Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Irish Las Vegas' planned

• 28-10-2009 12:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/21/20091027/tuk-irish-las-vegas-planned-e1cd776.html

A replica of the White House will form the centrepiece of a 460 million euro Las Vegas-style village deep in the countryside.
    Plans for the 800-acre development beside Two-Mile Borris in Co Tipperary include a casino, National Hunt racecourse, a 7,000 seater greyhound track, five-star hotel, a 15,000 seater concert venue - with retractable roof - and golf course.
    Ex-government minister Michael Lowry, top racehorse trainer Aidan O'Brien and concert promoter Denis Desmond have backed the venture dreamt up by slot-machine tycoon Richard Quirke
    :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The words ''lead'', ''balloon'', ''white'', ''elephant'', ''waste'', ''money'' and ''time'' jump into my head here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Tipperary... pfft It should be in the hills of Donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

believe it when i see it, not that long ago they were going to build a vegas style casino in the phoenix park, we saw what happened there

if i see steve wynn or sheldon adelson on the way to dublin soon then i might take notice

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

DazMarz wrote: »
    The words ''lead'', ''balloon'', ''white'', ''elephant'', ''waste'', ''money'' and ''time'' jump into my head here...

Who gives a shít. It's not the government footing the bill so let them waste all the money they want. Means more going into the economy and a few extra jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Casino.
    Nice./

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Who gives a shít. It's not the government footing the bill so let them waste all the money they want. Means more going into the economy and a few extra jobs.

suppose... that's a good point. If bored rich blokes wanna fritter their money away, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

These schemes used to be just a cover for selling 2000 houses at €250,000 a pop - I wonder what the angle is this time.

I hate the way they call these things 'Las Vegas-style' when there is just one casino, one hotel, one concert venue etc as part of the plans. The 'Las Vegas-style' name must be given by some journalist who has never been to Vegas and thinks that its most probably a bit like Butlins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

And this is why the counties richest don't pull their weight in getting us back on track?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

People who I was talking to are saying its in the Horse & Jockey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭seany2929

Oliver1985 wrote: »
    A replica of the White House will form the centrepiece of a 460 million euro Las Vegas-style village deep in the countryside.
    Plans for the 800-acre development beside Two-Mile Borris in Co Tipperary include a casino, National Hunt racecourse, a 7,000 seater greyhound track, five-star hotel, a 15,000 seater concert venue - with retractable roof - and golf course.
    Ex-government minister Michael Lowry, top racehorse trainer Aidan O'Brien and concert promoter Denis Desmond have backed the venture dreamt up by slot-machine tycoon Richard Quirke
    :eek::eek::eek:

Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jaysus another one?

Is this one http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=62725891 not enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭stefanj

seany2929 wrote: »
    Source?

Newstalk, all day today. (Including the architect)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Lol, did someone forget to tell them that bertie (I won it on the horses) isnt in charge anymore?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

I will live there and take rich peoples money in the casino

CHD wrote: »
    I will live there and take rich peoples money in the casino

Dream on.

stefanj wrote: »
    Dream on.

maybe he is going to become a high-class hooker :D

Dream on.
    Oh i will. I will.

As I said. Dream on my darling.

And i said I will, Can you read?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Lads, I was in Vegas in september. The place is fcuking awesome - that's why it'll never go ahead here; we'll just find some way to fcuk it up.

And i said I will, Can you read?

I can read perfectly well. You can say what you like, but it still won't make you rich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I can read perfectly well.

Pfft ... Dream On

davyjose wrote: »
    Pfft ... Dream On

Yes, my darling.

I can read perfectly well. You can say what you like, but it still won't make you rich.
    You can say what you like, but it will make me rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Las Vegas, Monte Carlo,Macau,Horse and Jockey

Spot the odd one out?:D

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Las Vegas, Monte Carlo,Macau,Horse and Jockey

Spot the odd one out?:D

Monte Christo. Pay up.

LOL i think you had more drink than i did!

I just had 3 pints of Monte Christo. It was DIVINE my darling!

Sure you werent thinking of this"darling!";)

;) I wish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

we'll just find some way to fcuk it up.
    To be fair we don't always fcuk it up, we usually just do siht half-assed versions of it... Like you'll have to pay into the one casino and you won't be allowed bring your drink in from the attached bar (which itself will have only one person serving) or something. You'll have to book the different games in advance or have to wait in a queue to play the slot machines or something, and everything will be way overpriced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

they were meant to do something similar in dundalk and its was axed!!!its still just a big waste land!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Did they steal this idea from a Simpsons episode?

What's next? A monorail? well it worked for North Haverbrook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

crazy stuff altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

To be fair we don't always fcuk it up, we usually just do siht half-assed versions of it... Like you'll have to pay into the one casino and you won't be allowed bring your drink in from the attached bar (which itself will have only one person serving) or something. You'll have to book the different games in advance or have to wait in a queue to play the slot machines or something, and everything will be way overpriced

...and watch as all the Gombeens will come out of the woodwork hoping to 'wet their beaks' in this deal.
    What's next? A monorail? well it worked for North Haverbrook...

Well it certainly put them on the map

north_haverbrook_okc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

The right casino could really generate a lot of income to Ireland. Putting it in Tipp seems a little like a bad idea to me. US players would come from the East Coast if the price was right.

Moral arguments will likely appear if anything actually happens probably stalling it. Considering the approach that was planned for casinos recently I can't see why the government would be trusted by investors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

itll never happen.remember "vega-city" in north dublin, meant to be theme parks and that.not to mention the bertie-bowl. we cant even build buildings over 20 stories in dublin these days so this doesnt have a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

everybody laughed when the mormons founded vegas... now look at it!!

without 2 key things vegas would be nothing more than a one-horse town like hundreds of other places in nevada currently

the building of the hoover dam brought thousands upon thousands of people into vegas and a crazy idea by bugsy siegel to build a multi million dollar hotel on the now strip saw the rest of the mob follow in the late 40s

Surprised no one's done this yet:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

It baffles me how this type of operation is not up and running here already. I can understnad the reluctance to encourage gambling, however, the advent of internet based gambling and the essential impossibility of preventing it means that the availability of gambling is at saturation point with or without mega-casinos.

With the only good reason for avoiding mega-casinos dead in the water, we should seek to embrace the economic and other benefits of these casinos. Given that the UK hasnt really gotten off the ground with their plans, we could steal a significant march on them by legalising it first. I also presume that our corporate tax rate would attract a lot of the big players.

Location wise, I would have thought that somehere near a major airport would be key and the Shannon area (which is sufffering obvioulsy) sounds like a perfect idea to get the yanks touring the west coast and its also very commutable for Dublin and UK based weekend-tripppers.

Of course, all that would require a decision by a government that would take some local and general criticism for a number of reasons (proliferation of gambling, crime etc) and ultimatley FF (and the rest of them) didnt have the balls to just do it. So all the business will go elsewhere. Ah welll......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The closest village to this thing is Two-Mile Borris, not the Horse & Jockey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

drkpower wrote: »
    It baffles me how this type of operation is not up and running here already. I can understnad the reluctance to encourage gambling, however, the advent of internet based gambling and the essential impossibility of preventing it means that the availability of gambling is at saturation point with or without mega-casinos.

With the only good reason for avoiding mega-casinos dead in the water, we should seek to embrace the economic and other benefits of these casinos. Given that the UK hasnt really gotten off the ground with their plans, we could steal a significant march on them by legalising it first. I also presume that our corporate tax rate would attract a lot of the big players.

Location wise, I would have thought that somehere near a major airport would be key and the Shannon area (which is sufffering obvioulsy) sounds like a perfect idea to get the yanks touring the west coast and its also very commutable for Dublin and UK based weekend-tripppers.

Of course, all that would require a decision by a government that would take some local and general criticism for a number of reasons (proliferation of gambling, crime etc) and ultimatley FF (and the rest of them) didnt have the balls to just do it. So all the business will go elsewhere. Ah welll......

Using addiction as an excuse for stopping the construction has never been particularly viable. Otherwise there wouldnt be a pub in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭aftermn

as long as it doesn't cost the taxpayer anything, why not encourage these ideas.
    Anyone willing to spend millions on a project in these times should be encouraged. As stated earlier the worst that can happen is that it will fail and the planning people (financial, architects, planners etc) will be the only beneficiaries. If it proceeds to building, many others will benefit. If it finally succeeds, we will all benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

drkpower wrote: »

I disagree, having it in the West coast will do ok during the summer months, but it would bomb for the rest of the year. It has to be near Dublin. This is where people have the highest spending power, where the biggest concentration of the population is, and is also the closest spot for UK visitors. Most yanks coming to Ireland will come into Dublin first anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

I disagree, having it in the West coast will do ok during the summer months, but it would bomb for the rest of the year. It has to be near Dublin. This is where people have the highest spending power, where the biggest concentration of the population is, and is also the closest spot for UK visitors. Most yanks coming to Ireland will come into Dublin first anyway.

I dont necessarily have a difficulty with having it in Dublin but there is a significant advantage for regional development to have such a facility outside Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

Fcuk Dublin, they have plenty. Most visitors will travel around Ireland anyway. I don't see how having it outside Dublin would have such an adverse affect. A 2 and a half hour drive is nothing for most Americans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Surprised no one's done this yet:

No you're ok............ twas just done in the third post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sure Bray does me grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

FCUK them! Who tha fcuk iz gonna be puntin in it?! The sheep and cows??! I won't be supporting them anyway, I don't care if it was built outside my back yard.