Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hatton's back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,360 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yeah Ricky, keep the top on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BDF

Chav V Chavo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

jesus he has put on alot of weight

TechnoPool wrote: »
    jesus he has put on alot of weight

What's new?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Embarrassing really but i suppose he's getting good money for it and probably had a laugh doing it!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

Hatton should have bellyfloped him :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Jesus,i didnt know he got THAT big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Sure he necks pints and chomps on fry-ups when he's not training, hardly surprising like....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭blackbetty69

saw him on sky sports news last week, he has put up a serious beer belly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

A good fighter in his day tho. entertaining as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

spongeman wrote: »
    A good fighter in his day tho. entertaining as well.

You say that like he hasn't had a fight for 10 years :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

He looks like it.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

"weighing in at slightly over 140 lbs" ..... yeah just a tad ;)

He hardly got that big between all his fights did he? i know he always eat and drank etc but it'll take a whole lot of training to get that off.

But i bet he had some craic doing it. Especially if he was a wrestling fan as a kid.

Says he has the itch to get back in the ring for real http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=23396

and also seen a thread that floyd is looking at a fight in the uk in 2010. but that was only on a thread, so not solid info. People were throwing out names like kahn, ricky etc and someone jokingly said matt hatton.

IMO that is something mayweather would do as 1) any fight with him over here would be a big seller and matt would be a "world" champ if he comes through friday night. 2) if ricky got a win under his belt then it would set upa "revenge match" (ie sel out wembley and make a few quid) im convinced hatton would be on for it.

It was rumoured that mayweather was looking into a world tour and i think if he was then he could be fairly active and take lower level guys out every other month. If he really is in financial trouble then its a smart move imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

joepenguin wrote: »
    "weighing in at slightly over 140 lbs" ..... yeah just a tad ;)

He hardly got that big between all his fights did he? i know he always eat and drank etc but it'll take a whole lot of training to get that off.

But i bet he had some craic doing it. Especially if he was a wrestling fan as a kid.

Says he has the itch to get back in the ring for real http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=23396

and also seen a thread that floyd is looking at a fight in the uk in 2010. but that was only on a thread, so not solid info. People were throwing out names like kahn, ricky etc and someone jokingly said matt hatton.

IMO that is something mayweather would do as 1) any fight with him over here would be a big seller and matt would be a "world" champ if he comes through friday night. 2) if ricky got a win under his belt then it would set upa "revenge match" (ie sel out wembley and make a few quid) im convinced hatton would be on for it.

It was rumoured that mayweather was looking into a world tour and i think if he was then he could be fairly active and take lower level guys out every other month. If he really is in financial trouble then its a smart move imo.

I think the "slightly over 140 lbs" thing was supposed to be tongue-in-cheek.

Some of those suggestions seem plausible. Matthew Hatton would be right up there with the calibre of fighter that Mayweather would get in the ring with; i.e. Shíte. He won't fight a real fighter before his retirement, that's PBF's whole philosophy. He certainly wont be fightin Khan anytime soon; although being dwarfed technically, he's too big a hitter.

Besides; Ndou will spank Hatton. Mayweather also wouldn't do the smaller fighters thing; are you mad? Potentially dangerous relative unknowns for fights that wont sell? Not Floyd's style at all. He only takes fights he is 100% sure of winning against weaker guys, and only for $10m+. He has enough trouble selling PPV against fairly well-knowns, let alone against locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

consultech wrote: »

Besides; Ndou will spank Hatton. Mayweather also wouldn't do the smaller fighters thing; are you mad? Potentially dangerous relative unknowns for fights that wont sell? Not Floyd's style at all. He only takes fights he is 100% sure of winning against weaker guys, and only for $10m+. He has enough trouble selling PPV against fairly well-knowns, let alone against locals.

what planet are you on . PBF has generated 300m in his last fights. You need to read up on your ppv figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

Haha Ricky has a great sense of humour to be doing something like this.

what planet are you on . PBF has generated 300m in his last fights. You need to read up on your ppv figures.
    Mike hows things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

Arsonist wrote: »
    hatton always got fat between fights hence ricky fatton he only started to train a few months before a fight now he isnt fighting all he does is eat pies
    Is that anyway can say on this thread?

Mayweather/Matquez did 1m+ PPV purchases. That's huge, ok. But thank you 24/7. There's been widespread speculation that his "rib injury" was made-up to allow the marketing mahine give the fight a proper run as subscriptions were so low for the first scheduled fight.

He didn't sell ANY PPV for the fight previous, Ricky Hatton did.

De La Hoya sells itself, it did 1m+ too, but again, that's not Mayweather.

I know my PPV figures. I also know PBF can't do it on his own, against unkowns. All that $300m+? Established, big-draw fighters.

Mayweather/Matquez did 1m+ PPV purchases. That's huge, ok. But thank you 24/7. There's been widespread speculation that his "rib injury" was made-up to allow the marketing mahine give the fight a proper run as subscriptions were so low for the first scheduled fight.

He didn't sell ANY PPV for the fight previous, Ricky Hatton did.

De La Hoya sells itself, it did 1m+ too, but again, that's not Mayweather.

I know my PPV figures. I also know PBF can't do it on his own, against unkowns. All that $300m+? Established, big-draw fighters.

You quite clearly dont know your PPV figures !!!

Here are the facts :

mayweathers last 3 fights

May 05 de la hoya v mayweather - 2.44 m (all time record )
    - $120 m generated
    ...while de la hoya was the draw , de la hoyas highest PPV numbers before Mayweather was Trinidad (1.4m - $71.4 m generated). De la hoya would not have smashed the tyson v holyfield old record without Mayweather. Scharfer and golden boy have reiterated this in a number of interviews.

Dec 07 Hatton v Mayweather - 920k US buys
    1.2 m UK buys
    please dont tell me hatton sold almost 1 m US buys !!!! Guy was unknown in US before Mayweather.

Oct 09 Mayweather v Marquesz - 1m ppv buys (generated 52 m)

Marquez highest ppv rating before PBF was 405k (Manny) and 230k (barrera). It was Mayweathers star appeal that sold this fight.

previous to de la hoya fight mayweather has over 1,065,000 m ppv for his 3 other ppv appearances.

The guy has generated 300 m in his last fights which is ridicolous (Please consult bloomberg for evidence). He is a houshold name in the states from his media coverage on WWE and dancing with the stars. Like it or not he is the has taken over de la hoya's mantle of the PPV king.

You quite clearly dont know your PPV figures !!!

Here are the facts :

mayweathers last 3 fights

May 05 de la hoya v mayweather - 2.44 m (all time record )
    - $120 m generated
    ...while de la hoya was the draw , de la hoyas highest PPV numbers before Mayweather was Trinidad (1.4m - $71.4 m generated). De la hoya would not have smashed the tyson v holyfield old record without Mayweather. Scharfer and golden boy have reiterated this in a number of interviews.

Dec 07 Hatton v Mayweather - 920k US buys
    1.2 m UK buys
    please dont tell me hatton sold almost 1 m US buys !!!! Guy was unknown in US before Mayweather.

Oct 09 Mayweather v Marquesz - 1m ppv buys (generated 52 m)

Marquez highest ppv rating before PBF was 405k (Manny) and 230k (barrera). It was Mayweathers star appeal that sold this fight.

previous to de la hoya fight mayweather has over 1,065,000 m ppv for his 3 other ppv appearances.

The guy has generated 300 m in his last fights which is ridicolous (Please consult bloomberg for evidence). He is a houshold name in the states from his media coverage on WWE and dancing with the stars. Like it or not he is the has taken over de la hoya's mantle of the PPV king.

It was the matchups against established names that generated the numbers. Hatton may not have been a name before the fight, but the more people learned of him, the more it became a "US v UK" fight which is what did the numbers.

Regardless of the numbers quoted, Mayweather couldn't carry it alone. Are you seriously telling me you think he could do $100m, or even $20m against Lovemore N'dou or Rafael Ortiz?; Coz that's basically what was suggested above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭bamboozler

id say hatton might need a gastric bypass at this stage, what a joker

Without doubt Oscar is and always has been the seller, but Floyd also brings in the big numbers. The reason the Floyd-Oscar fight was so big is because the two of them are big sellers. Had Floyd OR Oscar fought any other man, it would not have generated that amount.

It was the matchups against established names that generated the numbers. Hatton may not have been a name before the fight, but the more people learned of him, the more it became a "US v UK" fight which is what did the numbers.

Regardless of the numbers quoted, Mayweather couldn't carry it alone. Are you seriously telling me you think he could do $100m, or even $20m against Lovemore N'dou or Rafael Ortiz?; Coz that's basically what was suggested above.

Dude even after Hatton v Mayweather HBO Boxing put Malinagi v Hatton on free live television because HBO did nt feel either fighter could carry the numbers in the US . Granted Hatton was a huge draw in the UK but in the US he was not. To suggest otherwise is foolhardy.

Naturally all big ppv figures require 2 established names. Not since Tyson has there been a fighter who could draw high PPV figures fighting a nobody....not even de la hoya !!!
    Reality though is if pacman fought lets mccloskey in the morning the fight would nt sell. If Mayweather fought mccloskey it would sell alot more imo. Do remember that the UFC carried a card albeit a weak one the night of the Mayweather v Marquez fight. Mayweather is the biggest boxing name in the US currently and carries the most media attention. While Manny probably worldwide has a bigger appeal if we are basing this on PPV draw Mayweather is the current king. David Haye might have someting to say about this in two years time judging the PPV and German TV audience figures that have come out.
    Fact is if Manny and PBF meet next year it will smash the PPV record out the water imo and this can only be great for the health of our sport. It will be very interesting to see what Manny v Cotto does PPV wise ?

What do ppl think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Weighting slightly over 140 pounds!!
    I saw him when he did he stand up gig when he was in vicar street and I think he came out and said he was 14st 3lb's!

Well if Floyd Mayweather was to do a world tour then i can defo see him take on Matt Hatton cause hea rickys bro and yes the fight would do well over here and moderately well in the states. A "world tour" would boost his profile, ie ppv over here, regular hbo or whatever in the states. let him look good in a few fights againts lower calibre opponents, and also an excuse to avoid pac or cotto for a year. He could fight every 2-3 months easy.

Now this is all assuming he is in financial trouble and there is a chance of a world tour. Plus if he beats up rickys younger brother then of course that will set up floyd-ricky 2. u know that would sell like crazy. (another david vs goliath with the way rickies going)

He would take a ridiculous amount of the purse to make it worth his while. I dont think its likely, but there is some rational. so it would get him looking good, set up a hatton 2 fight, and dodge pac/cotto... result!

So taking all that into account how much would he make fighting 4-5 average guys across the globe, hatton a second time (sell out wembley and dont think for a second it wouldnt... and we'd all buy the ppv as well) all that combined OR...

Take a risk with pac/cotto which is a competitive fight.

Which is the Mayweather move? considering he has to deal with bob arum to get to saturdays winner? (peronally imo he has to fight them and if pac wins then u can set it in stone)

Well if Floyd Mayweather was to do a world tour then i can defo see him take on Matt Hatton cause hea rickys bro and yes the fight would do well over here and moderately well in the states. A "world tour" would boost his profile, ie ppv over here, regular hbo or whatever in the states. let him look good in a few fights againts lower calibre opponents, and also an excuse to avoid pac or cotto for a year. He could fight every 2-3 months easy.

Now this is all assuming he is in financial trouble and there is a chance of a world tour. Plus if he beats up rickys younger brother then of course that will set up floyd-ricky 2. u know that would sell like crazy. (another david vs goliath with the way rickies going)

He would take a ridiculous amount of the purse to make it worth his while. I dont think its likely, but there is some rational. so it would get him looking good, set up a hatton 2 fight, and dodge pac/cotto... result!

So taking all that into account how much would he make fighting 4-5 average guys across the globe, hatton a second time (sell out wembley and dont think for a second it wouldnt... and we'd all buy the ppv as well) all that combined OR...

Take a risk with pac/cotto which is a competitive fight.

Which is the Mayweather move? considering he has to deal with bob arum to get to saturdays winner? (peronally imo he has to fight them and if pac wins then u can set it in stone)

arum and mayweather making a deal looks slim in fairness . who knows. money talks

Yeah there seems to be some bad blood there plus the whole ego thing of who gets the bigger purse. I think 60/40 with 60 going to the winner is fair.

But anywho. Just to clarify on the scenraio i laid out... I dont really see floyd doing a world tour as such BUT... If he did and hatton wins tonight then i would have no doubts that is the fight he would go after.

Its not a fight i want to see but do u reckon we could be looking at mosely-floyd? mosely is fighting berto to unify and we all know floyd "only fights for the official world title" (apart from when he beat judah for the ibf when judah had just lost to baldomir) You never know what mosely will turn up and what he is like after a year out. Both in their primes it would have been awesome.
    If dealing with Arum is a no go then does that absolutely rule out pac or cotto?

Yeah there seems to be some bad blood there plus the whole ego thing of who gets the bigger purse. I think 60/40 with 60 going to the winner is fair.

But anywho. Just to clarify on the scenraio i laid out... I dont really see floyd doing a world tour as such BUT... If he did and hatton wins tonight then i would have no doubts that is the fight he would go after.

Its not a fight i want to see but do u reckon we could be looking at mosely-floyd? mosely is fighting berto to unify and we all know floyd "only fights for the official world title" (apart from when he beat judah for the ibf when judah had just lost to baldomir) You never know what mosely will turn up and what he is like after a year out. Both in their primes it would have been awesome.
    If dealing with Arum is a no go then does that absolutely rule out pac or cotto?

personally i dont see him doing world tour myself either mate . i dont see him fighting matthew hatton either ...what a joke of a fight that would be.
    i do see him fighting mosely though . mosley is pushing on now and by the time flyod gets to him he ll be near 40 . golden boy would also be alot easier to negotiate with mosley been happy to pick up the fat retirement check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Jesus lads I must be missing something, he's hardly a ****ing whale now is he?

Y

I know Floyd has been accused of ducking and taking easy fights; but seriously, Matthew Hatton? That would be a step too far really. I can't see Floyd stooping that low.

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Jesus lads I must be missing something, he's hardly a ****ing whale now is he?

I don't get this? Can you clarify please.

walshb wrote: »
    I don't get this? Can you clarify please.

Well you are all calling him a fat bastard as if he has entirely let himself go. The reality is that he has maybe put one or two stone onto what was a well cut physique as it is. He doesn't look that fat to me.

he's probably 4-5 stone overweight, he has totally let himself go-his face is huge and this is only the start unless he gets a fight lined up soon..

Even Ricky admits he's a fat bastard!

cowzerp wrote: »
    he's probably 4-5 stone overweight, he has totally let himself go-his face is huge and this is only the start unless he gets a fight lined up soon..

Even Ricky admits he's a fat bastard!

4-5 stone? :eek: What's his usual weight around fight time?

he weighs in about 10.5 stone, he is about 15 now i'd say. and he's only about 5-8"

Ah right fair enough, that is a lot of weight gain alright. It must just be me, his gut didn't look that big. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

he weighs in about 10.5 stone, he is about 15 now i'd say. and he's only about 5-8"

And he's not even actually that tall - he's 5'6" or 5'7 and a half according to most sources. Amazed at how quickly he balloons up but I guess it's not surprising given the way he eats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Brad Goodman

I don't even think this warrants a new thread so I'll just stick it here... Hatton v Marquez at 140... I think Marquez has the beating of him but could be good farewell for both regardless of the result

http://www.ringtv.com/blog/1322/marquez_hatton_in_talks/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I don't even think this warrants a new thread so I'll just stick it here... Hatton v Marquez at 140... I think Marquez has the beating of him but could be good farewell for both regardless of the result

http://www.ringtv.com/blog/1322/marquez_hatton_in_talks/

Hmm I actually like the idea of this!

Paul, drop that to ten stone. He's a JWW. By the BMI rates, Fatton is obese:D
    I would say he's 14-15 stone. Anyway, we all know that is how he always goes. There's a fat person in Hatton, always was, and if he never found boxing, I would say he'd be constantly obese

Johner wrote: »
    Hmm I actually like the idea of this!

Pointless bout between two has-beens. Marquez would be far too skillful for Hatton and I think it will be a major ask for Hatton to come in really prepared. A man only has so many fights in him, and I am talking about Hatton's fight with his diet and lifestyle.

By the time Ricky gets prepared, drops the weight etc, he may have nothing to offer, and even against an aged and jaded Juan, it will probably show. It would be a real bad way to bow out, worse than the KO loss to Pacman; getting dominated by an old Marquez.

You know, I like Ricky as a person, but after hearing him try to maintain that
    he was dominating Pac right up until the final shot has made me a little peeved.

BTW, he wasn't drunk, he was serious when he said this...

Pointless bout between two has-beens. Marquez would be far too skillful for Hatton and I think it will be a major ask for Hatton...

OK cutting out the rest of your qoute but keeping the bit i want-We always give out about mismatches etc.. so assuming they are both off top level then this could be a great match up, who wants to see them finish with an easy fight??

Personally i think its a competitive match but 1 that ricky could win..

i agree. i think pacman v marquez would be a high intensity fight and would give Hatton every chance. hatton has more power than marquez but skills wise marquez is way ahead.

hatton always get himself in fantastic shape for his fights. i think he enjoys putting on a few stone and then just loosing it. it cant be healthy though !

i agree. i think pacman v marquez would be a high intensity fight and would give Hatton every chance. hatton has more power than marquez but skills wise marquez is way ahead.

hatton always get himself in fantastic shape for his fights. i think he enjoys putting on a few stone and then just loosing it. it cant be healthy though !

Just because he makes weight doesn't mean that he's in fantastic shape. The diet and lifestyle have caught up with Ricky. You cannot keep doing what he does and expect to be in peak condition juts because a scales says, 10 stone. It doesn't work like that, and it's why the likes of Pac and Floyd are the true boxing athletes. They are always geared for combat.

Couldn't agree more. Remember reading an interview with PBF where he was commenting on Ricky's habit of binging and then crashing in weight afterwards and you knew he didn't approve - he talked about keeping to within a pound of his fighting weight all year round. Unreal training regime too - must be one of the fittest athletes on the planet.

Here's a great article I read yesterday on Ricky though - really well entertaining and funny: http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/news/story?id=3128642

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

And here's the science to back that
    Some medical resources regard ketosis as a physiological state associated with chronic starvation.I][URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Citation_needed"]citation needed[/URL][/I Some clinicians regard ketosis as a crisis reaction of the body due to a lack of carbohydrates in the diet and consider it a dangerous and potentially life-threatening state that stresses the liver and causes destruction of muscle tissues[3][4][5]. It should be remembered from the above discussion that ketogenesis does not destroy muscle tissue. Ketogenesis can occur solely from the byproduct of fat degradation: acetyl-CoA. Ketosis, which is accompanied by gluconeogenesis (the creation of denovo glucose from amino acids), is the specific state with which clinicians are concerned.
    The anti-ketosis conclusions have been challenged by a number of doctors and adherents of low-carbohydrate diets, who dispute assertions that the body has a preference for glucose and that there are dangers associated with ketosis.[6][7][8] It has been argued that not only did hunter societies live for thousands of years in a primarily ketogenic state, but also that there are many documented cases of modern humans living in these societies for extended periods of time[9]. While it is believed by some that exercise requires carbohydrate intake in order to replace depleted glycogen stores, studies have shown that after a period of 2-4 weeks adaptation, physical endurance is unaffected by ketosis[9].
    Getting down to weight might not be as big an issue as some make it out to be if this is our natural state and in some cases such as Pavlik against BHop or JMM against PBF not having to cut weight can be a hinderance too and can leave the fighters without that sharpness.

A moderate level of weight gain and loss is pretty normal and natural and leads to Ketogenesis which is a natural state and can help fine tune the athlete.
    However, Ricky puts on almost half his fighting weight between fights. To cut weight back down to that level again he has to pretty much starve himself for 3 months. That leads not to Ketogenesis but Ketosis. I know he eats healthily when training but he still has to burn far more calories than he takes in. That kind of under nourishment for sustained periods is like famine or hibernation, except that humans haven't evolved to hibernate and famine kills us.

Reading between the lines constant weight gain and loss has not done any harm to ricky's ability to train hard but muscle degradation has taken away his edge in power and speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Marquez would have Hatton easily. The guy is a joke, I can't understand why anyone would take him seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭YamaMotoYama

I saw Hatton on TV during the week... his weight has ballooned and IMO its a disgrace that someone, with the ability that he has, just pigs out in between fights and lets themselves get into such a state.

Marquez all the way on this one!

I saw Hatton on TV during the week... his weight has ballooned and IMO its a disgrace that someone, with the ability that he has, just pigs out in between fights and lets themselves get into such a state.

Marquez all the way on this one!

Yeah...in fairness it's amazing that an athlete with his track record can just turn to fast food in such a massive way! I mean no harm in relaxing maybe a little but to pig out the way he does.....