Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Careers

• 19-10-2009 10:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks

ive read a number of posts/threads on here which have been really insperational... Im just wondering where it came from ?

How it finally appeared that you new what you wanted to do?
    did it hit youlike fraight train I read that anumber of people made carreer based choices and other people just decied to get there act to geather.

but ay 28 in the next 2 days time im not getting any younger granted Im not in a bad position i've not dept and im relitvely healthy.

But as far a careers go, I don't even know where to start i was an early school leaver which i dont regret one bit I've had some experences that have been life changing and other that have been anything but pleasent but these are all important things as we al grow up.

My dad whos been a great source of engouragement and knowlage only got into his career when he was 33 and he was very sucessfull he held the market world wide in his perticular line of buisness for close to 35 years...

I'm just wondering how it all fell togeather for you.

I realise worrying is'nt something that helps but its there and i think its better to face up to it but also to hear some wise words....

Im just curous how long did it take you to find your neash?

I dont think its a personal issue because It wouldnt suprise me that there's a few people just like me.
    what are your thoughts? advise ideas? veiws,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Well I think the first thing is to not worry about your age ;) Young adults are growing up a lot slower than our parents generation - it's not straight out of school and into a job for life, we bum around in college, travel the world etc. before getting a job (and most of the time it's not for life)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I'm 23 finished college basically with an IT degree, well will get that next year but how and ever.

There's feck all jobs out there in any sector. I'm working as a care assistant but as much as i love the job it's not something I wanna do for the rest of my life. Very lil room for promotion or even different roles. It's grand for the moment but as i've said not something I wanna do in the long term.

I still don't know what I wanna do to be honest. There's nothing in IT that really grabs my interest apart from forensic stuff but not that experienced with it. I am considering going back to college to train as a nurse but college didn't suit me one bit. The other option I have is to set up my own business which I may just do because there's nothing out there. Absolutely nothing.

Working on business plans at the moment in between work. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Teferi wrote: »
    Well I think the first thing is to not worry about your age ;) Young adults are growing up a lot slower than our parents generation - it's not straight out of school and into a job for life, we bum around in college, travel the world etc. before getting a job (and most of the time it's not for life)
    Oh i no we as a collective are taking are time and enjoying are youth... but eh Im kinda getting sick of being on the I don't know what i want to do pile.

I have ideas, but nothing completely concrete.
    I thought about social care tieing in qualifactations from my past with a soical care qualifaction would give me a unique set of skills with my past experence
    would put me in a very good position i would think...

I have done some travel. But thanks for that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭mehmeh12

Will wrote: »
    I'm 23 finished college basically with an IT degree, well will get that next year but how and ever.

There's feck all jobs out there in any sector. I'm working as a care assistant but as much as i love the job it's not something I wanna do for the rest of my life. Very lil room for promotion or even different roles. It's grand for the moment but as i've said not something I wanna do in the long term.

I still don't know what I wanna do to be honest. There's nothing in IT that really grabs my interest apart from forensic stuff but not that experienced with it. I am considering going back to college to train as a nurse but college didn't suit me one bit. The other option I have is to set up my own business which I may just do because there's nothing out there. Absolutely nothing.

Working on business plans at the moment in between work. Good times.

Hi Im in coming from a social science background myself. What kind of experience did you need to get into being a care assistant? ive applied to lots of social related work but no one is replying to me :(

i volunteered for 2 years before i started working there. atm the HSE have an embargo on new hires so if the places you are applying to are run by the HSE they can't employ you (i think)

i've no formal qualifications for being a care assistant, just 7 years experience.

i volunteered for 2 years before i started working there. atm the HSE have an embargo on new hires so if the places you are applying to are run by the HSE they can't employ you (i think)

i've no formal qualifications for being a care assistant, just 7 years experience.

7 years experience as a volunteer? or as a paid care worker?

I myself have a degree in social science from ucd but to be honest i dont know if i should bother to go back there to do a masters in social science..

2 years as a volunteer, 5 as paid relief worker (did it through college on weekends)

Ah jaysus im so am soo fecked now :pac: Where am i going to get work experience now in this recession ? I just graduated last summer and all i have on my cv is a little research project i did with a small NGO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Ive been lucky.

In school we did an aptitude test that measured your strengths and weaknesses etc and says what area of work would suit you.

Its a bit bollox when I now think about it, as something you have a strength in doesn't necessarily mean you'll like it.

Anyway, the career guidance counselor brought me through the results and they were military or engineer. The thought of killing people was indeed appealing but the lack of pay put me off military service. So I went off and became an engineer.

I finished college last may after 4 enjoyable years. I did a 4 month work placement and it was then I realized that this was my thing

Now the only hard part is finding a job, but I don't mind if it takes a few years, I know what I want to be in life and although its not the most glamorous work, it certainly makes me happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Ever since I can remember, I either wanted to be a stunt man, a soldier or Indiana Jones. Indy was already taken, so I was left with the other 2 options.

The week before my Leaving Cert I was accepted into the army, just as well because the LC didnt turn out too good for me.

I was lucky, I knew from a very early age (about 5) what I wanted to do, so when I got old enough to do it... I did it.

Its been 10 years now, im 28, i will be retiring with 21 years service when im 39. (hopefully)

If I left the army 2moro id still be a happy man, because I did what I wanted to do with my life, a lot of people go through life, not doing or not having the chance to do what they wanted to do.

Just go for it and do what makes you happy, whatever it is. It doesnt matter if its a CEO of a big company or a manager of a cinema, if you want to do it, then go for it....regrets are worse than failures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

benwavner wrote: »
    Just go for it and do what makes you happy, whatever it is. It doesnt matter if its a CEO of a big company or a manager of a cinema, if you want to do it, then go for it....regrets are worse than failures.

Very true, a cousin of mine once said you never see a millionaire going to work who isn't happy- if you're not enjoying your job you won't excel at it, TBH I don't like what I do at the moment but fincinial ties are making it hard to move at the moment (I'm lucky in that the job I'm in for some reason pays me a lot more than other people doing the same role).
    My plan for the next few years is go back to college and study what I'd like to get into, all going well by mid thirties I'll be doing what I want and not going to work just to pay the bills.