Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emergency Services at Halloween

• 28-10-2009 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭

I'd just like to say a pre-emptive Thank You to the ladies and gentlemen of the Fire and Ambulence service and to the staff of A&E's throughout the country.

I'm watching a line of kids, like leaf-cutter ants, ferrying pallet after pallet into the flats across the road from my office. They intend to have a fire in the centre play area of the surrounding flats. I know the Council have already cleaned out their accumulated stock of wood and tyres at least once in the past few weeks but they can't keep up with the kids collecting.

With all the fires and fireworks over the next week or so the emergency services are at their busiest and it's a really stressful time for them.
    Good luck to ye all.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I can't wait for Halloween.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

baz2009 wrote: »
    I can't wait for Halloween.:D

I hate Hallowe'en.

I'm all for Pagans having their festivals, but adopting an Americanised form of it, with stupid costumes and practices more akin to begging; is just ridiculous

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I would also like to thank the local Garda who caught the 3 little feckers egging people down my street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

brummytom wrote: »
    I hate Hallowe'en.

I'm all for Pagans having their festivals, but adopting an Americanised form of it, with stupid costumes and practices more akin to begging; is just ridiculous

That's because you are too old for trick or treating, but too young to go clubbing on the Razz in costume!!!

I am looking forward to it, and I agree with what OldGoat said.

Although he should tell us where this party is exactly, sounds like a Rager!!!

I hate Hallowe'en.

Drinking in a field and playing with Blackcats and Squeelers isn't really an American thing.:cool:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I hate Hallowe'en.

yup, Halloween for me is just an excuse for me to get rat-faced wearing something I wouldnt get caught dead wearing any other time of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I hate Halloween, scumbags use it as an excuse to run amok even more than usual.

When I lived back in Brum, we had a lad come to the door one halloween.
    Mom said something like "Do you want the sweets or a lolly?" - Try and turn that dirty and I'll kill you.
    "Can I have that bike?" he pointed to my bike in the porch
    "Eh..no"
    "Fine then, I'll have the sweets"
    Next day, that bike disappeared. I wonder who took it.

Obviously not getting invited to a Halloween party has nothing to do with why I hate it.

>.>

<.<

When I lived back in Brum, we had a lad come to the door one halloween.
    Mom said something like "Do you want the sweets or a lolly?" - Try and turn that dirty and I'll kill you.
    "Can I have that bike?" he pointed to my bike in the porch
    "Eh..no"
    "Fine then, I'll have the sweets"
    Next day, that bike disappeared. I wonder who took it.

Obviously not getting invited to a Halloween party has nothing to do with why I hate it.

>.>

<.<

I can't think of something suitable enough.:p

We believe you about the party.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Obviously not getting invited to a Halloween party doesn't mean i'm not going

that's the spirit tommy

genericguy wrote: »
    that's the spirit tommy

You're gonna be a bad influence on me GG :pac: I was *this* close to asking her what her fucking problem was until you told me not to :P

Halloween's still ****. I'll have to see if I can find another loser person who's not going to get pissed with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Can i add a pre-emptive "F**k you" to any scum who attack or stone the emergency services this Halloween?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I like Halloween because it's the one time of the year when you can dress up like an eejit, in whatever you want, and still be let into pubs/clubs...

But it's given a bad reputation by idiots who insist on starting fires wherever they see fit, egging people and hurting innocent animals in the most disgusting ways. I'm not sure why they do this, or why this only seems to happen for this one day a year, but it's sickening.

I feel bad for people working in hospitals 'round the country and working for the emergency services, because it's inevitable that people are going to get up to this type of behaviour, regardless of how many pre-warnings the government or authorities issue. They know that they're going to be worked off their feet for the entirety of Halloween and won't be enjoying a second of it.
    I bet they're all sickened thinking about how people are going to top the casualties and carnage from last year.

I'm actually nervous myself, anticipating the headlines on November 1st. It's quite sad to know there are people out there, looking to cause mayhem and who think it's fun and entertaining to cause pain to other people and animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I love Halloween. Watching the little annoying prats collecting up wood and tyres watching them frustrate the old moany biddies up the road who then calls the fire brigade who puts out the little gits fun and then they egg the biddies house when someone (:D) tells them.

I hate kids. I hate old moany biddies. I enjoy watching them torment each other. Then I go out clubbing afters :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Would emergency services get less hassle off scumbags at Halloween if they too dressed up in costume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Would emergency services get less hassle off scumbags at Halloween if they too dressed up in costume?

They should all swap!!!!!!!!!!!!!lol!

Imagine you were getting arrested by a fireman????

Or an ambulance medic came to put out your bonfire!!!??

Pure madness :):) !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

WindSock wrote: »
    They should all swap!!!!!!!!!!!!!lol!

Imagine you were getting arrested by a fireman????

Or an ambulance medic came to put out your bonfire!!!??

Pure madness :):) !!!

What is this? Bizarro Land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

pwhite587 wrote: »
    Can i add a pre-emptive "F**k you" to any scum who attack or stone the emergency services this Halloween?
    I think tasers should be given to the emergency services this Halloween.