Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinion on regen points

• 13-10-2009 7:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭

Hi all, I'm looking for a general opinion and I thought this would be the best place to get it, is there any sort of eticate in regards to regen areas. I was skirmishing at the Drogheda site at the weekend and in one of the games two of us took up great positions covering the oppositions regen point but 1or 2 people had issues with not having a chance to get back into the game as they had to stay under the cover of their regen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

What you did was tactically valid, given the situation and set-up in which you were. It's the responsibility of the game rules to prevent smart play from making the game unplayable; there might be rules like a variety of respawn points with ones under fire being unusable, or points awarded for getting into the position you did but then being obliged to fall back.

Then again, if the game doesn't have the rules to compensate, you might want to avoid doing that again, to make the game more fun for all involved; you shouldn't feel bad about what you did though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

While not against the rules (unless specifically stated) spawn camping i.e. setting up near the opposing teams regen and then brapping people as they respawn, is seen by most as a cheap and dirty tactic. It really is up to the organisers to think up a way to counter this, either by having alternative respawns available, giving the people who can't leave their respawn an airstrike or just stating in the game briefings that spawn camping isn't allowed. I wouldn't feel bad about the fact that you managed to get a good position and kept their heads down, if you weren't told you couldn't then how were you supposed to know, also if there were ways for them to actually leave the respawn area without getting killed then it's up to them to do it, it only really counts as spawn camping when there's no way anyone can leave the respawn area without getting shot. It's really up to the marshals to think up ways to prevent play from stagnating like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Airsoft is considered a game of honour... We're oldschool like that.

Spawn camping, is reserved for 11yos high on sugar playing call of duty, and paintballers.

Its only sporting to allow them to get out of thier regen, hit them by all means when they are out, but give them fair oportunity to leave. You would moan if they diid it to you.....

Its not in the rules everywhere... it is some places. Its common courtesy frankly. Do as you would be done by as some bloke said once....

Yes, its not what you'd do in real war.
    But they wouldnt be respawning
    And we're playing with toy guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I think that is up to the marhsalls to intervine.

After all marshals are there to control and mediate gameflow to ensure there is an enjoyable but also tactical game being had.

It is usually very hard to get into a position to camp a spawn, and hold it for any amount of time. I wouldn't agree its bad play, and I dont agree with people giving out to you about it.

At pred the other weekend, our spawn got completed surrounded, for best par tof 40 minutes i was sitting there pinned down. It forced us to gather some troops and make a push which was succesfull and repelled the enemy far enough back that we gained significant ground.

Thats what you should do.

If two of you were battering a spawn into submission, fair play to you and well done, if a team cant co ordinate to either A) Get themselves out of spawn to take you out or B) Co ordinate with players ingame to encircle you and take you out

Then thats their problem.

If there was a serious issue with it the marshalls would have intervened.

It sounds like you just took the upperhand, boxed your enemy in, and that be that.

It happens all the time in fairness.

A recent HRTA trip saw my side box the enemy into a small area after a huge counter offensive. The squad leads agreed that it was best to keep the enemy boxed in, to allow us enough time to sweep the village to gather the intel and objectives we required.

Airsoft is about honour yes, but its also about displaying tactical awareness and cunning, and a bit of guile.

And there definitely nothing wrong with showing a bit of creativity and cheekyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭tango9

Totally agree wth The Doc on this one.

Thank god he typed it out cos it wud have taken me 3 hours.:D

I disagree... One can show cunning and guille without being unsporting. Afterall... this is just a game. 'Cornering the enemy' on the site is grand. Great work.

Sitting on thier regen pinning them in so they cant leave or they get hit, is bending the rules to breaking point.

I dont think its about being 'cheeky' Its about being fair. I wouldn't want it

At most site I play, 'dont camp on the enemy regen' is a safety brief rule. Its sportsmanship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

It's all down to circumstances, if the enemy can't even respawn without getting shot then it's spawn camping and a questionable/unfair tactic. If the enemy can respawn but are cornered into the area around their respawn then it's up to them to figure out a way of breaking out. If this is something that happens regularly with a particular respawn at a site then the marshals need to come up with a better respawn location or alternative respawn locations that people can spawn at when that one is under fire. Without having played that day nor being familiar with the respawn the OP is talking about I think it's hard to pass a definative judgement. I have been the subject of spawn camping in the past (i.e. being shot as soon as my hand touched the respawn point every time I went to respawn) and it took all the fun out of the game for me, to the point that most of the players on the team that I was on just stood aside and waited for the game to end. On the other hand I have been both the subject of and perpetrator of pinning another team in the area around their respawn and think it is a valid tactic so long as the other team has an opportunity to attempt a break out. If the team that has been pinned is unable to break out then that's their tough luck. If it is a constant problem then it's up to the marshals to come up with ways to better balance the respawn points so that neither team has an unfair advantage.

Thanks.... I think you said what I had meant much more clearly.... Eloquation when dog tired isn't my forte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Now sitting literally on top of someones base shooting them when they touch the respwawn point is hefty and a tad unfair.

My situations where when the enemy had stayed back a certain difference, that it gave us time to respawn, but also get into cover.

We also gave the same courtesy to the enemy in hrta in the other example.

However in both these situations if i was asked to move back and let the enemy out, I would not be happy. It stiffles gameplay and essentially makes the game null n void, you werent good enough, so the marshall through you a lifeline.

Ive seen this happen a few times to me and i think its a load of bollox, I'm essentially being told that sorry your too strong for the other team, can you please just ease up and give them a chance.

A better solution would for a marshall to put me on the other team, in the hope that I can muster some aggresion within the group, and have them push out. Not to simply manipulate the game.

Thats not making things fair, thats stiffling a game and effectively holding back the winning side.

Then again, if a team is simply pounding the enemy as they touch a respawn, they should be maybe relocated to a different spawn, or a marshall create a line that cant be crossed by enemy, a breathing space.

Buts its down to the marshall, the controller of game flow. As a player im jsut focused on taking out the enemy and winning the games.....if we were in charge of game flow and the like the games would be muck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Kurbinator

Was watching We were Soilders the other day which gave me an idea.When the LZ got "too hot" for the choppers they moved it could something like that be applied.Obviously dead men can't talk so that's a sticky bit there.But if one or two people kept an eye on a regen point and if they saw it being over run or comprimsed use of a secondary regen point set up in another location by marshells.Any thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Something that would be a lot of fun, but I'm not sure whether it exists or not, would be to use the Battlefield system:

For example, lets say there are 4 Team A spawns, and 2 Team B. Both teams have to aim to keep their current ones, and capture the others to win the game. No spawn = no regen = team defeated when eliminated. Might be worth looking into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Baltrux

Played in fingal weekend just gone and if you captured the respawn you won the game which I though was a good idea as it forced you to guard it, I suppose it depends on the site and the level of cover around the respawns in the DROGHEDA game I was on about we were let behind enemy lines, there was plenty of cover for us to get within range which I would've guarded if the tables were turned. Cheers all for the feedback it's nice to get a general opinion as a newbie to the sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ZeroSignal

Inari wrote: »
    Something that would be a lot of fun, but I'm not sure whether it exists or not, would be to use the Battlefield system:

For example, lets say there are 4 Team A spawns, and 2 Team B. Both teams have to aim to keep their current ones, and capture the others to win the game. No spawn = no regen = team defeated when eliminated. Might be worth looking into?

That's an excellent idea!

I'd like to hear what the site owners would think about a gameplay element like that.

We use the battlefield system a lot over here.... can work very well in game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ZeroSignal

Firekitten wrote: »
    We use the battlefield system a lot over here.... can work very well in game.

I say it would take the tedium out of having to trek back to to spawn point too. :D