Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How bad will the trouble be tonight?

• 31-10-2009 6:04pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

I know The Citizen is going out on his one man crusade to keep the people safe. I applaud the efforts but how bad will tonight be, in your view, esspecially in working class areas? I live in a Middle Class area so readily admit to being out of touch as to what goes on in Working Class areas like Ballymun, Tallaght, Finglas etc esspecially on Halloween night. If you live in a working class area do you find this night the single worst night of the year for trouble from scumbags? Do you even fear this time of year in your neighbourhood? Or do you think that it's blown out of proportion every year - the amount of trouble that occurs?

I think many here don't live in these estates where the real touble takes place so im assuming most here probrably don't appreciate the nightmare tonight is for many people. The people who really do know, of course, are the ones on the frontline like the Gaurds, Fire Brigade, and The Citizen.

What is it really like in rough areas tonight? And if your on the ground - a running commentary of the chaos and violence would be appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Define and indeed specify your middle class area !

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

A good dose of rain will help mightily.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The Citizen is obviously able to fight crime and kick scumbag ass whilst being on his computer at the same time! You continue to amaze...sir!:eek::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

il be hitting tallaght tonight should be eventfull:D

ps is op for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Stupid knacks will blow their fingers off..................... AKA The usual. If people are safe they will have no problems just beware of the scumbags out there

spurious wrote: »
    A good dose of rain will help mightily.

It's not coming till after midnight unfortunately! Still should be useful though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Thanks from The Citizen
    I feel safer now knowing that the Citizen is around.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

doubt itll be that bad. no worse than any other year?

its much quieter around my area than normal this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Harpic

it will be interesting to see all comments tomorrow about what happens tonite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Actually that is a good point....has it EVER rained on Halloween?!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Thus far little knacker kids were banging away on my door screaming into the letterbox saying "Wud ye open da dur FFS".

Fcuk right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Wow, the surplus of threads on this is just astonishing. Really, stop worrying about it. If there's trouble then deal with it at that time. If your that afraid, then just stay in doors. Your house won't be burnt down, your going to be just fine. If anything, the more you think about it and worry about it the worse things will be, only because you make it seem that way ;)

I would suggest putting a coin behind your letterbox to stop people putting bangers in your house.

I grew up in whitecurhch, rathfarnham. Halloween was savage craic, we had great bonfires and we had some kick ass fire work displays. The trouble started when people tried to stop this.

Why are there so many uptight arseholes out there trying to stop a great tradition?

There is moderate rain approaching Dublin now.

http://www.metoffice.com/weather/uk/radar/index.html

relief!...for about half an hour..

Wow, the surplus of threads on this is just astonishing. Really, stop worrying about it. If there's trouble then deal with it at that time. If your that afraid, then just stay in doors. Your house won't be burnt down, your going to be just fine. If anything, the more you think about it and worry about it the worse things will be, only because you make it seem that way ;)

I would suggest putting a coin behind your letterbox to stop people putting bangers in your house.

I grew up in whitecurhch, rathfarnham. Halloween was savage craic, we had great bonfires and we had some kick ass fire work displays. The trouble started when people tried to stop this.

Why are there so many uptight arseholes out there trying to stop a great tradition?

+1 on everything.

It's only just the kids I despise the most about Halloween. I know I went around trick or treating but I never was so rude to say "I don't want apples. I'd rather have some money"

WTF is that about?

The rain has hit Ashbourne. Aw yeah. No more doorbell for a while I hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Hope it rains, I realy do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My parents are from (and still live in) West Tallaght.

You tend to get more fires there then where I live now, but the amount of trouble is exaggerated.

If you're intimidated by a few kids shouting and drinking outside, why not just leave the area for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Kid in our area just got taken away in an ambulance. Seems someone threw a banger at him and it got stuck in his jacket. I've got my fingers crossed it's one of the little scumbags who the area could do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

US Army wouldnt touch Neilstown tonight :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

quieter than normal around my area, maybe the gardai have finally followed through on their usually empty promise to clamp down on fireworks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Had some eggs thrown at the house after my brother and his friend had a banger thrown at them which resulted in my brothers friend's pants catching on fire and having his leg burned a small bit.

The thing that pisses me off the most is that the crowd that did it are about 20/21.
    ****ing scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

very very tame this year

standards have slipped

shame on the kids:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Hardly any fireworks, at most about 50 bangers since 6pm, 1 rocket, no screamers or anything.

Last year it was like a battlefield on every street, some people were lobbing fireworks like hand grenades into the streets. Not a single bonfire around my area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭terenc

Not a lot happening here, the odd banger and rocket, kids gone asleep or mammy and daddy cant afford to buy fireworks anymore.
    One positive outcome of recession.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

very very tame this year

standards have slipped

shame on the kids:D
    Same here. A few fireworks in the distance but a lot tamer than usual. (from one of the bad areas listed in the OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

terenc wrote: »
    Not a lot happening here, the odd banger and rocket, kids gone asleep or mammy and daddy cant afford to buy fireworks anymore.
    One positive outcome of recession.:)

My eyesight is fine thanks. Don't need the huge text just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jenny2hat

Too. Many. FIREWORKS!

My poor rabbits ):

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

jenny2hat wrote: »
    Too. Many. FIREWORKS!

My poor rabbits ):

are you in Beirut or blanchardstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Quiet here in Finglas tonight... think it's probably the fireworks display the council put on earlier that made it quiet tonight. It was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

dreamers75 wrote: »
    US Army wouldnt touch Neilstown tonight :(

a few daisy cutters would do the job quick smart.
    napalm to you and me

are you in Beirut or blanchardstown

Marino actually:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Quiet here too in boggerland, very quiet. Trick-or-treaters stopped at about 8:30. That's great, no more door hammering (in my day, we rang the doorbell once and left it at that.)

The way ye go on in Dublin it sounds like downtown Baghdad in 2003.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

jenny2hat wrote: »
    Too. Many. FIREWORKS!

My poor rabbits ):

They'd be great in a stew.

I'm in westside supposedly one of the worst areas in Galway for this sort of thing. There were a gang of peeps letting off fireworks a few hours ago on the green about 100m from my house but since then nothing. No t-or-t's either. Worst I have to look out for are my housemates, the noisy, inconsiderate bastids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

all quiet down here in the wilds of wicklow, tho then again we have no night clubs just 2 old mans pubs so will prob get noisey again around 2-3 when they all start coming home:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Risteard wrote: »
    Had some eggs thrown at the house after my brother and his friend had a banger thrown at them which resulted in my brothers friend's pants catching on fire and having his leg burned a small bit.

The thing that pisses me off the most is that the crowd that did it are about 20/21.
    ****ing scumbags.
    true:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

uberwolf wrote: »
    a few daisy cutters would do the job quick smart.
    napalm to you and me

A daisy cutter is a BLU-82B/C-130 to me.

No problems here, mind you, I live in a very good and exclusive area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Tonight's been relatively tame in Tallaght, was ****ing crazy for a few hours from 6 til 10, we had an hour long powercut because some pricks started a fire right beside/on an electricity substation, that's about it really, the rain killed a lot of it to be honest

They'd be great in a stew.

Maybe you'd be better in a stew :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

No trouble at all, I even got off in my local village (which is about 20 mins from my house) in the hope of coming across some craic. Knippers just don't know how to do Halloween! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

That_Guy wrote: »
    +1 on everything.

It's only just the kids I despise the most about Halloween. I know I went around trick or treating but I never was so rude to say "I don't want apples. I'd rather have some money"

WTF is that about?

When you say "trick or treat", and the young lad at your door says trick and walks away, expect your car to be burnt out, hahahah :P Nah joking :)

Haloween is great craic lads and ladies, just throw lots of sweets at the chaps that come to your door :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

There will be absolutely no trouble tonight - The Citizen is working tonight