Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ye are so wrong

• 30-10-2009 7:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

But it doesnt matter , I know there is a God and an afterlife , I can not prove it but ye should not worry because you don't need faith to get there ,you just need to be a good person

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

How do you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Vampireskiss

How do you know?

I just do

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

so it's not the christian heaven then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Thor is going to be so pissed when you meet him.

so it's not the christian heaven then?

obviously not

Dinner wrote: »
    Thor is going to be so pissed when you meet him.

why

I just do
    How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

This is the most informative thread I have read in A&A in some time.

(Even still, can we keep it open for a little while pretty please mods with a cherry on top?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

I just do

how though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

Why the thread? You're not going to convince anyone with "I just know".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Turns out that was all I needed to hear, Sign me back up to the Church!

How?

How you ask? well how do you quantify the most important aspects of life, I mean with regards relationships do you know scientifically if your friend ,girl friend,boy friend ,mother ,father,grand father ,grand mother,wife,husband,child,Loves your or not or do you just feel they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

How you ask? well how do you quantify the most important aspects of life, I mean with regards relationships do you know scientifically if your friend ,girl friend,boy friend ,mother ,father,grand father ,grand mother,wife,husband,child,Loves your or not or do you just feel they do?

They tell me, or show it through physical acts like making love and dinner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

NothingMan wrote: »

They tell me, or show it through physical acts like making love and dinner!

I hope that's not the entire list of them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

What kind of god? How many? What kind of afterlife? How come you can get there by being a good person - is this based on intuition, hope, an old book, a vision?

They told me.

Did God tell you he exists?

What kind of god? How many? What kind of afterlife? How come you can get there by being a good person - is this based on intuition, hope, an old book, a vision?

A loving god

1 god

too amazing to decribe

a vision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I know there is a God and an afterlife
    Wanting something to be the case is not the same as knowing it's the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

You could if you monitored endorphin levels in the brains of your loved ones when exposed to you, I suppose.

Most people rely on intuition and trust, however.

What this has to do with God, I don't know.

A loving god

1 god

too amazing to decribe

a vision
    A loving God to all indeed, except to women, homosexuals and non believers.

No those beliefs were created by man

A loving god

Is he an old man, with a white beard? Does he want to be worshipped? Is he vengeful? Does he answer people's prayers?
    too amazing to decribe

Can't you try? Clouds? 40 virgins? Jim Morrison? Sulpher, brimstone, pitchforks?
    a vision

What was the vision of?

No those beliefs were created by man
    But God created all!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i also just know there is no god

guess i win too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

You don't really have huge grounds for telling people here they're "all so wrong"... when you don't know really.

But God created all!?

God created all, but everyone has been created withe free will

Dudess wrote: »
    You don't really have huge grounds for telling people here they're "all so wrong"... when you don't know really.

Why, the Athiests on this forum do it all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

why

Because you're down here worshipping your 'loving' god and meanwhile Thor and friends are sitting up in Valhalla getting restless because you're not worshipping them.

I know this because he told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

1 god

1 god or 3, you ppl never seem to make up your mind.

or maybe it's 2 gods, the nasty bastard in the first half of the story and the nicer one in the second.

tricky D wrote: »
    1 god or 3, you ppl never seem to make up your mind.

or maybe it's 2 gods, the nasty bastard in the first half of the story and the nicer one in the second.

God created all, but everyone has been created withe free will
    So what's with the ten commandments?

you mean why the ten commandments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Must have bipolar thing going on then so.

you mean why the ten commandments?
    Well you say god created us all with free will, yet we're not allowed worship anyone or anything but him.

That doesn't sound like free will to me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Thanks for the heads up, Vampireskiss.

/forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Are you aware that there are literally millions of people around the world who have based their beliefs on a vision they had, and that they all think you are wrong and that they are the special one. Are you also aware that it has already been proven that the brain can produce false visions?

You are all wrong, and none of you are special. You are one more gullible homosapien who has been duped by his own poorly designed brain. With no scepticism to shield you, no logic to guide you, no evidence to be the bedrock on which you stand, you are floating in a cloud of lunacy and falsehoods.

You, like millions like you, have nothing to offer us.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Well that clears that up then. There just is a God cos you said so.
    Wow, the things you learn on the Internet.

Zillah wrote: »
    Are you aware that there are literally millions of people around the world who have based their beliefs on a vision they had, and that they all think you are wrong and that they are the special one. Are you also aware that it has already been proven that the brain can produce false visions?

You are all wrong, and none of you are special. You are one more gullible homosapien who has been duped by his own poorly designed brain. With no scepticism to shield you, no logic to guide you, no evidence to be the bedrock on which you stand, you are floating in a cloud of lunacy and falsehoods.

You, like millions like you, have nothing to offer us.

I feel sorry for you

Not as sorry as I feel for you!

I feel sorry for you

Curious.

Why did you not respond to any of the issues I raised in my post? Is it that you actually cannot respond to them with any intellectual worth? Is it that deep down you know your ridiculous vision is nonesense and you are afraid to actually engage in discussion on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

My parents firmly believe in God. Both are very devout Catholics. I respect their beliefs and believe that they are genuine. I try not to chastise people who believe in God, because I once did too (albeit, when I was about 13). People generally find their own way in life. If the idea of a God keeps them comfortable, then good for them.

Who knows? We will all find out when we die what the real deal is.

dlofnep wrote: »
    We will all find out when we die what the real deal is.

No we won't :D

Conveniently, you won't mind either, for the very same reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Most believers here have concocted rationalisations in order to justify their belief. You just believe, at least youre honest, its no virtue in itself though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Zillah wrote: »
    No we won't :D

Conveniently, you won't mind either, for the very same reason.

I don't pretend to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Whew! Thanks for sharing OP.

Thank God I stumbled into A+A this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

Why are we wasting valuable logic, braincells, time, effort, electricity, attention, thought and energy on someone who, when asked to say why they believe there is a god, comes up with the equivalent of the answer, 'that's the why'.? Enough with this non-thread and this non-argument, and enough with a poster who names him/herself after a minion of satan while claiming to be a follower of the one true god while simultaneously patronising everyone on this forum. Enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Is he a noodley god?

fisgon wrote: »
    Why are we wasting valuable logic, braincells, time, effort, electricity, attention, thought and energy on someone who, when asked to say why they believe there is a god, comes up with the equivalent of the answer, 'that's the why'.?

It amuses us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

fisgon wrote: »
    Why are we wasting valuable logic, braincells, time, effort, electricity, attention, thought and energy on someone who, when asked to say why they believe there is a god, comes up with the equivalent of the answer, 'that's the why'.?
    That's the why! :P
    Although it's a good question. The kind of pitch the OP makes always seems to give lots of us an itch somewhere that we just have to scratch. So we question and probe and prod her (?) stance even though we know it is unlikely that she will pounce with a killer argument that will stop us in our tracks.