Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun licence....

• 06-11-2009 12:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭

One quick question for ye lads...

I sent off the cheque a few days ago for the new licences, and now im thinking of changing my .22 The question I have is that if i do go and change it now will i have to pay another 80euro or will the licence just be changed onto the new gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

im sure it would be transfered at no extra cost...thats how it was in the past..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Hey Shoot2kill,

Done the same myself. Got the license for the .308 and have already sent of the FCA1 substitution for a new .308. If its like for like its free (same calibre for same calibre) and only part of the FCA1 needs filled in.

Wait till you get the license as you'll need the cert number and re-apply for your new gun. If it is a different calibre though its gonna cost you an extra €80.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

ezridax wrote: »
    Hey Shoot2kill,

Done the same myself. Got the license for the .308 and have already sent of the FCA1 substitution for a new .308. If its like for like its free (same calibre for same calibre) and only part of the FCA1 needs filled in.

Wait till you get the license as you'll need the cert number and re-apply for your new gun. If it is a different calibre though its gonna cost you an extra €80.

Thanks for that! There should be no problem so because all i want to do is buy a new 22. The one i have must be 12-15yrs old, time for a change me thinks.

Cheers for the info.;)

Just a tip lad only the following sections need to be filled in as the rest of the info is already on file from your first FCA1 application.

Section 1 - Tick the Substitute box. Tick the "i have not held a license for this firearm in previous 3 years" box.

Section 2.1 - all of it.

Section 3.1 - Details of the new firearm

Section 3.2 - If applicable

Section 3.3 - Dealers details

Section 3.4 - Current firearm details (they gun you have and are trading)

Whether it is for a range or for hunting you need not fill in all the other sections as this info was already submitted on your first FCA1 and they know the new gun is for the same reason and in the same calibre.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

ezridax wrote: »
    Hey Shoot2kill,

Have you to hand in your current rifle while you wait for a "new" licence to be issued ?

No. While the substitution is pending/processing i am still licensed on my current firearm. Until i receive the new license (not grant letter) i can still hold my other rifle legally. When the new license comes i then surrender my old rifle. The old license will expire 2 weeks after the issuing of the new one.

Doesn't matter to me as i've sold my rifle and its stored away (at home) until the new owner gets his license.

I am wondering what the situation will be with a dealer in this instance ? Will it work the same way ?

I doubt it. When you do a deal with a dealer and use you old firearm as a trade in the dealer usually wants the firearm handed into him so he can ensure its safety (from damage) and to advertise it immediately. You are still licensed on it until you get your new license (in case you are refused) but as the gun is with the dealer you cannot use it.

That's the way I think it will go too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Similar query here, my husband has received his confirmation letter for his .223 (Only took 5 months :p) but has since traded that gun in for a .22-250.

He went to the local Garda station before changing the gun's and asked if a new licence would be required, but was told no, once he received the one for the .223 to go back to the Garda station and they'd sign the form to change licence to the .22-250.

This is a different calibre gun, am I right in saying that he will now be charged an extra €80 for the new licence? even though he is sending the .223 one straight back? :eek:

To the best of my knowledge the local station processess the application/substitution and forwards their decision onto Dublin. There it is finalised and a grant (or refusal) letter sent out to the applicant. The applicant then must go to post office and pay the €80. Then the license is sent to the applicant.

This process takes the money end away from the local station. If a like for like substitution is done it is recognised as such and no grant letter sent out but merely a replacement license with the new rifle details on it.

If the substitution is not for a like for like then it is deemed a new application (and as the grant letter comes from Dublin) the local FO/Gardai may not be able to process it as such. I could be wrong and maybe there is some "wriggle" room for someone wishing to change immediately to a similar but not exactly the same caliber rifle.

Be careful. If the application is deemed to NOT be a like for like then it may be returned to you to be refilled again under the heading of a new application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Thanks ezridax, I'm hoping to have the licence back next week so will find out soon enough.
    I hope they don't charge a second €80, it'd be pretty lousy if they did!