Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Garage on TV

• 24-10-2009 4:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Anybody else watch the garage on TV.

Jock is "the man" in my opinion. Good show, appear to be pure chancers. Was not aware that so much guess work was involved in locating a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Honestly, I think it's crap. I would rather watch Wrecks to Riches which has an actual plot instead of some geezer strutting his stuff and giving out.

I wouldn't have that guy working on my car. Anyone can make guesses on what's wrong with a car. I can do that and I'm not even a mechanic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 KimHawkins

Honestly, I think it's crap. I would rather watch Wrecks to Riches which has an actual plot instead of some geezer strutting his stuff and giving out..

Jock Campbell, hero.

I wouldn't have that guy working on my car. Anyone can make guesses on what's wrong with a car. I can do that and I'm not even a mechanic.

Yes, the chaps do seem a bit ropey in the skill department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya, its not a bad show.
    Its not so much guess work as experience. THe diagnostics will only point you in the direction of a fault on most things. Experience on a specific car is very useful in those situations. They work with all makes and it does make things a bit more difficult for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Jock is "the man" who deserves his teeth knocked out - ignorant cnut! The only thing worth watching on the show is the occasional exotica they get in through their doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

I think Jock is a effing idiot. I like the other staff members except him. He is just too ignorant for a Boss...He will have all his staff leave his garage because of his attitude. A week working with him would be a year of therapy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

Jock is a monumental c*ck, but it's good entertainment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Jock is a monumental c*ck, but it's good entertainment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Jock is an absolute arsehole the way he goes on. This is precisely the wrong way to run a garage.

And, I'd never trust them with even a 20 year old Micra after seeing how they treat the cars. In one episode, I even saw one of the mechanics smoking in the garage. Gangsters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Nah, Wheeler Dealers is the best imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

no he iant hes a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

If you think he's bad on tv you'd want to meet him in real life.... a total w@nker with a big ego now since the show.

J

In one episode, I even saw one of the mechanics smoking in the garage. Gangsters!
    :eek::rolleyes:

junkyard wrote: »
    :eek::rolleyes:

Well, I'd expect them to be a bit more professional seeing as they're on TV. Could easily put the place up in flames.

Do you work for Health and Safety?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 KimHawkins

If you think he's bad on tv you'd want to meet him in real life.... a total w@nker with a big ego now since the show.

The next time I am over, I'll cll into to see the man himself.

It seems to be an act for TV, if you seen the first episode he was just an ordinary man. The TV chaps got him to act "the man".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

KimHawkins wrote: »
    The next time I am over, I'll cll into to see the man himself.

It seems to be an act for TV, if you seen the first episode he was just an ordinary man. The TV chaps got him to act "the man".

I do think there's a lot of acting up for the camera's... If he was that bad he wouldn't have the same lads coming back to work for him. The odd time you also see the lads bringing in their own cars to fix, so he can't be that bad to work for.

He doesn't like when people pull the piss, seems grand when they try their best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

He must have made a decent few quid from the TV show. Bought himself a new M5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Mr.Diagnostic

KimHawkins wrote: »
    Was not aware that so much guess work was involved in locating a problem.

There should not be.........

Unfortunately a lot of viewers of the Garage form this same opinion. Nothing could be further from the truth.
    The Garage is staged as entertainment, nothing more than that. It is a mistake to think that what is portrayed is typical of the majority of professional Garages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

I wouldn't let the mechanics in the garage fix my lawn mower.After seeing some of the following....

-The 3 series convertible with the broken top,the mechanics sat up on the boot with their feet on the back seats going through his glove box trying on his sun glasses.When they couldn't get the top to stay up the used sefl tapers to keep it up!!!

-The guy changing the clutch on the porsche,the wrong clutch was ordered and it wouldn't fit,didn't stop him trying to make it fit with a hammer though!

I'm sure there are more but that's all i can remember for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Makes good entertainment though and that's what it's all about.

Junkyard have you met him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭magunkey

Confab wrote: »
    Nah, Wheeler Dealers is the best imo.

Agree...tho with Mike putting on sooo much weight and Ed being the giant he is small cheap classics are out of the frame these days. Even the Dino last week was a squeeze. I look forward to future episodes featuring such "classics" as the Hummer H1, Caddy Escalade, JCB 860 Turbo and the very rare Audi Q8. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

tossy wrote: »
    I wouldn't let the mechanics in the garage fix my lawn mower.After seeing some of the following....

-The 3 series convertible with the broken top,the mechanics sat up on the boot with their feet on the back seats going through his glove box trying on his sun glasses.When they couldn't get the top to stay up the used sefl tapers to keep it up!!!

-The guy changing the clutch on the porsche,the wrong clutch was ordered and it wouldn't fit,didn't stop him trying to make it fit with a hammer though!

I'm sure there are more but that's all i can remember for now.

Alot of the trying on glasses and going through glove box etc is only for the cameras. If you were to watch the shows again you would see that the bmw convertible owner didnt want to pay for any more parts or diagnostic time and seeing as it was an old car, the owner said to just fix the roof in place. Sinful but that is what the owner wanted.
    The porsche clutch actually turned out to be the right clutch after ordering 3 replacement. It only looked alittle different due to an update and mechanic used his common sense to know that it would fit. The problem with the car was a bent clutch fork. Nothing at all to do with the type of clutch being fitted.

Do you work for Health and Safety?:)

No, why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

It is pure shyte.

As a mechanic watching it I cringe at times with the carry on they do carry on with.

As for wheeler dealers, had a bit of a rant about that crap before. They always seem to forget about wages when they announce their little profit at the end :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Slidey wrote: »
    As for wheeler dealers, had a bit of a rant about that crap before. They always seem to forget about wages when they announce their little profit at the end :rolleyes:

I love the show as much as the next man, and think Ed China is a great presenter - right up there with Mark Evans, but the fact as you say Slidey that they forget all about labour costs is a head wrecker. Not to mention other things like Mike's fuel for trapsing around breakers yards/motor factors. I'd say not one of their cars has made a real profit. And even at the profits they were making - labour aside - it wouldn't be worth your while to try and do a similar task and make a sideline business from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

wheeler dealers is cool, they make f all profit on those cars though....
    Ed is a giant I am surprised he can buy clothes that he can fit into:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I am the boss of this garage!
    018261068_688274305.jpg

Onkle wrote: »
    Makes good entertainment though and that's what it's all about.

Junkyard have you met him?

I have Onkle his garage is just around the corner from my house.

I take it he doesn't do any work for you? :)

Not anymore.

Ah now you're teasing us... I want the full story :D

I'll tell you when I see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

they are mechanics not magicians , there is no way tho know whats wrong 100% i work in a similar job and its just down to your own experience ,you can never be certain , and yes i do like the show but id hate to work for him hes an arse hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Slidey wrote: »

I think the idea is that you could buy a car and restore it yourself and sell it on. Not buy a car, bring it to a mechanic to fix and sell it on. Thats why they ignore the labour costs, your supposed to be doing the work yourself in your shed.

It is funny when they go to all that effort and then make 200 quid or the one that they couldnt sell, so Ed China bought it.