Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modern Warfare 2: What's First on Your Agenda?

• 04-11-2009 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭

Well we all know the Modern Warfare 2 behemoth is less than a week away and I have to say I'm really looking forward to it! :D What I want to know with you guys is what you'll be diving into first. Will it be the single player or the multiplayer? Always have to do the single player first!

What part of MW2 will you be playing first? 48 votes

Single Player Campaign
    0%
    Online Gameplay
    62%
    bushKenny_Dstag39Super Sidiousantorscrew2looseJello5uspectironictoasterChorcaiyayamarkDr.Slurmwandatowell.Longshanks.AldebaranOnearmedbanditagentgreenchavezychavezGunmonkeyPodge2k7 30 votes
    Spec-Ops
    37%
    DcullyravydavygravyStuxnetKoKaneHenrik_is_GodAntigone05mailrewopSRFC90Kev_ps3marko91halolmapotsy11bluestripe93dvpowerRedzer7Jackobytebluejay14Dothehustle 18 votes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Single player all the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

Online Gameplay
    Clareman wrote: »
    Single player all the way :)

2nd that then a bit of spec ops with a mate. Then let the americans batter me on multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

SP first. On Hardened or Vet. Then a bit of Spec Ops to see what the craic is, then on to the MP.

But that could all change once I have the disc in the drive!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I should have expanded a bit.

Coming first is a nice dinner, some stupid romantic cr@p to keep the wife happy, then single player till I have it completed, I always play that to get used to all the weapons, then I'll be on the multiplayer, hopefully I'll be sick of it before the wife leaves me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

i have told my gfriend not to come near me for 2 days after its being realesed only if its emerency like food or sex and even then .........
    but any ways single player first then if i get stuck on some part no doubt i will ill try the mp to see how it goes

I think I'll take Monday off work, Tuesday could be touch and go.

Actually, I think I feel a bit piggy......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Single player for me as well, been playing mostly racing games lately so I'm a little rusty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

Online Gameplay

Coming first is a nice dinner, some stupid romantic cr@p to keep the wife happy, then single player till I have it completed, I always play that to get used to all the weapons, then I'll be on the multiplayer, hopefully I'll be sick of it before the wife leaves me

Are you kidding? Wasting valuable time placating the ball and chain when you could be wasting scumbags in MW2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

iam just hoping we dont have the same problem that sky player is having cos there is going to be huge demand on there servers when the game comes out i bet it will lag like hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

Straight into the multiplayer, this is the big pull for me, cant wait to get stuck into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

This

(minus the wedding ring)

I think there are many irish women dreading this game :pac:

Are you kidding? Wasting valuable time placating the ball and chain when you could be wasting scumbags in MW2

Less than 3 months married, I'd like to make Christmas, I'd hate to give back the presents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Online Gameplay
    First step is to find somewhere not charging €70 odd for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭potsy11

Spec-Ops
    GStormcrow wrote: »

You will be waiting a few months.

At that stage we will all be experts and you will keep getting whoopped on MP...:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Spec-Ops
    Dont care about simgleplayer at all, multiplayer all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Dcully wrote: »
    Dont care about simgleplayer at all, multiplayer all the way.

I do care about the single-player... But ya, straight into multi for me too! I ordered from Amazon, so won't have it Tuesday... or Wednesday... Maybe Thursday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Online Gameplay
    potsy11 wrote: »
    You will be waiting a few months.

At that stage we will all be experts and you will keep getting whoopped on MP...:D

I dont play multiplayer (veteran campaign is what I'm looking forward to) and already have it preordered in gamestop but I dont think my €60 deposit is gonna cut it :( I'll wait and see if the price drops once they see that all of the other shops are cheaper than them on release day... :o

Spec-Ops
    I admit to really looking forward to playing this with my son online.
    Hes been at me for months to get a second 360 for us to team up so i took the plunge and got myself an elite and will get 2 copies of MW2.
    Im a pc gamer at heart.
    Ive got a high spec pc but gaming online with my son is too much of a draw to pass up hence my decision to grab MW2 on 360 instead of pc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Davexirl

Tuesday morning I will be heading straight up to Tesco to see what they are charging. I got these in Tesco over the last few weeks

Pro Evo €30
    Forza €40
    Dj Hero €100

so they have to be selling modern warfare 2 cheaper than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

http://www.toys.ie/Shop_Product_List.aspx?Profile=Euro&query=modern+warfare+2

Sixty in Smyths plus roughly €25 - €30 trade in value on most of the big releases this year, so free if you've got some decent trade ins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055729255

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭RAIN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 II Skelly x

I have the game as I have a flashed 360 and tbh I don't get what the whole hush is about. All that's new is the guns, maps, attatchments, perks, callsign's, emblems, killstreak awards and the 3rd person playlist. Doesn't feel hugely different to CoD4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

My first move is to see which console to get it on. They've lost me as a PC consumer. My xbox live account is surprisingly lacking in terms of gamerscore (it's embarassing) so that may win... though I prefer my PS3 as I've more online friends etc.

Oh, the dilemma. But yeah, the real agenda is to find it cheaper then €69.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

straight online..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

I love online,played far too much of it on the last one but I'd go for single player first. Can't wait to use the new weapons like the steyr aug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

I can't decide. Its killing me. Most likely single player. My local Xtravision is doing a midnight opening. Sweet deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Guys, theres 24 hours in the day, take the 2 hours sleep into account thats 22 hours left, maybe factor out 1 hour for eating ,toilet and what not, that leaves 21 hours for gaming, id say thats a good 10 and a half hours of each!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Yep a good 10hrs to play the single player and finish it, then trade it back in. I might actually rent it seeing as some are saying it's shorter than CoD4. MP is just a bunny hopping side shimming mess IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I found bunny hoppers don't last long in cod, thats what halo does to you lol personally i'll probably go finish single player before playing multiplayer, though i can't be sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

I think I will touch myself for a bit and then after I clean up, I'll play the single player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Play some single player, kill civilans, some multiplayer, some spec op's, single player on veteran, some more multiplayer, pull my hair out in single player, play multiplayer again and so on...

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭xo_CHEWY_ox

straight into single player for about ten minutes until i get a flurry of invites to play multi player!

at least i dont have to worry about the missus giving out to me for playing it so much, she cant wait to play it about as much as me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭mailblaney

really looking forward to this, only got an xbox recently but have played modern warfare loads.

single player first to try and get good at it, then straight into online and getting my a$$ handed to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

My first move is to see which console to get it on. They've lost me as a PC consumer. My xbox live account is surprisingly lacking in terms of gamerscore (it's embarassing) so that may win... though I prefer my PS3 as I've more online friends etc.

Hey man, if I was you, I'd get it on PS3 i.e., the console you have most friends playing. Like if you ever have a LAN with your friends, which console would ye be playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

there are no multiplayers achievements again which sucks balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

evad_lhorg wrote: »
    there are no multiplayers achievements again which sucks balls.

Fair play to them imo... If I were to play this online (I wont), I would rather be playing with people who are in it for fun rather than people trying to milk it for a couple of achievements.

its better that there are no online achievements ....online achievements are the worst thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    its better that there are no online achievements ....online achievements are the worst thing ever.

Thats my view exactly, online chieves ruined both Rainbow Six and Ghost Recon games, most players were out for the awards and would go as far as team killing to get them.

Fair play for IW for realising that and putting in a ranking and perk system instead with both Modern Warfare games. Which will encourage people to play but not really drive them to silly extremes.

Spec-Ops
    MP is just a bunny hopping side shimming mess IMO.

I must say i rarely see bunnyhopping while playing the 360 version of cod4 or waw.
    It is rampant on pc however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭Thor

vet on single player only took me like 5 hours.

Its the spec ops thats a bitch. spent something like 2 hours on a single level. DAMN FUC*KING JUGS!!!!

brilliant game in the end i have to say. cant wait until tuesday as the hype with every noob playing it online should be fun as im use to the weapons. feels much better online and more like a killing streak of a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Shouldn't be too hard, HMV are advertising it for something like €52.99.

Anyone know when the review embargo is to be lifted ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Jip wrote: »
    Shouldn't be too hard, HMV are advertising it for something like €52.99.

Anyone know when the review embargo is to be lifted ?
    Gametrailer.com's review will be up Monday, dunno about the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Online Gameplay
    Couldn't care less, just wanna kill something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

gonna jump straight into online multiplayer, no kissing. while you sucka's will be still on single player Ill be up a few prestiege!

how have people got this early?....will many of ye do this on veteran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Online Gameplay
    I did it on veteran on COD4. Somes levels were okish, but that level in the ghillie suit took me forever to do. Took me around 50 attempts to get the high mile club done under a minute.

I'm sad to say that I won't be getting it on the first day let alone first week, broke college student....

I'm pretty sure my membership runs out next Wednesday, anyways. Have fun everyone with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

I'll be getting it at midnight and i'm going to try finish the single player before i go to college at 8 the next morning, I'll say i won't play the multiplayer before i finish the single player but after an hour of single player i will probably jump right inot multiplayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Taking Tuesday off work. Will play single player for a hour or two, just to get a feel for some of the weapons. I don't think I will be able to resist MP then.

EDIT: enjoy some muchies also.