Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PW Board End of Decade Awards

• 08-11-2009 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭

Well lads, we are only a month away from the end of the decade 2000-09 (the noughties?, I dunno). I thought it might be good fun for us to do some Pro Wrestling based awards based on that particular decade, with the permission and hopefully help of the mods of course.

So maybe we can use this thread just to discuss how they'd be organised, what categories we would use and how voting could take place etc etc.

What do ye think?

Categories off the top of my head:

Wrestler of the Decade

Biggest Star of the Decade

Match of the Decade

Tag Team of the Decade

Promotion of the Decade

Best Show of the Decade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

maybe also

Best PPV
    Best match at a PPV
    Best match on a tv show
    Feud of the decade
    Diva of the decade
    Promo of the decade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

flahavaj wrote: »
    Well lads, we are only a month away from the end of the decade 2000-09 (the noughties?, I dunno). I thought it might be good fun for us to do some Pro Wrestling based awards based on that particular decade, with the permission and hopefully help of the mods of course.

So maybe we can use this thread just to discuss how they'd be organised, what categories we would use and how voting could take place etc etc.

What do ye think?

Categories off the top of my head:

Wrestler of the Decade

Match of the Decade

Tag Team of the Decade

Promotion of the Decade

Best Show of the Decade

Great idea!!:D:D:)

Erm... idea's of my head

Rivalary of the decade

Up and Coming star of the decade

Most hated wrestler of the decade

Most popular wrestler of the decade

Diva/Woman of the decade

EDIT: Just seen JP Liz has some of mine

We are gonna have one long list of awards at the end of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I like this idea. Fair play Flav.

Frontrunner in my head for PPV of the decade is Summerslam 2002. What a show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Great idea!!:D:D:)

Erm... idea's of my head

Rivalary of the decade

Diva/Woman of the decade

Thanks for the ideas JP Liz and D2D.

Keep them coming everyone, once we have a long lost of suggestions we'll trim it down to about 8 categories in total maybe, otherwise it'll be too cimbersome and people won't bother voting. Feel free to suggest other things such s how to organise it as well etc, when we should start and how long it should run etc.

gimmick wrote: »
    I like this idea. Fair play Flav.

No bother bai.

Before people start throwing out random suggestions for nominees I better post my idea for the structure of this. I'd like to keep this thread for discussion of actual process itself if possible.

Then once we've decided categories maybe have a nominations thread where people can throw out suggestions for what they think should be a nominee for each category. For example in the category Match of Year people could nominate as many matches as they want and wouldn't necessarily need to have decided on their choice yet. I know I've have at least 10-20 matches that I'd consider worthy of being up for it. Then after a set period of time a poll would go up with say the 8 or 10 the most popular choices and people would choose from these to get the official result.

What do ye think, is that teh best way. We could take each category at a time to avoid the front page being clogged with too many threads.

some more

funniest moment of the decade
    sickest moment of the decade
    best general manager
    best guest host
    best couple
    best gimmick
    best entrance theme
    best ppv theme

Right, you, and you only,(unless you want to delegate duties to people) are officially in charge of this project so. PM me or whatever with stuff I can help with.

What do ye think, is that teh best way. We could take each category at a time to avoid the front page being clogged with too many threads.

Avoid over clogging at all costs!! Your idea sounds good, you got my vote:):)

Right, you, and you only,(unless you want to delegate duties to people) are officially in charge of this project so. PM me or whatever with stuff I can help with.

Arra, I'm happy to take suggestions from anyone who wants to chip in. The more people have an input and are happy with the process the more people will be compelled to join in. If theres little or no interest I won't bother either. Lets see how this thread pans out and take it from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This is a great idea guys. Make polls and anybody can vote once for their choice. We could have a discussion thread for people to argue for their picks in a fair and civil way too.

Yup, I think the initial nominations thread would also be the discussion thread where the arguments can happen and people can make their case for their choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

fantastic show, it brought the curtain down on the attitude era in style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Babyface of the Decade
    Heel of the Decade
    Tag Team of the Decade
    Most Memorable Moment

At the mo, these are the ideas for the awards:

Wrestler of the Decade
    Match of the Decade
    Tag Team of the Decade
    Promotion of the Decade
    Best Show of the Decade
    Best PPV
    Best match at a PPV
    Best match on a tv show
    Feud of the decade
    Diva of the decade
    Promo of the decade
    best general manager
    best guest host
    best couple
    best gimmick
    best entrance theme
    best ppv theme
    Babyface of the Decade
    Heel of the Decade
    Most Memorable Moment

Any more?

I'd cut some of those immediately - like promotion of the decade for example. That will be WWE as that is whatthe vast majority of people watch.

Also show of the decade. Is that not covered in PPV of the decade?

Best match should be just best match, not one each for PPV and TV.

Meh.

Id like to have one also for "biggest fúck up of an angle which could have actually been good had some thought been put into it". There are quite a few which spring to mind immediately, most notably Invasion and "fake" Kane.

I'd cut some of those immediately - like promotion of the decade for example. That will be WWE as that is whatthe vast majority of people watch.

Meh.

Id like to have one also for "biggest fúck up of an angle which could have actually been good had some thought been put into it". There are quite a few which spring to mind immediately, most notably Invasion and "fake" Kane.

I'd agree with these points except prob show of the decade. It could be the SD 9/11 tribute show, Eddie's tribute show as well as PPV's, I think

With regards to the biggest f*** up of an angle:
    Invasion was excellent in mid 2001, the ending was utter crap thou

Good god, I forgot about "Fake" kane. Who actually thought that was a good idea. Just imagine telling that idea to Vince.

I can't think of any at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Worst Triple H burial ever? :p
    Or I don't know how to give it a catchy title..but biggest missed opportunity of the decade?

Meh.

There have been some really great matches on the tv shows that would be PPV worthy so maybe best match on a tv show (i.e. SD/ECW/RAW/Impact etc) and best match at a PPV - just an idea ;)

I'd be inclined to just say Match of the Decade. No point in distinguishing between PPV and TV. Because if you do where do ROH matches and Japanese matcges fall into it?

Also I said Show of the Decade rather than just PPV because again almost all ROH shows weren't PPV's, stuff like the Eddie Tribute shows deserve a shout and also people might want to vote for a live event like the IWW Supershows etc. So in show of the decade I'd be including PPV's and those mentioned above. maybe "Event of the year" would make it easier?

How many caegories would people be happy with 10-12?

I'd be happy ro dispense with things like Tag team of the Decade if it came to it as there was so little emphasis on tag wrestling this decade. Or would people be anxious to see that?

Nows the time to have your say folks so there'll be no whinging later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

This is just adapted from the Wrestling Observer Newsletter Awards. Just some changes like leaving out a few.

Wrestler of the Decade
    Feud of the Decade
    Tag Team of the Decade
    Best on Interviews
    Best Technical Wrestler
    Best Brawler
    Best Flying Wrestler
    Most Underrated
    Promotion of the Decade
    Best Weekly Television Show
    Match of the Decade
    Best Non-Wrestler
    Best Television Announcer
    Best Major Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I'd be inclined to just say Match of the Decade. No point in distinguishing between PPV and TV. Because if you do where do ROH matches and Japanese matcges fall into it?

Also I said Show of the Decade rather than just PPV because again almost all ROH shows weren't PPV's, stuff like the Eddie Tribute shows deserve a shout and also people might want to vote for a live event like the IWW Supershows etc. So in show of the decade I'd be including PPV's and those mentioned above. maybe "Event of the year" would make it easier?

How many caegories would people be happy with 10-12?

I'd be happy ro dispense with things like Tag team of the Decade if it came to it as there was so little emphasis on tag wrestling this decade. Or would people be anxious to see that?

Nows the time to have your say folks so there'll be no whinging later.

How could you get rid of best tag team when this is the decade where the 5 second pose came into notereity. My favourite stuff this whole decade were those Edge and Christian skits.

Other potential awards.

Biggest dissapointment (be it a wrestler with big potential who did **** all, a botched angle or a match that didn't live up to expectations)
    Biggest Surprise (CM Punk as a champion, Christian to TNA etc)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

when i first saw the thread title i thought we were going to be doing poster of the decade, thread of the decade etc but fair play flah this is a good idea and looks like it will get some real interest. We should decide on a number of catagories though as we have already had quite a number of suggestions and it might be easier to whittle them down if we have a set amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Lone Kimono

At the mo, these are the ideas for the awards:

Wrestler of the Decade
    Match of the Decade
    Tag Team of the Decade
    Promotion of the Decade
    Best Show of the Decade
    Best PPV
    Best match at a PPV
    Best match on a tv show
    Feud of the decade
    Diva of the decade
    Promo of the decade
    best general manager
    best guest host
    best couple
    best gimmick
    best entrance theme
    best ppv theme
    Babyface of the Decade
    Heel of the Decade
    Most Memorable Moment

Any more?

I'd cut the following out. Ones like match of the decade and best match at a PPV are too similar imo.

Good idea and good list otherwise.

On reflection you're right Bubs, there were still so many good tag teams around during the first few years of the decade, so tag teams are back in.

I'm thinking of doing a poll every week for the so called lesser awards, similar to what ger did with his weekly polls every week. Run them for seven days. Things like best female will only have a limited mumber of contenders anyway so coming up with a list of nominees shouldn't be too hard, or that controversial. A few days before the poll goes up I'll put up the list of names I have in mind for the poll and if anyone thinks I've omitted someone or someone doesn't deserve to be there they can make their case for the person to be added/ommitted. If everyone has a chance to contribute to the process there can be no whinging afterwards like there was when a similar thing was done on the soccer board a while back for best players in the world.

For match of the decade I want to do something more comprehensive. Maybe get people to nominate matches and if they get agreement from 2 other people, the match makes the ballot. Maybe come up with a ballot of 20-25 matches. Then get people to choose their top 5 matches from that list, and award points per placing. Total them up and come up with boards.ie PW forum top 20 of the decade. I think match of the decade is too wide ranging to just put a poll up and get people to choose just one match as there have been so many great matches over such a long period as ten years. Either way that'll be left till last as its the most logistically difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,728 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Maybe something like 'Best Return' and 'Most Missed'. Wrestlers who had left for a while and came back, and ones who have retired.

Best Turn - Whether a heel turned face or a face turned heel

Great list so far though. Requires a bit of thinking

Machismo Fan was kind enough to PM me a list hes using on another board. I know many of these have been suggested already and I'd imagine most if not all will be used in some form or another. Cheers for that MF.

Wrestler/MVP of the Decade

-Whoever you think was the best wrestler eg. Shawn Michaels, AJ Styles, Undertaker, Kurt Angle, Rey Mysterio etc

New Star of the Decade

-This person must have debuted in a major company after January 1st 2000 eg. John Cena, Randy Orton, AJ Styles, Brock Lesnar etc.

Tag Team of the Decade

-Simple, any tag team which stayed together for longer than six months which you thought was best eg. Edge and Christian, The Hardy Boyz, Team 3D, America's Most Wanted, LAX, Beer Money, Miz and Morrison etc.

Tag Team Wrestler of the Decade

-Different from tag team of the decade as this person must have won tag team gold with two different partners eg. Edge, Christian, James Storm, Robert Roode, Christopher Daniels etc.

Match of the Decade

-The best match to have happened this decade, list the show it was on eg. Shawn Michaels vs. The Undertaker WrestleMania 25, AJ Styles vs. Samoa Joe vs. Christopher Daniels Unbreakable 2005, Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels WrestleMania 21, The Rock vs. Steve Austin WrestleMania 17, TLC 2 WrestleMania 17, Triple X vs. AMW Turning Point 2004 etc.

TV Match of the Decade

-This match must have originally aired on a weekly TV show eg. AJ Styles vs. Kurt Angle iMPACT! October 2009, Chris Benoit vs. Kurt Angle Steel Cage Match Raw June 2001, Kurt Angle vs. Brock Lesnar 60 Minute Iron Man match Smackdown September 2003, Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels 30 Minute Iron Man match Raw October 2005, Christian Cage vs. Rhino vs. Kurt Angle iMPACT! July 2007 etc.

PPV of the Decade

-Any PPV this decade which you thought was best eg. WrestleMania 17, Unbreakable 2005, Turning Point 2008, SummerSlam 2002 etc.

Female Wrestler of the Decade

-Any woman wrestler whom you eg. Trish Stratus, Lita, Gail Kim, Awesome Kong

Angle/Segment/Promo of the Decade

-Any kind of segment or promo or angle which you enjoyed in particular eg. The Rock and Hulk Hogan confrontation, Milkomania, Roddy Piper and Chris Jericho before WrestleMania 25, Paul Heyman 'shoot' before Survivor Series 2001 etc.

Feud of the Decade

-A feud which included three or more matches this decade either for the storyline or series of matches eg. Kurt Angle vs. Samoa Joe, AJ Styles vs. Christopher Daniels vs. Samoa Joe, The Rock vs. Steve Austin, Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels, Triple X vs. AMW, Kurt Angle vs. Brock Lesnar etc.

One to Watch for Next Decade

-A person who debuted this decade but hasn't quite reached main event status for a major company eg. Jack Swagger, John Morrison, Jay Lethal, Desmond Wolfe (aka Nigel McGuinness), James Storm, Ted DiBiase Jr. etc.

Comeback of the Decade

-A wrestler who was out of wrestling for over a year and made a successful return eg. Shawn Michaels, Jeff Jarrett, Sting etc.

Promotion of the Decade

-What wrestling promotion you thought were consistently the best this decade eg. ROH, WWE, TNA, WCW, ECW, Dragon Gate, WSX etc.

Great idea for a thread. There's nothing I love more than to pretend my opinion is equal to everyone else's. :pac:

How about best entrance of the decade? Kane and Taker have had a few awesome Mania entrances, as have HBK and HHH in the last few years. From Live Motorhead, burning cities, falling from heaven and rising from the dead, i think there's a few decent ones up there.

Best debut or return? Edge, Goldberg, nWo, etc.?

Biggest surprise? Shawn Michaels return, Mcmahon exploding, Shane McMahon on WCW, etc.

Completely forgot WMX7 happened this decade. That will win by a country mile as it is quite simply the best PPV WWE ever put on.

Good man KKV, we'll get Kane on one of those ballots anyway just for you, even if its only for the Katie Vick angle!;)

I might enlist your help in a few weeks when we go to do the theme tune poll, aren't you fairly well up on those?

Completely forgot WMX7 happened this decade. That will win by a country mile as it is quite simply the best PPV WWE ever put on.

It'll get my vote anyway. Watched half of it yesterday too coincidently enough

Ha, we may not even need a poll for that one. Might just hand it the award and do a poll for second place!

Best Non-Wrestlemania PPV?

Thats a great call actually paddy. Best Non Wrestlemania show, thus allowing for ROH shows, TV specials such as the eddy tribute and live shows etc?

Right lads, looking at everything so far how does this list strike ye. I think it ticks most of the boxes:

1. Best Match of the Decade
    2. Most Outstanding Wrestler (i.e.who had the best matches on the most consistent basis)
    3. MVP Award (Who was the biggest star of the decade)
    4. Best Tag Team
    5. Best Female
    6. Best Show of the Decade (including or excluding Manias/17, not sure yet)
    7. Best feud
    8. Best non-wrestling character (would include valets, general managers, authority figures, commentators)
    9. Best segment/promo
    10. Biggest wrestling story of the decade
    11. Worst wrestler
    12. Best theme tune (includes wrestler themes and PPV/TV show themes)
    13. Worst idea
    14. Biggest Holy Sh*t moment
    15. Best Promotion
    16. One ridiculous award to be confirmed.
    Feel free to criticise that just a rough draft, or ask any questions. I'd be reluctant to add anymore, but I'm happy to ditch a few in favour of others. 14 is already WAY more than I'd planned

What's the point in excluding Mania 17. Would be the exact same as excluding the WWE from promotion of the year

I've no bother putting Mania 17 in the poll, but some people thought it might just end up a foregone conclusion? Should we just leave it out?

I'm not even going to bother doing best promotion as WWE will only walk it.

By "leave it out" above I mean leave out the Best show poll altogether?

No what I mean is that if there's an obvious winner of an awars it's a bit ridiculous to exclude them. Be like excluding Steiner's promo about those geeks in TNA playing video games from best promo. I'd leave it in and just announce second and third place as well and give everyone three votes of 5 3 and 1 or whatever. The observer system is very good

LOUL, good point Bubs. I can't see a ay of doing that by setting up polls like you usually do one here. You think we're bettwe asking people for their top 3 in each category? Or just the ones where there would appear to be an overwhelming winner?

And its up to you to make sure Steiner is well represented bah.

Lets leave out all Wrestlemania nominations from each poll. :eek:
    No I am serious, the reasoning is that we should do a seperate section of exclusive Mania polls after No Way Out, and we don't want to be debating the same issues again. :o

It won't be a very true reflection of the decade without Manias though no?

Yeah but people watch wrestling for more than Mania's don't they? The board can get very quiet some times and I was thinking we should keep the Mania debate till the buildup of the event in April, to keep the place more active. :o

Ah but in fairness excluding the biggest shows of every year in WWE from awards than span the decade will render them null and void surely?

For example the Match of the decade poll would be pretty pointless without the great matches that have happened at Manias this decade sucgh as TLC2, HHH/HBK/Benoit, Rock/Austin, HBK/Undertaker, HBK/Flair, HBK Angle etc etc?

We can't exclude Manias from the debate surely to God? Mania time evry year is traditionally the busiest tiem on the board anyway. I don't think any debate we have here and no in november will realistically take away from that in April?

What do people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

. You think we're bettwe asking people for their top 3 in each category?

This is a great idea.

I think that's the way to go with a points system in place.

To me, it would be silly to leave out Wrestlemania in the discussions.

I think we could do maybe 2 questions or topics a week (leaving the biggest ones till last like wrestler of the decade etc...) and that would take us right up till Christmas.

A couple of joke awards would be good too. Like best catchphrase or worst tag team which would be named the Heidenreich Snitsky connection memorial

how about most missed dearly departed wrestler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Great Idea Flahavaj!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

PPV of the decade = Backlash 2000, Wrestlemania 17or19, Survivor Series 2002,..TOUGH CHOICE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

1. Best Match of the Decade
    2. Most Outstanding Wrestler (i.e.who had the best matches on the most consistent basis)
    3. MVP Award (Who was the biggest star of the decade)
    4. Best Tag Team
    5. Best Female
    6. Best Show of the Decade (including or excluding Manias/17, not sure yet)
    7. Best feud
    8. Best non-wrestling character (would include valets, general managers, authority figures, commentators)
    9. Best segment/promo
    10. Biggest wrestling story of the decade
    11. Worst wrestler
    12. Best theme tune (includes wrestler themes and PPV/TV show themes)
    13. Worst idea
    14. Biggest Holy Sh*t moment

First off- this is a great idea, kudos to Flahavaj for bringing it up.

Definitely go for people voting top three. All it takes is for a few people to be on the fence about a show, and stuff gets left out. This way, you could include a footnote at the bottom of the results or whatever, that includes honorable mentions. It would be wayyyy more interesting too.

I don't agree with including stuff like Most Missed Wrestler, because I think it should (in general) be about achivements and the like, and it's not really fair to honor one person in this way, and leave out others as if they haven't accomplished as much.

I think you should do Best Promotion. Even though WWE will win, It would be worth doing if your going to have people vote for top threes, to see who else places maybe???

Personally I also think it would be unfair to separate or ignore Wrestlemanias. Sure, they will dominate, but I guess that's part of what makes them special, and it would be weird to leave them out because they're too popular or anything.

Good to have MVP of the decade, and outstanding wrestler. I think it's really important to distinguish between the two, and hope people do in their voting.

Best booker?

Good man KKV, we'll get Kane on one of those ballots anyway just for you, even if its only for the Katie Vick angle!;)

I might enlist your help in a few weeks when we go to do the theme tune poll, aren't you fairly well up on those?

Haha. Best unmasking of the decade :pac: (He still probably wouldn't win it!)

Yeah I know a fair few WWE theme tunes alright, but my taste in music is probably a little different to a lot of other peoples. I think most rasslin' fans seem to judge a theme tune by the popularity of the wrestler that goes along with it, whereas I've often listened to the likes of Chief Morley's theme over and over again for hour(s) at a time. Most people probably don't even know what his theme sounds like. :(

But I'm not too bad with names and order of themes used, etc... If i can be of any assistance, I'd be glad to help. Fantastic thread idea.