Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestrong gear

• 12-10-2009 1:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭

hey,

anyone know any shops in Dublin where you can buy Livestrong gear?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

No, just no.

I haven't seen any being stocked, might have to order online...from satan.

Really I love Lance, I wear his wristband all the time.

http://store-laf.org/sg-4020.html

I would imagine the handling fee for lance fondling your bibs would put the cost of these out of reach for anyone but diehard lance fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    http://store-laf.org/sg-4020.html

I would imagine the handling fee for lance fondling your bibs would put the cost of these out of reach for anyone but diehard lance fans.

Don't underestimate the wealth and purchasing power of the civil servants rich among us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Whats with the Lance love all of sudden?? Down with that sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

You just missed out on the Wristband I was selling:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055706177

I'll be selling a pair of black and yellow shoes soon, so keep an eye out.

I also have a banana thats yellow and black on my desk here. I could write Livestrong on it, if anyone wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

You just missed out on the Wristband I was selling:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055706177

I'll be selling a pair of black and yellow shoes soon, so keep an eye out.

I also have a banana thats yellow and black on my desk here. I could write Livestrong on it, if anyone wants it.

lts the Livestrong table we all want but you won't sell!

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

alfalad wrote: »
    Down with that sort of thing!
    Careful now!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I thought LiveStrong gear was to go au natural

lance-armstrong-bike.jpg

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Jerseyeire really was there any need for that? It's dinner time.
    smileyvault-puke.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

jerseyeire wrote: »
    I thought LiveStrong gear was to go au natural

lance-armstrong-bike.jpg
    Is it just me or....resemblance.... you know where im going.
    smeagol.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 deisebeh

hey does anybody have any idea where i can get a wristband other than on the internet in waterford
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Whenever I see someone in livestrong gear I silently judge them. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

93093.jpg

I'm not sure what this image means?

livestrong.jpg

4 way dutch rudder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

93100.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

1383d1218210503-victoria_pendleton500.jpg

Beats Lance anyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

... LA pees in the shower

sorry... I'll get my coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭seanieclarke

thanks for all the help!

i'ma bit surprised at some of the anti-lance vibes. i'm only a bit of a part-time cyclist but i personally thought that lance was a bit of a hero!

Dont mind them seanieclarke, just a case of jealousy;)

LA has won a few TdF and recovered from a testicular Cancer, that is the least threatening of all cancers, very well treated (no offence) and introduces himself as the Lazarus of all cancer victims while you cannot compare his past illness to any other cancers that are unfortunately leathal.

So, yes LA is a great athlete, without a doubt; assuming he was as doped as any other cyclists his generation, he did better at the TdF, but has he won a classique?

He is no Eddie Mercks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

LA has won a few TdF and recovered from a testicular Cancer, that is the least threatening of all cancers

That's easy for you to say.

Lumen wrote: »
    That's easy for you to say.

True. I could never win a TdF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

LA has won a few TdF and recovered from a testicular Cancer, that is the least threatening of all cancers, very well treated (no offence) and introduces himself as the Lazarus of all cancer victims while you cannot compare his past illness to any other cancers that are unfortunately leathal.

It spread to his brain and he had less than 20% chance of surviving. Sounds lethal to me. Then to come back and be a formidable endurance athlete. He gets the thumbs up from me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

but has he won a classique?

He is no Eddie Mercks.

Depends on whether you consider Fleche Wallone one !
    Competitiive in Amstel gold for a few years also, beaten by some wheelsucking dutch :rolleyes: as few times.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

and recovered from a testicular Cancer, that is the least threatening of all cancers

It also spread to his lungs and brain. Lung cancer is the most lethal form of cancer. Anything to do with "the boys" is pretty fecking scary also.

So, yes LA is a great athlete, without a doubt; assuming he was as doped as any other cyclists his generation, he did better at the TdF, but has he won a classique?

He is no Eddie Mercks.
    He won the San Sebastian and the Fleche Wallonne, not major classics but still pretty prestigious races also the Grand Prix de Nations (prestigious time trial race regarded in the past as a classic). Finished 2nd twice in probably the toughest one? Liege Bastogne Liege and twice in Amstel Gold and of course won the Worlds and a few Dauphines . In general not a big fan of the man but credit where credit is due.

Hungrycol wrote: »
    It spread to his brain and he had less than 20% chance of surviving. Sounds lethal to me. Then to come back and be a formidable endurance athlete. He gets the thumbs up from me.

The numbers are diferrent from one book or aticle to the next; Some said he had 3% of recovery some say 95%;

95% of testicular cancer patients whose cancer has reached the brain and lung asin LA's case are healable as they respond very well to chimotherapy.

I am just quoting a book I read.* Source: La Grande Imposture by JM de Mondemard

LA has without a doubt helped talking about cancer and has raised awareness of the desease and money for reseasch better than anone. So Yes he desearves a huge amount of credit for that.

See also LA homeboy Swimmer and Olympic medalist Eric Shateau

The numbers are diferrent from one book or aticle to the next; Some said he had 3% of recovery some say 95%;

95% of testicular cancer patients whose cancer has reached the brain and lung asin LA's case are healable as they respond very well to chimotherapy.

I am just quoting a book I read.* Source: La Grande Imposture by JM de Mondemard

LA has without a doubt helped talking about cancer and has raised awareness of the desease and money for reseasch better than anone. So Yes he desearves a huge amount of credit for that.

Yeah testicular cancer does have a 95% chance of recovery but he choose some particular treatment so it would increase his chances of getting back on the bike (some random website).

I'm not a doctor just some bloke who spends far too much time on the net.

what about this guy

*Maybe I read too many LA books not written by LA; I think the cancer is not a good LA discussion point anyway. I cannot comment, I am not a doctor, so appologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

On the money there Caroline. If for that and that alone he should take a lot of credit for rergardless of his cycling antics.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

See also LA homeboy Swimmer and Olympic medalist Eric Shateau
    Mortality/Morbidity

Testicular cancers are highly curable, even in patients with metastatic disease at diagnosis. The prognosis depends upon the histologic type of cancer (seminoma versus nonseminoma), stage, and other features such as tumor marker and type of metastatic disease.

Patients with seminomas that confer a good prognosis, which constiute about 90% of seminomas, have a 5-year survival of 86%; patients with good-prognosis nonseminomas (56% of nonseminomas) have a 5-year survival of 92%. With intermediate-prognosis cancers (28% of nonseminomas), 5-year survival is 72% with seminomas and 80% with nonseminomas. With poor-prognosis nonseminomas (about 16% of nonseminomas) 5-year survival is 48%.

Those survival data are based on patients treated between 1975 and 1990; more recent studies has shown much better survival with nonseminomatous germ cell tumors (NSGCT). Pooled 5-year survival estimates for NSGCT were 94% for good-prognosis, 83% for intermediate-prognosis, and 71% for poor-prognosis tumors.

Source E medicine (physician only access)

Form the data I'm aware of LA's 5 years survival chance was 48% as he presented with late stage disease.