Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Old

• 10-11-2009 3:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

Another year has come and went for me, ya look back and ya seen all ya done in the year gone by, all the good and the bad.

Lessons were learned, mistakes made. Life goes on. I'll still go out and get lacked once a week, still work away, still do my own thing, untill next year when i look back on the year gone by and wonder where it all went.

VB is 8395 days old today. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Why can't you have a midlife crisis in January like everyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Volvoboy wrote: »

Only another 15,330 days to go until you get your free bus pass. Man, you are SERIOUSLY old. I hope you have health insurance & a good pension policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Another year has come and went for me, ya look back and ya seen all ya done in the year gone by, all the good and the bad.

Lessons were learned, mistakes made. Life goes on. I'll still go out and get lacked once a week, still work away, still do my own thing, untill next year when i look back on the year gone by and wonder where it all went.

While reading this post, all I could imagine was Mike Skinner walking down a rainy street with his hands in his pockets, occasionally scratching his stubble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

While reading this post, all I could imagine was Mike Skinner walking down a rainy street with his hands in his pockets, occasionally scratching his stubble.

Mike Skinner has stubble? Cripes - I'm totally past the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Mike Skinner has stubble? Cripes - I'm totally past the game.

Only old people would be posting on this thread at 4.20am. Needed the loo and can't get back to sleep eh Star?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I iz 23 too, we are so old! I had a hurty knee earlier when I was jumping about on some steps, I blame the old age. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Oh, this fits here, Yes, I think I am getting old. I am 20 but I feel 25. I blame my friends and their total non-interest in clubbing and only liking quiet pints now.

All this talk of getting old
    It's getting me down my love
    Like a cat in a bag, waiting to drown
    This time I'm comin' down

And I hope you're thinking of me
    As you lay down on your side
    Now the drugs don't work
    They just make you worse
    But I know I'll see your face again

Now the drugs don't work
    They just make you worse

But I know I'm on a losing streak
    'Cause I passed down my old street
    And if you wanna show, then just let me know
    And I'll sing in your ear again

Now the drugs don't work
    They just make you worse

'Cause baby, ooh, if heaven calls, I'm coming, too
    Just like you said, you leave my life, I'm better off dead

All this talk of getting old
    It's getting me down my love
    Like a cat in a bag, waiting to drown
    This time I'm comin' down

Now the drugs don't work
    They just make you worse

'Cause baby, ooh, if heaven calls, I'm coming, too
    Just like you said, you leave my life, I'm better off dead

But if you wanna show, just let me know
    And I'll sing in your ear again

Now the drugs don't work
    They just make you worse

Yeah, I know I'll see your face again

I'm never going down, I'm never coming down
    No more, no more, no more, no more, no more
    I'm never coming down, I'm never going down
    No more, no more, no more, no more, no more
    (Repeat and Fade Out)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I iz 23 too, we are so old! I had a hurty knee earlier when I was jumping about on some steps, I blame the old age. :(
    Tar will soon be bedridden (Wait a minute! He probably wishes for that!);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

You know you`re getting old when your favourite pornstar is now described as a milf...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

pierrot wrote: »
    You know you`re getting old when your favourite pornstar is now described as a milf...

Or when your fav porn star is younger than your daughter!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

So whats considered past it these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

You should be old enough to realise there are 365.25 days in a year, so you are older than you thought. Either that, or your 23rd birthday is next Monday.

Is 18101 days old today. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

I find that UK Gold is my favourite Channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Oh, this fits here, Yes, I think I am getting old. I am 20 but I feel 25. I blame my friends and their total non-interest in clubbing and only liking quiet pints now.

I'm the opposite, i'm 24 and feel 20. :)

Yes we all get old, let me know when you find the fountain of youth. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Or when your fav porn star is younger than your daughter!.

Isn't your Daughter like 12 or something?????

Is there something you need to tell us???? :P
    KittyKat wrote: »
    I'm the opposite, i'm 24 and feel 20. :)

Yes we all get old, let me know when you find the fountain of youth. :)

We don't all get old. There are some Elderly people who I would describe as young.

But we do all die. That is the fountain of youth I think, knowing you WILL die, so live like you mean to die tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Whats more depressing is that people who were born in the 90's can legally drink :(

I remember the whole Oasis/Blur fight off like it was a few weeks ago! Was 14 years ago :(

You really know you're getting old when you stop getting followed around shopping centres by security guards and instead followed around by people offering you "cream to stop the ageing process".

Damn Dead Sea products and the likes!!!

Your my birthday twin.

I've been milking the birthday thing for two weeks already, and I have no intention of stopping anytime soon.
    That has obliterated any regrets about being even more decrepit. :)
    Try some cake theraphy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

you're getting old when you consider using Just for Men on your pubes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You are old if any of this applies to you..
    When you score with a chick in a disco bar
    Take her home in your hairy little car
    Then you find you went to school with her Ma and Pa
    You're the oldest swinger in town

When you won't look in a mirror in the light of day
    Swear you dyed it when your hair turns grey
    When you zip up your Wranglers and your belly's in the way

Here you come and there you go
    Wire wheel-spokes and a stereo
    But the engine's clapped, and the driver also
    Is the oldest swinger in town

When your barber takes a little less time each week
    The kids don't understand a word you speak
    When you walk into a disco and they offer you a seat

You prefer a pint of mild to Bacardi and coke
    The songs are too loud and there's too much smoke
    You'd like another dance but you're scared you'll have a stroke

Here you come with your chest all bare
    A little gold ingot and a lot of gold hair
    Like the disco king meets Yogi Bear

When you're feeling as stiff as a skinhead's boot
    Rub on Vick where you used to splash Brut
    And the latest punk fashion is your wedding suit

When you have to go shopping for your sex appeal
    Travolta shades and nine-inch heels
    You say a man is just as old as the woman he feels

Here you come with your lips closed tight
    You never smile, you know it wouldn't look right
    'Cause your dentures glow in ultra-violet light

And you look so mean 'cause your pants are too tight

And it takes you all night to do what you used to do all night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Im 32 on the 17th and I feel every bit of it.

But then I am happy and reasonably healthy as are the people close to me and that is all that really matters in the end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

You're 23 for christ's sake, you're still a baby! The sh*t is starting to hit the fan for me now though, 29, all friends getting married, me having just broke up with someone, thoughts of a lonely future or settling for someone i don't particularly like...

So I got a motorbike last week and now I'm driving the sh*t out of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Pherekydes wrote: »
    You should be old enough to realise there are 365.25 days in a year, so you are older than you thought. Either that, or your 23rd birthday is next Monday.

Is 18101 days old today. :(

Is that your age Pherekydes ? Just wondering ? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    You're 23 for christ's sake, you're still a baby! The sh*t is starting to hit the fan for me now though, 29, all friends getting married, me having just broke up with someone, thoughts of a lonely future or settling for someone i don't particularly like...

So I got a motorbike last week and now I'm driving the sh*t out of it!

Welcome to the club ;)

Just broke up with someone after 8.5 years , I'm 30 and looking forward to single life again :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

KTRIC wrote: »
    Welcome to the club ;)

Just broke up with someone after 8.5 years , I'm 30 and looking forward to single life again :D

yeah could be worse, we could be settling down and getting married! Plus, even if we are 30 there will always be 23 year old girls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm 18 :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

I love how that article reads like it was written by just one really depressed dude with no references.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"I feel so old."

You are in your early 20's. Stop being so melodramatic for f*ck's sake. Go out and make some mistakes, enjoy things while you don't have any responsibilities.

Live and act your age instead of moaning and pretending you're old for ****'s sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

phasers wrote: »
    I'm 18 :cool:

Past it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I forget what I came in for

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I was 29 there a week and a half ago (is it me or is there a lot of us and my friends born around this time, were our parents too skint after Christmas for anything else?) decided not to do anything for it, didn't tell anyone just went to the pub. At 23 you should be out doing **** as opposed to moping about getting old, I mean you should have another 50-60 years ahead of you.
    I think it's also something about single guys my age, I've gotten big into cycling this year and I know other guys running and doing other active sports. Definately need anything to get the upper hand down the disco now.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Who got the calculator to work that one out?:p

OP you're not feckin old. Old is worrying already about the 2 xmas parties on the same weekend and which one do you want to run amuck at. Cos you cant do both...oh no...you know in advance if you go to the friday one..saturday isnt happening. But, being at a sober xmas party..well just isnt fun. The joys and dilemmas of your 30s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Im 32 on the 17th and I feel every bit of it.
    What do you "feel" when you're 32? Rheumatoid arthritis? Difficulty climbing the stairs? :pac:

The "I must act like I'm ancient" disease really does seem prevalent on Boards.

Dudess wrote: »
    What do you "feel" when you're 32? Rheumatoid arthritis? Difficulty climbing the stairs? :pac:

5 back operations so a very dodgy spine.
    Broke both legs so they hurt when it is cold.
    Broke right arm so sore when its cold.

So yes, difficulty climbing the stairs. AND, i like to sit by the fire wearing my slippers talking to the dog about how it was when I were a lad. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

2 day hangovers.

I've recently woken up and realised I have to face up to living the rest of my life as an adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

5 back operations so a very dodgy spine.
    Broke both legs so they hurt when it is cold.
    Broke right arm so sore when its cold.

So yes, difficulty climbing the stairs.
    Age didn't do that to you - being really ****ing accident-prone did. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

Signs you're not 18 any more....

You start reading the paper
    You carry an umbrella when it's raining
    You check the weather forecast
    The music is too loud in pubs
    You start going for meals out
    You drink wine
    You have health insurance
    If a bouncer asks you for ID you smile as you no longer give a sh!t
    A 2 week booze up in Gran Canaria no longer appeals
    All those Jean Claude Van Damme films are actually sh!t
    You care about getting sunburned
    The behaviour of 'youths' these days concerns you
    You try not to have too much saturated fat in your diet
    Some school subjects are actually interesting now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

Porkpie wrote: »

You start reading the paper Check - well online anyway, wouldn't pay for one

You carry an umbrella when it's raining nope, not yet
    You check the weather forecast nope, not yet
    The music is too loud in pubs nope, not yet
    You start going for meals out Check
    You drink wine Check
    You have health insurance Check
    If a bouncer asks you for ID you smile as you no longer give a sh!t Check
    A 2 week booze up in Gran Canaria no longer appeals Check
    All those Jean Claude Van Damme films are actually sh!t Check
    You care about getting sunburned Check
    The behaviour of 'youths' these days concerns you nope, not yet
    You try not to have too much saturated fat in your diet Check
    Some school subjects are actually interesting now nope, not yet

Mmmm I score about 62% on your getting older/no longer 18 scale...

I am depressed now. Thanks! :(:pac:

Dudess wrote: »
    Age didn't do that to you - being really ****ing accident-prone did. :eek:

That is only some of the list. And i am not accident prone, i just like to drink, a bit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

That is only some of the list. And i am not accident prone, i just like to drink, a bit..

I think you're doing a stand up job!!! (just don't stand up too quickly)

I_am_Jebus wrote: »
    (just don't stand up too quickly)

Funny you should mention that. If i stand up too quickly, i get a dizzy spell that makes me black out and fall over. I have busted my head a few times with that trick :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

Even as a kid I loved going to restaurants for meals.

And I ALWAYS cared about getting sunburned, hence I look way younger than my age now :D :P All those red-faced eejits are paying for it now with early wrinkles and sun spots. It takes no time at all to put on some sun cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

You start reading the paper-check
    You carry an umbrella when it's raining- no
    You check the weather forecast - sometimes
    The music is too loud in pubs - no
    You start going for meals out - no
    You drink wine - no
    You have health insurance - yes
    If a bouncer asks you for ID you smile as you no longer give a sh!t - no
    A 2 week booze up in Gran Canaria no longer appeals - check
    All those Jean Claude Van Damme films are actually sh!t - check
    You care about getting sunburned - check
    The behaviour of 'youths' these days concerns you - no
    You try not to have too much saturated fat in your diet - check
    Some school subjects are actually interesting now - no

I'm 48 btw and looking forward to a massive party when I am 50. Age is a state of mind. Things I've noticed in the last few years, my eyesight is deteriorating to such an extent that I have to wear reading glasses, I now like Sinatra and some classical music, I think the X-factor is a load of ****e, hangovers are serious especially if I go beyond the 5th pint. So OP your 23, enjoy it, see the world while you still can and not rely on the 2 week holiday every year that you have when your 48, life is short make the most of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Tar will soon be bedridden (Wait a minute! He probably wishes for that!);)

Help a brotha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

Someone thought I was 21 at work today! I'm 31 3/4 :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

29 thursday week. meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You start reading the paper
    You carry an umbrella when it's raining
    You check the weather forecast
    The music is too loud in pubs
    You drink wine
    You have health insurance
    If a bouncer asks you for ID you smile as you no longer give a sh!t
    A 2 week booze up in Gran Canaria no longer appeals
    All those Jean Claude Van Damme films are actually sh!t
    The behaviour of 'youths' these days concerns you
    You try not to have too much saturated fat in your diet
    Some school subjects are actually interesting now

Ah ffs I act like a granny so :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

17885 days on the planet don't know what all the fuss is about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Never even think about it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

You start reading the paper Always have
    You carry an umbrella when it's raining Yup
    You check the weather forecast Yes
    The music is too loud in pubs Nahh
    You start going for meals out Yeah
    You drink wine Yes hehe
    You have health insurance Nope
    If a bouncer asks you for ID you smile as you no longer give a sh!t No. I look too young
    A 2 week booze up in Gran Canaria no longer appeals Hmm.. not sure about this one
    All those Jean Claude Van Damme films are actually sh!t Yes
    You care about getting sunburned Of course!
    The behaviour of 'youths' these days concerns you Yes
    You try not to have too much saturated fat in your diet Yeah. I'm a healthy girl
    Some school subjects are actually interesting now Yes

And I thought I was 18... Now I get why you're all feeling old