Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I was just robbed

• 30-10-2009 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

:(
    I was at the ATM getting some money out and someone shoved a paper in my face then I think a child hit the button on the atm, grabbed my cash and ran off. The guy that shoved the paper in my face said sorry and it was an accident then ran off. I don't know about the kid but the guy was a Roma Gyspy. English was very poor. I reported it to the Guardi but they said there is very little they can do :mad:
    This annoys me, ever happened to anyone here, never heard of this kind of robbery before. Now I'm out 2 weeks wages.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Sounds like the usual setup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Could have been worse OP, at least you still have your hat...

On a side note, in before Terry locks this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

You can take out two weeks wages in one go ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Yes, apparently it happens regular enough.
    There is a thread here on Roma gypsies from a few days ago where some guy from Pavee point was defending them on the radio. In the thread this type of thing was mentioned a few times. Report the event to the cops at the very least and sorry to hear of your financial loss. Just think though, it could have been worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

tallus wrote: »

You can if you're poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Sounds like the usual, same suspect group as usual, If somebody tried this on me I would knock their block off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

KTRIC wrote: »
    You can if you're poor
    I only work part time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It wasn't me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

that really sucks man

always keep an eye over your shoulder for suspicious characters before starting a transaction at an ATM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

That's disgraceful.

Sorry that happened to you and that you lost two week's wages. That's tough going.

Seems you can't be safe anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭smiley girl

oh no! the stupid little b*****ds. I'd be hopping mad if that were me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Sorry to hear man.

Just have to take it as a learning experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I don't know about the kid but the guy was a Roma Gyspy.

Whats that? ....... an undercover fanny watcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

tallus wrote: »

You can generally take out up to €700 from your own bank ATM.

_ZeeK_ wrote: »
    that really sucks man

always keep an eye over your shoulder for suspicious characters before starting a transaction at an ATM.
    The worst was a few years ago I was walking down the street with my phone out sending a message, some guy (Dublin Scumbag this time) just walked past me and took my phone then ran off.
    Now I never take my phone out in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭pistonsvox

I would have naturally pushed the chap away if someone pushed paper in my face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

God, that's terrible. Can you mention where in Dublin it was just so others know to be careful when taking out money? I know you should be careful wherever you go but if they are operating around a certain area, better to be extra vigilant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

pistonsvox wrote: »
    I would have naturally pushed the chap away if someone pushed paper in my face
    Would say it all happened so quick, he probably didn't have time to react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Larianne wrote: »
    God, that's terrible. Can you mention where in Dublin it was just so others know to be careful when taking out money? I know you should be careful wherever you go but if they are operating around a certain area, better to be extra vigilant.
    who said anything about dublin? He might live in Cork. And, insecure about his new lot in life, has chosen to stick with the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

The worst was a few years ago I was walking down the street with my phone out sending a message, some guy (Dublin Scumbag this time) just walked past me and took my phone then ran off.
    Now I never take my phone out in public.
    The same happened to my sister last year in Dublin. Fu*king unbelievable, the garda didn't gaive a f*ck about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Overheal wrote: »
    who said anything about dublin? He might live in Cork. And, insecure about his new lot in life, has chosen to stick with the name.

Yes, you are completely right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Saibh wrote: »
    Would say it all happened so quick, he probably didn't have time to react.

Well once you push the button on the ATM for your money it takes a good 5 - 10 seconds normally before it gives you back your card and then your money.

Sorry to hear you got robbed dude. Did you give chase to the kid at all?

Anyone comes near me when I'm taking out my money and then get a seriously shove and a loud "Get the **** away from me!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

I don't know about the kid but the guy was a Roma Gyspy. English was very poor. I reported it to the Guardi

The ironing is delicious.

I joke OP, thats shitty, hopefully the CCTV can assist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

can we have a whip around - im good for a tenner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

FearDark wrote: »
    On a side note, in before Terry locks this...

I spat milk on my monitor when I read this. Oh lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

This thing nearly happened to me on Tara St. about two years ago. But it was an English woman and her kid, I was at the ATM and she asks me where the nearest post office was (around seven at night, when they're obviously closed) noticed the kid had her eyes fixed on the keypad. Told her I'd tell her in a minute when I'd finished - she just fecked off at that point.

Distraction thefts are pretty common, just keep your wits about you that's all I can say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

I remember working in a place where a few Roma gypsies came in and were screaming murder about us being racist for making sure security followed 'em around.

...and this is why that happens. I'm sure there are some decent Romanians out there, but stereotypes will always exist. If I was in pilot school and an arab man came in, I'd feel a little odd about that too... etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I'm sure the same two lads will be back around the same ATM over the weekend waiting for their next innocent victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

why didn't you chase after them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

FearDark wrote: »
    Could have been worse OP, at least you still have your hat...

Ha still going ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭slarkin123

Thats horrible, and I'm sure what makes it worse is knowing the police wont/cant do anything about it. Thats one of the reasons I'll only use an atm in supermarkets or petrol stations. At least there's a slight bit of security there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭acer911

I was at the ATM getting some money out and someone shoved a paper in my face then I think a child hit the button on the atm, grabbed my cash and ran off. The guy that shoved the paper in my face said sorry and it was an accident then ran off. I don't know about the kid but the guy was a Roma Gyspy. English was very poor. I reported it to the Guardi but they said there is very little they can do :mad:
    This annoys me, ever happened to anyone here, never heard of this kind of robbery before. Now I'm out 2 weeks wages.

Sorry to hear about this man.... At least you not injured anyway...

Where in dublin did this happen... So we can be aware of where its happening...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

aido179 wrote: »
    why didn't you chase after them?

Everyone likes to act all tough, claiming that if it was ever to happen them, they'd chase the person, batter them etc.

In reality, when it happens, most people are too shocked and scared to have that reaction.

I was mugged in Dublin a few years ago (on my birthday :() ... I stopped to take a photograph of my friend and some guy attacked me and grabbed the camera.
    Luckily for me, she ran after him and hassled him until he gave it back. My reaction was to stand there and cry my eyes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Is it mainly Dublin city centre where this sort of thing happens? I'm lucky it hasn't happened to me, I'm always in town. Time to start keeping an eye out.

It happened in the city center. I'm still a bit shaken up after the experince.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Op, you shouldn't have let him go until you realised everything was ok.

Depending on where you were, there's usually a few guards in the area you could have dragged him to.

It happened in the city center. I'm still a bit shaken up after the experince.

Maybe a good night in with Disaster Movie or Date Movie will calm your nerves. Small children can be very unnerving alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Everyone likes to act all tough, claiming that if it was ever to happen them, they'd chase the person, batter them etc.

In reality, when it happens, most people are too shocked and scared to have that reaction.
    But u iz a chick.

A small child took the money. Even you'd have chased after him pikachucheeks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

I'm not sure if anyone else has mentioned this but here goes anyway. You need to let your bank know what happened. If there were security cameras viewing the a.t.m., then you may be able to get your money back. You should find a 24 hour number for your bank from their website, call them and ask them the relevant proceedure. It may be the case that they would give you your money back. They would then take the matter further with the police on their own behalf. It may get you nowhere but it's worth the price of a phone call if you could get your cash back.

Best of luck with the whole thing OP.

4Xcut wrote: »
    I'm not sure if anyone else has mentioned this but here goes anyway. You need to let your bank know what happened. If there were security cameras viewing the a.t.m., then you may be able to get your money back. You should find a 24 hour number for your bank from their website, call them and ask them the relevant proceedure. It may be the case that they would give you your money back. They would then take the matter further with the police on their own behalf. It may get you nowhere but it's worth the price of a phone call if you could get your cash back.

Ooooh, thanl you.

Hey OP - how long did the guy have the paper in your face? It normally takes quite a while for the money to come out. It doesn't just instantly fly out when you hit the button. In fact most machines these days give you your card back first and then give you the money.

What ATM were you at in the city centre? You should let us know so we can avoid it..... maybe it's faulty or something? :)

This matter is of the utmost importance. Please OP - tell us which ATM you used so we may avoid it at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

This is why I only use ATM machines inside the actual banks or in shops

4Xcut wrote: »

I've never heard of a bank giving money back if you were the one that took it out. The kid stealing it is really your problem and not the bank's. If you took money out from a bank branch and then walked outside and got mugged the bank wouldn't be responsible. AFAIK the same applies here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

2 weeks wages?
    is it possible to withdraw that much money from an atm in one go??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

wudangclan wrote: »
    2 weeks wages?
    He said he only works part time

wudangclan wrote: »
    2 weeks wages?

Conveniently for the OP he only works part time in a shop that is plagued by shoplifters that he just can't seem to ban for good.

Perhaps this shop is near the malfunctioning ATM, who knows? We wait the OP's response with bated breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Conveniently for the OP he only works part time in a shop that is plagued by shoplifters that he just can't seem to ban for good.

mmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I know saying they're all scumbags is a stereotype, and probably borderline racist, but it just so happens that literally every single Roma that comes in to the shop I work in steals from us. There are very very very few exceptions. I'm not just being racist, there is almost always video evidence of them robbing something too.

The only other people who steal are junkies. It's a stereotype, but it fits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

phasers wrote: »
    This is why I only use ATM machines inside the actual banks or in shops

Not always possible unfortunately. Sorry to hear about that OP, that's a pretty crappy start to your weekend. Something you won't forget in a hurry either I'm sure, lousy.