Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Servants on a march - will they look at the queue for the dole?

• 24-10-2009 3:33am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Simple question - when the Public Servants (which private employees pay for) go on strike to keep their benefits, conditions and wages - will they look at the queue for the dole? 400,000 lost private sector jobs - will these bastards (with secure and pensionable jobs) even have the dignity not to protest in front of them? I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

darkman2 wrote: »
    Simple question - when the Public Servants (which private employees pay for) go on strike to keep their benefits, conditions and wages - will they look at the queue for the dole? 400,000 lost private sector jobs - will these bastards (with secure and pensionable jobs) even have the dignity not to protest in front of them? I don't think so.

It's friday night man, why so serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's Saturday morning.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's Saturday morning.

Not where I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

1955?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Stop worrying about it and go to bed. They'll still be there in the morni....a few hours

The-Rigger wrote: »
    1955?

Great scott!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I'm no union man. To be honest I left my last union coz they were crap and I now buy myself something nice every year instead of paying union fees.

But if this is the ICTU march then they're not just looking for better pay and conditions.

The single argument they're putting forward is that everyone should be paying the same, depending on their ability to afford it.

So, everyone (public or private sector) on, say, 50k pays the same amount of tax (even if that is a very high rate).

They simply want everyone to pay the same amount toward the cockup that is the Irish economy, rather than saddling 1/6th of the workforce with the entire bill.

I see nothing insane about that.

Less people unemployed, more tax revenue. Better for the economy, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Listen, right I have this plan.
    Come Tuesday we all quit our jobs and go on the dole - thus ensuring that everything will be awesome. Forever!

We spend the dole money on fast cars, cheap women, trips to vegas, and the latest designer drugs from south america.

Everyone chill, I got this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Tell you what, I'm going to keep this simple.

I've reported this post as 'personal abuse' and I hope other's do too.

Why, because thats exactly what it is - pure and simple personal abuse.

The Mods here wouldn't accept this levelled at any other sector of of our community (online here on boards.ie) or the real world, be they members of our immigrant community, homosexuals, religions, the handicapped & sick - the list goes on.

I served this state for 25yrs as a member of the defence forces.

During various periods of that time I qualified for Family Income Supplement, whilst I never claimed - frankly I'd have been embarrassed & felt like a failure to have done so.

During the same period I done long duties securing our border against terrorism from both various groups both north & south.

In 1989 we won the nobel prize for peace for our effort's in peace keeping roles across the globe, at the time I was serving with UNIFIL in Lebanon - on that tour of duty we lost 5 guys killed in action.

We've also been engaged in missions from Kosovo & Bosnia, to various tours of Africa including Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Liberia, Chad, Afghanistan, East Timor.

Annually each and every soldier in each and every unit of the defence forces attends a mass for our deceased members and we remember those who fell in these foreign lands.

Regularly we're called our as an aid to the civil powers - who defuse's the various items of ordnance found here, anything from old WWII grenades to the now almost daily pipe bomb?.

Who escorts your cash to the banks, or explosive to quarries or dangeroud prisoner's to and from court/jail?. Or guards those prisoners who refused to sign the good friday agreement in jail?.

Who guards our coast line 24/7 365 days of the year in the fight against drugs and importation of terrorist weapons - oh, you think they've gone away do you?.

Speaking of terrorists again, it wasn't by the grace of God alone that this country didn't rip itself apart Yugoslavia style in the last 70 odd years - and it certainly wasn't through the efforts of you 'Darkman2' or your ilk.

So I'm no longer going to use (particularly AH) any longer and accept this abuse from you and your kind OP.

If members of AGS, our medical services, prison officer's, teachers etc who are also contributors to this forum want to accept this, then shame on them - I hope these people report you and your ilk too.

Good day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

400,000 lost private sector jobs - will these bastards (with secure and pensionable jobs) even have the dignity not to protest in front of them? I don't think so.

Infracted

Screw that, Mak. Doesn't matter about your service to the state. Just as long as you volunteer for a pay cut that all the guys in their twenties with no families to support won't be volunteering for.

Your family? Who cares.
    You stayed with the public sector while people were leaving to earn ig bucks in the private sector? Balls to that.

I just think everything should be equitable.

High earners should pay more tax. Simple as. Guys like me with no families to support should pay more than those who have families to support.

This is not rocket science.

It just makes no sense that the 1/6th of the workforce who work in the public sector should bail everyone else out, regardless of how efficient we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

The Mods here wouldn't accept this levelled at any other sector of of our community (online here on boards.ie) or the real world, be they members of our immigrant community, homosexuals, religions, the handicapped & sick - the list goes on.

During various periods of that time I qualified for Family Income Supplement, whilst I never claimed - frankly I'd have been embarrassed & felt like a failure to have done so.

During the same period I done long duties securing our border against terrorism from both various groups both north & south.

In 1989 we won the nobel prize for peace for our effort's in peace keeping roles across the globe, at the time I was serving with UNIFIL in Lebanon - on that tour of duty we lost 5 guys killed in action.

We've also been engaged in missions from Kosovo & Bosnia, to various tours of Africa including Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Liberia, Chad, Afghanistan, East Timor.

Annually each and every soldier in each and every unit of the defence forces attends a mass for our deceased members and we remember those who fell in these foreign lands.

Regularly we're called our as an aid to the civil powers - who defuse's the various items of ordnance found here, anything from old WWII grenades to the now almost daily pipe bomb?.

Who escorts your cash to the banks, or explosive to quarries or dangeroud prisoner's to and from court/jail?. Or guards those prisoners who refused to sign the good friday agreement in jail?.

Who guards our coast line 24/7 365 days of the year in the fight against drugs and importation of terrorist weapons - oh, you think they've gone away do you?.

Speaking of terrorists again, it wasn't by the grace of God alone that this country didn't rip itself apart Yugoslavia style in the last 70 odd years - and it certainly wasn't through the efforts of you 'Darkman2' or your ilk.

So I'm no longer going to use (particularly AH) any longer and accept this abuse from you and your kind OP.

If members of AGS, our medical services, prison officer's, teachers etc who are also contributors to this forum want to accept this, then shame on them - I hope these people report you and your ilk too.

Good day.

Reminded me of this:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

[QUOTE=tallaght01;62676606

High earners should pay more tax. [/QUOTE]

They do. I can't find it because the search function is knackered but I posted a few months ago the stats that most of the tax taken in, in Ireland is from high earners (I had percentages in the old post, can't remember them now) also if you taxed 100% of every cent over €100,000 you still wouldn't get nearly what the government needs.

High earners should be taxed. I agree. Anybody who uses services in Ireland should be taxed really.

Did you see the news last night. The public service has lost 3000 jobs this year. That's terrible isn't it. About 3000 of the 300,000 that went on the dole went from the public service. Lets go march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Screw that, Mak. Doesn't matter about your service to the state. Just as long as you volunteer for a pay cut that all the guys in their twenties with no families to support won't be volunteering for.

Your family? Who cares.
    You stayed with the public sector while people were leaving to earn ig bucks in the private sector? Balls to that.

High earners should pay more tax. Simple as. Guys like me with no families to support should pay more than those who have families to support.

It just makes no sense that the 1/6th of the workforce who work in the public sector should bail everyone else out, regardless of how efficient we are.

You say that like the public sector are the only ones pays taxes in this state.
    We - as in the tax paying private sector workers are simply looking for a bit more value for our taxes. We are losing our jobs daily and taking massive pay cuts across the board.

The loud mouth minority representing the Public sector are so out of touch with the fiscal reality this country is facing that they would sooner see it bankrupt rather than taking the steps needed to balance the books.

The "can't get fired, but expect a pay rise regardless of productivity, performance, economic conditions" ,"cake and eating it" mentality that is so prevalent at the moment is coming to an end whether the Public sector like it or not, the only unknown at the moment is how much damage they are going to do to the economy, before they take their fair share of cuts, and start to actually pay for the security/privilege of not being able to be fired, rather than taking it for granted and wanting more and more all the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

400,000 lost private sector jobs

400,000 people on the dole doesnt equate to 400,000 lost jobs in ANY sector..you dont know what you're shiiting about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

High earners should pay more tax.

They already do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Good day.
    you joined the army cos you wanted too. We all make our choices - deal with it. Funnily enough in my early 30's now and I wish I did now -.

Care to tell us all the "extra" cash you got for trips aboard? you know the "double wages" (admittedly it might not be exactly that) but you know what I'm taking about.
    so play the violin elsewhere please? Cos I know from friends in the army that lads are killing each other to get on those trips...1 trip can get enough in the bank for a deposit on a house (I know this through 2 friends who got their deposits through trips to the Lebanon)

although I'll contend the 80's were not great for the army personal wage wise. BUt we live in the now and the PUBLIC SERVICE is vastly overpaid.

Now personally I get annoyed when people (like me ) rant about the public service and the unions (and Karlie Delightful Violist) wheel out the same retarded lines..."What about the sterling work of the gardai, nurses and teachers..."

they never say "what about the sterling work of the pen pushers in the HSE, the 4 part time secretaries (all of whom earn 25-30k for part time work) of some manager in a government department"
    They're the wastage 99% of people who rant at the public sector are on about.

We love nurses, no trip to coppers would be complete with a horizontal tango with a nurse! I jest of course, but I hope you (Karlie Delightful Violist et al.) get the point.

I see no reason to cut public sector pay yet but get rid of the perks & benefit for example reimbursing staff car parking fees if the government department cannot provide car-parking, the mileage & sustainance benefits, there is probably a host more that we're not aware of - THAT IS THE CRAP THAT NEEDS REMOVING , no body in the private sector gets them....and even if they did it's not at tax payers expense.

We need teachers, nurses and gardai but we don't need a lot of the wasters that are employed in the government departments front line.
    Places that only open 9-12 and 2 -4...and still never answer their phones...Like **** sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Care to tell us all the "extra" cash you got for trips aboard? you know the "double wages" (admittedly it might not be exactly that) but you know what I'm taking about.
    so play the violin elsewhere please? Cos I know from friends in the army that lads are killing each other to get on those trips...1 trip can get enough in the bank for a deposit on a house (I know this through 2 friends who got their deposits through trips to the Lebanon)

Travel to a war zone for 6 months away from family and friends to get enough money for a deposit on a house...thats not a good deal dude.

Victor_M wrote: »
    You say that like the public sector are the only ones pays taxes in this state.
    We - as in the tax paying private sector workers are simply looking for a bit more value for our taxes. We are losing our jobs daily and taking massive pay cuts across the board.

The loud mouth minority representing the Public sector are so out of touch with the fiscal reality this country is facing that they would sooner see it bankrupt rather than taking the steps needed to balance the books.

The "can't get fired, but expect a pay rise regardless of productivity, performance, economic conditions" ,"cake and eating it" mentality that is so prevalent at the moment is coming to an end whether the Public sector like it or not, the only unknown at the moment is how much damage they are going to do to the economy, before they take their fair share of cuts, and start to actually pay for the security/privilege of not being able to be fired, rather than taking it for granted and wanting more and more all the time.

NO, you're getting mixed up.

The private sector don't call the shots. They can't demand a it more value for their money without us being able to demand more bang for our buck in terms of productivity and costs.

Your method has the public sector footing the bill for the exchequer deficit

That's 1/6th of the population footing that bill

Why don't we all pay a bit more tax? It's calculated as a % of your wages, so it's equitable and fair.

The alternative is the public sector take a wage cut, regardless of efficiency. And the private sector take a voluntary wage cut across the board, also regardless of efficiency, to bring prices down.

It's a two way street.

If the private sector won't play ball, then the unions are right. Everyone share the pain. if you've had a pay cut in private sector then you'll pay less of the bill. Same f you're out of work.

We all pay more taxes as a proportion of our wages. People stay in work. We don't have take the immoral step of reducing the dole, and prices go down.

Whre's the problem with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'm no union man. To be honest I left my last union coz they were crap and I now buy myself something nice every year instead of paying union fees.

But if this is the ICTU march then they're not just looking for better pay and conditions.

The single argument they're putting forward is that everyone should be paying the same, depending on their ability to afford it.

So, everyone (public or private sector) on, say, 50k pays the same amount of tax (even if that is a very high rate).

They simply want everyone to pay the same amount toward the cockup that is the Irish economy, rather than saddling 1/6th of the workforce with the entire bill.

I see nothing insane about that.

Less people unemployed, more tax revenue. Better for the economy, no?

So tell me, do they want the same conditions too, as pertain in the private sector,like out the door,or pay cut, if things are not going well? like meet your targets or be replaced?,like sort out your own pension at commercial rates?, like no enhanced creche/sick leave/parking entitlements?

You see that's the problem, for yonks and especially since the benchmarking era, the public service have creamed it,and now they won't accept that they cost too much.

I have the solution,taper the Public service to reflect the tax intake and expand and contract as economic conditions allow.

All the unions want to do is obfuscate and talkk round and round in circles therefore kepping their sense of self importance while the sands of time to effect recovery accelerate down the plughole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Good day.

i really did expect a thicker skin from a former member of the defense forces who claims to have seen many terrible things , reporting a poster for asking an obvious question about how the most protected and pampered class in the country is insisting thier boom time wages are continued while 400, 000 are on the scrap heap and our tax take is collapsing

So tell me, do they want the same conditions too, as pertain in the private sector,like out the door,or pay cut, if things are not going well? like meet your targets or be replaced?,like sort out your own pension at commercial rates?, like no enhanced creche/sick leave/parking entitlements?

You see that's the problem, for yonks and especially since the benchmarking era, the public service have creamed it,and now they won't accept that they cost too much.

I have the solution,taper the Public service to reflect the tax intake and expand and contract as economic conditions allow.

All the unions want to do is obfuscate and talkk round and round in circles therefore kepping their sense of self importance while the sands of time to effect recovery accelerate down the plughole

Different issue for another time. This is about cold hard cash. I would get twice my salary in the private sector. Mak would make more money in the private sector. Lots of us would. In Ireland I was never given more than a 6 month contract in work. They tried to "sweeten the deal" with a one year contract to stop me going to oz lol.

But this is about money. We need x amount of money. The public sector didn't cause this cockup The private sector did (if we're going to lump the public sector together, we may as well do it with the private sector). So, we need the public to pay up.

Everyone pay a proportion of their wages. Those who can most afford it, pay the most. The consultant and the judge pay more than the kid working behind the counter in tescos.

I know it doesn't suit FB and the other public sector haters. BUt it's the best way to get cash without redundancies. We cannot afford redundancies.

Like I said, the alternative would be a voluntary cut across the boar in private sector pay, ut they'll never do that. they just want to ask others to take less wages.

Feigned indignation I believe Bob is the term;)

Your family? Who cares.

its nothing but a union invention how those in the public sector could have earned a whole lot more in the private sector during the boom , most public sector workers have swallowed this rhetoric hook line and sinker and are always at the ready on message to regurgiate such cliched slogans
    , i see who works in the local garda station and i dont believe for a second they could have earned more than 50 grand a year plus pension in the private sector , no builders labourer i know earned that kind of money and that is all most rank and file guardswould have been doing were they not stoping cars for no tax displayed or renewing gun licences , the same goes for nurses and teachers , where exactly would theese young women have earned more in the private sector

Different issue for another time. This is about cold hard cash. I would get twice my salary in the private sector. Mak would make more money in the private sector. Lots of us would. In Ireland I was never given more than a 6 month contract in work. They tried to "sweeten the deal" with a one year contract to stop me going to oz lol.

But this is about money. We need x amount of money. The public sector didn't cause this cockup The private sector did (if we're going to lump the public sector together, we may as well do it with the private sector). So, we need the public to pay up.

Everyone pay a proportion of their wages. Those who can most afford it, pay the most. The consultant and the judge pay more than the kid working behind the counter in tescos.

I know it doesn't suit FB and the other public sector haters. BUt it's the best way to get cash without redundancies. We cannot afford redundancies.

Like I said, the alternative would be a voluntary cut across the boar in private sector pay, ut they'll never do that. they just want to ask others to take less wages.

Chickens coming home to roost I would call it.

It looks like anyone who disagrees with those who back the public service costs are "haters".

Realists would be the term I would use.

They do. I can't find it because the search function is knackered but I posted a few months ago the stats that most of the tax taken in, in Ireland is from high earners (I had percentages in the old post, can't remember them now) also if you taxed 100% of every cent over €100,000 you still wouldn't get nearly what the government needs.

High earners should be taxed. I agree. Anybody who uses services in Ireland should be taxed really.

Did you see the news last night. The public service has lost 3000 jobs this year. That's terrible isn't it. About 3000 of the 300,000 that went on the dole went from the public service. Lets go march.

most if not the vast majority of those ps workers were temporary , others most likey were let go through what they call natural wastage , i.e , they retired

Chickens coming home to roost I would call it.

It looks like anyone who disagrees with those who back the public service costs are "haters".

Realists would be the term I would use.

The reality is that you would take better conditions if you were offered them now, even in a recession.

The reality is that you want people to pay, as long as it's not you.

The reality is that if whatever you do was worth a lot to society or to a company, someone would offer you better conditions.

In your situation I don't blame you for wanting others to pay. But this bill needs to e split equitably. It won't be. But we may as well discuss it.

I'm happy enough to pay for people like FB for now, as I'll always have work (and I'm not in Ireland to pay tax).

But the fact remains there is no good reason not to spread this load evenly. That way we get less redundancies and more tax revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Do you believe you deserve to be paid double for doing your job? Or do you believe that you were the only person in the world who could do that job? Do you think that the job you did was worth so much that the state should be made bankrupt to pay you? Because thats what it sounds like when I hear "Who is going to police the streets?" or "I hope you have to visit a&e" when I point out that the state is nearly crippled with debt. I am disgusted with the selfishness I see going on today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Is this guy for real? If you have the wife and 2.5 children, thats your fault, not mine. I dont mind paying tax so long as i see some return for it. Single male. If i did happen to lose my job and have the 2.5 children etc etc, i wouldnt go looking to my government for anything outside of the basic allowances. Id get up off my ass and find another one (emigrating if necessary)

People need to seriously cop on. Nobody owes me or you anything. And whinging on strike at the government aint going to help either.

The government are there to collect your taxes, nothing more. Without initiative and willpower, thats all you should expect of them.

yet another ps workers who is happy to recycle the union rhetoric of WE DIDNT CAUSE THIS MESS
    1st of all , the goverment are the main architechts of the mess and they are public sector , the financial regulator was a public servant but most importantly , do you really think those who are lending the country 400 million a week give a rats ass who caused the mess

we were always going to run into difficulties , no country can indefinatley maintain the highest paid nurses , doctors , guards and teachers in the known world off the back of buying and selling houses

irish_bob wrote: »

we were always going to run into difficulties , no country can indefinatley maintain the highest paid nurses , doctors , guards and teachers in the known world off the back of buying and selling houses

So tax us more. Along with everyone else who earns what we earn.

And don't forget the bankers and developers ;) It was all the government lol

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

The issue of public v private is one I have mixed feelings on and I really think a debate on the issue would be great. There are plenty of people who would know doubt take up the mantle for both sides.

So tax us more. Along with everyone else who earns what we earn.

And don't forget the bankers and developers ;) It was all the government lol

if you think im am willing to pay more tax so a nurse , guard , teacher or consultant can continue to earn a premium of 30% - 50% over what thier counterparts in richer countries than us earn , youve another thing coming

The issue of public v private is one I have mixed feelings on and I really think a debate on the issue would be great. There are plenty of people who would know doubt take up the mantle for both sides.

you cannot debate with dishonest people , the time for consensus or betie,sm is long past , we need descisiveness , you have to come down hard on those who are willing to outright lie to defend thier overly generous pay packets and who would happily bleed the rest of us dry so as to maintain the lifestyle they have become accustomed to , you dont appease a bully

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Bear with me for a bit on this one folks.