Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cycling scenes in the movies...

• 06-11-2009 10:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭

My personal favourite is Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (on TG4 now)...sheer timeless class. Were these bikes produced during the period in which it was set? Just a thought? Looks a hell of a lot like a modern fixie to me and Paul Newman, the man, the legend, is well able to make it dance.
    I'm guessing the period is somewhere between 1890 and 1910.

PS: the link provided is well worth a watch. I tried embedding from Google Video but it's just not happening for me. http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5324046551371173751#

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

In Michael Collins bicycles play their part, the big fella going around Dublin in a pin striped suit on his bicycle, the 12 apostles going to and from the assassinations on their bikes.

Good example of bicycle v tank and bicycle coming out on top :D

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

2 girls 1 bike, best movie ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Years ago, back in the 90's, RTÉ used to show old films realy late at night. I forget the name of the show, they had some presenter explaining the film before they showed it

Breaking Away
    Stars a very young Denis Quaid.
    A group of kids leave school and then form a cycling team

I saw it in the early hours back in 1999 I think. Was a great film even it's not well known

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Saw Breaking Away in 99 in the early hours too. Have it on DVD now. Cinzano ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

mikemac wrote: »
    Years ago, back in the 90's, RTÉ used to show old films realy late at night. I forget the name of the show, they had some presenter explaining the film before they showed it

Breaking Away

I saw it in the early hours back in 1999 I think. Was a great film even it's not well known

Nice one, must have a dig around Tower Records for that one. Looks like it's worth a gawk. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

There's a bike scene in the Goonies. Here's part of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7ah29GqYSY

Damn you pete, I was just checking google images to finish off my post!

EDIT: Impressive cadence, I might dress like that for the goldsprints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Class, your man on the bike, that's yer man, what's his face, the guy with the head...ah feck, it won't come to me.

coolbeans wrote: »
    Class, your man on the bike, that's yer man, what's his face, the guy with the head...ah feck, it won't come to me.

Josh Brolin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

not in the movies but

goodies.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

It was The Last Picture Show presented by Brian Reddin, don't know how I remember that.

How could I forget:

and the famous flying past the moon shot:

That music is still great after all these years. I think E.T. has a slight look of Lumen about him (it's the blanket wrapped around him!).

not in the movies but:D
    This not in the movies either, but there are some good homemade customizing tips interspersed with music in this vid:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hw2CsBz_cKY

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Was looking for the bicycle bits from I Heart Huckabees and found the following, it says the video is made up from clips from: Spun, I Heart Huckabees, My Girl, Donnie Darko, Gummo, Welcome to the Dollhouse, and Napoleon Dynamite...

I'm liking the song, "we're on two wheels baby..." and you have to love where the two kids cycle up the ramp when it's written on the wall "only pickup trucks allowed on ramp, no bicycles"

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The Flying Scotsman:

The Graham Obree story

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdbPTege7Cg

American flyers

Kevin Costner 'tache and all, bearded russians and arrogant 7-11 team leader.
    Climbing in the big ring, sprint finsihes in the little ring but somehow it works :D
    "can he do that??"

Breaking away is a well known and regarded classic BTW (won an Oscar as well and was nominated for 4 more). Dennis Quaid was one of the cutters ;)
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0078902/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Breaking Away

Showing my age but I saw Breaking Away in the Carlton on O'Connell Street in 79 and only remember this as I was on my annual trip to the Big Smoke for the Horse Show:D

The Scene when he catches up with the Italians and stays with them and they stick the pump in his wheel has always stuck in my head

I haven't listened to this yet, so dont blame me if its rubbish:
    30 years ago BREAKING AWAY was released and it became cool to wear tight black shorts, shave your legs and ride skinny tired bikes all over town. Dennis Christopher was the star of the film and took some time to come on with us to chat about the making of a cycling classic.
    http://competitorradio.competitor.com/2009/01/320dennis-christopher/#more-320

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

RobFowl wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdbPTege7Cg

American flyers

Kevin Costner 'tache and all, bearded russians and arrogant 7-11 team leader.
    Climbing in the big ring, sprint finsihes in the little ring but somehow it works :D
    "can he do that??"

Breaking away is a well known and regarded classic BTW (won an Oscar as well and was nominated for 4 more). Dennis Quaid was one of the cutters ;)
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0078902/
    Does this one start with a scene with a bike in a lift, i.e. him cycling into the lift and then into his apartment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Elliott cycling up to the sky in ET!

Edit, Sorry, DirkVoodoo already said that.
    +1 on ET so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

bandit4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Haven't seen Breaking Away in years, but thought it very good when I saw it first time.

Nice to have a compilation of movies where the appearance of a cyclist in a scene isn't a signifier that they are odd, socially inept, or about to have a collision with something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

not exactly cycling but lance in dodgeball. inspirational stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

WTF is that dubbed in ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

haha, god knows...i didn't even check. can't find it in english but trust me, it's very inspiring ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

oflahero wrote: »
    bandit4.jpg

Now that's more my age group, BMX Bandits, and a young looking Nicole Kidman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Russian or Ukranian I think.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Does this one start with a scene with a bike in a lift, i.e. him cycling into the lift and then into his apartment?
    Yes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Cecil Mor

Quote:
    Originally Posted by oflahero viewpost.gif
    bandit4.jpg

Now that's more my age group, BMX Bandits, and a young looking Nicole Kidman!

Never knew Ken Dorethy was in that movie...

"The Famous Five"

In the opening credits Lady Boy George locks up the rear and fish tails his/her Raleigh Grifter to gravelly stop!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Watched 'Maid in New York' last night with the kids, and I saw a guy with his bike upside down in Central Park, fixing a puncture, or whatever the director told him to do. Kids said I was an anorak:eek: for even spotting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Roadtoad wrote: »
    Watched 'Maid in New York' last night with the kids, and I saw a guy with his bike upside down in Central Park, fixing a puncture, or whatever the director told him to do. Kids said I was an anorak:eek: for even spotting it.
    Have to agree wit the KIDS;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

The Snapper, the younger son of the Curleys desperately wants a bike and finally gets one.
    96867.jpg
    96868.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Donnie Darko? Opening scene where he finds himself lying on the road beside his bike then cycles home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

While, I'm at it, I've often wondered if it's possible to imagine James Bond on a bike. Let's face it, he's used every other conceivable form of transport so what does it say about how bikes are perceived that in 20-plus movies he's never once gone near one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

The Snapper, the younger son of the Curleys desperately wants a bike and finally gets one.

Leading to the immortal line:
    "Throw your leg over tha'.....ah, sorry Sharon".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

La vita e bella.

For whats it worth, apart from the cycling scenes, if anyone hasnt seen this movie they should. One on the best films ever made IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Chris Peak

Can't believe no one's posted this

Belleville Rendez-Vous
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHB_dzJOk4U
    Classic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

Chris Peak wrote: »

Belleville Rendez-Vous
    wow that was awesome! is that the whole thing??

Gerard Depardieu on a bike:
    valseuses-velo.jpg
    In Les Valseuses

The film is about 90 minutes long and is sometimes know as "Les triplettes de Belleville" or "The Triplets of Belleville" which is the international title. You should get it in X-Travision / Blockbusters, I know it's in LASER in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Morgan wrote: »
    The Transporter likes bikes :)

oh that brings me back

my dad reckons thats the best scene he`s "EVER SEEN"

after watching it, my 54 year okld father then proceeded to "show" us the moves while we sat down to dinner, he goes though the full reportire(spelling?), he was jumping to show us the high kicks, then doing the "high ya" chops, bloody comical, if it was a child you`d have told all your friends about this crazy kid

then you just think, wait, thats my father :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Chris Peak wrote: »

Belleville Rendez-Vous
    Thanks Chris Peak, had forgotten about this. Great film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Might be slightly off topic but the best bike scenes in a movie are definitely in this movie/documentary "Hell on Wheels" If you haven't seen it you are in for a treat. No it is not a Lance fest and nothing like watching it on Eurosport. Love to hear any opinions if you saw the film.
    There may never be a better documentary about the Tour de France bicycle race than Hell on Wheels. Directed by German filmmaker Pepe Danquart (who won an Oscar® for best live action short film in 1994), this breathtaking documentary covers all aspects of the 2003 TDF and it's likely to remain the definitive record of the event from an immediate you-are-there perspective. Outstanding cinematography, award-winning editing, and the extreme challenge of the Tour make this a truly unforgettable film, full of real-life drama and fascinating competitors who bring a deeply human dimension to cycling's annual extravaganza.
    97308.jpg

If we are talking about documentaries Hell on Wheels is pretty good. My favourites are A Sunday in Hell ( find it on youtube) The Stephen Roche Story, and best of all, "Overcoming" about the Danish team CSC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Spoorloos

It's a movie about a kidnapping in France, not very bike-centric but it does take place during one of the Tour stages and there's lots of radio commentary going on in the background, Hinault and Delgado and Zottemelk being namedropped. Also, it's an adaptation of a story written by Tim Krabbé who wrote "The Rider", so there's lots of other racing references during the film.

also happens to be rather good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

beans wrote: »
    Spoorloos

also happens to be rather good :)

Haven't seen it in years, but was impressed when I saw it first.

Very poor US remake in 1993 (The Vanishing). Unconvincing happy ending tacked on. Also, worse still, no cycling references at all.

Found this today.

As I said above, a character on a bicycle in a US movie is often about to collide with something, but there is another signifier:

http://bicycleinpopularculture.blogspot.com/2007/01/law-of-bicycles-in-popular-culture.html
    The Law of Bicycles in Popular Culture
    All adult characters shown riding a bicycle for utilitarian purposes in a creative work will be depicted as either perverts, losers, or both.

Clause A: This law applies only to works set in the years from 1970 onwards.

Clause B: This law applies consistently only to American works, though foreign examples may occur.

The blog collects examples of cyclists in movies. This law does seem to apply quite frequently.