Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live webgig

• 06-11-2009 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭

Why arent more bands doing live web gigs? Is it the technology/the production problems (a broadband connection, some software and less gear than a real gig)? Or is it just that these things wont work?

Im interested as a) I think this is the way bands are going to start to go and b) we're playing one tomorrow night online (obviously). We'll have a flash based shoutcast stream, plus a livestream video/chat going. We'll also be talking skype calls.

There dont seem to be (any) bands doing this though - regardless of U2 and youtube ... i mean small bands. Anyway - anyone have any thoughts on the whole idea of webcasting live gigs and why more bands arent trying it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Because most bands don't have the drive, imagination or technical know how ...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Unless you've a fanbase that will actually tune in, it's just like doing a gig to nobody. Plus, with Youtube providing 24/7/365 video on-demand, it's far more appealing to the end user than sitting in waiting for a 'timetabled' webcast, in my humble opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭iamhunted

@ paul - technical know-how is a definite thing bands mightnt have but you would hope they'd have the drive and forsight

@ Savman - our plan includes a bit on that as well. We have The Virtual Shed to which we've been inviting select people - they get free music and bits and bobs through there (its like a private myspace/social network site).

The point would be over the next year to build a fan base through a mixture of using The Shed to network, giving away free music (and selling online tunes and custom CDs) plus play a monthly web gig.

Granted, if you sat on your arse, done nothing and expected people jsut to tune in then you might have a problem with no listners all right.

personally, Ive no idea. I'd like to see how the idea has worked a year from now. If any of yous tune in tomorrow night, Im sure we'll be talking about how we see it working, and hopefully get a few people to ring in via skype and even talk about it ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

iamhunted wrote: »
    @ paul - technical know-how is a definite thing bands mightnt have but you would hope they'd have the drive and forsight

@ Savman - our plan includes a bit on that as well. We have The Virtual Shed to which we've been inviting select people - they get free music and bits and bobs through there (its like a private myspace/social network site).

The point would be over the next year to build a fan base through a mixture of using The Shed to network, giving away free music (and selling online tunes and custom CDs) plus play a monthly web gig.

Granted, if you sat on your arse, done nothing and expected people jsut to tune in then you might have a problem with no listners all right.

personally, Ive no idea. I'd like to see how the idea has worked a year from now. If any of yous tune in tomorrow night, Im sure we'll be talking about how we see it working, and hopefully get a few people to ring in via skype and even talk about it ......

Fair play to you Iamhunted. It looks like you've gone to a lot of trouble to get this thing off the ground. Well done.

The only bit that I find confusing is having the gig on the internet but restricting your audience to invite only.

I wouldn't know where to start if I was organizing something like this. All the best with it.

Rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Wasn't all that part of the KT Tunstall buzz a while ago ?

I think it's a great idea - I also agree with Sav that Youtube is a place to go these days - didn't 'Bono and the Boys' do a live U2ube a couple of weeks ago from the US ?

But you could do it live then slice it up for YouTube release.

I've never seen/heard a live one so I'd watch - perhaps make it somewhat interactive with puns texting in comments or questions or whaever ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Good idea. Nice job! Hope it goes well for ye. Will it be recorded (possibly by the streaming service) for on-demand replayability?

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭iamhunted

@ Rockshamrover - The online gig itself isnt invite only - anyone who goes to macrogrizzly.com can watch and listen in while the gig is live. Hotpress gave it a small mentioned a few weeks ago and they gave me a little talkspot in the last issue, so that side of it is much the same as any gig in trying to get people to tune in. Easier that dragging people to a small pub somewhere in carlow ... where they cant smoke a ciggie while relaxing with a beer. Reading things back though, I see what you mean. When I mentioned 'select', thats really this month only where we're giving people free access to 'the shed'. From Jan on people will only get access if they buy one single (priced as cheap as possible) - even as a phone download. Since we're only kicking off, we're letting people that have interacted with us in for free if they want. Theres about 12 tunes in there at present, theres a good bit more on the way.

Theres a whole otherside that we have to really iron out which revolves around developing a listener base rather than a fan base - ie people who actually like the music and arent there because we harrassed them. We workign on a small social networking site for this. From Jan, buy a single and you get access for a year, to the virtual shed. From in there you get the other 11 singles for free, plus archives of the gigs, video, jams .. all that stuff. Have to properly get our heads around it though.

@Paul - we're going to run skype and theres a chat app built into the video player so hopefully we might get some interaction. Rat Scabies might be popping in through skype - he's in scotland over the weekend and doesnt know if he'll have a connection. The trick is going to be balancing the interaction with the actual songs. It'll prob be almost half radio show half gig .. i dunno. we'll see what happens ....

@Sabre0001 - if anyone one here wants to hear the archive, just drop me a PM with a username and password, and I'll set up up in the shed. Theres a streaming mp3 player, downloads, blogs for all, friends etc etc in there so you'll get everything we do for the next year all on the one private site.

thanks for the comments btw - we still havent worked out if this is just a completely stupid idea or a good one. Plus I hope this whole post actually makes sense.

UPDATE - for the record all seemed to go well enough, though we have improvements to make for the next one. we had a better listenership that we'd get at a gig.