Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upcoming Events in the Poker Room Celbridge!! Mark them in your diary!!!

• 05-11-2009 7:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

Great Tournaments Coming Soon to the Poker Room!!

Don't miss a great winter of entertainment in the Poker Room Celbridge.

November:

20th and 27th:

Deepstack Omaha Championship Satellite.

€30 entry (3k chips + 1k early bird).
    2 Rebuys for €40 each(4k and 6k).
    20 min blinds.
    1 ticket Guaranteed each night.

December:

3rd-6th: Deep Stack Omaha Festival!!

Thursday 3rd:
    Super Satellite.
    €100 entry with 2 rebuys for €50.
    2 tickets Guaranteed

Friday 4th:
    Main Event.
    €1000 inclusive of 8% reg fee.
    30k Stack
    1 hour clock

Saturday 5th:
    Round of each Freezeout.
    €200+20 entry
    15k stack
    30 min clock

Sunday 6th:
    €10 reg entry
    €25 Rebuys for 90 mins
    2k starting stack.
    3k rebuys

December 18th:

'Best of Boards Tournament'
    €30 entry for 3k (1k early bird)
    2 €40 rebuys (4k and 6k)

Big Boardsie Reunion!
    Lots of prizes on the night!

The Poker Room Celbridge WSOP Main Event Part Deux!!!

December 28th-30th:

Main Event:

€300 entry including a €30 reg
    3 day event.
    1 hour clock day 1, 2 hours days 2 & 3.
    30k stack
    Same structure as the WSOP Main Event
    Lots of added prizes just like last time!!

Side Event 1 - Tuesday 29th:
    €150 NLH Freezeout
    Inclusive of a €15 reg
    15k Stack
    30 min clock

Side Event 2 - Wednesday 30th:4
    €100 Round of Each Freezeout
    Inclusive of a €10 reg
    15k stack
    25 min clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

Some reviews from our last Mini WSOP!!
    John, Ross, Johnny, Pedro, Michelle and all the rest of the staff at the Poker Room Cellbridge thanks for a great event. I dont think Vegas would be as good for the athmosphere. I had a fantastic time with some really great players and i'd like to think I have met a few new poker friends.

If i had one complaint it would be that if i open push with JJ, The small blind doesnt wake up with Aces. if ya could fix that for me i think WE ALL WOULD BE THERE TIME AND TIME AGAIN!!

On a serious note thou thanks for a GREAT weekend and look foward to the next big one.

Cormac.

Best of luck to all that is left.
    Yep, rollercoaster ride over. 220 up to 370 down to 50 up to 230 and then out (over 8 hours mind!). Played fairly loose as it was definitely there to be won the way the hands were going. No real regrets as got lucky a few times to go with the beats.

Hand that would've halted the Lorcan juggernaut and put me level was prob my 3rd raise in 4 hands so was re-raised by Lorcan. I call with Ah9h and flop is J high with 2 hearts. I call a pot bet that turned out to be a misteke by lorcan, checked the rag turn and decided to bet a K high river after to be instacalled by K8. 2 streets too late with the raise and put me down to 130K.

Class game and very well run. Can see it lasting a lot longer as still ridic amount of play with the blinds. Over 650 BBs out there between 5 players even after all this time. Nice to meet lots of players over the weekend and really did enjoy the game - was never allowed to turn into a silent tense game. GL to all left and sorry for donking all my chips to the man who really didn't need them! :o
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    I don't know any of the players but i've really enjoyed reading all the updates.

All i've heard is good things for The Poker Room, i'll definately be heading down for a game soon!
    mdwexford wrote: »
    Congrats to John and all at The Poker Room on what was easily the best tournament ive ever played. At no stage did the average stack drop below 60 bb's and it was 80-100 for most of it, sick amount of play. 2 hours levels are the nuts.

Food laid on, standard of dealing etc was all top class, i really cant recommend the place enough, every effort was made to cater for anything the players wanted.

Pity my final table was an early dogging and then ninja poker for the next 5 hours, get all in with AT vs A2, chop chop, KK vs A8, Ace high flop, fml, annoying to play for 20+ hours to have a FT like that but thats lol donkaments i guess.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Yeah, seems any player that walks into that club is treated very well. Been very impressed with the service both times I've been there. Amazing tournament really, deserved more runners.
    Lady Di wrote: »
    Well done lads, I obviously had a sick time at the final table but thats poker as they say! Ace's haven't held up for me in a long time so felt the King coming on the river, thanks again Richie!!! :D

All the lads were lovely and good players so I didn't mind who won really, Gordon is a true gent so would prob have been my pick on that basis but as I said all were lovely!

Thanks again to the poker room and all the staff, I'll be back next yr!!

(Going back to playing a tournament with a normal structure is going to seem like a turbo now! :p)
    Yeah well done to everyone who got to the final table and the eventual winner got to the final table myself finished 9th just couldnt win my races obviiously very dissapointed to go out so early have to say i was extremely impressed with lorcan and robbie grendon robbie gave me a tough time all weekend and lorcans plays and reads and pressence on the table were very impressive i always say you learn something everytime you play poker and i definatley did from them 2. In regards to the poker room brilliant place to play poker the staff treated every1 like royalty and were very accommodating the tournament was run to perfection nice atmosphere didnt get a bum deal all weekend
    Well that was some tournament imo. Major rollercoaster for me aswell, from double up in the 1st hand with Aces vs AK:eek: to the Ace on the turn in the 900k pot 3 handed to finish me off.

Had 320k literally 15 minutes before the end of day 2 and came to the final table shortest of all with 68.5k, still 23bb so very playable. Shove my ATs from the BB over mdwexfords small blind raise and bink the T on the river to outdraw the AQ. Phew

Less than a round later i 3-bet Lady Di's open with KK and oh so reluctantly call her shove to be shown the Aces, but never fear i binked the K on the river for the 280k pot. Unlucky Diane you played a great game.

Chipped up to 450k+ without much note and after a few big showdowns were 3 handed, John with 800k+ Lorcan 1.1m+ and me 180k. Get the double up with AK vs Lorcans KQ and a ive 400k+ then this.

Lorcan opens the button (for the 50th time in succession) i flat TT and John calls too. Flop 4c 5c 5s, i check, 50k from John, 1 fold and i make it 150k, after a dwell John shoves and i call for my remaining chips. But sadly i cant hold off the A4 with the A on the turn and thats it.
    Very well played on the victory John overall.

All in all im happy to take 3rd after starting as the shorty, and sucking out a few times, but still, win that pot and i fancy taking it all. Maybe next time.

Had a fantastic time, Best structured tournament ive ever played, and definitly the best poker room in terms of looking after the players. Awesome on that front, from John and Ross, great hosts, to Darren, Nigel, and the dealers Laurent, Mick, Snarf, Kasia ect ect. You guys run a top notch show.

Well played to all boardsies like NuckChorris1, Gorrrr72, Lady Di and anyone im leaving out, im pretty tired. We'll defo be back
    DAMO72 wrote: »
    Ye, I was a small bit dissapointed to go out like that , but i was happy overall with my game to go deep in a quality field like that , and the weekend was brilliant with the hospitality that the Poker room showed to all who played.
    cant believe it CHAMPIONAY CHAMPIONAY OLAY OLAY OLAY,
    sorry just woke up ,left club at 6.15 this morning and was in work at 7.15,home at 5.30 and slept ever since.
    just want to thank ross john darren tasha steph and all at the poker room celbridge. top class venue excellent hospitality,super tournament, my god what a marathon.
    simple strategy for the game.try and build a few chips stay out of trouble and see where it takes me. succeeding in doing this probably had a lot to do with not meeting the wexford mafia until late saturday. ah! final table, mission accomplished for day 2 with a little help from qq.
    Congrats on the victory John (delighted for you and well deserved,good to see it won by a local ;).What a tournament all the same,the irish open should take note,fair play to all involved never played in such a relaxed enviroment and the service was 5 star.i busted in 4th when calling Lorcan all in move,prob a shocking call but taught Lorcan was at it and i did have 666k10 he doesnt need cards to win Tournaments.The liffey on the walk home looked tempting:eek:. .Will take a lot out of this especially watching Lorcan 76% bet frequency.:rolleyes: but he played amazing at the final table and imagine will go a long way in the poker world.Felt very sorry for Femi who also mixes it up brilliant and some how lost out on 2 races but he will back to win many a tournament,also to Di who never put a foot wrong and found herself doing a 4 hr return journey for 20 mins bad luck.Looking forward to next one already.

tm2204 wrote: »
    Mixed opinions so far but I think a buyin as-is or €300+€30 will keep a good mix of players as Tony mentioned above. There will be more players about in November and with all the good feedback from this time around I can't see this not getting 100+ players next time.

Fantastic tournament, great structure, great food & hospitality and with all the additions to the prizepool this event should go from strength to strength as it goes forward.

Ross i think it was a great event. Stucture suited me to a tee (im a tight cavan man) but on a serious note it gave players what they wanted room to play poker. 2 hour levels is tuff going but if you know the value of the 2 cards 2 hours blinds is great value for those cards.

The hospitality was second to none and that comes from the top down so thanks again for that Ross.
    You only needed to ask and if it was within reach it was yours.

I think next yrs game will get a lot more players at the buyin price this year, but having said that i think it will also get a lot more even if the buyin is 400/500/600 just on word of mouth alone.

So id like to say thanks to Ross, John, Nigel, and all the dealers Johnny, Pedro, Michelle, Lev and all the staff people whom I dont know on a first hand bases.

Cormac.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Ahem. Charter. Ahem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

5starpool wrote: »
    Ahem. Charter. Ahem.

Charter for the Deepstack Omaha can be found in its own thread:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055686667

Other games are being polished off at the moment and will have full charters soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Really enjoyed this game the last time. It was the best structured event I ever played in. I was never all in at risk until my exit hand in 5th place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

gman127 wrote: »
    Great Tournaments Coming Soon to the Poker Room!!

December 18th:

'Best of Boards Tournament'
    €30 entry for 3k (1k early bird)
    2 €40 rebuys (4k and 6k)

Big Boardsie Reunion!
    Lots of prizes on the night!

The Poker Room Celbridge WSOP Main Event Part Deux!!!

December 28th-30th:

Main Event:

€300 entry including a €30 reg
    3 day event.
    1 hour clock day 1, 2 hours days 2 & 3.
    30k stack
    Same structure as the WSOP Main Event
    Lots of added prizes just like last time!!

Side Event 1 - Tuesday 29th:
    €150 NLH Freezeout
    Inclusive of a €15 reg
    15k Stack
    30 min clock

Side Event 2 - Wednesday 30th:4
    €100 Round of Each Freezeout
    Inclusive of a €10 reg
    15k stack
    25 min clock

Whats the story about
    the 'Best of Boards Tournament' on the 18th Dec &
    the WSOP Main Event on the 28-30 Dec

Are they going ahead ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

Hi Pat,

No have deceided to pull both those events for the time being. Will look at them again in the new year.

Thanks Ross.