Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

11 Years for Manslaughter?

• 16-10-2009 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭

Have not even finished watched RTE 9 news because I am frothing at the mouth here over this news report.

This man, committs an unprovoked assault and kills this individual, and is convicted of manslaughter with an elven (11) year sentence. Initially he fled to Spain and then returned. But, the News Report said, he had 65, yes 65 previous convictions. Now, to be fair, they did not say for what, maybe someone might tell me.

Am I right in feeling this sentence is so lenient as to be exteme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Pure Mule

I agree totally. Eleven years is just too short a sentence. The so-and-so will probably be out in five. He also forgot who was in the car with him. Should also be tried for perjury and given consecutive sentences for everyone he fails to name. The Gardai must have an idea how many were with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭bog master

I consider myself liberal in all aspects and for the right for those convicted of crime a chance to redeem, re-educate and atone for their crimes.

But I find sentencing by Judges to be so feckin leniet! I live in rural Ireland, and you read the local paper with its crime report. Joe Bloggs with no tv license gets fined 500-750 euro for no tv license, a lad or lassies beats the ****e out of someone and gets probation and a small fine.

Judges, please get real! Let the punishement fit the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭legal eagle 1

What length of sentence do you think this particular criminal should have got, based on your limited knowledge of the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

I spend a lot of my time in the courts. It would be most unusual for someone guilty of a serious assault to get off with the probation act.

What length of sentence do you think this particular criminal should have got, based on your limited knowledge of the case?

Now, you have me there. If I understand properly the current sentencing and remission policy of criminal law, it would seem he would be out within roughly 5-6 years. For taking someones life in a a so called unprovoked attack, it does seem a bit light. Bearing in mind he has numerous convictions, now for what, I do not know. Should this have a bearing on his sentencing, I believe it should unless none of the previous convictions involved serious crime.

If he was to serve the full sentence, I would feel that is/would be fair.

nuac wrote: »
    I spend a lot of my time in the courts. It would be most unusual for someone guilty of a serious assault to get off with the probation act.

I respectfully beg to differ. I live in a small village with a small but violent gurrier element, which thankfully is being slowly brought under control. The most recent incident involved two lads having a row, drunken that is, one of the lads brought his brothers and father down and got their retrubution, and minimal fines imposed along with probation. So from personal experience and as I said, reading reports from the local paper, I honestly believe Judges and their sentencing is far to lenient, most especially with repeat offenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Bog trotter, the District Judge in your area must be soft-hearted or naive. Most are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

On the basis of the evidence made public through the media (including previous history) I would have considered a sentence of 15 years to be appropriate and proportionate and WITHOUT any suspension of the last few years of the sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭porte

You seem to be missing the point, all you see is an 11 year sentence handed down.
    He was charged with manslaughter not murder, manslaughter is the lesser charge because he did not intend to kill anyone it just ended up that way. Unprovoked attack could be a pub brawl that ended in death,
    Without hearing the full case and facts the judge found 11 years appropriate for the crime committed.
    As for absconding to spain the defendant might of panicked, after all to flee the country he had to be given bail, bail is only given if you pose no threat to the public and witnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

I was surprised he got so much for manslaughter.

Dermot Laide got a 2-4 stretch.

Maybe had he gone to Blackrock things would have been different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Anyone who says he'll be out in five is talking nonsense.

As people are bandying around the probation word, I presume you'd know what is actually involved in engaging with probation officers ? (and of course this is entirely different to having the probation act applied to your/a charge.

As a general comment - in no way relating to this case - it is astonishing how many hard chaw sentencers you come accross in daily life, until (god forbid but it does happen all the time), one of their friends or family (or themselves) takes a wrong turn in life and commits a serious offence it which case suddenly that person is the exception and deserves leniency.

I would like to stress that I have my own views on what is an appropriate sentence for homicide but that is not the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Ab roller plus

Any sentence however long or short wont change this particular offender - he had 50 or 60 odd previous convictions. IMO he's never goona change - under the irish system anyway.

At the very least the sentence should have been enough to put off future offenders.

Also the Gardai found the phone at the scene, could they not examine it and find out who he was with. Then check if their phone was bouncing off the local mast and then ask Mrs. Estonia to id then....