Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 29-10-2009 1:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

sibyrne wrote: »
    Why on this forum is there from some a lack of support for our LBS (Local Bike Shop).

Where would we be if they were not there for us?

Please show your support.

Thats bull****. There is plenty of support here for Local bike shops. Perhaps your bike shop is shunned because your shop provides a ****e service.

who the **** are you to come here spewing crap like that?

So what shop are you from?

FWIW- I work in a bike shop too.

Oh just saw you regd this month, perhaps you should read a few threads before making stupid threads.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Maybe Halfords is the only bike shop in his locality :p

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

jerseyeire wrote: »
    Maybe Halfords is the only bike shop in his locality :p

maybe:D

Hey Kona sorry if I offended you. I have checked previous threads.

Its not Bull S***. Every time I've mentioned a local shop I get shot down.

Anyway what shop you work in?

when did you get shot down and why?

I wont tell you what shop I work in for plenty of reasons:P

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

A bike shop is a business, not a charity. Nobody has an obligation to support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

You look away for a few minutes and the next thing you know...

94702.jpg

el tonto wrote: »
    A bike shop is a business, not a charity. Nobody has an obligation to support them.

You could say the same of charities, some are a ****ing disgrace *Cough* CONCERN *Cough*. Run like businesses, in yer face nasty michael o leary businesses.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

kona wrote: »
    You could say the same of charities, some are a ****ing disgrace *Cough* CONCERN *Cough*. Run like businesses, in yer face nasty michael o leary businesses.

True that, perhaps "obligation" was the wrong word, but you get my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭sibyrne

You look away for a few minutes and the next thing you know...

94702.jpg

Nice job finding that pic so fast.

I'm impressed

True that, perhaps "obligation" was the wrong word, but you get my drift.

I do indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

If I get the gist of what @sibyrne originally posted, he/she didn't really deserve the dyspeptic response?

tomasrojo wrote: »
    If I get the gist of what @sibyrne originally posted, he/she didn't really deserve the dyspeptic response?

It's quoted in the second post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

It's quoted in the second post.

Not sure. The OP comes on a asks for people to support the LBS. This may not be practical for various reasons, but then as per usual, Kona goes off on one.
    Someone should get across to him, that it is possible to vehemently disagree with someone without losing the rag. Thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

ROK ON wrote: »
    it is possible to vehemently disagree with someone without losing the rag. Thats all.

WTF?!!:mad::mad::mad: How can u make a statement like that?:eek::confused::eek:
    If someone came into my shop with an attitude like that I'd make short shift of them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

Thats bull****. There is plenty of support here for Local bike shops. Perhaps your bike shop is shunned because your shop provides a ****e service.

who the **** are you to come here spewing crap like that?

So what shop are you from?

FWIW- I work in a bike shop too.

Oh just saw you regd this month, perhaps you should read a few threads before making stupid threads.

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Related was sibyrne's response in another thread, to someone who asked whether they should consider a Carrera or more to the point a Boardman Comp MTB:
    Specialized Rockhopper. Base model.

Anyone who recommends any of the above bikes over it, is an idiot.

Best entry level Frame, Fork and finishing kit on the market

My emphasis.

Now the spec of the Boardman bike is a country mile ahead of the Rockhopper in every detail and so when CheGuedara and points this out to him he starts a NEW thread whining about people not supporting their LBS.

Might help explain Kona's response which given the bigger picture I don't think is unjustified.

There is also this to consider, from other threads:
    Building a fixie.

Mikes Bikes in Dun Laoghaire are very helpful and stock a lot of that gear.

Very good mechanic and wheel builder.

Worth a trip out.
    The new Altura Night vision shoe covers. The only ones that cover trainers. Most others are designed for cycle shoes. Mikes Bikes in Dun Laoghaire have a selection of them. But becareful because altura do a few different models. So just ask before you buy.

Hope this helps
    Mikes Bikes in Dun Laoghaire have a Specialized Allez for sale at around 500

Give it a rest lads. I retracted my statement.

It's great to have search back, all the same.

Konas response was justified I agreed with him and PM'd him to apologise for my statement.

I am a idiot and did jump the gun.

Sorry to have revived the thread. I just didn't get the reason for the strong response.

Not a bad price for a Specialized Allez in fairness :)

@sibyrne- there is no problem if you are just upfront with any affiliation, don't spread misinformation, and don't suggest than anyone saying an internet/Boardman bike represents good value is "an idiot."

I tend to recommend Joe Daly's a lot but they are just my own LBS that I am very happy with, I don't work for them etc.

There is a lot to be said for paying a bit over the odds in a LBS, particularly if a beginner, given the backup you will get from a good one. And they are sometimes even competitive.

If you actually own/work for a shop, just be up front about it when posting. "We stock XYZ..."

blorg wrote: »
    Not a bad price for a Specialized Allez in fairness :)

@sibyrne- there is no problem if you are just upfront with any affiliation, don't spread misinformation, and don't suggest than anyone saying an internet/Boardman bike represents good value is "an idiot."

I tend to recommend Joe Daly's a lot but they are just my own LBS that I am very happy with, I don't work for them etc.

There is a lot to be said for paying a bit over the odds in a LBS, particularly if a beginner, given the backup you will get from a good one. And they are sometimes even competitive.

If you actually own/work for a shop, just be up front about it when posting. "We stock XYZ..."

No I don't work for a shop but how cool would that be.

Yes that statement from myself was a bit stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

No I don't work for a shop but how cool would that be.

Yes that statement from myself was a bit stupid.

I don't imagine working in a bike is all that cool, tbh. Much like most of retail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Oh yeah, and maybe it is time for a "conflicts of interest" sticky a al Commuting and Transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

blorg wrote: »
    Might help explain Kona's response which given the bigger picture I don't think is unjustified.

Please don't try and explain Kona, it erodes his mystique.

Since Acoustic went quiet and Tunney started being reasonable he's all we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

penexpers wrote: »
    I don't imagine working in a bike is all that cool, tbh. Much like most of retail.

yep working 6 days a week people always coming in asking to borrow pumps
    i'd just like a lbs that sold the basics (chain lube. inner tubes tyres etc and not just a load of kids bikes)

I don't imagine working in a bike is all that cool, tbh.
    Not cool? It's very cool.

No I don't work for a shop..

Are you sure about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Bike shops are having a bumper year with the CTW so where retail is concerned it's one of the better ones to be in. Having said this a wise man once told me that working in a bike shop would ruin my hobby.

Working in a bike shop is not cool, in ANY way. Especially at this fecking time of the year. Great for the owner, he gets the $$ we get the ****e.

I cannot wait to get out of retail. Im pretty sure anybody here who actually works in retail will back me up in saying that the general public are the biggest bunch of idiotic cheapskate gob****es going who only give a **** about ME ME ME.

Sad but True, if you want to still have faith in the general public, then for the love of god dont go into retail!

But off point here but, Boardman bikes would be way less mainstream than specialized.......

YET

Are outsold them in the hybrids market in 2009.

Alot of Idiots out there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Living in Amsterdam has changed my opinions about cycling somewhat but it's going to take a lot more to change my opinions on this forum.

Unbelievable stuff.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Living in Amsterdam has changed my opinions about cycling somewhat but it's going to take a lot more to change my opinions on this forum.

Unbelievable stuff.

Then why do you come and read it? I think it has good points, I.E no bum bum licking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Ah...Kona, I finally understand your rage.

I worked in retail once, and gradually went :D -->:)-->:o--> :eek:--> :confused:--> :rolleyes: --> :mad::mad::mad::(:(

But for our sakes, please stay in retail.

Then why do you come and read it?

Honestly, for a laugh and to try and decipher some of the stuff you guys talk about.

I can freely ask questions in almost any other fora on boards without expecting sarcastic and unhelpful replies.

I'll be coming home soon and looking to buy a bike. Not always, but all too often, this forum does not come across as helpful in the slightest.

lukester wrote: »
    Ah...Kona, I finally understand your rage.

I worked in retail once, and gradually went :D -->:)-->:o--> :eek:--> :confused:--> :rolleyes: --> :mad::mad::mad::(:(

But for our sakes, please stay in retail.

Its bad for my health, Ill end up throttling some dumb bitch by the throat after she makes up consumer law all by herself which is bollix, then applies in such a way that its MY fault her bike was robbed.

Or the ah sure ill get lights next week:rolleyes:

If there was a wall my head would be bangin off it.

Honestly, for a laugh and to try and decipher some of the stuff you guys talk about.

I can freely ask questions in almost any other fora on boards without expecting sarcastic and unhelpful replies.

I'll be coming home soon and looking to buy a bike. Not always, but all too often, this forum does not come across as helpful in the slightest.

what question have you asked that hasnt been answered to your satisfaction? Or which point have you put across that wasnt accepted?

You could write to customer services, I might get a warning or something due to my unprofessional behaviour on the Internet.

FWIW, I think people get alot of questions answered here, and quickley and it ususally saves them some $$$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Quick word of advice kev, it's best not to insult people before asking them for advice. That applies to life in general, not just the internet.

I look forward to your "which bike?" thread.

..and yes, that was sarcastic, but you really were asking for it.

niceonetom wrote: »
    Quick word of advice kev, it's best not to insult people before asking them for advice. That applies to life in general, not just the internet.

*sigh*

There won't be a which bike thread, believe me.

How exactly did I insult anyone?

But you see, Kev IS better than us. He has "CHANGED" HIS VIEW on cycling. So he thinks we should welcome such a reformed newcomer with such open arms:D:D

If we dont we are ****ed, there will be gifs of cats and planes being shot down, and angry men at computers.

Honestly, what is it about this thread that makes you think boards is unhelpful? I'm genuinely asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

94745.gif

Dont think its dead there boss.

Might need a bigger stick.

How exactly did I insult anyone?
    \/

\/

I wasnt really insulted. More WTF?

Whatever.

I agree with ednwireland.

Whatever.

I agree with ednwireland.

Well, youll need a bigger stick too, that donkey just wont die:D:D
    but Itl be dead twice as fast!:pac:

Honestly, what is it about this thread that makes you think boards is unhelpful? I'm genuinely asking.

Not boards in general, I've just seen a few threads in cycling that make me think this forum can sometimes be pretty "cliquey".

I know I've come in here in the past and yeah, pretty much sh*tstirred, but not this time, I'm a reformed character! Also, as a town planner, I'm fully behind the implementation of cycling and top quality cycling infrastructure as the primary means of personal transport in urban centres. I've just had trouble resolving that view with the petrolhead in me!!

I'm honestly not flaming, just thought that the OP was attacked for asking a fair enough question.

Also, Kona, retail is most definitely a b!tch!

Not boards in general, I've just seen a few threads in cycling that make me think this forum can sometimes be pretty "cliquey".

I know I've come in here in the past and yeah, pretty much sh*tstirred, but not this time, I'm a reformed character! Also, as a town planner, I'm fully behind the implementation of cycling and top quality cycling infrastructure as the primary means of personal transport in urban centres. I've just had trouble resolving that view with the petrolhead in me!!

I'm honestly not flaming, just thought that the OP was attacked for asking a fair enough question.

Also, Kona, retail is most definitely a b!tch!

It seems cliquey because there is a group here that go on spins together, they have their jerseys and everything. Its fine by me, I dont see any clique in it.

What pisses me off about motors etc, is the amount of absoloute gob****es, who ask stupid questions, and look to impart their considerabley small knowledge of the technical aspect to cars that they obtained down in the boozer, which of course is totally incorrect.
    Then the same gob****es will thank the posters who actually have a clue,and give advice to make themselves look smart.

Boards.ie motors must have at least 50 mechanics on line at once. and every problem is defo a MAF sensor.

Luckily that cancer hasnt come here....yet.

Fair enough. But the OP wasn't exactly genuine in his question by not disclosing he was involved in a bike shop himself. So while I wouldn't subscribe to kona's style of posting (as he'll attest himself), he did have a point, as blorg already pointed out.

People can get a bit prickly if someone isn't being 100 per cent up front about their motives.