Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

not takin your hits

• 02-11-2009 1:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭

Went skirmishing for the first time on Saturday, have to say it was awsome. The only problem i saw was loads of people not takin they're hits, and in the majority of cases it was guys over 30, so it wasn't just kids. I was wondering is this rampant on all airsoft sites and if so does that just not prove the honour sytem does not work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Mervenut

Did the marshals not call them on that, did you speak to the site about it afterard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mcshape

Any site I've had that problem dealt with it on the spot, and took no sh1te about it, one site didn't, and I don't go there any more as a result, but be aware, some times people don't realise they have been hit, bulky tac vests and stuff can sometimes cause too much padding, sorry your first experience was so bad, and no, its not the case in all sites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭whitetigerkungf

to be honest as it was my first skirmish i didnt want to bi*ch to much. but it wasn't heavly marshaled and most cases its going to boil down to his word against yours. I know there can be problems of people overestimating the range of their aeg but when you can see the bb bounce off them its very annoying. Thing of it is I'm not going to lower myself and not take my hits. But it does encourage you to cheat when your team loses a game for the simple reason the other team dont take they're hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

How many were actually hit? and how many did people 'think' they hit....?

Far bigger problem being the latter imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

to be honest as it was my first skirmish i didnt want to bi*ch to much. but it wasn't heavily marshaled and most cases its going to boil down to his word against yours. I know there can be problems of people overestimating the range of their aeg but when you can see the bb bounce off them its very annoying. Thing of it is I'm not going to lower myself and not take my hits. But it does encourage you to cheat when your team loses a game for the simple reason the other team don't take they're hits.

That there is critical for you to remember as a new player. No matter how much cheating you see, youll always be a better player by making sure you always play honourably.

And who knows in time the cheaters may just see you being honourable, and follow suit.

In time youll also become the base for which newer players base themselves off.

So make sure you keep that mentality of being honourable.

well i hit at least 5 people over differnt games who just played on. ANd as i said you could see the bb hit them and compleatly change direction as it bounced off themso it wasn't a case of i thought i hit them. And back at the safe zone others were giving out bout the same thing. on top of that i was hit and sat down beside the guy who hit me (My aeg got tangled in the camo netting) and another on my team came up and shouted bang only to be shot in the face point blank. but im happy to say he took his hit and went off the field, it may seem silly but a i said we decided not to lower ourselves

Also when playing something like a zombie game it completly fails to work unless people take their hits.

well doc the other important point in my opinion how can you know how good you are if you dont take your hits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭hitman_

to be honest as it was my first skirmish i didnt want to bi*ch to much. but it wasn't heavly marshaled and most cases its going to boil down to his word against yours. I know there can be problems of people overestimating the range of their aeg but when you can see the bb bounce off them its very annoying. Thing of it is I'm not going to lower myself and not take my hits. But it does encourage you to cheat when your team loses a game for the simple reason the other team dont take they're hits.

This seems to be becoming a problem again. Some weekends are great, some are almost unplayable due to this. Your best bet is to report it to a marshal and keep reporting until something is done. Try and note any feature to identify the offender(s). If you are playing with friends, confer and approach the marshal(s). The main problem with non hit taking is that otherwise fair players get fed up and stop taking hits themselves, which wrecks the game. I know I have been sorely tempted to do this myself when faced with bulletproof enemies, so far I've resisted.
    I guess some people just can't play fair and have no honor or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭plastic_axe

well doc the other important point in my opinion how can you know how good you are if you dont take your hits

i wish every newcomer had this attitude. fair play to you.
    most sites are very good on calling up cheaters, hopefully your future experiences will be more positve.

looking forward to seeing you on the field :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

This happened me when i went for my first skirmish, and the stupid thing was he was on the team that was playing there :mad:
    I knew i was hitting him but he just wouldnt take his hits, then he shot me and then i took my hit and he walked off knowing that he wasnt taking his hits, it wrecked my head :rolleyes:
    But then theres the people who do take there hits and makes the game more enjoyable :D

Its fairly simple to deal with.... I use a simple strategy to combat the issue.

I shoot someone.

Now I belive everyone is 100% honest.... Every airsoft player, will take thier hit when the first bb hits them.

If i shoot at them, and they dont call hit. I clearly missed.

I will repeat the above action till they shout hit, and call it. Naturally, this will be the first bb to land.

I may be an aweful shot... having to expend nearly 100 rounds till i hit some people. But everyone I shoot is honest about it :)

In the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

one thing that could cause confusion is wearing a boonie hat in the rain while wearing a tac vest as the rain hitting the rim on the hat sounds a bit similar to bbs hitting the vest, but if in doubt call the hit
    i remember the second game i went to, snuck up of some guys and fired one shot, it bounced off one lads arm and made quite a loud pop and he didnt move but i had to run when his buddies shot back
    i only wish my gun was on full auto at the time:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

If someone is not taking their hits and your whole team knows about it.
    You could get your entire team to focus on hitting the 1 single person that is not taking their hits. It may send out a loud enough signal to the cheater they ye wont take any
    sh-one-t.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

It doesn't really metter if you're a new player, if you see someone not taking hits, report it to a marshall. Even if you're in doubt of getting hit, take it, at the end of the day it is a game and like in all games there is cheaters.
    Football has referees to catch them, airsoft has marshalls to catch them.
    The marshalls can only do and see so much, its up to the players to be vigilant and notify marshalls of cheaters, all marshalls should have absolutely no problem pulling people up over not taking their hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

agree with all the above comments ,
    now here's where i dont agree if you have people not taking there hits on sites or unsporting conduct (shooting in the face after calling bang) thats nasty:mad:
    you have to bring it up at the time of the incident on site with either a marshal ,team captain if there part of an established team,or if needs be site owner either during game play or back at the safe zone ,action cant be taken if nobodys knows anything of the said incidents ,
    all site marshals and owners have no problems dealing with issuses there and then ,

you will finds pleny of threads dealing with the same issuse's over the past couple of years ,
    one of the sad things like all sports is lack of repect for follow players even if its a small minority causing repeated issuses,

As Doc said just keep the honorable mentality in your own game play and and dont be afraid to point out other peoples shortcomings ie hit taking ,bad conduct , in gameplay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Gatling wrote: »
    agree with all the above comments ,
    now here's where i dont agree if you have people not taking there hits on sites or unsporting conduct (shooting in the face after calling bang) thats nasty:mad:
    you have to bring it up at the time of the incident on site with either a marshal ,team captain if there part of an established team,or if needs be site owner either during game play or back at the safe zone ,action cant be taken if nobodys knows anything of the said incidents ,
    all site marshals and owners have no problems dealing with issuses there and then ,

you will finds pleny of threads dealing with the same issuse's over the past couple of years ,
    one of the sad things like all sports is lack of repect for follow players even if its a small minority causing repeated issuses,

As Doc said just keep the honorable mentality in your own game play and and dont be afraid to point out other peoples shortcomings ie hit taking ,bad conduct , in gameplay

As Doc and Gatling said the only way to deal with this is to tell a marshall and make sure you always take your hits. Also as Firekitten said you should always give your opponent the benefit of the doubt and just shoot them again before assuming you hit them.

Another problem that seems to be fairly rampant is people thinking they hit people and giving the wrong impression to other players by complaining and then everyone thinks noone is taking their hits. Just shoot them again, if they don't call it just let them know (in a freindly way) that you hit them and if they still don't take it you should inform the marshalls.

Above all just make sure you keep playing honestly (lead by example and all that).

Welcome to the sport by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Full Auto exists for a reason:D

In all sincerity, if someone isn't calling their hits, it's easier to disregard a single BB than a shower of them. Keep shooting until they take the hit, and the hint.

Side-Note: It is a very Irish thing to do, non-hit taking. It happens in Paintball as well (where people wipe off the paint). People are of the opinion that they paid good money for the game, and that they're not letting it get ruined by being out so early...ironic as hell, considering that's what destroys the games. Just thought I'd bring up the cross-referance and loose/half-assed social commentary.

And now to end with a quote (from Gandii)
    "You must become the change you wish to see"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

Inari wrote: »
    It is a very Irish thing to do, non-hit taking. quote]

that not right,,,,,, it happens across the board,,,,,,,,,
    my experience is nearly the opposite, the irish take their hits for the most part and its others that ignore hits!

thermo wrote: »

my experience is nearly the opposite, the irish take their hits for the most part and its others that ignore hits!

Worst cheaters I've seen are Irish players, contrare to popular belief.

At least the "others" as you so elequently put it , admit when they are cuaght, where as the irish make themselves look more and more stupid by ignoring it to the ground.

I actually havnt been noticing alot of cheating on my recent outings which is a good thing for me. But I went through a phase of when someone was cheating, and I was sure, they half a mag to make sure.

And if it was a case I wasn't sure on my range, they got a half mag till they called hit and walked away.

Much like the old soccer phrase " If in doubt lash it out"

"if in doubt, unleash a venom of about 100 bb's....out"

What annoys me worse if people moaning bout being "overkilled". In some instances its understandable, but people who start roaring cause they get shot 3 times or some ****, grow a pair please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Bernie Mac

I again agree with all the comments about non hit taking being wrong and all the rest however I have a few (personal) opinions about a few things.

Firstly:
    I don't agree with full auto when somebody doesnt take a hit in my mind it qualifies as over agressive play. If I hit somebody or i think I have (maybe because they are behind a bush and i'm unsure my rounds got through) I would ask them if they are hit, if they are stupid enough to say no I'll shout at them again simply because sometimes you cant see them put their hand up or hear them shout "hit" so I give them the benifit of doubt.

Secondly:
    I do not feel the marshals primary task is to catch people not taking hits. I feel their primary job is to insure insure all the players get a clear run through of the games they are about to play and organise the games for the day and insure the games run smoothly. Same with a ref in football his job is to insure the players stick to the rules not to give out yellow and red cards because the pro's cant play the game.

But from my experience that is not the case. It seems the case is that the marshals primary task has been to insure players take their hits rather than insure the players get a full briefing on the games and all its rules.

You should NEVER rely on a marshal to tell you you have been hit and I have seen people do it and i dont understand it. its as if they want the marshal to hold their hand, and tell them when they were hit and wipe their arse while they are at it.

These are just some of my opinion on the subject :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

I find the "TAKE YOUR F***ING HITS!" people to be more irritating than the non-hit-takers :rolleyes:. It's just a game. Competitively I can understand the frustration of someone not taking their hits, and especially in milsim games, or games without respawns, but at the same time, there's no need for a mid game witch hunt.

It kind of reminds me of when I see kids in the street playing with toy guns, shouting "you're dead", "no YOU'RE dead" at each other :pac:

If you can hit someone once, you can usually hit them twice, so there's no need for a tantrum :p

Plus, god invented grenades and m203's for a reason.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

KonFusion wrote: »

Because everyone knows terrorists are terrible for not taking hits...

If a player isn't taking hits, take it up with them calmly, give them the benefit of the doubt, say "I got you a couple of times that game but you didn't take the hits, maybe you didn't feel them", don't start shouting at them. If they apologise all's well that ends well. If they don't see waht happens in the next game and then step up "I know I got you there a few times, can you take your hits? Its only a short walk to respawn" or whatever. If that doesn't work or you feel they didn't listen notify a marshall and take it from there. But it isn't the marshalls work to have to remind every player to take hits as it has been pointed out by another user. Its up to site protocol as to what happens after you notify the marshalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

TheDoc wrote: »
    What annoys me worse if people moaning bout being "overkilled". In some instances its understandable, but people who start roaring cause they get shot 3 times or some ****, grow a pair please.

What irritates the hell out of me is people who are oblivious or careless with what they are firing at. Words of wisdom that were said to me a long time ago I still pay heed to; "Be aware of your target and everythign else around, in front of, and behind it" (paraphrased from Paul Carey). When somebody has made it abundantly clear that they have been hit, and you proceed to belt them anyway because you can't be arsed paying attention to a) your environment and b) the state of play, I understand perfectly that they will roar at you to stop because they've already been hit, and I would expect nothing less in return if I was that careless. It's natural reaction to make it beyond crystal clear that you are already hit when somebody hasn't been paying attention. Why? because it isn't exactly f*cking happy days when you're being hosed for no good reason.

Further, you don't have to hit someone with half a magazine when one BB will do the job for you. Personally I consider it a point of skill to aim and place shots with conservative ammo usage. But that's just me I guess ...

As has already been said regarding non-hit taking; most of the time you didn't hit them. You only *think* you hit them. And I'd lay money on that statement. Either hit them again (since you should have no difficulty right?), or report them to a marshal and let them take it from there. Screaming "take your hit" gets everyone's back up and can end in ugly confrontation which has no place on or off the field.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Yeah theres nothing worse than the mouth that thinks his every BB is a one shot/one kill and doesn't mind being vocal about it. I hate these arseholes more than i hate people who cheat, and i hate people who cheat... These muppets bring good honest players reputations into disrepute just because they don't like to accept that they don't have the skills of Leon the Professional.

You will see cheating across all the sites but so long as you keep the marshals informed then they'll keep it in check. If they don't, and instead have a "i couldn't give a cr@p" attitude then you can always try the next site. They need you more than you need them.

Typically though, its always the N00bs that get branded with it and sometimes they are automatically assumed to be dodgey weather they have a history or not. I see what you mean by over 30s etc, Ive witnessed blatant cheating by people i know, people who have been in the game as long as myself and longer.

Don't let it put you off though, theres days that can be a pain in the face for people acting up but theres more often a day of great gaming with really decent players. When you get a day like this you'll forget all about the muppets. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭hitman_

KonFusion wrote: »
    I find the "TAKE YOUR F***ING HITS!" people to be more irritating than the non-hit-takers :rolleyes:. It's just a game. Competitively I can understand the frustration of someone not taking their hits, and especially in milsim games, or games without respawns, but at the same time, there's no need for a mid game witch hunt.

It kind of reminds me of when I see kids in the street playing with toy guns, shouting "you're dead", "no YOU'RE dead" at each other :pac:

If you can hit someone once, you can usually hit them twice, so there's no need for a tantrum :p

Too right.

its always going to be part of the game ,its part and of the whole package,
    we could go the route of name and shame ,1 players word against another easily abused for grudges ,
    video and photograpic proof again open to abuse ,anybody that has a story about someone cheating and points the finger will in turn find themselfs pointed at more often than not and lets face it nobody is perfect ,
    its a hobby thats suppost to be fun :):):)
    when things start getting serious like labeling people and accusing people then there's going to be trouble:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

If i could wish for anything in airsoft it'd have full auto removed from people's guns and teach them to stop aiming high...

There's no need for half the amount of fire people put down.

And also, stop aiming for the bloody head, i'm 6" 3', standing in the open, there's no need.

It pisses me off waaaaaaaaaaay more than non hit taking.
    It really does.

+1 on the headshots, some players go out of their way to go full auto on your face, that just poor play! If you can hit them in the face you should be able to hit them in the chest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Whilst some may not approve...

The last time I seen someone not taking their hit, I informed a marshal and asked them to watch as I fired.

I then shot the person again. They still didn't take their hit.

The marshal was about to go over and talk to him, but I said I had a better idea....So I unloaded about 400 rounds into him whilst walking forward to his position. I would have continued, but after those 400 rounds hitting them, he finally decided to put his hand up and shout hit. And he then walked back to the respawn rubbing his arms and legs which looked like they had a dose of chickpox.

Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Can't say I approve of your solution if it was me I'd have left it to the marshal. There are a number of things that could have gone wrong there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

yeah i agree with Hoplite, A muppet will be a muppet but going in with the intention of hurting them is complately against all the game stands for. 400rds at an average ROF on most guns of 15rps or less, it would have taken you at least 26 seconds os sustained fire to drill this fella. I'd rather let the marshall give him a bolliking. Theres always the chance he might not be very happy with being shot 400 times and want to take it up with you personally, and the marshall that knowingly let you do it. Then all hell can break loose, fistycuffs etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

The last time I seen someone not taking their hit, I informed a marshal and asked them to watch as I fired.

The marshal was about to go over and talk to him, but I said I had a better idea....So I unloaded about 400 rounds into him whilst walking forward to his position. I would have continued, but after those 400 rounds hitting them, he finally decided to put his hand up and shout hit. And he then walked back to the respawn rubbing his arms and legs which looked like they had a dose of chickpox.

Problem solved.
    first line,yes!after that ,wtf!400 rounds!really?the marshal should have thrown you off site.you should tell the marshell then he will tell you if you hit him,then leave it up to him to tell the offender that he was wrong and it wont be allouwed to happen again,you failed mate!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ZeroSignal

Lots of great points all through this thread. Especially that gem of a post by Lemming.

All I'll say is that I've been playing this game for several months now and the lack of hit taking is absolutely rampant. This isn't helped by the quality of marshalling, which can range from totally on the ball to laissez faire, couldn't give a damn. I mean, we're paying these people to keep their eyes on the game, so don't cut them any slack. I've done a bit of marshalling pro bono and I wouldn't expect anything less.

I'm currently leading a team and if I ever see any members not taking their hits or shooting at dead-men-walking I make it abundantly clear that I better not see them do that ever again or their gone. I have chewed out people playing along side my team for dodgy play too.

It's a shame that so many players I have played against simply do not take their hits. These people are grown up and are on big teams and they just don't give a rat's ass. In fact, what I've started doing is getting contact details of all the teams and players I've met who I believe are honourable and will try and set up some friendlies or something.

I'm not one for being a sore loser and I couldn't care less whether our side loses a game or not. It's all about the fun of the game. If the better side won, then I'm happy.

Always remember that Airsoft is a game about respect and honour. If your opponent isn't showing you either of these then he sure as hell doesn't care much for the sport of Airsoft. Show no mercy, I say.

Apologies for this disjointed rant. :o

TheDoc wrote: »

Actually... that attitude is bad with airsoft.

Overkill IF they cheat is fine. But anyway? not cool.

I had one guy spray about 50 rounds at me because i wasnt 'calling my hit'

He was firing with the gun up over his shoulder, head next to the motor, couldnt hear **** from his souped up stubby thriller....

I was shouting hit the first round, screaming it the following lot.... ended up sat there crying because it hurt so much.

people in general need to pay more attention. Hit takers, and cheat callers.

Firekitten wrote: »
    Overkill IF they cheat is fine.

Would not agree with that either. You will always be certain that they have cheated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ZeroSignal

Firekitten wrote: »
    Actually... that attitude is bad with airsoft.

Overkill IF they cheat is fine. But anyway? not cool.

I had one guy spray about 50 rounds at me because i wasnt 'calling my hit'

He was firing with the gun up over his shoulder, head next to the motor, couldnt hear **** from his souped up stubby thriller....

I was shouting hit the first round, screaming it the following lot.... ended up sat there crying because it hurt so much.

people in general need to pay more attention. Hit takers, and cheat callers.

Yup. Once I spent the entire day just getting drilled in the head or pinned behind cover with my gun raised above my head waiting for the rain of BBs to stop so I can go and respawn. It was a bit surreal. It's like Stubby M4 + LiPo + Box Mag = deaf and blind Airsofter. :confused:
    hoplite wrote: »
    Would not agree with that either. You will always be certain that they have cheated?

Hey, if they're getting hit and they're not shouting "HIT" or have their hands up then they're fair game. Unless they're not hit, in which case they've got nothing to worry about. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Problem solved.
    ps. and then you woke up and had 7 weetabix:D you hero!!!

ZeroSignal wrote: »
    Hey, if they're getting hit and they're not shouting "HIT" or have their hands up then they're fair game. Unless they're not hit, in which case they've got nothing to worry about. ;)

The term used was overkill in what circumstances is overkill acceptable? For example what if someone picks up an injury during a game and cannot make it clear that they have been hit? Rare circumstance I'll grant you but you should treat other people with respect at all times even if you suspect they are not taking a hit.

It all hinges on what we understand by the term overkill in plain english its self expanatory.

Edit I'll clarify I am not suggesting not to fire several additional controlled bursts at someone (a few rounds at a time) but full auto emptying a magazine into someone is what I certainly would term overkill. If someone cant take a few rounds of controlled fire without putting their hand up and calling hit I would not have any sympathy for them claiming you used overkill. But 10 to 20 rds is more than sufficent in a few bursts if they are not taking it call a marshal or move on to someone that will take a hit.

+1 on the headshots, some players go out of their way to go full auto on your face, that just poor play! If you can hit them in the face you should be able to hit them in the chest!

poor play ehhh more just ejits thinking a good game is leaving marks or making somebody hurt for the fun of it,

headshot have never been encouraged unless its the only visable shot available due to cover,

the worst offenders are the 2-3 friends who think its fun to full auto a person to the back of the head then say if you cant take a bit of pain your in the wrong sport,

poor play ehhh more just ejits thinking a good game is leaving marks or making somebody hurt for the fun of it,

headshot have never been encouraged unless its the only visable shot available due to cover,

the worst offenders are the 2-3 friends who think its fun to full auto a person to the back of the head then say if you cant take a bit of pain your in the wrong sport,

People like that should be forced to play with one shot springers! Teach them a lesson :)

There is nothing worse though than a player thinking he is simo hayha and hitting you with every round when in reality they are landing 20 ft short,,,,,,,

oh so you've met Bob Lee Swagger i can shoots a flys wings off at 1000yrds
    with a single .20 bb

he's got skills

oh so you've met Bob Lee Swagger i can shoots a flys wings off at 1000yrds
    with a single .20 bb

he's got skills

AND no gun he uses a tesco value straw!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

heres the proof

deco nate wrote: »
    ps. and then you woke up and had 7 weetabix:D you hero!!!
    It's not that far fetched actually...

Had one time i shot this pair of buttocks hanging out of a bush.
    they jumped, and dovei nto the bush, about 15 seconds later, the same bum reversed out again. So shot it again. vanished for a few seconds then came back.

We had no medic rule, and the regen point was 200m away. Either we have a new record sprinter, or something hinky is going on.

Call a marshal. "Here Mic, watch this." *wallop* one .43g bb goes down range and strikes the nameless buttocks at 500fps from a range of roughly 50m. Buttocks jump, again, and hide.

Marshal eats cheater and deposits him in the sinbin for the afternoon. Blatent cheating does get caught sometimes.

Best part? he pleaded innocent, that he hadn't seen the shooter, it didnt count. *headdesk*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Kurbinator

reminds me of my first skirmish guy in blue BDU in a forest which I know doesnt matter too much. I only mention this as it made him stick out like a thing that really stands out.Now if it were just me shooting at him maybe over being new I wouldnt of said anything but i was the 3rd to arrive on scene and 1 noob +2 skilled vets shooting 3 AEGs at a guy in blue in the woods = take your hits.Mags were emptied he hit 2 of us which left even though come on odds are one of us hit him I saw 5 or 6 bbs bounce off him in my scope.

As to why I can only think of 2 reasons ppl dont call hits.
    1.I want value for my money.Some think 25-?? Euros entitels them to as many hits.
    2.people want the match to last longer
    3.Lazy people don't want to walk to respawns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

What really gets me is when you spend time and effort flanking and sneaking, you get into a decent position have a few people in your sights pop 5-10 rounds into them(front or back) and they just look around if they can't see you continue on. I'm talking short distances too so no fear or the pellet dropping.

I've started to wave at them and pop them a few more times but it completely gives away your position and destroys the work you've done.

Another thing that really gets me is when people get hit once and jump into cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i think its "experienced players " rather than irish or not irish

Tigger wrote: »

experienced players i find generally are more honest, for example i've attended several milsims and its been 99% experienced guys and and the only jobs the marshall really needed to do was clarify the rules of the game at several points in the day, there was no cheating/ non hit taking.

Problem solved.

If you did that to me, there would be war

Sorry to be blunt, but you just proved a point been fingered here.

There is every possability that you hit a fastmag, his rifle or something along those lines.

That is definitely not problem solved.

When I refereed to people moaning about overkill, it was from my experiences, I'm mostly a semi auto player, or even on full auto, a quick trigger pull doesn't fire one bb, on full auto it can fire up to 20+, and on semi i can get a good few rounds off in a second, so obviously more then one is going to hit the said person.

I dont unleash a half a mag in one go, I burst fire, giving breaks to try hear the person call hit, and continue and continue, it still only firing 20 bbs at one trigger pull on the person, and if they are not calling hit, then I can say to myself I'm not ranging them.

You'd need some balls to still cheat after being hit with a couple of dozen rounds.

Lets get things in perspective here.

1) Headshots. They happen. There is occasions where the only thing I can hit is the head. If I know the person well, I'll call out that I have there head in sight, and they will take the hit, its a friend thing. If I don't know the person, they are getting shot. You cant peep your head over something and not expect me to put fire down.

I'll never blatantly shoot anyone in the head outside of the above scenario. I'm good enough to hit someone in the chest. But if someone didnt give me the same courtesy i wouldn't think any less of them, its part of the game.

Its not as easy as " if you can hit their head you can hit their chest" thats a very simple outlook on it and not accurate one bit.

2) "thinking" someone is cheating, and shouting abuse, is just muppetry. It solves absolutely nothing and spoils the games atmosphere and immersivenes. Everyone looses the rag once in a while I'm guilty on plenty of occasions, but I've cooled down, cause I realised listening to others do it you just sound like a prat.

3) Overkill.

I think I covered it above. A gun doesn't fire one single BB, get over it. Full auto rifles will fire 15 minimum for one second so liklyhood is your getting a small burst, on semi your getting about what 6 or 7. If its in the face or ear I can understand the pain on frustration, but if its anything neck down you really have no grounds for moaning.

Firing heavily on a player cheating isnt the solution. I'll put my hand up and say Ive been guilty in the past. One cheater in rathbeggan wound me up so much, I walked up behind him and fired about 12 rounds from my pistol into his back from only 2-4 feet away asking " did ya feel that". That was bad form from me, and I apologised to the guy, and the marshall on site after, cause I gave him an awkward situation.

Benefit should be given. Know I was positive i was hitting that guy, and he afterwards admitted he was trying to pull a fast one. But it could have well hit a water blader, his heavy vest, I could have missed. It was no excuse on my part.

Holding your finger on the trigger is just going to cause aggrevation. Short bursts if in doubt, sends plenty of bb's, and gives you a second or two to listen and get visual on the target for them to raise their hand or call hit, if not then rinse and repeat.

I'm sorry Rabbit that did actually annoy me, I've done things similar in the past but I've been quick to apologise to all parties concerned including site owners, but to post something like that from a " community veteran" is pretty poor form and all I can say is karma is a bitch : /

So what have I learned exactly and how have I changed.

I refuse to let cheaters spoil my day. A ran sack site of cheaters, I'll simply approach the site owner and ask for my money back. I've never had to do it much but on the rare occasion I've been looked after by the owner and they have taken the feedback on and made the situation better.

If I encounter someone in the field, I give the benefit of he doubt, I've got a long patience on me, so the benefit doesn't run out till about the 5th time. At that point, my new thing from a few months ago is simply talking to the marshall. I've got a responsability not to make a fool of myself not only for me but because I represent a larger group of guys on my team, and me dropping my standards can reflect bad on them which isnt fair. also if playing abroad I'm representing a country of airsofters and the same applies.

Should a situation be aboslutely concrete cheating, I simly approach the perosn calmy and actually just say it " I hit you there man, definitely." most time syou get a decent bloke who just says " o **** sorry bout that ill take a hit" and its sorted. It can be either a genuine mistake and your mind is put at ease, but if its a cheater, he gets freaked that he got caught and plays stupid. Either way the problem is resolved.

If the person doesn't respond in a similar calm friendly manner. well then theres a problem, if they get abusive, you probably know you have a cheater, and a marshall can quickly sort it out.

Tigger wrote: »

As one of those 'experienced players', I must beg to differ sir. A certain type of player cheats, thier experience of the game holds little effect to that.