Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IMPORITNG AIRSOFT

• 03-11-2009 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭

Hi If i import an airsoft pistol witch is under the 328 fps or 1 joule will it get still past customs?sorry if this is a stupid question i just want a definate anser as i want to import a pistol as they are too expencive here.if there is any thread already on this subject please put up a link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

very soon you will not be able to import airsoft guns,only parts,and i think it will be stoped,tested and if under you will get it,but time is runnin short,so if you are gonna do it,get in quick,tick tock :) plus you will have to pay vat and no come backs,best to buy irish me thinks :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭.22 Lover

So say a 105euro inc p&p glock 23 from ehobby altogether will cost how much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

It'll cost roughly €133-ish, and the time it takes to arrive

Well then its a waist beacause i can get the same pistol here for only 3 euro less so thats how much we get ripped off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

.22 Lover wrote: »
    Well then its a waist beacause i can get the same pistol here for only 3 euro less so thats how much we get ripped off

Sorry, how are we getting ripped off?

Lets take a normal everyday M4A1 made by Dboys.
    €150 in Eirsoft.
    Wow its only €66 from Ehobbyasia. Wait a minute...
    €27 for it to be downgraded sub 1 joule thats €93
    Now for postage there's another €60, now we're at €143.
    Time for tax thats roughly 25% including customs charges so €36
    Now its €180.

Eirsoft is cheaper by €30.

Now your M4 breaks a month laterand you have to get it fixed thats another roughly €40-€50.
    Well guess what Eirsoft has a warranty that means its a free repair!

So now, who's getting ripped off?

Edit: Just picked Eirsoft at random, the same applies for all Irish retailers.

By the country not the retalers the tax is the majority of the charge if the retalers took that as their profet the rest of their stuff would be cheeper

Doesn't matter, I'm sure the people in Hong Kong think the exact same.

They dont have tax they have communism instead

That maybe so, but its likely that some people there will think that they get over charged, as will some people in the UK, USA, Germany, etc, etc, etc.
    I've bought one airsoft device from Hong Kong and was lucky enough not to get hit by tax and even if I did, I would look back and say that the €40 clone GBB 1911 was well worth the extra €20 or what ever on tax. But that doesn't matter.
    You seem to not like the governments attempts at trying(yes trying, silly recession) to keep money in the country.

Well being in the motor trade and being middle class you would understand my hatrid.Lets stop this talk were going too off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Actually, Hong Kong has one of the most tradeable currencies in the world, has salary-based income tax, and is essentially capitalist.

You'd think 'being in the motor trade' you'd understand the basics of how taxation works.

My father works in the motor trade im only 16 but ive got the basics of the counties situtation.Sorry if my comment was incorect i dont want to cause any trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

[Novel time]
    Buying from Abroad is still cheaper in my experiance.
    When you look for something thats is not Bog-Standard
    from an Irish retailer your looking at big bucks!.

You want an M4 a G36 and AK an M1911 Pistol sure
    Irish retailers vs Abroad there is not much difference
    at the end of the day, When it comes to something
    that Irish retailers dont stock in bulk and your looking to get something out of the ordinary or what may be considered a special order then your kinda out of luck and you might as well bend over and grab your ankles and squeal like a pig once your credit card bill arrives.

I'll buy from Irish retailers as much as I can, I fully support them and try to buy everything I can from them. I will only import if an Irish retails cannot get something for me (a growing problem as my collection grows) or if I feel there price is unaccetable. I'm not above questioning prices.

When you see one Irish retailer offer free shipping on something and its 30-40 Euros and even 60 Euros cheaper than other Irish retailers that does not offer free shipping you gotta ask why the other retailers are chargeing more.

When the big Ban comes in just who is going to regulate
    what retailers can charge and how fair the prices will be?
    its not like us Irish punters will have a choice once the restrictions come into play. We will be Forced to buy through the the Irish retailers by Law.

Currently.....

If your Take for example a Marushin Glock 21 Dual Maxi shell ejecting pistol.

From a Cork Retailer including postage I purchased one it was €190 Euros and €15 Euros for extra shells. Free shipping and the service was excellent. Had it next day!
    A little bit pricey for an ABS Pistol compared to other pistols but hey it was shell ejecting a gimick! ie extra cash please!

From A Dublin retailer cost NOT including postage is
    €229.99 and €24.99 for extra shells. WTF? How come
    the Dubs get shafted? when the Cork Lads have the good price?

Why such a difference in Price? Both have overheads, both have staff to pay, Both are Irish retailers.

To Buy same pistol from abroad including VAT/Shipping/Fees its roughly €180 Euros so
    only a tenner cheaper with feck all after sales support.
    Conclusion Buy Irish!!!!

Take another contrasting example.
    Something more exotic! (exotic meaning its not an M4 or AK) an KA FN FAL! my favourite!
    Irish retailers that have had these in the past have had the price of these nearly hitting 400 Euros if not more (and for particular brands a hell of a lot more than that!)
    You order one of these from abroad and including shipping,
    customs fees, etc your still talking about 300 Euros.
    That is at the very least a 100 Euro's of a difference when
    it comes the end Buyer! 100 Euros that you could save??
    thats a lot for a toy gun! Once the Ban comes in and we
    are forced to buy from an Irish retailer will Joe Soap Public
    accept paying 100 Euros's more than than Required just
    because they lack the choice from buying abroad themselves.

The question arises Just who is going to regulate the
    Irish Price of airsoft goods post ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭johnnytiitlips

with information being freely passed around on a public forum,eventually the market will regulate itself.
    dear prices=no business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭lakay91-c

Hello Guys will that restrictions include EU countries? and can we still buy from english suppliers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

lakay91-c wrote: »
    Hello Guys will that restrictions include EU countries? and can we still buy from english suppliers?

It covers anywhere outside the borders of the Republic of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Will the private buyer still be able to import Mags, Sights etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭lakay91-c

any idea when will this be imposed?

It looks like it will be implemented on January 1, 2010, and spare parts and accessories wont be affected.

My Pistol Order was Seized I found out this morning.

I got no notifications, Nothing at all!!!
    Rang UPS they said Customs Seized it.(Its still on their tracking system)
    and it was nothing to do with them anymore.

Got the number of Local Customs who were pleasent and was talking to a gentleman
    who remembered the package je said it was sent to the Gardai in Shannon
    as there was no information about the muzzle velocity on it, again got a nothing to do with them anymore statement.

Rang Shannon Gardai and left a message for the member of the Gardai who the
    package was left into. So now the wait begins to see what happens next!

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Brabazone

bullets wrote: »
    My Pistol Order was Seized I found out this morning.

I got no notifications, Nothing at all!!!
    Rang UPS they said Customs Seized it.(Its still on their tracking system)
    and it was nothing to do with them anymore.

Got the number of Local Customs who were pleasent and was talking to a gentleman
    who remembered the package je said it was sent to the Gardai in Shannon
    as there was no information about the muzzle velocity on it, again got a nothing to do with them anymore statement.

Rang Shannon Gardai and left a message for the member of the Gardai who the
    package was left into. So now the wait begins to see what happens next!

~B

Who did you order it from because I have a gbb ordered from ebaybanned and have heard that customs are always seizing their stuff. Staring to get realy concerened now because of all the pelople that have been reporting items getting siezed recently.:(

Brabazone wrote: »
    Who did you order it from because I have a gbb ordered from ebaybanned and have heard that customs are always seizing their stuff. Staring to get realy concerened now because of all the pelople that have been reporting items getting siezed recently.:(

I bought from ehobbyasia, Never had problems in the past with getting gear for them.
    Trying to print out the details of the pistol now with the power rating on it Tanaka works Browning
    (its .49j at 25C) but every time I print or try and print to PDF it cuts off the Power section Grrrrr.

I was worried with the new laws in place and with the statement on the IAA website
    giving an estimated date of Jan 2010 that people would have issues before the Importation Ban.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Brabazone

I think you were right to be worried, it appears as if customs have decided to come down on anything airsoft related in the run up to the ban. Wounldt you think they would be giving us a chance. I dont mean that they should let everything and anything trough but common since would go a long way. I sure with all there dealings with airsoft devices over the years that somone in customs should know at this stage that gbb hand guns are never above 1j.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

I'm having the same problem with Shannon at the moment

Just off the phone to one of the Garda members in the Shannon Station.
    He asked if I could call out to the station, but unfortunately I'm working all week,
    Dont drive, and it would be difficult to cycle out that many miles on a bicycle.

He asked how he was supposed to know if it was under 1j or not and
    said he would give me a call tomorrow so hopefully he will!

Hopefully the Garda member I talked to is fair and reasonable.

I've faxed (hopefully if it gets through after lots of attempts) him a letter
    with details of the Pistol from ehobbdy along with the power listings, a link
    to the Irish Airsoft association and also gave him my member number just in case
    he thought I was not telling him the truth.

He asked me a question that I was totally expecting but still I found it difficult to answer!

"what would you want that for?"

No matter how you explain airsoft to someone thats not into it and especially to
    someone in Law enforcement whos gut instinct is probably to think these things are Bad, wrong or someone less than legal whatever truthful answer you give just seems odd.

I'm a collector I have over 50 of them at home! How does that sound if your a member of the Gardai listening to someone saying this over the phone.

Will keep people updated as the story unfolds!

I was going to suggest if he was willing to call to my house of testing the gun through
    the chorono that I still have belonging to one of my shooting buddies. But was unsure how he would take the suggestion.

~B

No matter how you explain airsoft to someone thats not into it and especially to someone in Law enforcement whos gut instinct is probably to think these things are Bad...

I know we dont like doing it, but I've found the best way is simply to say "Its like paintball"

Theres probably no need to mention you have 50 at home - that would certainly raise eyebrows :)

Shiva wrote: »
    Theres probably no need to mention you have 50 at home - that would certainly raise eyebrows :)

I know ;) but...
    Thats the thing that makes it so awkward and a lot of the time frustrating.

As an Airsoft Collector and or Player your doing absolutely nothing wrong,
    nothing sinister, or seedy, you have an interest and you collect and buy more and more gear.

But somehow in the minds of others (non-airsorfters) there are raised eyebrows
    or somehow you come across as some oddball nutcase.

Imagine if Stamp Collectors had this much hassle. :D

Anyway another month or two and I'm likely to be Hassleing your good self for
    weird purchases and of course our very own local retailer that recently opened.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭johnnytiitlips

taken from ebairsoft today:
    WE do not ship AEG and Pistol to Canada, Germany ,Ireland ,Italy, Ukraine and all countries at South America, buyer who paid for gun will be requested to claim money from paypal himself

Tell that to loads of lads who have gotten AEGs and GBBs from Ebaybanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

i wait with baited breath bullets, you seem to be getting further than me at the moment, i had the same conversation with him, the fact i've had 40+aeg go thought Shannon without issue up until this point i did find strange, customs suddenly seemed to be throwing them at the garda over night almost, it hard enough for me to get a detention notice at the moment from this gut let along anything else, i said i would provide paper work and come down but was not interested at that time, went from customs looking at it to being sent to Dublin within 12 hours

the stupid thing is is there was a 1j sticker on the outside they would more than likely be happy, does not matter what on earth is inside, all they seemed to be looking for was something to say under a joule in the box , even though they had no idea what it meant or even if it was the truth, sad but true :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭NinjaLmk

I know ;) but...
    Thats the thing that makes it so awkward and a lot of the time frustrating.

As an Airsoft Collector and or Player your doing absolutely nothing wrong,
    nothing sinister, or seedy, you have an interest and you collect and buy more and more gear.

But somehow in the minds of others (non-airsorfters) there are raised eyebrows
    or somehow you come across as some oddball nutcase.

Imagine if Stamp Collectors had this much hassle. :D

Anyway another month or two and I'm likely to be Hassleing your good self for
    weird purchases and of course our very own local retailer that recently opened.

~B
    Hey mate, if you want ill drive you out to Shannon with my Chrono and we can meet that Guard,
    On A seperate note are you going to Portumna G-Tac1 on Sunday???

NinjaLmk wrote: »
    Hey mate, if you want ill drive you out to Shannon with my Chrono and we can meet that Guard,
    On A seperate note are you going to Portumna G-Tac1 on Sunday???

Cheers for the offer. I'll see how things pan out if the Guard rings me tomorrow. He sounded OK to talk to on the phone,

Would love to find out what his main role is and if he has training when it comes to firearms and airsoft. I dont want to be patronising the bloke by spouting facts about airsoft and laws, He knew about the 1j limit which suggests he's had dealings with airsoft before. From ringing the station if felt like a small station, with only a handful of staff. fax machine numbers were listed wrong on webpage,
    Lady's voice answering the fax machine when trying to send a document suggests it does not get much use, and over hearing just one voice on the phone the place sounded quiet, was closed during lunch hours as was getting an engaged tone, and no fax would send between 12:00 and 14:00

Wont know about Portumna until Friday.
    Portumna if your heading up and there is room in yer car would love to go! if there is a lift going. can give ya a few quid towards petrol. I dont know any of the other Limerick airsofters that drive or live close by.

will need to dig out my combats and start charging batteries.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Hey bullets / pudding, Same thing here with Shannon Gardai right now. gbb from rso via Ups, seized and tested legal. Should be hearing back from them this week ref getting them back. On the up shot they did mention they regularly see this so at least they may have some idea what they are doing by now.

lol I had the same idea of just brining a chrono and showing the fps x weight to get the power but I think a Garda may have a hard time following that lol.

Will post up what they say anyways but nice to know we arent the only ones in this boat right now.

Got a call back this morning that can only be described as interesting.
    Need to meet the Garda that I was talking to, and he
    said he would give the pistol to me in Person after he met and talked to me.
    So hopefully all going well will meet him next Wed sometime,
    as he's working different hours, he had some questions about sites,
    and playing airsoft.

From the conversation about airsoft in general's I still get the feeling its not widely
    known what the sport is about and there is an awful lot of mis-interpretation,
    and mis-understanding about sites etc.

If I get the Pistol from the Gardai I wonder what flags customs to know its out of the system.
    What flags UPS tracking system that its out of their system.
    And interestingly enough there was not one mention of paying duty.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Got a call back this morning that can only be described as interesting.
    Need to meet the Garda that I was talking to, and he
    said he would give the pistol to me in Person after he met and talked to me.
    So hopefully all going well will meet him next Wed sometime,
    as he's working different hours, he had some questions about sites,
    and playing airsoft

That seems about right. At the moment it looks they're making sure those purchasing the airsoft devices are of sound mind. When I bought an M9 off of Hobby Airsoft I was asked to sign a book with name, age, address to make sure they weren't selling to riff-raff. With the importation ban it looks like they're lumping more responsibility on the retailers to ensure that individuals purchasing replicas are of sound mind, and now it just seems that during the final stretch that they are easing everyone into that process.