Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how to get shot.

• 30-10-2009 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭

If I dress up tomorrow as a provo with an airsoft assault rifle what are the odds the garda special branch gun me down? (assuming I don't try to knock off a pharmacy or something, or halifax, seeing as they open on saturday, cheers Colm Meaney).

5/1?

Please feel free to start a book, If I don't post on sunday, they got me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

7/5f

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What kind of clothes does a Provo dress in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You probably deserve to be arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

orourkeda wrote: »
    You probably deserve to be arrested

I 80% agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well if you go around town with an airsoft gun which looks just like the real thing you can expect to be arrested the same way you'd be arrested for going out in public with an actual gun. I think you should go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

You could call yourself a Provisional Liquidator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

once you dont point the airsoft rifle at anyone and threaten to blow their heads off you are within the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭jimoc

You won't be shot, cause the guards have to do paperwork after using their weapon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭chillin_penguin

Its actually illegal and you will be arrested for disturbance of the peace. Having said that if your going get away with it 2maro would be your only day.

You also have to remember that even though to you its just for the laugh, many people may take offence to this either because they are victims from crimes committed or they are members and feel you are making a laugh out of them.

Just stick on a bit of face paint it will give the same affect and you will have less trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/bills28/bills/2009/2909/b29b09d.pdf

9A.—
    (1) Where a person, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse (the onus of proving which shall lie on him or her), has a realistic imitation firearm with him or her in any public place, that person shall be guilty of an offence.
    (2) A person guilty of an offence under this
    section shall be liable:
    (i) on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding €5,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding twelve months or to both, or
    (ii) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years or to both.

could be a fun night between the gards arresting me or the local drug dealer thinking they're about the get whacked and start shooting first.

I was aware of using a replica in a crime you would be treated as if you used the real thing. Seems it extends to just being out and about. I suppose I'd be relying on "reasonable excuse" or "just having the craic" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If the real provos with real assault rifles and real rocket launchers can set up a roadblock in South Armagh and not get shot or arrested when real Police officers seen it, I would say the chances of you been gunned down are slim, really

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

If you do you're a fvcking idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

EL_Loco wrote: »
    If I dress up tomorrow as a provo with an airsoft assault rifle what are the odds the garda special branch gun me down?

More than likely the customs will get you for importing all those cheap cigarettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Why would you want to do that? Risk being arrested and taking up the guards time with your silly idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Kiera wrote: »
    Why would you want to do that? Risk being arrested and taking up the guards time with your silly idea?

I'm pretty sure he's not serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

SV wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure he's not serious.
    You just never know these days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yep, might be thinking of going to Bolivia....

Stop some real ones there I hear.......hmmmm:cool:

have a good weekend anyway people whatever you get up to! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You also run the risk of getting the head slapped off you by an airsofter for putting his hobby in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

EL_Loco wrote: »
    could be a fun night between the gards arresting me or the local drug dealer thinking they're about the get whacked and start shooting first.

I was aware of using a replica in a crime you would be treated as if you used the real thing. Seems it extends to just being out and about. I suppose I'd be relying on "reasonable excuse" or "just having the craic" ;)

Dress as a provo, but have a supersoaker water pistol instead of an airsoft rifle. That way, the local drug dealers/gardai/branch of the IRA, will know your only messing.

You'll have less chance of getting arrested or shot......:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Saw Guards warning/talking to some guys in camo gear in the city centre the year before last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

One of the lads did it last year, except when we went to the house party after he got his shot-gun (obviously not loaded) and burst through a window. It was fcuking epic, I think a girl actually pooped a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wasn't there a thread in AH where some guy in the UK got arrested for exactly this same thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

thats the stupidest idea ever,so i'd say go for it :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Saw Guards warning/talking to some guys in camo gear in the city centre the year before last.

If they were in Irish DPM, it's technically unlawful. A lot of people do it, but that doesn't mean you can't get a chatting to by the law.

Defence Act 1954.
    264.—(1) If any person (not being a member of the Defence Forces) wears, without permission granted by or on behalf of the Minister, any uniform of the Defence Forces or any colourable imitation thereof, such person shall be guilty of an offence under this section and shall be liable on summary conviction thereof to a fine not exceeding ten pounds or, at the discretion of the court, to imprisonment for any term not exceeding three months.

265.—(1) If any person wears any uniform of the Defence Forces or any dress, having the appearance of, or bearing any of the regimental or other distinctive marks of, any such uniform, in such a manner or in such circumstances as to be likely to bring contempt upon that uniform, such person shall be guilty of an offence under this subsection.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 DipDab

provos sure their gone youd probably get a lift off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I'm going as a British soldier. Managed to find a poppy today after 4 hours of walking around. I have my gun rigged so it shoots out when i pull the trigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

I'm going as a British soldier. Managed to find a poppy today after 4 hours of walking around. I have my gun rigged so it shoots out when i pull the trigger.

keep your eyes peeled for the provo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Ehh what does a provo like like?

Just wear a hoodie and an air riffle and you will be shot nicely. I would pay 500 euro just to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

Dress as a provo, but have a supersoaker water pistol instead of an airsoft rifle. That way, the local drug dealers/gardai/branch of the IRA, will know your only messing.

You'll have less chance of getting arrested or shot......:)

Plus you can fill a supersoaker with alcohol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What kind of clothes does a Provo dress in?

A suit apparently

http://oconallstreet.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/11/adams.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

mudokon wrote: »
    Plus you can fill a supersoaker with alcohol :D

Like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

jimoc wrote: »
    You won't be shot, cause the guards have to do paperwork after using their weapon :)

Lol :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Dear god dont do it,

airsoft already has a bad enough name in the media without you making it worse:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

A friend of mine was lucky not to get done for something like the OP is proposing: - basically he was out the night before and a few of his mates went into the local centra with toy guns. The staff were having great craic with them however a member of the public rang the cops and the shop was surrounded in minutes. He was lucky not to get jail and got away because his uncle was a cop.