Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PRS Fans...

• 20-10-2009 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭

Any fans of PRS out there?

I've got a couple:

Custom 22 (Amber, hardtail, birds)
    Santana SE I (Sunburst, locked-down trem)
    Santana SE I (Sunburst, hardtail)
    Tremonti SE (White, hardtail, Seymour Duncan Dimbucker (B) & '59 (N) Pickups)

Hankering after a Santana III in Black Cherry, Custom 22 in Platinum and a Mira in one of the funky colours (Gold sparkle/ seafoam maybe)

Anyway, it's all about the PRS Love :)

I'll try get a few pictures of them later...

Who else has the PRS bug and how did you get bitten?

When I saw the Sum41 video for In Too Deep, the bit where Dave comes up out of the water for his solo with a Cherry sunburst Singlecut, I wanted one right away!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

They are great guitars, the finish on some of them are great. One of my mates has one. my local guitar shop is a PRS dealer, he has a some very nice one in stock, from 700-3.5k :eek: I cant see me owning one for a while, im still paying off my strat.......which I love :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Nahguavkire

My Custom 22 was €4,000 but I got it for €3,000 as it had a chip on it, they're worth every penny though. You can get standard models upto about €6,000...

Absolutely brilliant guitars though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I liked the couple of PRS guitars that I played. I felt they were a bit on the expensive side but damned beautiful. Anyway, get some pics up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭funkydunkey

They are great guitars, the finish on some of them are great. One of my mates has one. my local guitar shop is a PRS dealer, he has a some very nice one in stock, from 700-3.5k :eek: I cant see me owning one for a while, im still paying off my strat.......which I love :D

Whereabouts is that shop? Id love to check it out. cant find enough of them in shops to try out. Ill try attach a pic of my dream PRS here. only thing id change is the birds. I have to say id go for the hollow birds, but thats really splitting hairs.

"The sound factory" in athlone. I buy most of my gear there, very nice people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭funkydunkey

"The sound factory" in athlone. I buy most of my gear there, very nice people
    damn, i passed there the week before last. will have to check it out next time im up that way. thanks anyway, always good to hear of a good shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭DHYNZY

damn, i passed there the week before last. will have to check it out next time im up that way. thanks anyway, always good to hear of a good shop!

Benny is a legend.

Great store. Great gear. And always fair on prices. Won't rip you off.

Got my set up through the sound factory.

I have a 2003 Custom 24 myself. I don't think I'd have any other guitar to be honest. PRS is so versatile.

The only reason I'd look outside a PRS is if I'm playing texas blues and need that authentic strat tone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Sorry to tell you lads but benny in the sound factory isnt dealing in prs anymore....the guitars that are on display in the shop are the only ones he has , and he isnt ordering anymore.

As far as I know there isn't anyone in Ireland doing PRS anymore... By the time they get them here they're too expensive to compete with online shops...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭dermo909

I've got a singlecut satin with a trem that I use all the time for gigs and playing at home. I got it ex-display/demo from the uk and I'm not saying how little it cost me! You gotta look out for the deals and there's no reason to pay full retail for any prs. That could well be the reason why irish shops dont stock them. Even ordering from the US and paying the customs and vat works out well cheaper than ordering from the uk. US dealers are not allowed to export their stock but in this climate nobody will turn down a few thousands worth of business.

What guitars does this shop in Athlone have? I'd love to try out a 245.

Yeah, I mean to be honest, if you're going to spend that kind of money you may aswell book the cheapest Aer Lingus flight to New York you can find, spend a day or two and go to the guitar shops, buy your PRS, make it look "PAY YOUR TAXES" and bring it home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Bod1

Quick word of advice Nahguavkire, delete that last post asap or you'll get a ban for avoiding tax. The mods here come down like a ton of bricks on this stuff.

I've 2 PRS by the way custom 22 with birds and a McCarty Hollowbody. Great guitars.

Oh right feck... Well to be honest it's fairly straight forward anyway, I'm sure most people would figure it out. Guitars are so overpriced here in the majority of incidences that I have no problem supporting the aforementioned illegality...

Sorry to tell you lads but benny in the sound factory isnt dealing in prs anymore....the guitars that are on display in the shop are the only ones he has , and he isnt ordering anymore.

A crap.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

My baby:

92541025_8885157c3e_o.jpg

Lovely, really want one in Emerald and one in Black Cherry now!

Wouldn't mind a Platinum one too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

The original black PRS Tremonti was pretty much my dream guitar but with the introduction of the Tremonti II with the trem and the Grey Black finish, I now want both of them. :o

My guitar teacher had a Custom 22 and it was an absolute beaut, felt far better than any Gibson I'd held over the years. It has the price tag to match it though but I can wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

musicmaker on grafton street in dublin still sell some as far as i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭500x

I fell for PRS guitars a couple of years ago (up until that I was really in to Gibsons).

A guy in Belfast was selling a Custom22 Brazilian ltd model in mint condition. I'd been reading about PRS and playing a couple in the Dublin shops, and really really really wanted one. I went and bought this Custom22 and was awe-struck. It's amber, with a 10 top/birds and fixed bridge... all the nice things.

The chap who sold it to me was a total gentleman, we had a good old chat about music, guitars, amps and all that. He had some really top quality stuff. Anyway, in passing he mentioned that he had another PRS for sale, this time a Custom24 in Gray/Black with 10 top/birds. He said it had a bit of playing on her, but nothing major... This one was a 1995. I was delighted with my Custom22 though and thought no more of it.

About three weeks later, I'd gone to Belfast for new years celebrations. To be honest, I was hammered, and for some reason I decided to give this chap a call, completely out of the blue. I asked him if he still had that Custom24 available and he said he did. "If you bring it down to this pub I'll buy it off you" I said to him. Low and behold, he shows up and takes out this guitar. It's action was awful, I think it had gauge 8s on it! "Right, I'll take it" I said. I had to try and get cash though, so I stuck three different cards in to a nearby ATM and finally managed to scrape together enough.

Took the guitar home after a couple of days on the lash in Belfast, still not sure I'd made the right decision... Sent it over to Eugene in The Guitar Workshop, and got it back. It's been my 'go-to' guitar ever since. I play it all the time, and don't really mind if it gets worn. The Custom22 Brazilian ltd that I bought first is still absolutely untouched, but this Custom24 has a few battle scars. I put new pickups in to it soon after, and on a mini tour in Germany it fell on to a concrete floor... So it's been around. I still love it, and can't see myself ever playing anything else. You know when you find a guitar that just 'fits'? Well this is mine, it's just so me.

Last year in Orlando I bought a Singlecut in tobacco sunburst with 10top/birds, and it has remained more or less unplayed. It's a beauty though, and I was on honeymoon and felt I should reward myself!

At some point a few months ago I came by a McCarty Soapbar (A McSoapy), but soon sold it on. I just couldn't get in to the P90 thing, and I'd more or less decided I'd use the funds from the sale of that one to buy another... I haven't bought anything yet!... I'm quietly checking things out, very quietly so the wife doesn't find out.

The only other electric I have is a Fender American Vintage Hotrod 57 Strat which I got as a present last year. It is such a beauty and means an awful lot to me, and I play it nearly as much as my old battle hardened Custom24... But never outside my house.

There's my PRS story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭dermo909

Thats quite a story about how you got that custom! I've been thinking of getting one just like that which I can throw around at gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Thornography

Cant wait to get my SE Paul Allender! Just a few more quid and the baby`s mine!