Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Political correctness gone mad.. again

• 24-10-2009 9:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭

http://www.abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/wireStory?id=8906838

She got two kidney transplants, but died recently. Doctors claimed she would have died days after birth.

WHY WERE GOOD KIDNEYS WASTED ON HER

She can't reproduce (no genitals), and would have been generally a burden to society. All of the money spent hospitalizing her could have been used on people who actually could do something in the world.

Obviously parents want their child to live, but as I see 2 adults that could of contributed to world are dead now because of a doctors inability to say no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Is it really necessarily to call her "it"? Just cos she has no genitals doesn't mean she's not female, she has two X chromosomes, therefore she's a girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

thats borderline aryan stuff there chief

Doctors predicted she would die within days of birth,she lived until ten
    Im sure her parents were glad of those ten years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

She's still a person.. just because she has certain deformaties she's not worthy of a right to life?

I won't Godwin the thread so early on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Yeah, go ahead and say to the parents, and they daughter "sorry, we're not gonna try and save your life because you're a burden to our fragile society".

Although the 2 kidneys is questionable enough in fairness, if she had no chance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I'm sure if there were a long waiting list of people who were expected to live a lot longer than 2 years after the kidney transplant they would have gotten them ahead of that girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I'm sure the hospital don't think lightly of who they give kidney transplants to - they must have felt in her case she was suitable.

To be told your child has only days to live and survives to 10 - I'm sure her parents were glad to see her live that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

And how is it "political correctness" at all? She was a sick child ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Those kidneys should have gone to someone with a chance of survival.
    My opinion.

Were I to die in the morning I'd rather my organs went to someone with a chance of living more than ten years than someone who is just bound to die at any minute.

Hi!. My middle name is "Hitler".
    There. I did it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

How is it political correctness to help a child to survive after being born with a disability such as "Mermaid Syndrome". I think its called humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Jaeger 90

Piste wrote: »
    I'm sure if there were a long waiting list of people who were expected to live a lot longer than 2 years after the kidney transplant they would have gotten them ahead of that girl.

Not a chance, because she was already famous and a nice human interest story for the news -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

How is it political correctness to help a child to survive after being born with a disability such as "Mermaid Syndrome". I think its called humanity.
    Because the child was going to die regardless of any medical intervention.

Like I said, the kidneys should have gone to more deserving recipients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

OP, you are one cold hearted son of a bitch. But I like your thinking and wish to Subscribe to a newsletter.

Really, i agree with the OP, as much as it pains me to say it, why was she given 2 kidney transplants, it was probably obvious to the Doc's that she would die anyway!!!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Terry wrote: »
    My opinion.

Were I to die in the morning I'd rather my organs went to someone with a chance of living more than ten years than someone who is just bound to die at any minute.

Hi!. My middle name is "Hitler".
    There. I did it for you.

except she wasn't 'bound to die at any minute'. She had every chance of survival, if you read the bloody history you would know that.

People who get transplants aren't generally in great health funnily enough and thankfully transplant lists are managed carefully by doctors, not be people on the internet who haven't a feckin clue. The typical life extension of a kidney transplant is 10-15 years, not a lifetime.

As for the OP
    She got two kidney transplants, but died recently. Doctors claimed she would have died days after birth.

Doctors didn't 'claim she would have died' within days without a kidney transplant. She didn't have a transplant until she was 4 months old and then the second one when she was 8. Thats a good outcome in transplant terms. She didn't die from kidney failure but from complications from pneumonia.

Also look up political correctness, it doens't mean anything like you think it means.

now, I'm not entirely sure how this sh*t works but seeing as she was on a ventilator wouldn't her parents have been able to donate the kidneys again? now I may sound stoopid and I apologise if I'm totally incorrect but is this possible?

If so, then isn't it worth that she was given a CHANCE of survival and now someone else can take than chance too?

If you knew what it is like to be on the verge of losing child, I'd like to see you refuse a chance of life for your kid.

really? Please give us the wisdom of your medical training then. What was she going to die of exactly and when?

OP, you are one cold hearted son of a bitch. But I like your thinking and wish to Subscribe to a newsletter.

Really, i agree with the OP, as much as it pains me to say it, why was she given 2 kidney transplants, it was probably obvious to the Doc's that she would die anyway!!!

Im going to start a new revolution of thinking in this country - jus biding my time for now.

I do find it funny that saying a handicapped child deserved a kidney less then someone else is equated to nazism, well at least I would if it wasnt so narrow minded.

They didn't give her the kidney when she was just born and likely to die, they gave it her much later when she stabilised. Please read the article you comment on.

Also, we have no way of knowing what was the waiting list and the criteria they used. She was a baby when she got her transplant and then a kid, maybe she got kidneys from child donors which would be unsuitable for an adult? Just guessing since I don't know either.

Jaeger 90 wrote: »
    Im going to start a new revolution of thinking in this country - jus biding my time for now.

I do find it funny that saying a handicapped child deserved a kidney less then someone else is equated to nazism, well at least I would if it wasnt so narrow minded.

so now you're saying "handicapped" kids don't deserve the same right to life.

I really have to grit my teeth to avoid getting banned because of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Political correctness... gone mad?

How original.

Funnily enough it was a basic tenet of nazism that people with any sort of disability were worthless. Which is the same as saying a handicapped child deserved a kidney transplant any less than anyone else.

any transplant patient can die of pneumonia, because they are much more susceptible to infections, get your facts straight before you make such comments.

so now you're saying "handicapped" kids don't deserve the same right to life.

I really have to grit my teeth to avoid getting banned because of you.

Yes the stupid point i was waiting for someone to try make.

My point is that, being a handicapped child shouldnt give you an extra right to live, understand?

what Im saying is that she was bumped up the list because she was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

My opinion.

Terry! Seriously! When you go there...i tell ya ..ye certainly do.:mad: Most of the time i admire and respect your opinions but on this one im seriously goin to disagree with you. This child beat all odds and lived for 10 years....10 years!!! You have kids so you should understand the amount of love, life experiences and amazing memories you will have from your child after 1 year..nevermind 10. We're all bound to "die at any minute"!
    Deserving recepients? Tell me what makes a deserving recipient? That 19 yr old lad recently who needs a liver transplant for drinking the last one away? Idiot but he still deserved a second chance if he was on a properly monitored waiting list! A strong 10 year old girl who lived 10 times the life she was meant to and did nothing to not deserve it bar want to live. Of course she deserved it.

Terry...you need to learn to understand what "grey" is sometimes and get out of the "black and white zone" you appear to live in.

My point is that, being a handicapped child shouldnt give you an extra right to live, understand?

Can you please quote where it states that?
    thanks

Which isn't true, she was on dialysis for years waiting for her 2007 transplant.

How do you know this? Quote please? Maybe she was just the best match medically? Nah, too simple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yeah, some people need to read the link before they comment.

It doesn't say anywhere that she had no chance of survival because of her disability ffs.

OP, why would this person have been a burden on society? Was she incapable of leading a normal life just because of her disability? There are plenty of people in wheelchairs you know, there are also plenty of people walking the streets who can't reproduce, should preferential treatment given to those in perfect health?

Seriously, think before you fúcking post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Methinks the thread started is a troll and just having a laugh. C'mon lads this one was obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

WHY WERE GOOD KIDNEYS WASTED ON HER

Well someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought human organs had a shelf life of days at most and they have to be a match for the recipient.

If they had some organs available that matched her, then why not.
    I don't believe any organ can be thrown into someone, the blood type has to match for a start.

I see where you're coming from, from a "someone is wasting my tax money on someone else other than me" point of view, but after she was born she was a citizen of the country with the right to live.

copacetic wrote: »
    Funnily enough it was a basic tenet of nazism that people with any sort of disability were worthless. Which is the same as saying a handicapped child deserved a kidney transplant any less than anyone else.

If you read what I wrote it will make sense, instead of putting words in my mouth, when did I say handicapped people are worthless?

people on organ waiting lists are judged on suitability etc, its not first come first served, so someone has to be judged weather they deserve something more or less then someone else?

So Im saying that suggesting she deserved something less, its equated to nazism because she's handicapped.

read that properly. I'm not saying she deserved something less because she's handicapped.

Of course the handicap Im referring to is her imminent death.

If you read what I wrote it will make sense, instead of putting words in my mouth, when did I say handicapped people are worthless?

people on organ waiting lists are judged on suitability etc, its not first come first served, so someone has to be judged weather they deserve something more or less then someone else?

So Im saying that suggesting she deserved something less, its equated to nazism because she's handicapped.

read that properly. I'm not saying she deserved something less because she's handicapped.

Where does it say her death was imminent? Can you quote it please?

That's not what the text says. "Doctors had predicted she would only survive only for days after her birth at the most" - which means that they were wrong once she proved capable of living beyond those couple of days. There is not a word on her imminent death after this. I'd just like to remind you that all the people on waiting lists are very ill and many are likely to die, with or without the transplant. It's not like she was competing with an NBA team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

punchdrunk wrote: »
    thats borderline aryan stuff there chief
    Thats a common misconception thanks to el fuhrer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/eugenics

While its a medical marvel that the girl lived so long past her life expectancy, it was also a questionable investment. Kidneys are a finite resource as I think we well highlighted here about a month ago with your alcho-kid who tried to drink himself to death after being admitted to hospital.

Humanitarian? Sure. Intriguing medical case report? Sure. But that was explored at the expense of the lives of 2 other transplant patients that may have died while waiting for new organs. I cant say for sure thats the case. She could have had a common blood type and so there may have been no demand for the kidneys for her two procedures. However, assuming there was a demand, this girl took precedence over not one, but 2 people, and I hate to think that up to 3 people died needlessly.

So you're admitting you've said it :rolleyes:

Right, so the handicap you are referring to is imminent death and yet imminent death is not a good enough reason to get bumped up the list.

Right.

Yep, I agree. Troll.

Right, so the handicap you are referring to is imminent death and yet imminent death is not a good enough reason to get bumped up the list.

Right.
    I sure hope thats the only reason. That on a wait list that can commonly span hundreds of patients, she was the only one at the time in immediate peril.

Right.

Yep, I agree. Troll.

Imminent death was regardless of kidney, read article.

not troll, not everyone thinks your way, believe it or not.

Overheal wrote: »
    Humanitarian? Sure. Intriguing medical case report? Sure. But that was explored at the expense of the lives of 2 other transplant patients that may have died while waiting for new organs. I cant say for sure thats the case. She could have had a common blood type and so there may have been no demand for the kidneys for her two procedures. However, assuming there was a demand, this girl took precedence over not one, but 2 people, and I hate to think that up to 3 people died needlessly.

I think it's all speculation unless we can prove that she was chosen over somebody else. Her first transplant was when she was 4 months old, and I can't see how they could fit her with an adult size kidney at this age; most likely there was no huge queue of such babies in need of kidney transplants either. So she just got a child donor kidney of no use to teens or adults. I might be mistaken but I believe kidneys are transplanted as a whole organ?

Have you read the article?

Can you provide quotes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

It's just as well Doctors make these life & death decisions regarding organ transplants ... and not the good folk of AH.

Demand for organs far outstrips supply ... I have to believe these decisions are not made lightly, or for reasons of "political correctness".

The alternative, much like some opinions expressed in this thread, are simply horrible.

Everyone counts, or no-one counts.

She was a kid, not a burden on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

If you can find me someone who isn't going to die, I'll give them both my kidneys right now.

I have read and cannot see that in the article, and seemingly others can't either, so as I asked you before, if it's not too much trouble, please quote exactly where it states that. Thanks a mil!

herya wrote: »
    I might be mistaken but I believe kidneys are transplanted as a whole organ?
    Right. You might be thinking of livers. Though can be split-implants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

She can't reproduce (no genitals), and would have been generally a burden to society.

What about otherwise healthy adults you cannot reproduce for a wide variety of reasons? Should they also be denied medical treatment on the same basis?

Or people who don't reproduce for any one of a million reasons ?

I sure hope thats the only reason. That on a wait list that can commonly span hundreds of patients, she was the only one at the time in immediate peril.

Well I'm sure she wasn't the "only one" in fairness there are people dying every day while waiting on organs, but taking all things into consideration, (all medical factors) etc, then it was decided by highly qualified doctors that she was "top of the list". Unless anyone here has proof that the doctors and surgeons in Shiloh Pepin's case made the decision based on anything else then I think they should refrain from speculation.

employed or unemployed?

Still waiting on those quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

employed or unemployed?

Both. They're all people.

employed or unemployed?

careful ... yore troll is showing

Right. You might be thinking of livers. Though can be split-implants.

No, a piece of a liver can be enough to survive but kidneys are transplanted whole.