Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well? DCM - Happy, Sad, Philosophical?

• 26-10-2009 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭

How did people get on?

I was happy with my performance given injury up to the end of September. Slower than last year but I have no pains, aches or blisters and I was able to stop twice and hug my kids and aeroplane up the finishing chute.

I found it hotter than I was happy with but the copious amounts of water on offer were a great relief.

The crowd this year was 100% better than last year. It's ironic that the good weather that makes the runners suffer brings out more people to see us suffer.

No bonk for me but I don't want to see another lucozade or SIS Gel for a month!

Also, the start was faultless (compared to last year)

3:34:12 is my chip time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭ct_roy

RJC wrote: »
    No bonk for me but I don't want to see another lucozade or SIS Gel for a month!

i'll add club energise, pasta, bagels and powerbar gels to that list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

ct_roy wrote: »
    i'll add club energise, pasta, bagels and powerbar gels to that list!

mega +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Well i'm very pleased, first time doing it and final time on DCM site was 3h57min...i'm glad i finished in one piece, knees and ankles sore now but i'll survive! I hope that person that hit the parked jeep by the shelbourne hotel is ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭poskantor

Is there a definition of a bonk? (I'm Serious!) This was my second marathon and the last one was definitely a bonk (by any definition!). In todays race the last 10km was down about 7% on my first.

Finish 3:01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 RRSC

not sure if this is scientifically correct, but if within the space of a mile you go from running smoothly to running on empty to walking, then thats the bonk. basically you run out of fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 shadowdawn

Congrats to all those that finished it and in great times aswell!
    It was my first marathon and having done only 16 miles in training I thought it was going to be hell but honestly loved it and was only at 20 miles when had to stop running and walk for a few minutes that found it really tough.
    Although had anti-blister socks on got a massive one on my foot and going around could feel it bursting blood went threw to my runners-felt like my war wounds though!
    My time wasn't excellent I know 5hrs but just a time to beat next year!
    Thanks a million to all those that came out and supported really made a big difference struggling to run at the end.
    Hope ye runners all all taking it easy now. I'm hobbling around but such a great feeling to be able to have a few pints and not feel guilty now!
    See ye next year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I ran my slowest marathon in years by quite some margin, but after a fantastic race in Dingle 6 weeks earlier I guess I was always up for a torturous 26 miles.

3:24:54, but I'm a lot wiser for it. Since this was an experimental race, I got of it what I needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

I'm in awe of you all! I can't imagine the rollercoaster of emotions you go through in those 26.2 miles.

I'm going to get nothing done here in work today, reading all these post-mara reports!

Well done everyone - you're all inspirational :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Learned a lot from yesterday. 3:34 but could have been 3:20 or below i reckon ahad i put in more training. Do not underestimate those last 6 miles. I must have slowed down 2+ min per mile if not more.

Great experience. Roll on the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭aviendha

relieved it's over! First marathon, did 3:55:34, absolutely knackered after it, but funnily enough really enjoyed the run.. ran the whole thing without stopping, loved all the support (and jellies, barley sugar sweets, and funsize mars bars, and all the stuff the crowd had out for us!!)

Somehow managed to avoid the wall/bonk and I was so euphoric by the 24 mile mark starting to hum a little Queen on the home stretch!!
    Looking forward to the next one!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

So now i can say i bonked at mile 14. Sounds more impressive than going into a wobble. I'm in philosophical mode today knowing that I need to change a few things in the setup before the next big run, could be Rotterdam (although feeling the way i do today i would need to stay for a few days after the run so that i can walk up the steps to the plane to get home), could be cork, don't know about connemara, maybe belfast; we'll see. well done to all the finishers, hard luck to anyone who didn't, i know i came close not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Ciaran_D

I ran my first yesterday too. I thought the atmosphere and goodwill from the runners and supporters made the day for me. I'm not sure if the support is like that every year, but i thought it was unbelievable - especially towards the end when it really mattered. That woman that gave me a handful of jellies in Clonskeagh will be forever in my thoughts!
    I was hoping for a sub-4hr time but an old knee injury made a come-back at about mile 18 and forced me to stretch (as I watched the black balloons disappear up the hill into Milltown). At that stage, I thought I might have to quit the race but thankfully the pain lessened enough for me to finish in 4:15. I was happy with that all things considered - always next year!
    Finally, I've got to thank the regular posters on this board over the last year or so for the great advice you guys give to novice runners like me. I'm not sure I would even have made the start-line without the help and support found throughout this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Ciaran_D wrote: »
    Finally, I've got to thank the regular posters on this board over the last year or so for the great advice you guys give to novice runners like me. I'm not sure I would even have made the start-line without the help and support found throughout this forum.

Couldn't agree more - the best advice I got was from Boards. I found the whole thing much tougher than my LSR's even though the pace wasn't too different. 16 - 20 miles were tough but grand afterwards.