Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rogan Sexton and McCloskey to be televised on Sky?

• 31-10-2009 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭

I heard that sky have advertised rogan and sexton will be shown on the same night as mcclodkey fight. would love to see it after their first match.

Can anyone confirm this Friday fight night lineup cos cant find it on sky or fwtv websites?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Aaron M

On Friday Fight Night last night on Sky they advertised the Rogan - Sexton rematch would be shown next Friday (the 6th) along with the McCloskey fight.

So they will definitely be showing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭bamboozler

cheers for the confirmation.look forward good night of irish boxers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Didn't think there would be any doubt of this being televised, since both are prizefighter(sly sports/barry hearn tournament) champions and this last fight was entertaining....even though Rogie should have finished him off instead of stepping back and asking the ref to stop it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Cool, im looking forward till this..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Devastator wrote: »
    Didn't think there would be any doubt of this being televised, since both are prizefighter(sly sports/barry hearn tournament) champions and this last fight was entertaining....even though Rogie should have finished him off instead of stepping back and asking the ref to stop it

problem was was rogan fight in the odyssey arena was rescheduled and is promoted by frank warren.

poor plannning meant new fight clashed tv wise with mccloskey fighting in Meadowbank arena in Magherafelt. he is matchmaker promoted and they had already had a sky deal for that night.

warren supposed not be liked by other tv stations so looked like until just the other day the rogan fight wouldn't be on.

a lot boxing related up north on dat night wit tyson giving his evening talk at the waterfront hall, but with both boxers havin dere own set of fans, should still be some left for tyson

bamboozler wrote: »
    problem was was rogan fight in the odyssey arena was rescheduled and is promoted by frank warren.

poor plannning meant new fight clashed tv wise with mccloskey fighting in Meadowbank arena in Magherafelt. he is matchmaker promoted and they had already had a sky deal for that night.

warren supposed not be liked by other tv stations so looked like until just the other day the rogan fight wouldn't be on.

a lot boxing related up north on dat night wit tyson giving his evening talk at the waterfront hall, but with both boxers havin dere own set of fans, should still be some left for tyson

I knew it had been rescheduled, but didn't realise that about the other fight. Thanks.

Unfortunatly some people wouldn't support Rogan due to where he's from :rolleyes: Small minded bigots still exist here. Just after he won prizefighter I was at the premier darts league in Odyysey and there were people booing him (he was there doing the practise 'walk on').

wel id say he doesnt exactly warm himself to those small minded people dancing round wit tricolour shorts and flag after the fight. but if he did wot some anglo-irish do and wore half union jack half tricolour he jus get booed by twice as many. Rogan like mccloskey reps his country but no point in gettin into debate why some people dont like it cos dats another thread altogether.

two weeks great boxing anyway, these two then haye valuev and week after andy lee and then pacman cotto :):):):):):):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Cant wait for tonight. Come on Marty!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Rogan is well-rested coming into this bout and looks leaner and fitter than ever, allied to that he has that never say quit mentality. With all these things considered I'm leaning towards him winning at this point. By the way the winner of this bout will face Danny Williams.

2 prixe fighter winners.....fighting a bum who went out 1st round(? I never seen it ?) of last tournament? Doesn't seem to make sense, apart from danny williams living off the reputation of beating tyson.

I'm going for a Rogie KO at 4/6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Big Ears

2 prixe fighter winners.....fighting a bum who went out 1st round(? I never seen it ?) of last tournament? Doesn't seem to make sense, apart from danny williams living off the reputation of beating tyson.

I'm going for a Rogie KO at 4/6

How about The Commonwealth champion defending his title against a former Commonwealth champion in what is doubling as a British title eliminator to fight......[wait for it]........the British champion. That's why the winner will face Danny Williams. Who although once was a very good fighter, is now shot to pieces and living on hurt and a decent punch.

McCloskey should have an easy time with Rasilla and I think he'll get the stoppage. It's a bit of an anti-climax that his big fight for the European title is against the Spaniard and not against M'Baye.

Rogan v Sexton is 50/50. Sexton is technically much better, he's also quicker(in terms of both hand and foot) and is able to fight to a gameplan. Rogan however punches harder, has a better chin, is generally tougher and has better stamina. It's sort of a (much)lower level Froch v Taylor.

Sexton's a good fighter but I feel if he can't stop Rogan in the first 4/5 rounds that he'll wear out like last time and Rogan will get to him. Sexton's downfall lies in his poor stamina and suspect chin. Rogan's obviously is walking into shots and being somewhat crude.

I think Sexton will win the first few rounds before Rogan comes on strong and gets the stoppage. But like last time expect it to be a little ebb and flow in periods and Rogan will probably get stunned a few times in the process.

Big Ears wrote: »
    How about The Commonwealth champion defending his title against a former Commonwealth champion in what is doubling as a British title eliminator to fight......[wait for it]........the British champion. That's why the winner will face Danny Williams. Who although once was a very good fighter, is now shot to pieces and living on hurt and a decent punch.

McCloskey should have an easy time with Rasilla and I think he'll get the stoppage. It's a bit of an anti-climax that his big fight for the European title is against the Spaniard and not against M'Baye.

Rogan v Sexton is 50/50. Sexton is technically much better, he's also quicker(in terms of both hand and foot) and is able to fight to a gameplan. Rogan however punches harder, has a better chin, is generally tougher and has better stamina. It's sort of a (much)lower level Froch v Taylor.

Sexton's a good fighter but I feel if he can't stop Rogan in the first 4/5 rounds that he'll wear out like last time and Rogan will get to him. Sexton's downfall lies in his poor stamina and suspect chin. Rogan's obviously is walking into shots and being somewhat crude.

I think Sexton will win the first few rounds before Rogan comes on strong and gets the stoppage. But like last time expect it to be a little ebb and flow in periods and Rogan will probably get stunned a few times in the process.

Agreed.
    It's more so his stamina than chin that i think will be Sexton's downfall. As you say he'll likely be ahead on points but eventually be stopped by Rogan. It was Rogan's ability to take a shot that kept him in it last time and Sexton's inabilty to go 12 rounds, which should have seen him knocked out. If Sexton punched harder his stamina likely wouldn't be such a critical issue. As Taylor has shown some people just don't seem to be able improve their stamina sufficently. I doubt Sexton can either.

So perhaps i should change my poll prediction;)

Big Ears wrote: »

I can't work out from that if you are defending or critising the decision that Williams gets the winner. Even with your input I still don't see how or why it makes sense. Granted (as said b4) I missed last prize fighter but from what I was told Williams was shocking, so why give him a big fight like rogan/sexton?

Anyway, seems all of west Belfast have been making their way to Odyssey in last hour or so. I've been looking out window and watching streams and streams of taxi's, and a white stretch hummer (anyone want a sprinkling of cheese with that?) all heading in that direction.

Bamboozler - not sure if you heard but Tyson's chit chat in the waterfront was cancelled. Don't know why yet, suppose we'll be able to find out more if his other UK shows go ahead or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Bamboozler - not sure if you heard but Tyson's chit chat in the waterfront was cancelled. Don't know why yet, suppose we'll be able to find out more if his other UK shows go ahead or not.

I was half way up the road when I got the call - Tyson must be having his period.

I can't work out from that if you are defending or critising the decision that Williams gets the winner. Even with your input I still don't see how or why it makes sense. Granted (as said b4) I missed last prize fighter but from what I was told Williams was shocking, so why give him a big fight like rogan/sexton?

I'm defending it as Williams is still the British champion, and Rogan v Sexton is a British title eliminator. So of course the winner will fight Williams. He deserves the bout by the fact he's British champion.

Williams did look very poor in the prizefighter(especially in the 1st and 2nd round), his balance didn't seem there and his punch resistance looks shot.
    He did however come back and have Baker all over the place in the last round and was probably seconds away from getting the stoppage when the bell rang.
    If there was a 4th round Williams would of knocked Baker out and of that I'm sure.

So while the winner of Sexton v Rogan should easily deal with Danny, I would be disappointed if neither man fought him and left Chisora/Fury to do so instead. The winner of Williams v /Sexton/Rogan is likely to face the winner of Vidoz v Sosnowski for the European title.

So there's plenty to be gained for Rogan or Sexton from fighting Williams, the British title, a probable European title shot and a win over a very well established name in heavyweight boxing. The only problem I'd have with the fight is if it took the winner of tonights fight 5/6 months to take on Williams. If it's made for 12/14 weeks time it'd be perfect.

But if you want me to justify Williams getting to fight either man, then it's simply he's British champion and has been for the past 2 1/2 years. So if anyone on the British scene wants to put themself top of the pile they should go through him.

Williams has a tune up later this month for anyone interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Its crazy. Rogan should already be european champ. He should well have been inside their rankings to be eligible for it the time he beat skelton. Hope he can get the win tonight

I was half way up the road when I got the call - Tyson must be having his period.

what time did you hear? I read about it on bbc news website early this afternoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

What time is the Rogan fight on at? McCloskey is fighting now.

joepenguin wrote: »
    Its crazy. Rogan should already be european champ. He should well have been inside their rankings to be eligible for it the time he beat skelton. Hope he can get the win tonight

He was in their rankings, and no 'top 10 rule' like Warren stated exists.
    I think Rogan not fighting for the European title was due to sanctioning fees and Warren possibly wanting a rematch if Rogan won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 damox1

Hey Guys,

Anyone know where I can watch the fights online,
    Stuck in work 2nite and dying to watch them.

Damo

Damo http://www.justin.tv/nutjobs (password nutjobs)

thanks buddy,

quality is brilliant

no probs :)

Rogan is starting strong. But it might make him gas if he doesn't relax a little.

dlofnep wrote: »
    no probs :)

Rogan is starting strong. But it might make him gas if he doesn't relax a little.

he hurt sexton in this round but he needs to relax or he will defo gas

they are some body shots

Ah jaysus, retired due to arm injury :9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

No no no :(

Hmm, although I edged with Rogan I'm not that surprised.
    Sexton was composed already and managed to conserve energy when Rogan was wasting his. Sexton also used his extra weight to tie up and lean on Rogan very effectively, sapping his strength.

Rogan could have done with being trained by Breen for this, but I guess it wasn't to be. Not much left for Rogan in his career now, he's had a short but spectacular one now and maybe one more fight to go out on a win, or one tune up fight and then target Tyson Fury for a final bout.

Disappointing stuff really, :(

On the bright side Paul McCloskey was fantastic tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Well fuk that. I was enjoyin it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

for sure. pity it happened like that.

havent seen mccloskey fight yet, lookin forward to seein it whenever it gets replayed

Gutted for Rogan. Sexton learned well from the last fight and did what he had to make sure his stamina wouldn't let him down this time. He spoiled very well thereby stopping the fight becoming a brawl and taking away Rogan's natural advantage in strength. Did you see Rogan telling some of the crowd, who were slagging Sexton, to shut up in the post fight interview afterwards. A gentleman to the end. If he does call it quits he should reflect that for a man to take up pro boxing at the age he did and do as well he did is something to be immensely proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

Gutted for Rogan. Sexton learned well from the last fight and did what he had to make sure his stamina wouldn't let him down this time. He spoiled very well thereby stopping the fight becoming a brawl and taking away Rogan's natural advantage in strength. Did you see Rogan telling some of the crowd, who were slagging Sexton, to shut up in the post fight interview afterwards. A gentleman to the end. If he does call it quits he should reflect that for a man to take up pro boxing at the age he did and do as well he did is something to be immensely proud of.

Very disappointed to see gim lose.

rogan sounds like he could be retiring.

class performance once again by mccloskey

• Moderators Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Pitty for Rogan, wish he'd won it but alas it wasn't to be. Fair play to him, he's always given us lots of entertainment and should be proud of himself. Top man.

How did Carl Frampton do?

Any vids of McCloskey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

pity about rogan I was enjoying that. give sexton credit he looked an awful lot better than the first first.

gutted

pity about rogan I was enjoying that. give sexton credit he looked an awful lot better than the first first.

Sexton was a lot more controlled and executed his gameplan better but I wouldn't say he looked an awful lot better. Physically he's still a very poor fighter in terms of stamina and his chin still has big question marks.

I'd fancy Derick Chisora to stop Sexton again if they fought.
    Sexton is a 6-8 round fighter at best and was blowing out of his arse at times last night despite the fact the only one exerting huge amounts of energy was Rogan. He's not a major puncher either so I think we'll see some huge problems in his career as it goes on, because if he can't get rid of guys in the early to mid rounds they will stop him late.

He's only 25 so has plenty of time to improve technically(which he's very good at anyway), but if they can't sort the stamina out he'll never go beyond British level and he won't even be staying at the top of that level for long.

makl wrote: »
    How did Carl Frampton do?

Any vids of McCloskey?

Frampton stopped his guys in the third

cheers got it on boxrec eventually. thanks tho.