Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade and Retro forum beers! (AKA the night of the scandalously drunk retro geeks)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,816 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

If it's August the 26th then I should be free.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,717 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

If people are happy with it, I will start moving the spiders out, they like some notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,007 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Thanks for the invite! I'd love to but my next three weekends are all booked out! :( turned into a very busy time of the year.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,717 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Hi, I'm going to push this back until maybe September

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,816 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I've a busy September. Hopefully I can go.

Post edited by Retr0gamer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

https://whenavailable.com/plan or some such tool might be useful to find a day that might work for the most

So, are folks interested in a Christmas Beers this year?

Happy to host

Sign me up

This doesn't seem to be gaining any traction and that is okay.

Hopefully we can get together in the new year

Master of the Universe

Thanks for putting it out there, really appreciate it.

I've ever weekend now until the new year booked out with stuff unfortunately. Dont think I've a lot going on in January though if folks might be up for something then?

Could work alright, we'll see how the January works out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Jan is a good idea, something to look forward too after the Xmas excitement passes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Didn't see this at first, I'm always up for a retro night provided I'm not working and if I am working, have enough time to book an annual leave day!

Does seem to have been a busy year, trying to plan anything with friends the last couple of months has been a bloody ball ache.

Yep, it has been a very trying year for many of us, as well as myself personally.

Not without its highs, but with lows I never experienced before.

On the up-and-up now, I think, or at least it is the Christmas bounce in full-effect!

It would be great to see folk once again, as it has been literal years since we've gotten together.

And, just to say, this is not a thing that I take ownership of, we can get together in a pub, club, houses, whatever.

As long as two or more of us gather, so Arcade and Retro gaming will be!

And don't forget the playing of terrible, terrible videogames.

So, this one then?

Master of the Universe

Still bloody missing my PCB of that! hah. Literally bought an original Taito board for a beers in my place as a joke in Clontarf years ago, played it once, stored it away, went to bring it out for the beers and it was gone. Still missing to this day!

I have myself convinced it's somewhere among my jamma boards but have yet to come across it... just had a look through my emails and I haven't seen it since it since 2013.. 😂 absolutely bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭accensi0n

I vote yis play Godzilla on the NES. Still holds top spot for my most hated game on the system.

Master of the Universe

Don't think I've ever played that... is it really REALLY awful?

Just had a quick look there and it's a decent looking NES game. it's also one of those games that fills the screen with unavoidable shite. Usually see that in western jank.

Also wondering why if it's a Godzilla game so the let's plays have way more playing as mothra than Godzilla?

Hi folks, I've tried this a few times, so let us try again...

Anyone interested in a meet-up?

It can be anything and anywhere, pub, club, my house, someone elses place, whatever suits.

Just throwing it out here.

Let me know

Master of the Universe

Yeah it's a shame the last few were no runners, I think Covid put a lot of meet ups in general on hold and a lot of them are finding it hard to get going again.

I'd love to meet up sometime if anyone's free in April. Even if just for a pint!

Wouldn't mind a pint and a legend of dragoon rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Yeah, would be game ball for a pint and a few games of something.

Master of the Universe

Could always book a table in Token some evening just to get the ball rolling again?

Lovely, we can sit there and bitch about the machines that aren't working properly!

And legend of dragoon

Master of the Universe

I can bring a bag of buttons/sticks, a degaussing wand and a HV probe, we can make an evening out of fixing everything. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,898 ✭✭✭Inviere

"Night of the Scandalously Drunk Retro Geeks who Discharge CRT's while Tanked on Exotic Coloured Beverages, and Who Possibly Live to Tell the Tale"

Name for the next thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,266 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I recommend staying away from Mario Kart then. The thing is barely maintained. The cab on the left always has calibration issues and you can barely steer the thing.

...but yeah the food in Token is amazing so I'd be up for us just booking a table and heading in.

I'm free most of April although would gravitate towards the next two weeks to make sure that I have the spare cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,898 ✭✭✭Inviere

Is it just a coincidence that the term post-covid beers abbreviates to PCB?

Master of the Universe

How are folks set for potentially Saturday the 15th of April?

Sound by me, be good to put faces to names after all these years.

Sounds great, I'll start practicing nothing and that way I'll be as terrible as I have always been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭tonyotonyo

Probably. Just to laugh at broken machines.

Master of the Universe

Excellent! looks like we are well on the way to achieving a quorum 😀

Here is a question for Token regulars, whoever you are.

Would it be feasible for me to bring my Vectrex?

I really want to show off the likes of Rocks'n Saucers and the brand new Vyrzon, but I wonder if the bar would allow it, and have somewhere to plug it in!

Might want to check with them on their Facebook page first.

Saturdays are usually pretty busy so I doubt it tbh.

Master of the Universe

I'm still on for a few pints and games this Saturday if people are still on for a bit of a meetup?

Won't be able to make it, have friends calling over that were meant to call over last weekend so have to entertain them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

No can do unfortunately, heading home to Cork (like) for the weekend

Try again early May?

Master of the Universe

Have people over the first two weekends of May but free the 13th if that might suit folks better?

Suits me, I'll get me arse in gear and book a table in advance this time.

Yeah I should be ok with me

Any chance we could get Sparks to go? If it's in token he won't be able to bring the kids but would be good to see him again. He's still plugging away at Mario Kart records.

Any word on if a meet-up is still on the cards?

It has been ages!

Master of the Universe

I'm still up for it, only thing is my June is absolutely packed with stuff!

First Saturday I have free is the 24th if that's not too far out.

My June is fairly packed too but I could squeeze you all in at some point.