Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

life of a wrestler sucks?

• 01-11-2009 9:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭

do you think so? it seems really hard to get by and last night i watched that 99 documentary and it seems like such a cut throat industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

Mickey Rourkes life seemed to in the Wrestler? I know it is a fictional piece of work but I think it mirrors how they make a living as opposed to your guys like Hogan and The Rock at the very top. They must get something out of it to keep it up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

While you may say they know what they are signing up for the life of a pro wrestler is very tough, In the modern age you can see it through media like Twitter for example when Samoa Joe was touring Europe with TNA this year his son took his first steps and he was almost praying it wouldnt happen until he got home and was gutted

Some of the WWE's tours are sick altogether like the one upcoming two weeks on the road in Europe nonstop back to the US for Survivor Series then tv's, its bordering on cruel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Its an incredibly tough life, especially on the indies. Kinda brings it all home, when you see the Dragon Gate Roster, the fastest growing wrestling company in Japan, that has drawn more people to Sumo Hall than any other company in teh country, still having to stay in a sh*tty Travel lodge and eat their breakfast in Burger King while on tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

The constant pain they are in must really affect quality of life too. Having to always use pain killers must be awful. I can imagine how easy it is for them to get addicted or abuse them. Sad really when you think of the real life pain they go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Infraction for Callways "response" which has been deleted
    do you think so? it seems really hard to get by and last night i watched that 99 documentary and it seems like such a cut throat industry.

What documentary is that?

Id say it must be a very lonely life. I cannot see why someone would bring itupon themselves, and that is even for the top guys who are employed by WWE/TNA. Always on the road away from the family and such cannot be easy as is proven by the amount of drugs and alcohol that is said to be so rife.

It is the indie guys who have it even tougher. They have no bottom line, they must find their own bookings.

Add the fact there is no union, no health insurance provided, the fact that very few insurance companies would consider insuring you, I woud say yes, it is a pretty tough way to make a living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Reading a few of the books and such it seems very less glamourous a life than it is portrayed.

If Stone Cold and Foleys books and stories are to be believed then sleeping in cars ,eating raw spuds and such like is the norm. These guys make big sacrifices to entertain us and deserve a lot of credit.

Being away from your kids growing up and your wife must put family relationships under all kinds of pressure. Even considering starting a family must cause tensions in the relationships.

Great points by all here.

It always makes me wonder if the new talent coming through especially the second and third generation wrestlers dont have that extra bit of mental toughness to get to the top. Many of the older wrestlers had to push for their livelyhoods. Some of the younger wwe guys seem as if its handed to them. Maybe its the drop in standards just now that has me thinking this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

To be honest knowing how tough it is makes the indies and TNA hard to watch for me at times, especially stiff spotfests. These kids are, sadly in some cases literally, killing themselves for next to no reward. One of the main reasons I'm glad that the WWE is PG. Sure, there's dangers and they still pull out big spots now and again but at least the guy doing them is well rewarded and got to entertain more than a hundred people in a church hall, and the style has got to be easier on their bodies, surely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Gambra

Anyone read that article in this months Power Slam where the jounalist went on the road with Bryan Danielson & Colt Cabana? It was only ten days but the basics of it is that the conidtions aren't great and there's a lot of driving involved. Really good read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

gimmick wrote: »
    Infraction for Callways "response" which has been deleted

What documentary is that?

Id say it must be a very lonely life. I cannot see why someone would bring itupon themselves, and that is even for the top guys who are employed by WWE/TNA. Always on the road away from the family and such cannot be easy as is proven by the amount of drugs and alcohol that is said to be so rife.

TBH, a bunch of lads on tour with booze and drugs and a harem of scantily clad women working 20 minutes a night sounds fantastic

Well Jericho said that when he asked Jesse Ventura* whats it like to be a wrestler, He said "Be ready for a life of pain, And get a degree"

*Pretty sure it was Ventura, Could be wrong though ./SIZE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Well Jericho said that when he asked Jesse Ventura* whats it like to be a wrestler, He said "Be ready for a life of pain, And get a degree"

*Pretty sure it was Ventura, Could be wrong though ./SIZE]

I could imagine Ventura saying that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Bubs101 wrote: »
    TBH, a bunch of lads on tour with booze and drugs and a harem of scantily clad women working 20 minutes a night sounds fantastic

I dunno if they are meant to be as wild these days, I doubt they are all jerking off in their bedrooms before curfew but I have read interviews with Ted and others saying this generation are much more reserved and less rowdy. CM Punk must be a real buzz kill on a night out.!

I think they're more into playing their playstations these days than going on the lash.

flahavaj wrote: »
    I think they're more into playing their playstations these days than going on the lash.

I prefer the Steiner attitude of getting hammered with his freeks out there as opposed to the MCMG one of playing WOW.

Seriously though, once your in WWE I'd say it's a great life, good pay, really short hours, fair enough the travel's a bitch but based on some of the stories (Sheiky) you can make it fun.

I prefer the Steiner attitude of getting hammered with his freeks out there as opposed to the MCMG one of playing WOW.

Seriously though, once your in WWE I'd say it's a great life, good pay, really short hours, fair enough the travel's a bitch but based on some of the stories (Sheiky) you can make it fun.

I'd say as a young single fella the WWE schedule is grand and if you get on the road with a good bunch of mates it'd be great craic, with no shortge of partying or willing women. But for a guy with a wife and young family at home I'd say being on the road away from them over 250 nights a year would be horrible and a terrible strain on the marriage.

I dunno, Bret Hart for one certainly took advantage of that and the likes of sailors and pilots have no problem having a girl in every port

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I'd say as a young single fella the WWE schedule is grand and if you get on the road with a good bunch of mates it'd be great craic, with no shortge of partying or willing women.

Can you imagine the carnage that Punk and Batista would cause on a night out together in Coppers? :eek::pac:

I dunno, Bret Hart for one certainly took advantage of that and the likes of sailors and pilots have no problem having a girl in every port

I'm sure not everyone wants to be a c*nt to his wife like Bret though.:pac:

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Can you imagine the carnage that Punk and Batista would cause on a night out together in Coppers? :eek::pac:

LOUL the dance floor would be awash with the gowl grease of a thousand hefty student nurses.:pac: