Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who ever said deer numbers are down?????

• 20-10-2009 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭

Here is a vedio i took yesterday evening

that is around 20 hinds and a very good 8 point sika stag with alot of mass and height in his antlers
    i left him off cos he was just to good to take out hopefully his genetics will now be in the pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

That is a beautiful sight to behold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭meathshooter

plenty of hinds for the first good hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Deer Hunter DL

great vid :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭muff munch

thats a lot of deer...and where do u live ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

Just think,he'll get to all those hinds in his own good time and obviously everything going well they'll all produce an offspring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

thedragon wrote: »
    Just think,he'll get to all those hinds in his own good time and obviously everything going well they'll all produce an offspring.

i felt like a right perv caught the stud in the act :o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 gavinO668

Thats a very nice sight to see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Where exactly did you say you took that video? ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

with out douth deer numbers are down even on good ground ,

20 deer is not any thing to get excited about a good man would cull them in a few days.

in most areas there is no deer at all, some of the best ground in the country has been shot out ,like the sleve blooms .silvermines is heading that way fast.

parts of wicklow now have little to no deer on them now .i know of a guy that got a section 42 and lamping licence for 60 deer on a small farm in wicklow, the some guy is a known commercial poacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

it is a real pitty that numbers are down in certain places but then again they are also on the rise in other areas.
    once the does come into season i will have to cull some of them out of it as these were not the only large groups i saw on this paticular patch.
    i think the problem with the places you have mentioned is that it was to well publicized that there were good numbers of deer there and hence people were thinking that they could shoot all round them and the deer would be there forever.
    p.s the reason for the original post was just to give abit of good news rather then the alternative, thank god licences are now being granted there might be abit less of the doom and gloom attitude around this place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭steyrman

went out this morning on a peice of land in wicklow up there for 6 am waited a while made my way to high seat seen 8 hinds and 2 prickets shot one of the prickets 8am finished gralloching scanned the area seen a good herd of sika-hybrids out on the hill np ground i had easy drive up lane to pick up deer loaded him up had a hot cup and just before i left 3 shots one after another scanned the area deer running everywhere picked out 4 men on np ground one shot there was a report i went up to the top field and watched the had shot 2 hinds i seen them as clear as day i has no phone coverage but i made my way around and the had 2 quads back to the jeep made my way around after a while found 2 jeeps and trailers left in a old farm yard i took there numbers and detail of jeeps i will be making a full report to guards and rangers dept once i have the full details sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

steyrman wrote: »
    went out this morning on a peice of land in wicklow up there for 6 am waited a while made my way to high seat seen 8 hinds and 2 prickets shot one of the prickets 8am finished gralloching scanned the area seen a good herd of sika-hybrids out on the hill np ground i had easy drive up lane to pick up deer loaded him up had a hot cup and just before i left 3 shots one after another scanned the area deer running everywhere picked out 4 men on np ground one shot there was a report i went up to the top field and watched the had shot 2 hinds i seen them as clear as day i has no phone coverage but i made my way around and the had 2 quads back to the jeep made my way around after a while found 2 jeeps and trailers left in a old farm yard i took there numbers and detail of jeeps i will be making a full report to guards and rangers dept once i have the full details sorted

unless you got pictures its your word against theirs but far play to you

4gun wrote: »
    unless you got pictures its your word against theirs but far play to you
    well i have the land owner with me and he said the land outside the fence is np and he has the grazing rights but no shooting on it even were the parked is private so the can be done for trespass there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭rob308

I agree with JW here. Deer numbers seem to be way down on last year. Possibly by 50% or so on most of the grounds that I have. Also none of these near the roads so drive bys aint a reason for it. Any logical explanations??

rob308 wrote: »
    I agree with JW here. Deer numbers seem to be way down on last year. Possibly by 50% or so on most of the grounds that I have. Also none of these near the roads so drive bys aint a reason for it. Any logical explanations??

the ground i mostly cull on is hill ,the 3-4 weeks of snow in feb kill a lot of deer.also there was a days snow and frost early in the calfing season plus the cold and rain at that time of year.

section 42s in the summer and lamping licences been handed out to the WRONG people.

by all means report them to the npws ,what area were they seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 premier1

is it the fact that the greedy litke feckers can get 87 to 1 euro a kg for deer meat that are shot in the neck in clane in or knockananna drive in wicklow as much as me the most i saw was 8 lights on the one night from a stsnding the the deer go on the move to gather ther hinds and so on if you see lamping in wicklow report it greed needs to be stoped

premier1 wrote: »
    is it the fact that the greedy litke feckers can get 87 to 1 euro a kg for deer meat that are shot in the neck in clane in or knockananna drive in wicklow as much as me the most i saw was 8 lights on the one night from a stsnding the the deer go on the move to gather ther hinds and so on if you see lamping in wicklow report it greed needs to be stoped

did you report the 8 lights you seen .

i was on the hill this morning and watched guys crusing in the black disco at 9.30 -10 am .hunters on the way home trying to add to there bag

hi jw made progress with the number plates of the 2 jeeps have most of the work done on them report is just being hand delivered to local garda station i would rather not say where abouts it happened but its not gone by the waste side im pressing this one home big time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 premier1

jwshooter wrote: »
    did you report the 8 lights you seen .

i was on the hill this morning and watched guys crusing in the black disco at 9.30 -10 am .hunters on the way home trying to add to there bag

yes i also showed the ranger the 3 deer bodies with out the heads or the photo i was told the armey are to report lights to the garda when they are monovers there are some bad bad men out there they dont care as it is two easey for them to get away

the more lads that keep a eye out the harder its going to be for them .

IDS.WDI WDG ,as usual are doing noting about the problem only talk.
    they still dont realise deer dont just come out on the weekends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

I lamp in the Wicklow (home) area most wet and windy nights but on vermin control. Perhaps not every lamp you see is a poacher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

I lamp in the Wicklow (home) area most wet and windy nights but on vermin control. Perhaps not every lamp you see is a poacher?
    was that you i seen in a black vw caddy on fri

hi westwicklow no one says everyone lamping wicklow is a poacher if some has permission to be there and a lot do. and is doing a good job for the local farmers fair due but being honest 90% dont the use the excuse there fox shooting at 7 pm at night when there heading home from scouting the areas i lamp foxes and dont stick to were i have permission all the time but not in deer areas . but if you live 30 miles from wicklow and dont have permission with 2 lamps and hi power rifle at all hours of the morning with deer all around you well there no answer. i know this matter has being trashed to death but it can be stopped in a short space of time there are a few major roads and minor roads around wicklow if patrols were put on them different times it would make a differance wicklow gap has one road in and one out sally gap 4 roads if the guys had the leases worked with npws and guards over a short space of time the can combat this problem it would work in any area done right

some lease holders are the problem also

Mine's a Pajero Welsummer, but there's a young lad over the hill who's Dad bought him a new VW last year and he's got into a proper nuisance with that gun of his locally.... perhaps a quiet word will be offered!!!

I agree with you Steyrman and with your proposal to curb the problem but how does one initiate such positive action?

As for the lease holders jwshooting, I agree with you also. Further to this, imagine my disgust as I watched 3 shooters kill two deer (near Hollywood) and leave them where they fell...... out of town lease holders! What's the point I ask? Was it too much bother to carry them? Were they just on a shooting spree?

hi westwicklow you have to sort out the problem with the roads first and its not just in wicklow the problem is rampent all across the country there are a few gangs knocking around most of them know to npws and local garda it would not take a big effort to watch them in deer areas were the have no hunting rights if there is a big visual presence at the heart of it will work at the moment the have a free for all the drive a road 10 mins later the lamp it thats one point. second is the game dealers around the place if anyone knows about stalking to shoot 2 to 3 deer in a full day with limited ground is unheard of never mind 8 to ten recorded once or twice a week its simple if you get a deer licence on 200 acres you cannot shoot 50 to 80 deer a year to stop this thats were the npws have to do ther job follow up on who lands large amount of deer in game dealers if the can provide details were when time shot like the are to do find out do the have a job because if you can shoot 6 or 8 deer a day and work a full time job well its easy work out how there getting them or better still go on the land the shoot them and see how many deer is on the land i know its seems like a load of bull but how else are the going to stop them because the game dealers are taking most of the deer from them npws have the power to follow up on them once the are recorded

Good points and well said Steyrman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

just got my deer mermit this year (still waiting on rifle lisance though) but from whats been said it sounds like a big problem!!! just going slightly off thread for a min though......."a poacher is a poacher is a poacher" in that we have had a lad shooting our gun club ground for years (for phesent) but we just couldnt catch him, he always said he had permission and we couldnt prove otherwise. anyway a lot of complaints have come into the guards from farmers about him and now their trying to put a case together to get lisance taken away from him. we were asked to take photos of him aswell. the point is that hopefully both new and old laws will be put to use to get rid of these poacher scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

I heard a rumour over the weekend that a group of lads were caught down the far side of Waterford lately with a hiace full of Stags/Hinds and calfs.
    I believe they had travelled from as far away as Carlow.
    I stress again this is a rumour I heard but from a good enough source.

im just sending my application for my deer licence today hopefull i get it,but anyway your all talking about how pouchers are so bad and i agree that they are but what i think is rediculas is lads going out shooting trophy deer(what a waste) and a lot of you prob do.i just dont see the point in it.the only reason i wil be shooting a deer is to eat it.i wouldnt say nothing to a lad who was going out to shoot a deer to feed the family..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

poaching , hard to know who is poaching and who is there with permission, what are you going to do ask a man with a gun what he is doing here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

muff munch wrote: »
    im just sending my application for my deer licence today hopefull i get it,but anyway your all talking about how pouchers are so bad and i agree that they are but what i think is rediculas is lads going out shooting trophy deer(what a waste) and a lot of you prob do.i just dont see the point in it.the only reason i wil be shooting a deer is to eat it.i wouldnt say nothing to a lad who was going out to shoot a deer to feed the family..

Whats wrong with shooting a stag and feeding the family?
    I have a good few heads on the wall and the house is well fed from them...

Theres no waste at all!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Last week i was out doing a bit of calling for a friend of a friend, he was after loosing a few hens so i said id give a shout out to him. At the back of his sheds there is a steady fall down into a glen and when it rises up again at the other side it breaks into forestry.

While we were heading out across the first field i actually couldnt believe what i was seeing. Lads out lamping deer, there must have been 3 lamps on the go across the glen in the forestry. When i studied one lot of the lights through the sights on the gun i could make out it was a pick up 4x4 with a row of lights across the roof. I can only imagine that it must have been a few lads out working as a team, it was like they split up when they went into the forestry and headed off in different directions.

We were talking to the guy we were lamping for and he said that last year he saw lamps going in the forestry maybe 2/3 times max. But this year he said its a different story, they are there on a regular basis. We have him told that the next night he sees them to give us a shout and im going to park my jeep in the gate of the forestry. This carry on needs to be stopped. No wonder the deer numbers are so down in this particular area. Its a bit ridiculous to think that if there is three bunches of lads in there at night working their way through the wood, whos to say their not taking ten deer a night out of it, or more, its crazy! :mad:

I cant wait to meet them boys the next night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

this is going to be a problem this year and the next as ppl are losing there jobs and have more time for shooting wether its to feed there family make money or just for the sport of it
    the pheasnats and ducks will be hit hard to

dwighet wrote: »
    Whats wrong with shooting a stag and feeding the family?
    I have a good few heads on the wall and the house is well fed from them...

Theres no waste at all!!

nothing at all boss,if hes going to eaten

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    poaching , hard to know who is poaching and who is there with permission, what are you going to do ask a man with a gun what he is doing here..

If you own the land or shooting rights why not ?

If don't why would you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

If you own the land or shooting rights why not ?

agree 100%
    just cos he's poaching doesnt mean he's gonna murder you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

s-cogan wrote: »
    agree 100%
    just cos he's poaching doesnt mean he's gonna murder you.

Maybe true, I'll let you take that chance.
    I don't think I would be jumping at the chance to confront several armed individuals who may or may not have legal firearms at night.
    Leave it to the NPWS or Garda to sort them out, By all means call them and inform them but best advice is not to do it yourself.