain't got **** on columbia.......
    Complete ****ing joke. We're miles behind the average and beaten by most countries. Clearly it's us folk outside of dublon not pulling our weight. I'm gonna go kill a load of people tomorrow and help bring up the average a bit.