If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Imagine launch Midband Ripwave Replacement - WiMAX

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

bealtine wrote: »
    So in the interest of fairness I'll volunteer to test this service and report on speed and ping times and any other issues that come up.

Fair play :p , and if you can get your hands on one can you find out the pricing while you are at it ??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Fair play :p , and if you can get your hands on one can you find out the pricing while you are at it ??

Took the words out of my mouth !

They are getting ratty about it over on facebook , not very social networking what what

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    They are getting ratty about it over on facebook , not very social networking what what

I would put a comment myself, but I don't want to become a fan and give them the publicity.
    What I guarantee is we will be upto 50% cheaper,including the mobile dongles.

Hmmm, up to 50% cheaper than mobile 3G, eh? So it's going to be 10 euro a month? Call me cynical, but I simply don't believe that.

jor el wrote: »
    Hmmm, up to 50% cheaper than mobile 3G, eh? So it's going to be 10 euro a month? Call me cynical, but I simply don't believe that.

I wonder if it is anything to do with an allegedly imminent ( or maybe not imminent at all but nobody told Imagine yet :D ) eircom campaign about their 10 months free line rental .offer ...in Dublin ( terms and conditions apply like the line should be ceased since 2008)

We also should not forget that the bimonthly ASAI complaints bulletin was released yesterday with plenty of telcos on it as always so there will be no public censure for false advertising until the special christmas list is released around the 20th of December .

I fully expect the misleading advertising to rock on for most of November ...not that Imagine were my number one suspect but I am getting downright suspicious now as is my wont :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭bigpaddy2004

I was watching a couple of riggers today erecting a mast on the side of the MAN's building in Portlaoise. It is obviously going to be used to support some sort of radio equipment. I wonder if this is going to be one of their Wimax base stations, as i have not learned of any new providers coming to Portlaoise other than Airspeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭zod

just called them, guy said prices are out on Saturday 7th for DEFINITE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

zod wrote: »

Did you ask him how that differed from all the other times they gave out dates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Kev.

mattman wrote: »
    super fast me conkers!

up to 3 meg IF your one of the lucky ones.

average around 1meg.

Nothing to get excited about.

ping times around 100ms-500ms, so that gamers out.

Super fast in my mind is at least 20 meg or over.

so the pricing will be the big issue, to subscribe for most "ordinary" users.

m.

What are you on about ?
    Where are you getting all this information from,
    If Breeze is 4 mb up and down then surely wimax is alot quicker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,531 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Kev. wrote: »
    What are you on about ?
    Where are you getting all this information from,
    If Breeze is 4 mb up and down then surely wimax is alot quicker?

Sorry .. you are comparing apples and pears here.

Breeze is a fixed wireless / fixed wimax deployment and will always outperform any nomadic/mobile deployment on speed, latency and reliability, no matter how you shake it.

/M

Is Wimax not fixed wireless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hammer of Thor

Welcome to teh learning experience! Look back thru the previous pages, it'll take awhile, but it'll be an education!

Wimax is a wireless technology, basically next generation from Wifi. It can be deployed mobile/nomadic or fixed wireless.

Some Breeze basestations have been upgraded to Wimax technology a while ago, as far as I know. There's other fixed wireless providers also already using Wimax for their fixed wireless deployments.

What Imagine currently is advertising for is a nomadic/mobile deployment. So basically a usb dongle, an internal radio module for a laptop or a stationary unit (like the one clearwire uses), that you can move around. It might maybe outperform 3G type internet services, but it will never match fixed wireless performance.

/M

Cheers Marlow

The person who I was talking to on the phone from Imagine said to me that
    they would be removing my breeze antenna and replacing it with a box of some sort,
    She mentioned nothing about it being mobile and told me it would be much better than Breeze!

To me it sounded like another fixed wireless option .

Is it only Mobile Imagine are rolling out or is there a fixed option?

Thanks in advance

Cheers Marlow

The person who I was talking to on the phone from Imagine said to me that
    they would be removing my breeze antenna and replacing it with a box of some sort

Whoops :eek:
    She mentioned nothing about it being mobile and told me it would be much better than Breeze!

If you are on 2 mb breeze now and live right under the mast then there may not be much difference. At a longer distance the difference could be dismal . The laws of physics apply more than salespeoples Bull**** ever will.
    To me it sounded like another fixed wireless option .

Is it only Mobile Imagine are rolling out or is there a fixed option?

Thanks in advance

It is highly unlikely to be better than Breeze unless you are close to the mast . In that case you may well see a speeds increase if on 1 or 2 mbits right now.

It would be wise to get onto yer wan _in writing_ and to tell her you do not intend to be worse off and that you want confirmation that a disimprovement in speed and pings with the new technology would be a breach of contract by them and you therefore want the right to leave them with 7 days notice before you let them swap the gear out . If they confirm that revised notice period there is nothing much you can do beyond that .

Tell her furthermore that swapping the gear out is not a contract extension of any sort and that you want confirmation of that in writing .

What is your speed and ping to boards right now?

Basically you want an outdoor aerial pointing right at the mast and if that is taken away and you are a distance form the mast the quality will suffer and that is that .

You must be in a 'non ripwave' area right now and they need that spectrum for the new product so they intend to turn your current service off compeletely .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I thought they were offering a fixed version of this WiMAX product to go with the Mobile one?

Might have taken them up wrong, it sucks if they aren't and its just going to be another mobile solution. Oh well, at least we might have a battle of sorts between mobile operators and imagine for customers.

thebman wrote: »
    I thought they were offering a fixed version of this WiMAX product to go with the Mobile one?

Might have taken them up wrong, it sucks if they aren't and its just going to be another mobile solution. Oh well, at least we might have a battle of sorts between mobile operators and imagine for customers.

Check the video ealier. Leo showed the 3 devices they are going to use with the technology. That's the extend of the devices, that they are going to use.

Also, even if they added a fixed wireless option, you still have the problem with unknown contention due to roaming customers and low signal clients will drag the signal extensively down.

Breeze is so good, because IBB constantly checks up on it and decommissions customers, that have extensively low signal, thus drag the signal/quality/speed for others down. That sort of quality control is not possible with a nomadic/mobile product.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 inertia99

Just called again today for third time....... Still didn't know any pricing and promised it would be up by Saturday (just like they promised it would be up all of the last times I called) Didn't know for sure if my area was covered and didn't know when it would be. What a waste of all that good launch publicity.

If this is what the launch is like it wouldn't inspire much confidence in what the service will be like, if it ever gets going:mad: Stuck with expensive DSL for another while I reckon.......

613371643.png

Thanks Marlow and Spongebob,helpful as usual ,

I am on 4mb down and up,and am sick now that this is going to be a mobile dongle rubbish,

Rumours about an 8mb package thats perfect for gaming are false then,

Anyway I think Ill stick with what I have ,although not perfect its okay for gaming and downloading

Attached is a screenshot of pings which is unusually high

Again, check that video, where they demo the product. What he shows is a connection within a room from his dongle to the sector with no other users on it, so no contention. He's getting 20 mbit down/ 2 mbit up on that.

You'd never see 4 mbit up on it so.

Also, fixed wireless is approx. 20 mbit up and down on a 20 MHz channel, about 12 mbit/s up and down on a 10 MHz channel. So I'd expect considerable more in a WiMAX fixed wireless setup. This is before contention.

Also, you're guaranteed to say bye bye to your 24 ms latency and probably get even higher jitter on a mobile deployment.

/M

Thanks lads for the education. Some great posts on this thread. Currently on "3mb" DSL with Imagine but I want to get a faster service. It generally speed tests at around 2mb.

What is the best deal out there at 4mb plus speeds in your opinion, or is it worth waiting for the Wimax offer to see if it is any good? Used mostly for downloading music and movies and streaming movies and TV sports so upload is not a big deal for me.

If you want reliable and fast try Smart DSL or Magnet DSL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭Solair

This is rapidly becoming a textbook example of how not to use PR and social networking to promote a product.

They have over-hyped this and lashed huge amounts of money into the PR launch and then failed to deliver the product.

This has now done serious damage to their reputation and credibility.

Also, why do they have enormous poster adverts in Cork City (and I assume elsewhere too) when they are saying on their website that they don't have any coverage there!

It's a waste of money, it will cause very large volumes of phone calls and emails to their call centres and it's just annoying people by promising something that doesn't actually exist yet.

Thanks Sponge Bob. Magnet not in my area but Smart are with bitstream DSL and not a bad offer for €55 including 7mb download, line rental and "free" local and national calls. Its only €4 extra than Imagine for the same package of calls at so called 3mb. I'll see if the Wimax looks good and go with Smart. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Into Everything

zod wrote: »

YYYIIIIPPPPPEEEE. Todays the day that the pricing will be released!!!:rolleyes: \they might actually release the pricing as I have received any stupid tweets or facebook crap in the last week. My they reassigned their staff to come up with a pricing plan instead of posting stupid comments.

I was driving into Kilkenny last week and they have a large "Wimax Google It" advert near the Lyrath Hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭_Kooli_

YYYIIIIPPPPPEEEE. Todays the day that the pricing will be released!!!:rolleyes: \they might actually release the pricing as I have received any stupid tweets or facebook crap in the last week. My they reassigned their staff to come up with a pricing plan instead of posting stupid comments.

I was driving into Kilkenny last week and they have a large "Wimax Google It" advert near the Lyrath Hotel.

At last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Paddy Boy

Imagine have not kept to their promise so far, so I'm not optimistic for an announcement today. Hope I'm wrong:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Where does it say the pricing is being released today? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hammer of Thor

Some poster in this thread said he'd been in touch with them by phone and he was assured the pricing details would be released today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

This on the facebook site at the moment, if it's true what a waste of time waiting for Imagine!!! Nothing cheap or superfast about this at all!!!!:mad:

"Just off the phone to them..... 1mb €25, 3mb €30 and 7mb €35 all including VAT.No Download limits ! €50 install cost but includes voip phone and hardware. Bundles available €5-€10 on top.
    Now for the down side......
    Blanchardstown only available this week and Carrickmines the week after so it remains to be seen how long it takes to roll out phase 1.
    Should have had the website updated first in my opinion"

Was holding off waiting for this but now am going with either UPC or Smart, better value if you ask me. Don't think after this debacle I would even dream of going with Imagine, their service would have to be free for that to happen!!!!!