Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 7 - Time to Gloat

• 19-10-2009 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭

Thought I better start up a new thread for this.

On another note, saw this in my friendly with Wandering Wanderers
    Oh, we have a streaker. Big, hairy and ugly. That one must have escaped from the zoo. OH!! Big hit by that security lady. He's not going to get up from that. There's a great applause coming from the crowd as security literally drags the guy off the field.

classic haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

How do you guys feel about your opening league games this weekend ?

I am away to a team that outstrips me everywhere. (even though I am ranked above them officially). Not sure of how I am going to play it, might play for the extra CSR.

I mightn't be gloating so much this season !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Pretty sure my moments if gloating about wins will be few and far between this year. My focus will be on bringing on youth players... am going for the full investment to try and create some homegrown talent. Trying out a few players in alternative positions and want to get my bank balance back in line. So I think my gloating will be about those things rather than winning matches.

My first match is away to Cheinster (Orizio's team I think) and am expecting something of a hiding tbh. Am gonna target the home matches I think I can win along with a few away matches to avoid relegation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

My first league match will be handy enough i think. the other teams csr is fairly low. Only 2 player with 13k and the rest all below 10k. Other than that though i reckon it will be a hard enough season. No bots my my league this time either so no easy matches.

The Cup starts tonight.... have a relatively comfortable draw tonight and expect to get through it comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'm The Ironsides, Chienster is managed by FloppyKid, who posts regurly on Planet Rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Should have WNWIM. hammering them, bit of a waste

[URL="javascript:playerClick(2550438);"]Tomlinson[/URL] looks back and taunts [URL="javascript:teamClick(45201,'IE');"]Holycross Raiders[/URL], holding the ball out towards them in one hand! The ball's come loose and bounced forwards. Incredible!! Well, I guess there was more than an element of 'just desserts' there!

This guy is up for sale if anyone is interested lol

Absolutely slaugthered some crap bot team in the first round playing WNWIM 98-0! Outhalf missed conversion to make it the full century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

95-7 against some ****e bot team. I was watching it live for most of it... didn't notice the 7 til I got home... raging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

50-7 against a bot team. Not a good performance to be honest especially in the 2nd half (it was about 40-0 at half time) far too many knock-ons, penalties and other mistakes.

Got another bot team in the next round though so all is well on the cup front.

mar-z wrote: »
    50-7 against a bot team. Not a good performance to be honest especially in the 2nd half (it was about 40-0 at half time) far too many knock-ons, penalties and other mistakes.

Got another bot team in the next round though so all is well on the cup front.

You have to earn that ranking old boy, earn it... cause I'm watching! :cool:

Thats the downside of playing a bot there is no rating change. On the plus side an easy match playing wnwim for some good ol' in-game training.

I also have a bot in the next round, but I reckon I'll play normal... no way am I going to fluff the cup just because I got a freakishly decent bot team

You'll never lose to a bot whatever you do, always play WNWIM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Orizio wrote: »

Although the national U20s team is a bot atm.:D

Good Luck to all concerned today.

First game of the season and I already feel like I have to LTNT to get anything out of it !!

I know the feeling jp.... good luck to you too

Feeling about ready to give up at this stage. I'm playing against a pretty terrible division 3 team, LTNT incase there's any surprises... and it's way too close for my liking. He has terrible players and I'm strugglin at the mo.

Well that was some welcome to division III.

Went down 36-9.

They are a far superior team there is no doubt, I just hoped that he wouldn't LTNT but he did.

Should be easier next week ! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

just beat the team who finished 2nd in my division last season - a good start :)

Right, so I won 32 - 15 ... but I'm not happy about it. Have they seriously increased the home advantage yoke or wuh? This lad's team should easily have gone down to my LTNT might! My plan was to absolutely destroy the chap to give me some sort of point advantage come relegation time, but gah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Won 32 - 3. I played on normal intensity, I well should have WNWIM'd and got some extra training but hindsight is 20:20 and all that

Won. :cool:

Unlucky Munster Mark II and JP, going to be a fun year right? :D

Won my first match in div 3 there fairly comfortably 14-41 playing on normal intensity. They were the 7th ranked team in the league though. Next league match is against fellow boardsie Forze Juve

Even if you play your reserves team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭JohnButler

Division 3 is gonna be a bitch! Lost to kinsale rfc 27-11 or something and i TNT'D his ass!

Oh well at least i have a bot in the next round of the cup!

Beat Musicboxers 10-20. I LTNT'd and I'm petty certain he did too. He didn't play his 3 highest csr players (one was injured) but his team still had a higher csr than mine so I'm delighted with the win.

Result also means I've leapfrogged him to 5th in my league's rankings :)

suppafly wrote: »
    Even if you play your reserves team?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Won my first match in the 3rd division today 21-20. Drop goal in the last minute to grab victory! Team I beat was far better on paper but I played LTNT and went aggressive to introduce myself to the league and it worked!:p

I'll probably get hockeyed next week:rolleyes:

CoDy1 wrote: »
    Won my first match in the 3rd division today 21-20. Drop goal in the last minute to grab victory! Team I beat was far better on paper but I played LTNT and went aggressive to introduce myself to the league and it worked!:p

I'll probably get hockeyed next week:rolleyes:

Thats a good win, Keep Trying RFC are pretty strong.

Beat Musicboxers 10-20. I LTNT'd and I'm petty certain he did too. He didn't play his 3 highest csr players (one was injured) but his team still had a higher csr than mine so I'm delighted with the win.

Result also means I've leapfrogged him to 5th in my league's rankings :)

This sort of shiz is going to make the boards cup quite interesting... for example I'm not only against bogwarriors in the league but also in the cup. Now that there's a load of us boards chaps lobbed together it's gonna be full on! Excellent!

Yeah, it's gonna be a fun season alright.

The team I played are way better and I felt like playing WNWIM to get the CSR boost, but I couldn't resist the temptation to "have a go" !!

They were a full 100k better off in CSR than my team.

That was a tough opener right there ! :D

Cody1, want to swap notes ? ;)

I was just reviewing my game now.

Just before the deadline, I decided to play with normal discipline instead of By the Book.

Just had a look at my lineup and I have discovered that I actually changed the INTENSITY to normal. No wonder I got murdered !!

What a really bad mistake to make. :mad:

Not sure being on the end of a 53-6 defeat can be called unlucky lol. Took quite a hiding and no one really played too well. Gonna be a long season :(

jprender wrote: »
    I was just reviewing my game now.

Just before the deadline, I decided to play with normal discipline instead of By the Book.

I always leave my discipline setting on normal. Is it better to put it on 'By the book' or does it really make much of a difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭bossa_nova

Thats a good win, Keep Trying RFC are pretty strong.

keep trying eh :o

i got a nice win on them in last seasons semi final even the their a fair bit better than team

i guess your team is the wandering wanderers, ill look forward to our match next month

oh im gideons btw:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

suppafly wrote: »
    I always leave my discipline setting on normal. Is it better to put it on 'By the book' or does it really make much of a difference?
    I generally play 'by the book', because at 'normal' the number of turnovers won does not compensate for the number of extra penalties conceded.

Of course, your mileage may vary depending on your pack's technique and discipline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

I was away for this week completly forgot about the matches...so played full team at NWIM but sure won cup match 92-0 and lost 9-7 in the league...onwards and upwards!

I shall be paying attention from now on...also I have accepted my Boards cup matches!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

jprender wrote: »
    Yeah, it's gonna be a fun season alright.

The team I played are way better and I felt like playing WNWIM to get the CSR boost, but I couldn't resist the temptation to "have a go" !!

They were a full 100k better off in CSR than my team.

That was a tough opener right there ! :D

Cody1, want to swap notes ? ;)

I played LTNT and Agressive intensity and I'm pretty sure it made the difference. I had 2 drop goal attempts in the last ten minutes of the game knowing i only needed 3 points to win. I have never used aggressive intensity but have never seen a drop goal attempt in my matches either.

Next week shouldn't be so hard so I'm going to play normal and by the book again, but I am hounding the transfer market at the moment cos i have a bit of cash and i need to build my CSR aspecially in the pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

Been looking through matches played while away - my outside centre got 6 tries in the cup match during the week!:eek: anyone else ever got a player getting an unreal amount of tries in one match like that?!

Gave A Lovely Bunch Altogether and The Cantankerous Gnomes a bit of a lesson. Sorry lads, hopefully you'll have learned a thing or two about Blackout Rugby though...:D

I can't understand how I lost on sat. I put out my full team TNT against a weaker team missing their best player and lost!!!:mad:

Ah well, first league loss in over a season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Some annoying bugger just beat me in a friendly. :pac:

Gave A Lovely Bunch Altogether and The Cantankerous Gnomes a bit of a lesson. Sorry lads, hopefully you'll have learned a thing or two about Blackout Rugby though...:D

The Gnomes shall look forward to our league match, that being the real deal!:cool:

Oh ye, whats the deal with all the flippin injuries when playing wnwim?? Lost my srum half after 6 minutes!!!

JohnButler wrote: »
    The Gnomes shall look forward to our league match, that being the real deal!:cool:

Oh ye, whats the deal with all the flippin injuries when playing wnwim?? Lost my srum half after 6 minutes!!!

I have the same thing but my subs always play class despite being crappy players

Strange carry on!

Does anyone have any out and out speed merchants in their squads? Im lacking a speedy back at the moment and im having trouble obtaining one!

Just put a winger with a speed rating of 9 up for sale. If that's fast enough for you JB his name is Arnie Usher

My 2nd center has 12 speed but you ain't getting him. I'll stick his stats up in the other thread in a minute :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

ajeffares wrote: »
    My 2nd center has 12 speed but you ain't getting him. I'll stick his stats up in the other thread in a minute :D

12? Fastest I have in my team is a winger with 10. :(

The rest of his stats are on the other thread