Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J.C History Essays

• 27-10-2009 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭

Hi!

I was wondering if anyone could give me a full list of the people in history essays that are in the junior cert course..Ifyou could also give whether they are from the first, second or third year course.Our teacher gives them to us already written out and all we have to do is learn them but I need to make sure that I have them all.For our christmas tests , which are actually in 2 weeks, we have to learn I think it's 9 (well 7 if you're smart about it cos we get a choice of three and have to do 1 so that means we don't have to learn 2 leaving us with 7) and I want to make sure I'm learning them all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The essays are not the course.
    Your teacher should be ashamed of himself/herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

Do you mean the People in History questions? Are you in 3rd year?
    If you get the Shortcuts to Success revision book, it has the people in history questions at the end of each chapter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭coldwood92

:mad:
    spurious wrote: »
    Im outraged U mustnt have a goodt teacher

But!

they do change from year to year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Excuse me I have a very good teacher.

What do you mean they are not the course, I know that they're not the full course but the People in History essays are part of the course and was just wondering if anyone could give me a list of them e.g archaeologist, neolithic farmer, druid, early Irish monk etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

I'm never a fan of learning essays of anything like that.

Get the revision book and find the important points.
    All you have to do then is put it into your own words and include the facts.

The important facts and points are in the essays we already have, the 25 factual points or whatever it is you should have but what i want is a list of the essays just to make sure I have them all, you know how there is one at like the end of every chapter or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

spurious wrote: »
    Why so? In my school, we were given out essays in bullet-points (so you just learned the key points) for the People in History section and it worked fine.

For the actual JC my advice is to go back and have a look at what came up in previous years to find what has a high chance of coming up this year, and make sure if you know anything, you defo know those essays. Although the People in History question is only the second most important question, the most important being the final question (6).

To see if you have them all - look through your exam papers and make sure you have all the titles eg. monk in medieval Ireland, a person living in a ancient civilisation, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Evan93

If you look through your exam papers,question 4, it gives which people in history are asked every year, so if you look through the past 10 years or so it should be all the people in history on the course.The Shortcut To Success book also has the people in history in it.Examinations.ie, has the exam papers on it if you want to have a look.If you are getting a whole paper for your exam,concentrate on Q5 & 6 also as 6 carries more marks than 4.

coldwood92 wrote: »
    :mad:
    Im outraged U mustnt have a goodt teacher

But!

they do change from year to year
    apoilies i thought u were a student
    I didn't relize u were a teacher

coldwood92 wrote: »
    apoilies i thought u were a student
    I didn't relize u were a teacher

I am a student lol, don't worry about it.I need to know cos I left my exam papers in school(along with most of my locker while nearly everyone in my class basically emptied their's for the midterm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

I am a student lol, don't worry about it.I need to know cos I left my exam papers in school(along with most of my locker while nearly everyone in my class basically emptied their's for the midterm)

Phone a friend? :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just because something hasn't come up on an exam paper doesn't mean it can't. If it is on the syllabus it can be asked.

Phone a friend? :confused:

I don't think that would work cos no one else knows what they're doing either.It was a good idea though, I guess this is a bit like my ask the audience lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Evan93

If you are worrying just make a list of the most common ones,they are the ones usually asked,with the expception each year of an obscure option which you most likely might not have studied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

Ok, I think this is all...
    Life of a Roman
    Life of a Roman Soldier
    Life of a monk in early Christian Ireland
    Life of a knight
    Life of a monk in a medieval monastry
    Life of a painter, sculptor, writer, scientist
    Life of Martin Luther/John Clavin
    A person in a named plantation
    One of the plantations & person associated with it
    Life of a person associated with a Revolution
    Life of a factory worker
    Life of someone from industrial revolution
    Life of someone from agricultural revolution
    Life of someone in Irish history
    Life of someone in international relations in the 20th century.

I'm pretty sure thats all, but don't take my word for it.

Finally someone has got the right idea.

They asked a printer in the Renaissance one year and there was chaos as most people didn't read the question and instead rushed to slap down some off-topic learned off essay.

skool.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭GO'S

lads history papers are piss easy

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Ok, I think this is all...
    Life of a Roman
    Life of a Roman Soldier
    Life of a monk in early Christian Ireland
    Life of a knight
    Life of a monk in a medieval monastry
    Life of a painter, sculptor, writer, scientist
    Life of Martin Luther/John Clavin
    A person in a named plantation
    One of the plantations & person associated with it
    Life of a person associated with a Revolution
    Life of a factory worker
    Life of someone from industrial revolution
    Life of someone from agricultural revolution
    Life of someone in Irish history
    Life of someone in international relations in the 20th century.

I'm pretty sure thats all, but don't take my word for it.
    Archelogists work can be added to it.. I think.