Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calvin Harris / The Saw Doctors, Nov 19?

• 09-11-2009 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭

Anyone going to this? Allegedly its on in Curaheen Park on Nov 19, with a UCC student organising it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭blankblank

Organised by a ucc student?? Fair play. Would be class, cant afford it tough :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Big thread about it on the CIT forum, not sure how class the organisation actually is fromt the looks of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Animo

I know the guy your talking about and its actually his brother thats organising it. His brother setup an entertainment company and this is their first big event. Tickets are €30 iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

Ive been hearing that this has been canceled due to it being poorly organised. Apparently they have no proper security in place and never actualy contacted the gardai that they would be having an event of this size. The guy who runs co-runs the company made two posts on boards, one as the owner trying to re-assure people and the other pretending to be just a member of the citizen saying he had bought tickets for it.

I for one will be keeping my money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

I've also heard its not going ahead... Could all be vicious rumors though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

A friend of mine went to buy a ticket today and was told it was cancelled due to licensing issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

Dont buy a ticket. It sounds as dodgy as fcuk. One of the guys who is behind it set up an account and has 2 posts.
    One says he is a normal punter and got tickets,
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055724976

the other says he is part owner of the company.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62837789&postcount=33

Amateur hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Heard it was being organised by a UCC student alright. Surely if soemone is going to set up acompany to organise this kind of thing they would know a bit better how to set this kind of thing up. Even just telling the guards what the plan is seems like a pretty basic step.
    Heard as well its gonna be cancelled if they dont sell more than 3000 tickets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Des23

Bought a ticket last week, just got an email to say its cancelled and I'm getting a refund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Des23 wrote: »
    Bought a ticket last week, just got an email to say its cancelled and I'm getting a refund.

Ah that's ashame,Seems like it would of been good..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭GavinZac

True to form, the 'organiser' neither got a license for the gig nor informed the gardai that throngs of students would be going on the piss near residential estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

It was scheduled for the same night as the Eng Ball anyway so you'd have been expecting people to ditch the best night of the year for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Cokeistan

I heard it wasn't going ahead now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Cokeistan wrote: »

It's not going ahead, it was cancelled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The indignity of sharing a bill with the Saw Doctors probably proved too much for Calvin. Shame - I like a lot of his songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Animo

Cokeistan wrote: »

Someone posted this link a few posts up:

http://www.ticketgroup.ie/events/tic...k_Cork_City/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

keane2097 wrote: »
    It was scheduled for the same night as the Eng Ball anyway so you'd have been expecting people to ditch the best night of the year for it...

Well said keane2097