Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox 360 Elite - €125 and PS3 Slim - €150

• 28-10-2009 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭

I saw a poster in the window of the new Gamestop opening up on Patricks Street today in Cork.

To celebrate the opening of the store they have 10 Xbox 360 Elites (€125 each) and 5 PS3 Slims (€150 each) for the first customers. Its on a first come first served basis and the offer is limited to only one a customer.

The store is opening on Thursday November 5th. I'm not sure what time but I think its around 12pm/1pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

There was similar offer in a Dublin branch a few week/ month ago.

I'd say be there for at least 08:00 if you want a chance of getting one.
    Animo wrote: »
    I saw a poster in the window of the new Gamestop opening up on Patricks Street today in Cork.

To celebrate the opening of the store they have 10 Xbox 360 Elites (€125 each) and 5 PS3 Slims (€150 each) for the first customers. Its on a first come first served basis and the offer is limited to only one a customer.

The store is opening on Thursday November 5th. I'm not sure what time but I think its around 12pm/1pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    There was similar offer in a Dublin branch a few week/ month ago.

I'd say be there for at least 08:00 if you want a chance of getting one.

08.00 on november 3rd you mean? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Sagat06

Madness in Tallaght

Have a read of this before you go getting out of bed early!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

Yea people where waiting in Talaght from around 7 30 in the morning, they had to give out vouchers to the first 10 people as more kept turning up trying to skip ques and it got a bit aggro from what i read.

I would recomend being there at least by 8 am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TakeTheVeil

Aggro? In Tallaght? ... Never!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Put it this way, I was there 5 hours before the shop opened and didnt get anything, number 11 in the que. If they had this offer I might have gotten something as its 15 people now but I went 3 hours before Gamestop themselves told me to get there and didnt get anything.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Where on Patrick's Street is the new store?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 axlcinema

Yeah i saw this poster the other day, might get up early. what time is the store opening ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

In dublin the store was opening at 1 and the last to get anything was there about 7.30 I think they said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Fol20

How does it work..will they be giving token things out early...or do you have to wait till the shop opens...the ads in front of the store dont say anything about the opening times for the shop..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 axlcinema

Best get the old tent out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

lol didnt think I'd be seein this system from them again after last time! This is the chance everyone who missed out has been waitin for...

As an aside: It it were a toss-up between spectating either this opening, or the Tallaght one for sheer spectacle; I'd choose this one. No Square Tallaght security personnel to organise events at this one, expect argies and aggro.

Dont know if I'd be into (potentially) waiting 5/6 hours in the rain only to have some Cark scumbag weasel in front of me, all for the sake of €100 odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

jayteecork wrote: »
    Where on Patrick's Street is the new store?

Anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

eoccork wrote: »
    Anyone know?

It's probably somewhere between Daunt Square and Merchant's Quay! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Animo

Its between Wallis and Oasis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Ah balls. Was thinking they were going ot be opening towards the end of November. Wanted a job there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Hey Guys GameStop Merchant quay and Pat st are full but you can still apply on Gamestopjobs.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Gav77

Your actually an idiot for posting this!!
    store is opening at 2.30

Gav77 wrote: »
    store is opening at 2.30

Whats wrong with wanting to watch a big ruckus of people fighting over 15 places in a line and causing an uproar when they don't get a place?!:D

Where did you hear the opening time? I doesn't say anything in the store window and there's nothing on their site.......

I know a guy working there and he said theyll be opening the doors at 2.30

Gav77 wrote: »
    store is opening at 2.30

As has been said; doesn't really make a lot of difference about an hour here or there... all 15 places will be taken by 9am.

Hmmmm... Lectures or Queueing for a PS3... Hmmmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Speaking as a Cork man, you'd want to be there at 5.30 or 6.00. Those of you who are hoping to stroll in at 830 will be sorely disappointed. Also I would not go alone, bring at least 1-2 others with you. The inevitable lack of security will make for a miserable experience, but you won't be challenged with 1-2 with you imo.

tommy21 wrote: »
    Speaking as a Cork man, you'd want to be there at 5.30 or 6.00. Those of you who are hoping to stroll in at 830 will be sorely disappointed. Also I would not go alone, bring at least 1-2 others with you. The inevitable lack of security will make for a miserable experience, but you won't be challenged with 1-2 with you imo.

+1 I suppose... I think the education about getting there early that came out of the last fiasco through boards alone is gonna work against u corkonians unfortunately.

Is braving the wind/rain/scum/agro for 9 odd hours worth it for the sake of a hundred quid though? I suppose it all boils down to the value u put on your own time. At least with Tallaght we knew where we stood within the first hour; at the time a few of us were remarkin how shíte bein on-edge all day about whether we'd get one or not would've been.

Hopefully for everyone involved they do the receipt thing again, but be advised it was only done because of the pressure put on the security team, which there wont be there this time round.

God help us all... They put it in the Echo. There'll be a queue for at least a mile :P

Weepsie wrote: »
    in blanchardstowm they had 10 wiis for 100 or something when they opend. 10 people turned up at 8 am, they gave them tickets and told them to come back at 1. then from about 11/12 onwards plenty waited only to be told at 12.55 that they were not the first ten. loads or moaning and whatnot and plenty of outrage so just beware and be prepared

Pretty much the same thing in Tallaght, except they put signs up. The dawbrains still queued up with their finest renditions of the consumer rights song rehearsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭babo9

Gamestop finally replied to my email.
    They said
    "
    Thank you for your email!

We are hoping to open the store at 1pm however this can vary depending on external factors. We will be selling 10 Xbox 360 Elites consoles & 5 PS3 consoles at half price to the first 15 people in the queue. In regards to the Tallaght situation, I would like to clarify that we did issue token to the first 10 people who had started queuing outside the store however this was at the request of the shopping centre management as there were safety and security concerns.

I would advise you to get there prior to 1pm as I’m sure lots of people want to be one of the lucky fifteen! Remember if you do have any old games lying about at home, feel free to bring them in and save yourself some money.

Kind Regards"

Sounds to me like they won't be giving tokens this time, its on a main street and no shopping centre to worry about... so anyone going in early prepare to queue... and don't drink too many liquids before hand :P

babo9 wrote: »
    Gamestop finally replied to my email.
    They said......... Sounds to me like they won't be giving tokens this time, its on a main street and no shopping centre to worry about... so anyone going in early prepare to queue... and don't drink too many liquids before hand :P

Yeah they dont give a sh1te about the people queueing up outside, and very much would've let them stay there had the security team not been cajoled into caring.

They even seemed a bit miffed at the time having to disperse the publicity-building queue.

Enjoy the day anyway folks, it'll be an experience.

Dont bother queuing,i got in there at 6.20am and theres already 16 ppl in there:eek:..Theyd been theres since 10 last night:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Fol20 wrote: »
    Dont bother queuing,i got in there at 6.20am and theres already 16 ppl in there:eek:..Theyd been theres since 10 last night:eek::eek::eek:

Why was the 16th person still there? :confused:

he was friends with no 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭babo9

10 last night!!! wtf...I'd almost buy it for someone who was that desperate to get it for 150!! Fair dues though :)

Yep I got in there at 7.45 this morning and there was about 30+ people queing...the question is why would people be queing if there were only 15 places?....people 15-15 =0

Pretty crazy queing all night for the sake of 150euro tho...i guess times are tough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

some sad people imo, all they'll save is €50 on elite or €100 on ps3 compared to amazon prices (once you've sold the extras in an amazon bundle)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭madmoe

Did anyone get one?

Fol20 wrote: »

Jesus that's pretty fookin sad alright. hahaha 16 hours in line for 100 quid savings max??? :eek: I thought I'd seen it all!

What was the weather like in cork last night/this mornin?

consultech wrote: »
    Jesus that's pretty fookin sad alright. hahaha 16 hours in line for 100 quid savings max??? :eek: I thought I'd seen it all!

What was the weather like in cork last night/this mornin?

Cold.... Very cold! I'm glad I didn't get up at 7 to go in. Would have been disappointed :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Loth

I got one of the PS3's for €150.
    The Gamestop lads were really cool,they went and bought us coffee,tea and hot chocolate to heat us up when they arrived for work,thanks if you're reading :D
    All 15 of us that queued up overnight got a goody bag with a really nice Tekken 6 wristband,cool insulated Football Manager Coffee mug,various game t-shirts,a boy and his blob bouncing ball yoke,DJ Hero baseball cap and some Forza keyrings.
    Was good crack with all that were there overnight,apart from the occasional passing gob****e.

Anyone from last night that wants to add me on PSN.
    PSN I.D Loht.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭seclachi

I was sobbing when I saw this in town, getting a ps3 soon. The fact you had to q all night takes the sting off, that in no way its worth 150 quid to me to stand out all night in the freezing cold. Its cruelty tbh.

I'd hate to line up all night and then not get the console I wanted. Did that happen to anyone?

Loth wrote: »
    The Gamestop lads were really cool,they went and bought us coffee,tea and hot chocolate to heat us up when they arrived for work,thanks if you're reading :D
    All 15 of us that queued up overnight got a goody bag with a really nice Tekken 6 wristband,cool insulated Football Manager Coffee mug,various game t-shirts,a boy and his blob bouncing ball yoke,DJ Hero baseball cap and some Forza keyrings.
    Was good crack with all that were there overnight,apart from the occasional passing gob****e.

PSN I.D Loht.

What number were you..what time did you go in as well..Was their much hassle in getting them...as in any people try and skip the queue

Loth wrote: »

PSN I.D Loht.

Not tryin to have a go (as I was one of the original 10 who queued up for the 360s in Tallaght) but "Really nice Tekken 6 wristband"? ... "Baseball cap" ... "Keyrings"???

lol - Do you seriously think €100 and a few knicknacks justify sitting out all night on a cold Novermber night???

You couldn't pay me to tbh, but each to his own.

The first 5 PS3's were claimed first then the Xboxes were claimed soon after.
    I went there with 2 friends and we got the first 3 PS3's.
    We went there at 5:30 PM to queue up.
    All 15 of us that waited overnight were given a ticket with either PS3 or Xbox written on it so no queue jumpers were able to avail of the half price job.

Some people queued up from 5 AM onwards even though they knew the 15 consoles on offer were taken in the hope there might be some more given out,but no extra consoles were made available.
    In an act of serious decency one of the lads that had stayed in the queue with his friend all night gave his ticket to a guy that joined the queue at about 4:30 AM as he didn't want the Xbox.

To consultech:
    For someone not trying to have a go,get your facts right.
    The PS3 was €150 reduced from €300 and btw I am not trying to justify anything to you or anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

hehe, theres a serious stink of jealousy from this thread.

It wouldnt be that hard to do with a bit of alcohol in your system,
    cracking a few jokes and walking in half cut to get your console.

Drinking in the one spot on a winters night, is practically what most Cork Teenagers get upto every weekend anyway. ;)

Fair play Loth.

Funnily enough a bunch of us went off to an bodhran before closing time for a shot of rum,hit the spot with a savage heat,the effect lasted for a few hours too haha.
    One young fella had a hot water bottle dropped into him during the night too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Meh, maybe everyone is jealous or maybe everyone really didn't see the logic of jumpin through those kind of hoops for a half price console.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

noodler wrote: »
    Meh, maybe everyone is jealous or maybe everyone really didn't see the logic of jumpin through those kind of hoops for a half price console.

Because it was a bit of criac, Its makes for a good story in years to come and was pretty harmless.

I think some maybe underestimating how much €100 is to someone who is not earning money.

Fair play Loth, never mind the begrudgers. Sounds like you have a good night with your mates and got a bargain too. You will look back in 10 years time with your mates in a pub on this night and have great laugh aboiut it. Ultimatly that will be worth a lot more than the savings you made.

Having said that- Enjoy the console!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭cmpunk

Ya I got a ps3 and my bud got one great times that night it was so much fun with the otter lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Saw a sign in the window (I didn't go in) that said you could get the xbox360 elite for €125 if you trade in 4 games. I've no idea which games you can trade against it though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

lindtee wrote: »
    Saw a sign in the window (I didn't go in) that said you could get the xbox360 elite for €125 if you trade in 4 games. I've no idea which games you can trade against it though.

4 copies of MW2

Probably