Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding ???

• 12-10-2009 8:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭

could a cyclist get done for speeding down the road ??

i mean they dont have speedometers or anything (although some do)

but if they were to get pulled by the gardi, would anything happen to them ?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

robbie_998 wrote: »
    could a cyclist get done for speeding down the road ??

i mean they dont have speedometers or anything (although some do)

but if they were to get pulled by the gardi, would anything happen to them ?
    There was a thread on this a few weeks ago. As I understand it there are no speed limits for cycling (only motorised vehicles), although they could be prosecuted if cycling dangerously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

There is a point on the Hill of Howth descent (south face) where it's almost difficult not to speed. As you pass the cemetary on your left heading towards Sutton the speed limit switches from 80kph(?) to 50kph. Even normal cadence on a road bike should see you exceeding 50 for a few hundred metres.

Watch out for cemetary-goers though: it's a classic spot for taking an amble across the road informed by "he's on a bike, he can't be going that fast" logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

rflynnr wrote: »
    There is a point on the Hill of Howth descent (south face) where it's almost difficult not to speed. As you pass the cemetary on your left heading towards Sutton the speed limit switches from 80kph(?) to 50kph. Even normal cadence on a road bike should see you exceeding 50 for a few hundred metres.

Watch out for cemetary-goers though: it's a classic spot for taking an amble across the road informed by "he's on a bike, he can't be going that fast" logic.

I came down Howth last year and the Guards had a speed camera at the corner of Carrickbrack Heath and Carrickbrack Road. They didn't bat an eyelid..couldn't care less. They had "bigger fish to catch" i.e. Cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

07Lapierre wrote: »
    I came down Howth last year and the Guards had a speed camera at the corner of Carrickbrack Heath and Carrickbrack Road. They didn't bat an eyelid..couldn't care less. They had "bigger fish to catch" i.e. Cars.
    i would have passed stopped and gone back to see what i was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Not being a solicitor, I wouldnt know exactly what the laws are, but Im sure a cyclist could be charged under something like reckless endangerment. If a garda felt it necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

A few months ago on the UK news there was a traffic policeman in the UK tucked in behind the shed on a prominade with a speed camera. He was stopping speeding cyclists they came his way. Interviewed he said he could only give them a caution as the majority had no way of knowing what speed they were doing.

(uproar ensued, as it does, because the policeman was obviously wasting his time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Rob_l wrote: »
    Not being a solicitor, I wouldnt know exactly what the laws are, but Im sure a cyclist could be charged under something like reckless endangerment.

Of themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

one of my local routes has a speed camera on a descent, 50kph. I can't help the feeling of satisfaction when I see the flash as I go past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Diarmuid wrote: »
    one of my local routes has a speed camera on a descent, 50kph. I can't help the feeling of satisfaction when I see the flash as I go past.

Where is it?? So want to have a go at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

There's a spot between the Cloghran roundabout and Airside that's 60kph speed limit and I've broken it only two occasions. You need to get the lights at the Cloughran roundabout coming from the Airport roundabout to get a good run at it. Oh saying "Hammer Time" also helps :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I recall reading a few years ago of a cyclist done in London suburbia for persistently cycling too fast in built up areas. There were many complaints about him so the police came out and He was clocked at 32mph in a 30mph zone and done*

*dunno if "done" means a fine or flogging

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Of themselves?

of others!

exceeding the speed limit in an area with a reduced speed limit would be unexpected, while not illegal becasue your not in a car. I would assume the usual reason for reducing speeds is pedestrians.

So the Pedestrains would be my others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

alfalad wrote: »
    Where is it?? So want to have a go at that!
    Here. Not the easiest spot to get to ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

I had friends in Melbourne who occassionally got points on their driving licenses for speeding on their bicyles (70+ km/h in 50 k zones).

There were one or two hills where you had to be on your brakes nearly all the way down to stay under that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

peterako wrote: »
    I had friends in Melbourne who occassionally got points on their driving licenses for speeding on their bicyles (70+ km/h in 50 k zones).

There were one or two hills where you had to be on your brakes nearly all the way down to stay under that :)

Australians tend to be unbelievably uptight about speed, in my experience (and according to the penalty stats).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

There's also the issue with regards to speeding and inappropriate speeding. Take for example the tosser on the cycle lane in the Phoenix Park I came across one Sunday, kids all over the place trying to knock conkers off the trees when this dick came sprinting down the cycle lane. I happened to have my dogs with me and one walked a little close to the cycle lane and I called her back. The prick told me to put her on a lead, I would have wrapped it around his head then and there, he didn't hand around for the torrent of abuse I gave him. And this was just a dog, any one of those kids could have stepped back to pick up a fallen conker or stick. And to make matters worse, it was at the Castleknock end where he had a big empty car free road all to himself.

Now had he been doing the same speed first thing in the morning when the park was empty I'd have no problem with it, sure I do the same myself.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Peterx wrote: »
    I recall reading a few years ago of a cyclist done in London suburbia for persistently cycling too fast in built up areas. There were many complaints about him so the police came out and He was clocked at 32mph in a 30mph zone and done*

*dunno if "done" means a fine or flogging
    As in Ireland, you cannot be prosecuted in the UK for "speeding" on a cycle (speeding laws only apply to motor vehicles in the UK). You can, however, be prosecuted for careless cycling, dangerous cycling, or "wanton and furious driving". The final one was designed for the era of horse and cart, but has been successfully used in one recent UK case where a cyclist mounted a pavement and knocked down and killed a pedestrian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I once met a Welsh guy (about 25 years ago) who had the summons framed and hung it on his bedroom wall. "Furiously pedalling a pedal cycle" or some such wording...

Rob_l wrote: »
    of others!

exceeding the speed limit in an area with a reduced speed limit would be unexpected, while not illegal becasue your not in a car. I would assume the usual reason for reducing speeds is pedestrians.

So the Pedestrains would be my others

Well that would mean being done for speeding then.

To get done for reckless endangerment I would at least hope to be 10km/h over the limit, wearing undeserved world champs striped kit, helmetless, on a brakeless single speed, pulling a wheelie/endo, whilst going through a creche
    cdaly_ wrote: »
    I once met a Welsh guy (about 25 years ago) who had the summons framed and hung it on his bedroom wall. "Furiously pedalling a pedal cycle" or some such wording...

WANT!

To get done for reckless endangerment I would at I would hope to at least be 10km/h over the limit, wearing undeserved world champs striped kit, helmetless, on a brakeless single speed, pulling a wheelie/endo, whilst going through a creche

This is one of those times Im going back away from the semantics, one of those rare rare times.

Its either that or I check out the statute book, making my own life a misery to end up proving I may have been wrong all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Here. Not the easiest spot to get to ;)

Would nearly be worth it to be able to do something like this;
    520x.jpg
    As you get snapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mockler007

Jip wrote: »
    There's also the issue with regards to speeding and inappropriate speeding. Take for example the tosser on the cycle lane in the Phoenix Park I came across one Sunday, kids all over the place trying to knock conkers off the trees when this dick came sprinting down the cycle lane. I happened to have my dogs with me and one walked a little close to the cycle lane and I called her back. The prick told me to put her on a lead, I would have wrapped it around his head then and there, he didn't hand around for the torrent of abuse I gave him. And this was just a dog, any one of those kids could have stepped back to pick up a fallen conker or stick. And to make matters worse, it was at the Castleknock end where he had a big empty car free road all to himself.

Now had he been doing the same speed first thing in the morning when the park was empty I'd have no problem with it, sure I do the same myself.

in the park the bylaws are to have you dog on a lead at all times, so no point moaning at cyclists for using their provided lanes, would you let your dog or kids play on the road? i seen what its like in the park on a sunday, quite busy indeed. Heading into town there is a railing between the cyclelane and footpath, the kids have the whole park to play conkers in, but yet are playing on a cyclelane, ???? let alone people walking in it, then we get shouted at for using our provided lane and i really hope you had your poop scoop with you, ?????? like 99.9% of dog owners dont have with them! ive yet to see a dog owner pick up their dogs poo. and im in the park cycling alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

To get done for reckless endangerment I would at least hope to be 10km/h over the limit, wearing undeserved world champs striped kit, helmetless, on a brakeless single speed, pulling a wheelie/endo, whilst going through a creche

I would pay to see such a thing.

I cycling home from school one day two gards walking up a hill stopped me on the way down because "I was travelling very fast" :rolleyes: Right. Nothing fancy about the bike.

Hmm howth sounds like a place to go. However do I trust a bike wheel at speeds in excess of 50km? we'll see :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Thanks for the reply's people.

really cleared up a lot :)

mockler007 wrote: »
    in the park the bylaws are to have you dog on a lead at all times, so no point moaning at cyclists for using their provided lanes, would you let your dog or kids play on the road? i seen what its like in the park on a sunday, quite busy indeed. Heading into town there is a railing between the cyclelane and footpath, the kids have the whole park to play conkers in, but yet are playing on a cyclelane, ???? let alone people walking in it, then we get shouted at for using our provided lane and i really hope you had your poop scoop with you, ?????? like 99.9% of dog owners dont have with them! ive yet to see a dog owner pick up their dogs poo. and im in the park cycling alot

Be careful getting off that horse of yours, wouldn't want you twisting an ankle such is the height you need to get down.

FYI The By law concerning dogs is number 13 and states
    Any person that enters the Park with a dog shall have the dog under control;

Although that one was probably a bit low on the list for you to see from way up there.

You come across as one of those cyclists more hated than a courier, a cycle nazi blue shirt.

...and thats Godwins in 26 posts - checkmate

Apologies, I'll amend my post :D Is the comparison close enough to be similar yet far enough to escape Godwins law ?

Seriously though, it's the Phoenix Park, a recreational area, not somewhere to cycle like you're in a velodrome when there's kids around, and neither the dog or kids knocking conkers off trees were on the cycle path if the poster actually read my post rather than let the blood get to his head.

Where's a Marge Flanders picture when you need one.

You're right though the park is a recreational area, but recreational when applied to cycling doesn't necessarily mean tottering along like and old dear on a high nelly.

The cycle lanes are there to try to separate cyclists from pedestrians etc to allow easier travel through the park and minimise the chance accident. If the cyclist is doing his/her thing in the cycle lane there's not much they're doing wrong. Indeed if a cyclist uses the road in Dublin (such as the Castleknock stretch suggested then they're holding things up and being inconsiderate (ala TA) or likely to receive free education (ala Dublin Bus) etc etc and very shortly afterwards it end up here in a blossoming flame war. So where its not destructive to the bike and safe to do so most stay on the cycle lanes.

I do realise your dog wasn't on the cycle lane but as a cyclist having seen dogs off leashes do stupid things like running under the front wheel, leading to things like broken cyclist's collar bones, so I can understand how a cyclist might react to seeing a dog near a cycle lane and off a leash. Giving a torrent of abuse for it is a wee bit OTT for a response though don't you feel?

If the search function was working I'd point to a thread that was quite similar from a few months back - I think it kinda descended into madness with entrenched views etc etc, so I'll concede that a team time trial or full on criterium run on the cycle lane is taking the p!ss, but equally pooches & kids shouldn't be left to wander into the cycle lane and should be kept in check. Saying the cyclists should be going slower because some might not have as good control of their animals as you or practice good supervision of their children is simply passing the buck of responsibility.

If the search function was working I'd point to a thread that was quite similar from a few months back - I think it kinda descended into madness with entrenched views etc etc

Here's a fruity one.

Cyclist insurance.

Giving a torrent of abuse for it is a wee bit OTT for a response though don't you feel?

Possibly, but the guys attitude stank so I felt he deserved it. The dog was not the issue, it was, as I said, the kids throwing sticks into trees a few feet further up and running around picking up conkers and more sticks.

Just because it's a cycle lane doesn't absolve a cyclist of any concern for anyone else around it, or on it, just because they feel they shouldn't be there.

As I said, there's such a thing as appropriate speed for the conditions around you. If I, when I have my motorist shoes on, took the same view as that cyclist, I'd be stopping every few feet to shout at pedestrians I feel may walk infront of me or in fact do run out ahead of me to cross the road.

And with my cycling boots on, I'd never get home due to the amount of screaming I'd be doing at motorists stopped in cycle lanes in heavy traffic in the evenings and mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

The strech of road between Palmerstown and Chapelizod (Old Lucan Rd) has a 50km sign.
    That is a lower limt, right???

Also, at the last bend in the Edmondstown Road before it swings right onto Craugh road, there is a road marking saying slow. I usually laugh at that, as at that point of the road I am lucky to be going 10km/h.

Just because it's a cycle lane doesn't absolve a cyclist of any concern for anyone else around it, or on it, just because they feel they shouldn't be there.

Ah come on now, I never said you can go along cycling without due care and attention, that's obviously always a given (it falls under the category of defensive cycling practiced by most good cyclists) - in fact that cyclist showed it by being aware of your dogs proximity to the cycle lane and the potential danger it could pose (whether it was there or not) and should/would have been similarly aware of nearby children.

The fact of the matter is that the cycle lane is for cycling on and animals and children if supervised correctly shouldn't by and large find themselves on it (unless they're on a bike - if your dog can cycle fair enough, he's cool with me).

On an aside if you do decide to take up the shouting on a grander scale, those throat lozenges would be a good idea - I know a guy who shouted too much, got a raw strep throat, then got mild sepsis after it got into his blood - got red blotches all over his arms etc, not a good look and definitely not euro :D

Would it help my cause if I told you he was on a fixie ? :D (Could have been a single speed).

I'll leave out the shouting altogether so, it would ruin my whole mellowness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I was nearly taken out by a dog coming into to Howth village. At the fork in the road by the church, a woman was crossing the road with her dog, not on a lead. She started to cross, the dog bolted right out in front of me and I had to try and stop quickly. Back wheel skidded out, thankfully the dog stopped and I was able to swerve around him. I was with Nietzchean who saw the whole thing.

The woman didn't bother to restrain the dog after seeing this, I think I shouted that he should be on a lead.

Like Lumen said, cycle paths. You wouldn't walk out in front of the cars driving at speed in the park would you? If the kids were running around on the road you would probably tell them to get off the road and be careful.

I'm not defending the cyclist by the way, I would not race around past people in the park. But if the cyclist has a duty to be in control of his bike and you have a duty to be in control of your dog, which requires a lead.

I know a guy who shouted too much, got a raw strep throat, then got mild sepsis after it got into his blood - got red blotches all over his arms etc, not a good look and definitely not euro :D

Red dots....white arms....wait a minute, polka dot. Yes, that is very euro!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    But if the cyclist has a duty to be in control of his bike and you have a duty to be in control of your dog, which requires a lead.

But that's the thing, there is no requirement for a lead to keep her under control. I told the dog to stop which she did but it didn't stop the tool being a smartarse about it rather than acknowledging the fact I was aware of him coming down the lane and stopped the dog before she crossed over the cycle lane.

I'd understand the guy completely if the dog ran out in front at the last minute or something similar, but he was just an arse about it. As was mentioned in the banging on the taxi thread, if he had enough time to spot the dog from a distance and turn to give me mouth about it he had enough time to adjust his cycling as a preventative measure in case it did actually run infront.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

07Lapierre wrote: »

de brudder is a Guard and one afternoon when he was out shooting fish in a barrel in Clontarf I went out on the bike and had him clock my speed with the laser - wanted to compare the reading with the laser with the Garmin - Garmin was less than 0.5km/h off!!

Jawgap wrote: »
    de brudder is a Guard and one afternoon when he was out shooting fish in a barrel in Clontarf I went out on the bike and had him clock my speed with the laser - wanted to compare the reading with the laser with the Garmin - Garmin was less than 0.5km/h off!!

No, the speed camera was 0.5kph off. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Fanadfanad

If I got a speeding ticket for breaking the limit, I would wear it as a badge of honour!!!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mockler007

dogs not on a lead = not in control
    dogs on a lead = in control

rang opw and they said control means lead, the laws are in old terms!

the amount of snoopies i seen get mushed under cars, trucks, bikes even with the owner calling them. why is the book being passed on to us bikers to mind your kids & dogs???? same when i worked in pubs, the parents passing on the book, yeh thats right you tell my little jonny to stop running amok throwen beer mats around etc, ehhh no you tell him your the fluppin parent, i bet you anything you didnt have a poop scoop with you that sunday jip, 4 poos on one tyre last week grrr,, dont get me wrong i like dogs. and take my hat off to the owners who know how to look after them, respest if you are one of these people jip but i doubt it gathering that you dont have a lead and you shout at people in the right:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Possibly, but the guys attitude stank

Not having a go, but sounds like your attitude may have been just a tad whiffy too:

Take for example the tosser on the cycle lane in the Phoenix Park I came across one Sunday... this dick came sprinting down the cycle lane... The prick told me to put her on a lead, I would have wrapped it around his head then and there, he didn't hand around for the torrent of abuse I gave him.

mockler007 wrote: »
    dogs not on a lead = not in control
    dogs on a lead = in control

rang opw and they said control means lead, the laws are in old terms!

the amount of snoopies i seen get mushed under cars, trucks, bikes even with the owner calling them. why is the book being passed on to us bikers to mind your kids & dogs???? same when i worked in pubs, the parents passing on the book, yeh thats right you tell my little jonny to stop running amok throwen beer mats around etc, ehhh no you tell him your the fluppin parent, i bet you anything you didnt have a poop scoop with you that sunday jip, 4 poos on one tyre last week grrr,, dont get me wrong i like dogs. and take my hat off to the owners who know how to look after them, respest if you are one of these people jip but i doubt it gathering that you dont have a lead and you shout at people in the right:rolleyes:

I had a rather scathing response typed and posted outlining your foolishness but I decided it's only dragging me down to your own level, I can live with you being incorrect and sounding silly.

Can I just add, slightly OT...

It's "pass the buck" and not "pass the book", a poker term.

And might I add, apropos of nothing other than how much it irks me, that it's 'gruppo', not 'groupo'.

lukester wrote: »
    And might I add, apropos of nothing other than how much it irks me, that it's 'gruppo', not 'groupo'.

Not on the Northside it isn't.

"Eh, Anto. Dat Super Record groupo is bleedin' deadly."

Don't get me started on derailer, in spite of what Sheldon may have thought.

"Wow, nice bike, how many gears does it have?"

Growing up I had a bike with 18 gears, a neighbour had one with 21 gears...his was better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I was stopped in Waterford a number of years ago by a motorcycle cop. I had been on a downhill stretch with a tailwind in a residential area (Dunmore rd area, opposite Viewmount heading towards Dunmore - for the locals), was hitting in excess of 75kph on the 53x11 helped by the gradient and the 50kph tailwind and as I went through the green light at the bottom of powerscourt the motorbike which had been sitting behind me matching my pace passed me and made me pull in where I got a lecture about how the rules of the road applied to everyone, not just motorists. I also got told off for not wearing a helmet and not slowing down at a junction in case anything popped out of it.

I got a lot of cheers from passing cars when they saw me pulled in, a few people tooted their horns etc... There were no reprocussions and to be fair to the Garda, he just pulled me aside and told me to cop myself on, which was fair enough !

I reckon though that there should be something the Garda can do to people who cycle like clowns (like me on that occassion). It makes sense.