Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garmin 705

• 20-10-2009 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭

Is there a function to lock the keys/buttons? I was thinking of getting one to use both on the bike and running. When running it would probably be in an ipod style pouch. I was worried if the buttons might get pressed accidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

Yea, you can do it as far as i remember. Hold Mode down maybe? I cant remember as i havnt my garmin on me at the moment but i remember doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭MREGAN

Cheers Doc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Any way you can lock the device itself to your person? That'd be tremendous. Like an enormous eejit I managed to lose mine on an Aer Lingus flight a few weeks ago, coming home from having done Mont Ventoux. If anyone finds a 705 under a seat on their next flight..... sob!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

oflahero wrote: »
    Any way you can lock the device itself to your person?

Duct tape.:D

Sorry to hear you lost yours. How was Ventoux?

Howya taxer. I went up Sunday 20th; decided to make a day of it. Started in Sault, and warmed up the legs on the col des Abeilles to Bedoin. Went up the main event from there; a steady procession of types were on their way as well, a surprising number of fitter-than-me oldies and tourers. Made it to the summit in 2hrs 3mins (Bedoin roundabout -> summit sign). Damn three minutes, still haunts me.

Needed the jacket and gloves for the descent to Malaucene, and then I stupidly decided to crack on for Bedoin again to complete the loop having just stuck two bananas, a Nutrigrain and a bottle of Powerbarred water down the gullet for the entire ride thus far. Practically bonked over the col de la Madeleine on the way and tottered back into Bedoin for the baguette mixte and endless ice-cold coke. After half an hour I finally summoned the energy to head back to Sault. Horrible final climb, neverending.

I normally ride 53-39, 11-23, but the hire bike was 50-34, 13-29, and by jebus I needed at least the 27 and the 29 in parts to lug myself up parts of Ventoux itself. Still, the sense of achievement etc. etc. Got snapped by www.sport-photo.fr on the way, I'm there in the September Mt Ventoux section, 20 September, page 58, 13:16 - posing unnecessarily in the TOI jersey. Great craic altogether. Recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

oflahero wrote: »
    Made it to the summit in 2hrs 3mins (Bedoin roundabout -> summit sign). Damn three minutes, still haunts me....Got snapped by www.sport-photo.fr on the way, I'm there in the September Mt Ventoux section, 20 September, page 58, 13:16 - posing unnecessarily in the TOI jersey. Great craic altogether. Recommended.

You'd have been 3 minutes faster with shaved legs and white socks. ;)

Lumen wrote: »
    You'd have been 3 minutes faster with shaved legs and white socks. ;)

Goddammit those overshoes do look like socks. I suppose the 3 minutes is my non-euro penalty.

That sport-photo.fr site could well do with a premium service for photoshopping the workaday Freds like me - €2 to add a shave and a tan, €5 for the pro team kit of your choice (white preferred), €20 to add heavy weights to your bike setup and a glimpse of Michael Rasmussen suffering badly on your back wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

Dr.Millah wrote: »
    Yea, you can do it as far as i remember. Hold Mode down maybe? I cant remember as i havnt my garmin on me at the moment but i remember doing it.

Yea, if you hold Menu not mode it locks it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Well done,certainly sounds like one of those days on a bike you don't forget in a hurry. I'm sure you'll go back to knock the 3 mins of your time.

What's the story with the hire bike in means of getting a nice fit. Besides different frame sizes,do they have options on stem lengths? Do you bring your own pedals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭jag con

Hi all i just got myself the a Garmin Edge 705 bundle with heart rate and cadence but i am having trouble setting it up i have read the quick guide and downloaded the owners manual but still confused the display does not show heart rate and cadence. Does anybody here have one set up and are near kildare / Wicklow that might be able to help me

Con

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

jag con wrote: »
    Hi all i just got myself the a Garmin Edge 705 bundle with heart rate and cadence but i am having trouble setting it up i have read the quick guide and downloaded the owners manual but still confused the display does not show heart rate and cadence. Does anybody here have one set up and are near kildare / Wicklow that might be able to help me

Con

There are two steps:

1. Pair the device with the sensors.
    2. Configure the display modes to show these values.

Have you done both of these?

I don't have my Garmin to hand, but you should be able to work it from the manual.

The display config is done via the Settings -> Display menu option, which you have to scroll down to if memory serves.

Cheers Lumen i will try that in the morning thanks

Con

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭BuyingorSelling

Whats the heart rate sensor like-is it big and bulky or is it ok for running?

Yeah it seems fine i have not tried it yet but looks a fairly standard size to me

Con

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

The Garmin HR sensor is fine for running, you would not notice it at all. Very compact. More of an issue if going for one of the cycling head units is what you do with that (I used just carry it in my hand.) Not a problem if you have one of the watch units.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭mickydcork

blorg wrote: »
    The Garmin HR sensor is fine for running, you would not notice it at all. Very compact. More of an issue if going for one of the cycling head units is what you do with that (I used just carry it in my hand.) Not a problem if you have one of the watch units.

Is there an armband that is suitable for carrying the 705 when running?

Right my next question regarding the edge 705 i have installed the software onto my lap top and it asks me to plug in the ANT USB Stick im to finish installing the drivers im lost the only lead that came with the unit was the usb lead which connects the unit to the laptop, i tried this but no joy

Con

The 705 doesn't come with an ANT USB stick, just ignore that. It actually appears as a standard USB mass storage device, one volume for the internal memory and another volume for the SD card. Presuming you are using Windows when you plug it in it will automatically recognise it, install the drivers and mount two new volumes. You don't technically have to install anything from Garmin at all. If you don't see two new drives in "My Computer" report back.

I suggest using SportTracks rather than Garmin Training Center, it is a lot better IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Its the same one they use with their running watches so i guess so!

Cheers Blorg thanks for that i will try that and report back

Con

Well done,certainly sounds like one of those days on a bike you don't forget in a hurry. I'm sure you'll go back to knock the 3 mins of your time.

What's the story with the hire bike in means of getting a nice fit. Besides different frame sizes,do they have options on stem lengths? Do you bring your own pedals?

The lot I hired it from had an online order form that went on for miles - what frame size do you want, what stem size, saddle height, does sir dress to the left or the right. I brought my own pedals and shoes, though this was optional as well, as it is very comforting to have your own shoe/cleat setup - no nasty knee issues halfway into a ride.

I had the Garmin in the back pocket, so half the ride was spent with one arm on the bars and the other contorted around my back just to check my speed, current altitude, should I really have taken that turn, oh christ SURELY it finishes soon.

Sorry for hijacking your thread OP, btw.

I really miss the Garmin for general weekend breaks and holidays too - you can find where you are and where nearby interesting stuff is very handily by bringing it on city breaks. Not to mention handing it to the passenger in your hire car on longer trips and instructing them to translate 'BEEEP-BEEEEEEEP' into 'In two.. Hundred.. metres.... Turn left'.

Thanks Blorg i downloaded that version of software but it will not import any data it says that the device is not connected.?

I also plugged in the device and downloaded the my cycle from yesterday and its working on the garmin training centre.

Thanks a mill:D:D

Just 1 more question i have a heart rate monitor and cadence aswell
    When im out on the bike where can i find the page that has heart rate and cadence on it like the page that has speed distance etc etc.

Con

With Sportstracks and the 705 you have to do a file import using the folder icon rather than the computer, that is for the 305 etc. just click on the file icon and browse to the Garmin volume and "Garmin\History" and select the files you want to import. Honestly it is a lot better.

The speed/distance etc pages (in fact all pages) are completely customisable so you can have whatever fields you like on them, between 1 and 8 fields per page and in whatever order. You select what you want by pressing the Menu button and then going to to Settings>Data Fields

Blorg thanks a mill happy days

Con

Hi all im having trouble charging my Garmin 705 i plug it in and nothing it does not show any charging symbol when its switched on or off any advice i have read the op manual and nothing there out of the ordinary

Con

Problem solved i have a faulty mains charger so back to the shop it will go

Is the calorie counter accurate on the edge 705, i did a cycle yesterday with a few hills on the route it took me just over the hour to do it and the garmin is telling me that i burned off 1270 calories but then there is a column for total fat calories burned off how do i work out the total fat calorie burned off

Con

Certainly get your charger replaced but bear in mind you can use any cheap USB charger or indeed charge from a computer in the meantime.

The calorie counter is nowhere near accurate in my opinion, dividing by two would give you a rough estimate. To be honest I pretty much ignore it, on occasion I used use it to have a rough idea of when to eat (every 1,000 "Garmin" calories) but ended up just doing this on a time basis.

Cheers Blorg yeah i am using the computer to charger it thanks a mill

Con

Need help on what unit to buy! I will be getting one with Heart rate and cadence. But what are the different mapping functions. I will be mainly using this for Riding off road making use of the training functions etc. Also I would like to have the option of street mapping should I need to take it in the car.

What is the difference in Topo and City Nav Europe??

I know I can buy add on maps but at £50+ I want to get as much in a bundle as I can.

Cheers

It is not really great for use in a car, the screen is too small, it recalculates slowly for a car's speed, you have no via points and it is difficult to get an overview of your route (due to the small screen.) Usable if that is all you have, but not optimal and proper car GPSes are available for under €100 these days which would be a better bet even if you get the 705 for the bike.

The City Nav Europe is all streets, it has no information about tracks, contours or off-road stuff at all. The mapping is useless off road with that.

I am not sure how good the Topo stuff is for Ireland, I believe it is good for other countries. I have heard rumours that the OS will not license their data at anything close to a reasonable rate. There are also free map options that may have a level of usability off-road. I'll leave that one to a MTBer who knows more about it.

If you don't need the mapping the 305 or the new 500 would be a better bet. The only downsides of the 305 vs the 705 if mapping is unimportant are the lower storage capacity, lower battery life and inability to use a power meter.

Just reading a bit about the Topo GB stuff. I am not sure if that includes N.Ireland. Anyone know if it does?

As for use in the car it was only as a last resort. Wasnt a specific function I would require. This would be mainly on the bike or running.