Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lypo/ lipo pants

• 31-10-2009 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭

Hey all
    has anybody seen the Xpose clip about these pants?
    Seems you can lose body fat just wearing these for four hours a day.............
    I want them!!

It said on the clip that they cost 127 e and are available in pharmacies, does anybody know where I can buy them in the Dublin area? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

carolmon wrote: »
    Seems you can lose body fat just wearing these for four hours a day
    That's not possible. The only effective way to lose fat is the difficult, slow way - better than some faddy scam though. And in addition you'll get healthy and fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 SteeveSmith

load of ****e
    8 weeks of wearing them for 4 hours a day is what they said i think. if youre active for 4 hours a day for 8 weeks then of course you have a good chance of losing weight.

im more annoyed at myself for watching xpose than the actual product to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 willbafor

One of the sites I found showed a clip from GMTV of a "tester" who had tried the pants for 6 weeks and had lost 1 1/2 inches from her waist and the same from each thigh she said she did not change her diet or exercise regime although she was quite active generally.

Follow the 2nd link on my original post, where you can buy them online for €95.00 with free postage.

How did she lose the fat? I mean, where did it go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 willbafor

http://www.nutriglow.com/product.php?xProd=96519&xSec=986&jssCart=432234be0e014003dc2d41887dfae45d

You can buy them online on this site for £80.71 around €95.00 with free postage to Ireland, I also came across a clip from GMTV which showed a "tester" who lost 1 and 1/2 inches from her waist and around the same from thighs in 4 weeks. She said they definitely worked with no changes to diet or exercise although she said she was quite active anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

These. Won't. Work. They can't possibly, barring some sort of placebo effect where you end up exercising more because you went to the bother of buying them.

What will work is an improved diet full of natural, whole foods, and an increase in exercise. However, this requires some actual effort, as there is no such thing as a magical quick fix. €127? Yowza. Walking/ running is free and processed crap is a lot more costly than fresh veg/ fruit/ meat/ fish, in more ways than one.

I don't mean to sound preachy, but I've lost 4 stone in the past year, and it was not easy or quick. It's not meant to be. I know the weight isn't coming back on as I have made permanent changes to my lifestyle. What's wrong with a bit of effort ffs? Don't waste your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

Dolorous wrote: »
    These. Won't. Work. .........

What will work is an improved diet full of natural, whole foods, and an increase in exercise. However, this requires some actual effort..........

I don't mean to sound preachy..............

Don't waste your money.

Hey
    a lot of assumptions going on here, whose to say what I'm doing about nutrition and exercise??
    Ever think that they might be an addition to these tactics?

And it's my money!

willbafor wrote: »
    http://www.nutriglow.com/product.php?xProd=96519&xSec=986&jssCart=432234be0e014003dc2d41887dfae45d

You can buy them online on this site for £80.71 around €95.00 with free postage to Ireland, .

Willbafor thanks for actually answering the question minus the lecture:)
    If I'd wanted diet advice I'd have posted in fitness

And it's my money!

Fair enough. I just hate to see people throwing money away on this rubbish. My issue here is that these couldn't possibly 'burn fat'. If they did I would be the first one to buy them, believe me, but our bodies don't work like that. Maybe they dehydrate and create the illusion of fat loss, but that's about it.

This user has four posts and three are about these magic slimming pants... A bit suspect imo.

I hear magic beans do a pretty good job too.
    Guaranteed response every time one of these threads is started (e.g. Lipotrim) - you want to get them, people are advising you it's a bad idea, it's not a product worth investing in. They're not lecturing you or giving you advice you don't need - but just because it's not what you want to hear...

It's a total farce of a product, a company preying on one of women's biggest achilles' heels - why delude yourself it's actually beneficial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I can see these lasting in the next 10 years...

Along with;

MBT runners
    Fat loss pills
    Infra red saunas
    Power plates
    Ab King Pro

Etc...:pac:

Ah well. If you are happy to try them out, let us know how you get on. I won't lecture you as we are all aware of the whole diet and exercise thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Dudess wrote: »
    I hear magic beans do a pretty good job too.

Where can I find these magic beans?

WindSock wrote: »
    Ah well. If you are happy to try them out, let us know how you get on. I won't lecture you as we are all aware of the whole diet and exercise thing.
    I don't want to come across as lecturing either - that's not the intention whatsoever. But in any situation, where a person expresses an interest in a particular product that costs quite a bit of wedge, it's surely reasonable to advise them if it's an inferior one - for their own benefit.

[QUOTE=Dolorous;62785052

This user has four posts and three are about these magic slimming pants... A bit suspect imo.[/QUOTE]

Is this aimed at me?
    If so you're sadly mistaken, I've been around Boards for a long time, better check the post count again, if you can make it past 4

WindSock wrote: »

Thanks Windsock, it was just a simple question as to where they are available, it's a shame the response I got was lecturing, diet/ exercise advice and an insinuation that I'm in someway connected with the product.........
    think I'll post in Beer Guts and Receding Hairlines from now on :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

hey carol maybe try boots or somewhere like that or ask your local pharmacy if they will order them for you

[QUOTE=Dolorous;62785052

This user has four posts and three are about these magic slimming pants... A bit suspect imo.[/QUOTE]

post reported

reason............join date sept 2007

post count 197

also don't like the insinuation in this post

Is this aimed at me?
    If so you're sadly mistaken, I've been around Boards for a long time, better check the post count again, if you can make it past 4

Nope, it was aimed at Willbafor. Counting is actually one of my strengths you'll be glad to hear. All I said to you is that they won't work, and not to waste your money. If that upsets you so much then why ask for opinions in the first place?

Well why say "this poster" when both quotes were from me?

And for asking for opinions??? please show me where I did that? All I asked for was where I could buy them............................
    counting may be one of your strong points but clarity and communication clearly are not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

I am fascinated as to how you lose fat by wearing pants. I am actually quite good at biology and to my knowledge this is simply not possible.

Well why say "this poster" when both quotes were from me?

I referred to someone with 4 posts, didn't think it was rocket science to see who I meant. Good luck with the lipo pants. I hear that if you wear three pairs at once the fat comes off thrice as fast!

yippee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I saw these on TV lately too. It was on some US business news show but I am not sure which. They were initially developed by a plastic surgeon who found that his liposuction patients who wore their post surgery compression bandages/tights seemed to end up with less cellulite than those who did not religiously stick to wearing their compression garments. He then made the pants to fit like the compression bandages and found they worked too.He did some sort of clinical trial which was published showing that the pants seemed to reduce cellulite a bit.They didn't make any claim for them helping you loose body fat though unfortunately and they didn't claim the effects were permanent. I think if you wear any compression/really tight tights you'll find that immediately after you take them off your skin seems a little smoother and firmer. I think when they advertise "possile inch loss" they mean it might stem from "possible" firming of the skin rather than weight loss.

If you spend that much money on the pants and put up with the discomfort of sqeezing into them every day you'll probably be highly motivated to stick to a healthy diet and exercise so you'll probably lose weight. If you want to try them though go ahead. Come back and let us know if they are magic fat burning pants! I'd be delighted to get my hands on a pair of those no matter how much they cost . :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Dudess wrote: »

I don't want to come across as lecturing either - that's not the intention whatsoever. But in any situation, where a person expresses an interest in a particular product that costs quite a bit of wedge, it's surely reasonable to advise them if it's an inferior one - for their own benefit.

Oh I know. It's just that it seems like standard responses to anything on here to do with weight loss. It's as if it's a newly found epiphany that healthy diet and excercise are the only methods that work effectivley.
    We are all aware of fads and gimmicks also but meh, If someone wants to try it themselves then I amn't going to bother slipping reminders about how to do things properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

OK lads enough now. this has just gotten silly.

Yes its your money but in these crappy times dont waste it! I am proof that the only thing that works it change in diet and excerise. Been trying for years to lose weight and did every fad thing slimfast, pills, jaysus i smoked cuz i thought it would help me stop craving food, and all i got was a series of bad chest infections! Put your money to good use by joining weight watchers, taught me how to eat right and ive lost 25 pounds in 8 weeks!